BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/16/2012

NuMe

(818) 756-53067028 Valjean Ave, Van NuysCA 91406-3914

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/16/2012

BBB has determined that NuMe meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered NuMe's rating include:

  • Length of time business has taken to respond to complaint(s).

Factors that raised NuMe's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 107 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

107 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 33 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues7
Delivery Issues31
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service62
Total Closed Complaints 107

Additional Complaint Information

According to BBB files, this company offers beauty supplies and equipment. Our records show that the company has a pattern of complaints concerning consumers not receiving their purchases or a confirmation number and having difficulty getting a response from the company when inquiries or issues arise. On January 15th, 2015 the BBB contacted the company in regards to our concerns about the amount and the pattern of complaints. On February 12th, 2015 the BBB received a response from the company explaining "the recent spike of customer complaints was due to Black Friday (November 27th, 2014) and Cyber Monday (December 1st, 2014) promotions which resulted in technical issues from consumers attempting to use their sites at the same time." To help remedy this issue, the company processed refunds for suspected incomplete orders and cancelled suspected multiple orders as well as extended service hours and created other exceptions to company policies to resolve these issues.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

12 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on NuMe

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 11
Total Customer Reviews 12 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (107)
02/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requested a refund and still have not received money back
Previously filed a complaint with you about NUME (order #XXXXXXXXX). Issue was to be resolved by NUME sending me an upgraded flat iron, the original that has still not arrived since order placed before December 2015, and they were to refund the amount of the original order ($49.94 USD) along with shipping for the new order ($15USD). They sent me an email outlining these steps they were willing to take. They then supposedly issued the refunds on January 5, 2016. I received 2 separate emails with refund transaction receipts for both the shipping amount and order amounts listed above. I checked my credit card statement a week later only to find the refund for the shipping total. Contacted NUME and all they say is that the refunds have been issued. Called my credit card company and they only have knowledge of the shipping charges being refunded. I have received the new product as promised to me, I have yet to receive the original product that was ordered in November and yet to receive my money. There is no reason that a refund should take this long. Transaction ID for full amount (49.94)= XXXXXXXXXX. Transaction ID for shipping (15)= XXXXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
I don't care about my original order, I have received the upgraded product as promised. All I want is the $49.94 USD refunded to my credit card as promised to me by a NUME representative on January 5th, 2016. The problem here is that they promised me all of these things, sent me transactions receipts and my credit card company only sees the one refund. After all of these loops I've had to jump through to just get the product sent is ridiculous. And when I try to contact them about the refund not being on my card all they say is it's been issued when obviously it hasn't.

Business Response
Notified customer on 1-26-2016 that while she received a notice of a refund (send in error) she was not promised a full refund for her purchase. The notice was an error, and the customer was advised of the cause and correction of the error. Final communication to customer below.


Hello *******,

We have reviewed your service and billing history and confirmed that you were only promised a refund of your shipping costs on 1-5-16, a total return of $15.00 USD. The refund in the amount of $49.94 was processed in error at the time when your shipping was being refunded, and this transaction has been voided as the refund was in the incorrect amount.

Your order has been reshipped and if not already delivered, is about to be so. To check your order status, please click on the following link: https://dm.mytracking.net/apc/dmportalv2/externaltracking.aspx?track=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

We hope this information has answered your question, and if there is anything else we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Thank you for being a NuMe customer! And have a great hair day!

Sincerely,
NuMe Customer Care Team

05/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Extreme complaints about bad practice.
I ordered a product online from nume. When checking the status of my order the order status said fraudulent activities. I called my bank here in the UK and according to them they had processed and sent my money to nume for the product fine without any problems and urged me to contact them.
I called over 18 times from my UK landline phone each time getting charged for an international call.Eventually nume turned off their customer service telephone lines. This remained that way for 4 days. I then contacted via their customer service website which states they will reply in 2 buisness days. I waited 3 days before contacting on face book instagram and Twitter. I finally got a response this was a copy pasted message saying the situation had been resolved. By this time it was 7 days into my order placement and 2 am in the morning here. When I woke up I checked my order status the order had been closed. This caused me great stress as they had 181.50 dollars of my money. I contacted again 2 days later they sent me a tracking number for my parcel. My delivery should be here on the 12th. The tracking information on fed ex has stopped and fed ex have told me to contact nume to put a trace on my delivery. They have still not co operated and neither have they refunded any money as they agreed. Now my parcel is who knows where along with my money.
Numes terms and conditions are very wrong and not consumer friendly saying you can't get a refund if you order with a coupon and also if you dont hear off them within 4 weeks and not had your product it is out of their hands. This is taking people's money and not providing a service or a product which they are charging for. I have looked on their page there are hundreds if not thousands of customers that have had multiple charges no refunds and no products. They are still advertising sales and trying to get people to place orders and have not successfully dealt with any of their hundreds of complaints.
I am now 181.50 dollars worse off have no product and am extremely unhappy and thinking of taking legal action. However I thought I would try first to contact you as their regulators to try to get this matter resolved.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be completely compensated for the stress and worry this has caused me. I would like my products to be delivered to me before Christmas as this was ordered as a Christmas present. Having paid shipping and tax on this item I wou thelike another to be sent with the highest shipping and tracking available and taxes for this item to be paid in full by the company as I have already paid this once.
I would like a full apology from the management of this company along with every other customer complaints that they have to be resolved.

Or the company to cease trading and me to have a full refund debited to my card within 5 buisness days

Business Response
Customer issue has been resolved as of 12-4-2015/ unclear as why the complaint was filed. The charge for order # XXXXXXXXX was voided, and the worder was shipped on 12-4-2014 (and delivered on XX-XX-XXXX). The communication advising the customer of these actions are shown below.


******** S. replied 5 months ago (Thu, Dec 4, 2014 at 11:45 AM)
Replied to : ****************@gmail.com
Hello *****,

Thank you for contacting NuMe. As an update, order # XXXXXXXXX has been shipped and is on its way to you! The tracking number for your order is: XXXXXXXXXXXX.

I apologize for the confusion, as a one time customer courtesy we have processed your and your refund should show with in the next 3 to 5 business days (based on your banks policies). Again thank you so much for your patience.


US & Canada:
Movement will reflect on tracking number in 1-3 business days
Package should be delivered in 5-10 business days

International orders:
Movement will reflect on tracking number in 7 business days
Package should be delivered in 10-25 business days

To check the status of your order, please go to:

FedEx 1: http://www.fedex.com/us/track/


If there's anything else I or my team can help you with, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thank you for being a loyal NuMe customer! and have a great hair day!

Sincerely,
********
NuMe Customer Care Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Can not get a hold of anyone to get a refund. It's been over a week
I submitted a ticket and still haven't gotten a response. The first time I tried to use the curling wand I plugged it in a couple minutes later I heard a loud pop and it quit working ..for the price I paid it should of lasted more than a couple of minutes. I now want a refund so I can get a different curling wand from a different company whose product is hopefully better than nume

Desired Settlement
I want my refund in a timely matter

Business Response
Customer issue has been resolved through service ticket # XXXXXX and customer has been notified of resolution through email.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Company wanted me to pay a return processing fee plus shipping and handling which would of costed me more than what I payed for the product

01/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Placed 3 orders. Paid via paypal. Only received 2 confirmation of orders. 10 days later and order is still processing
Ordered 3 seperate items and paid via pay pal. Only received 2 confirmations of orders via email although my online account with company clearly shows 3 orders. Tried calling and emailing to confirm all 3 orders + status of order. No reply. Items are xmas gifts. 10 days since placing order the status of my order hasnt changed.
ORDER #XXXXXXXXX - PROCESSING
ORDER #XXXXXXXXX - PROCESSING
ORDER #XXXXXXXXX - PROCESSING
nil contact from business has me worried. I order from america all the time. Items sent from California, imparticular, are usually recieved within a week.

Desired Settlement
Send all items i ordered and paid for asap. Tracking number and confirmation also required. If i have no response from company by 12.19.14 ill be forced to start processing a refund through paypal. I only want products ive paid for. So please send asap. As i dont understand why its taking so long.

Business Response
According to our records, all 3 orders have been delivered. DHL Tracking numbers provided below. Customer has also filed charge-backs on all 3 orders. Have sent follow up email to customer through service ticket # XXXXXX.

order # XXXXXXXXX
tracking # GMXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

order # XXXXXXXXX
tracking # GMXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

order # XXXXXXXXX
tracking # GMXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Customer service NEVER responds
I received a NuMe set as a birthday gift and after a few uses the curling wand stopped working. I contaced customer service which was nothing but an answering servicing and NOT proper customer service for a company as large as they are. The set was under warranty when contacted so therefore they should replace the set, in which the curling wand started falling apart, for free. My order number was XXXXXXXXX and the order was placed September 19, 2014. I have contacted the company on several occasions only to find unanswered emails or a hired answering service which has no real knowledge of the company or has any information on the products, shipping or complaints.

Desired Settlement
The set that was purchased for me included the NuMe Lustrum 5 in 1 as well as the Nume InVogue flat iron in Purple. It would be great if they would replace my broken items as stated in he warranty. It would also be great if they had a proper customer service department with REAL people not an answering service.

Business Response
Service ticket # XXXXXX was marked as "resolved" in error. Replied to customer on X-XX-XX and provided instructions on how to replace item.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The company has agreed to replace my broken curling wand and I have sent over the information that was requested. They have stated that my new curling wand will be sent out within 7 business days but if it is not sent out within that time frame I will be filing another complaint with the BBB. So far this has been the first time I have heard from the company since my original complaint and that is disappointing to say the least. Hopefully this is the end of this

Page 1 of 9
05/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A hair straightener was purchased. There are chipped areas and the plates aren't match. a return was requested but they asked me to pay everything.
I purchased this hair straightener and when I received it I found there are lots of chipped areas and the plates do not match at all,(one side is longer than the other side). I send them a email the same day and ask for a replacement. They reply to me two days later and ask me to send them emails with pics to show the chipped areas and I did. They then replied and say it is defective and ask me to cut the item into Three pieces within 30 days and take a picture of the item that has been cut and throw them in the trash can so that they could give me refund. I called them and said that I don't want to cut the item in pieces because throwing into trash can wouldn't be environmentally friendly. Also, I suggested them to take the item back and deal with them safely. At the same time, I said I would like to return it instead of a replacement. They told me that there are two options for me: If I want to get the full refund, I need to cut them as instruction and throw into the trash can while the other option is to send the item back and pay for the return shipping on my own and also they would charge $14.95 for the return processing fee. I told them it wasn't my choice to receive the defective item nor would I cut them into pieces and throw them into the trash can. I also ask for their manager to pick up the phone so that I could talk to her directly. The customer service representative told me immediately that her manager wasn't available!

NUme claimed that is their company policies to instruct the customer to cut and throw into trash can as normal. I feel that they don't care the environment. There got to be better way to deal with it.

Desired Settlement
I would suggest that they could give me the full refund and I could send the item to the charity and so that people who don't care about the chipped areas and the non matching plates could still use it since the customer service told me it is only the cosmetic issue.

Business Response
Customer issue has been resolved; customer has been provided return instructions, return has been received and processed, and order has been refunded.

08/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Phones are placed on voice mail. Messages are left with no returned message.
I ordered a product online. My credit card was charged. I never received a confirmation or tracking information. Upon calling the company i was never able to speak to someone. I left several messages on their voice mail system with not return call.

Desired Settlement
return phone calls. better customer service options

Business Response
We have notified customer through email on 8-12-2015 (Ticket #XXXXXX) that her order was successful and that we completed her requested address change.

Order has been shipped on X-XX-XXXX and the USPS tracking number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX was sent to email: *********@comcast.net.

Multiple order and shipping confirmations have been sent, and the order is en route.

06/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No response from company about incorrect order I received.
I placed an order on November 30, 2014 for two items a Classic Curling Wand 25mm CW25-BK and the Mega Star P-Mega-BLK. It was mailed the same day I ordered it and I received it on December 4, 2014. I immediately saw that I had received the wrong Curling Wand and the the Mega Star Flat Iron had a scratch on the heating plate, I called the company and there was no answer so I called the next day. I then filled out an online Customer Care Request (ticket #XXXXXX) and received an email saying it had been submitted and would be answered in 2 business days. I never received a response via email or telephone. I have continuously called the company at different times of the day since December 4, 2014 and have still not received a response.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund from the company and a response from someone as to why I have been ignored. I think this is extremely unprofessional of their business.

Business Response
Please disregard last comment - intended for another case. *** ************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did not respond

Final Business Response
We have issued a partial refund against the order and allowed the customer to also keep the 2nd item sent in error. Please clarify what the additional desired resolution is.

05/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called, tweeted, emailed the business. No response. Took money, hasn't shipped product. Been 9 days since order.
I ordered a product on December 1, 2014. The company hastily took my money. The order has been processing, but has not shipped. They said 3-7 business days, which it has been. I've tweeted the company numerous times and I've received no response. I've called the company and they don't allow you to speak to a live person. I've emailed them and they haven't responded. I paid using a VISA debit card. My order number is #XXXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
I just want the company to send me the product I ordered.

Business Response
Order # XXXXXXXXX was shipped in a timely manner (within 24 hours of being submitted), but was not delivered by USPS until 12-16-2014 (presumably due to holiday delays).

USPS tracking # XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My order was not shipped in a timely manner. I never received a tracking number. I was never able to get in contact with anyone. Took them over 5 months to respond to BBB complaint.

Final Business Response
The order was shipped within the processing timeframe disclosed to customers and delivered to the customer.

Desired resolution unclear. Please assist.

05/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has charged me twice for the same item. A refund was promised for the first item and has not been done and second item was not received.
I first purchased the item online on Nov 25 for a megastar straightener. There was no confirmation email that followed nor was there an email saying the have received my order. During the order the website stated there was an error on the website and that it could not be filed. So i waited for a day to see if the confirmation letter would come. It did not. The next day i ordered again, again no confirmation # it did go through and it gave me an order number. When i looked in my email box i saw a letter of confirmation stated the order for my order on Nov 25 but never got my letter for the order on 26. I called the company and there was an answer, the lady told me that she has cancelled the order on NOV25 and refund will be issued in the latest 5 business days from now. I waited a couple of days, there is no refund. confirmation letter of my second purchase or any indication of my order going through. I called the company numerous at (XXX) XXX-XXXX there is a busy tone, emailed there is no response. I have done this everyday since the order and no one has answered which worries me due to the fact that the company does not answer their calls as well as the same thing happening to many customers. There are many customer that i have noticed on their forum that have the same problem and cannot get a hold of them. I am not after blood i just want my money back for the both of the orders.

Desired Settlement
I just want my money back for both my orders.

Business Response
Business has responded via fax:

Resolved:Emailed consumer (through PayPal) on
12/11/2014. Both orders were refunded (one on 12/XX-XXXX and one on XX-XX-XXXX).

Page 1 of 13

Industry Comparison| Chart

Beauty Supplies & Equipment, Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/26/2010
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2010, CA

Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Beauty Supplies & Equipment, Internet Shopping


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

NuMe has received 3.1 out of 5 stars based on 12 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for NuMe

7028 Valjean Ave

Van Nuys, CA 91406-3914

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7028 Valjean Ave 

    Van Nuys, CA 91406-3914

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*NuMe is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Beauty Supplies & Equipment

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.