BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Caravan Canopy International, Inc.

Phone: (877) 922-6679

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
09/26/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased two Caravan Magnum pro canopies from this company and both of the frames fell apart after just two uses. I filed a warranty claim but both were denied. The warranty was stated as two years and the customer service rep said it was only one year, their website states 2-10 year warranty depending on the item. On was purchased in March of 2012 and the second in *** of 2012, I provided receipts and pictures of the damage with both claims.
Product_Or_Service: Caravan Magnum Pro canopy 12x12

Desired Settlement
I would like a replacement frame for both canopies. Or a refund of my money.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** / Warranty
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@caravancanopy.com
Hello, the customer contacted us in regards to a warranty for a item. Unfortunately the item(s) were purchased in 3/12 and have a one year warranty. The customer contacted us 9/13 in which i informed the customer the item(s) warranty had expired. Since then we offered the customer a canopy upgrade at no charge however the customer would be responsible for the shipping if he was interested. customer was happy for the offer and we are now waiting on his response. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/29/2015Problems with Product / Service
09/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased 2 Zero Gravity Chairs from Camping World that were made by Caravan Global.I contacted CW about the issue i was having with the chairs and was instructed to call Caravan Global about the chair issue.The chairs were bought January 24 and never started to use until 4th of July weekend because i live in Maine and the snow and weather conditions.I was told that the chairs only have a 60 day warranty and since i bought them in January it was out of the warr date.The eyelets are ripping out and seams are tearing after a short period of use.I paid decent money for the chairs and feel they should last more than a couple trips since i have chairs i bought in the well know box store yrs ago and the are still holding up.If it is the case that they only have 60 day warr then i guess you shouldn't buy until you are ready to use
Product_Or_Service: Gravity Chairs
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXa

Desired Settlement
Send new chairs or refund money for what i feel are defective chairs.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* (Sales Mana
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@caravanglobal.com
new chairs being sent to customer at no cost to customer.

08/04/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company was contacted on several occasions in regards to a defective canopy. I was promised a replacement, and sent all the requested information.
I purchased their 12x12 canopy on June 2, 2014. When I went to set it up on June 11, 2014 I noticed the seams had holes. I called the company and spoke to *******. She told me to email her all the information along with a copy of the receipt so she could send the right size and color replacement. I sent every thing immediately after speaking to her. Several weeks went by and I did not have the replacement so again I sent an email on July 1, 2014 along with the required documentation. I called to make sure she got the information and left a message. Again no response. Today I called and spoke to her, when I asked what has happened to the replacement canopy she had me repeat all the information. She also said I had to send the stuff again. I told her I am beginning to feel as if I am getting the run around. She said if you are going to be rude I am not going to talk to you and hung up the phone. I did not swear at her I simply stated I am feeling like I am getting the run around and losing my sense of humor about it. After she hung up I called the company back and asked to talk to a supervisor and was told I have to email all the information, copy of receipts and now include a picture of the product set up. Then the supervisor would look at it and decide if they would replace it. This product is defective not to mention the box clearly states water resistant! How can it be water resistant with holes in it?

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a full refund of the purchase price since I was unable to get a new canopy top within a reasonable time span. This product was purchased early in the summer ** it could be used for family events and vacation. It is now July 15th and I still am unable to use this product as it was intended for. My feeling is by time they do anything to resolve this issue summer will be over (I live in Michigan).

07/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was promised a shipping date by a salesman, product didn't come- When explaining to a manager the problem, he said "oh you're just whining."
When considering buying a 10 x 20 tent from Caravan canopies I spoke to a salesman on the phone and he promised me a shipping date and that I would receive the product the Friday before my camp started. When that Friday came and my tents did not arrive I called the company and asked to speak to a manager.

I was told that I did not need to speak to a manager and that the receptionist knew just as much as they did. She said that I would not be promised a specific shipping date because they ***'t even have that tent in stock. Then she told me, repeatedly cutting me off, to "hold".

After fighting with the receptionist for several minutes and being told that she wasn't sure I really needed to speak to one, I finally was able to contact a manager. He said that he had no idea why I would be promised a shipping date and that they didn't even have that tent. I explained to him that when I was considering buying a tent I was promised a shipping date. He told me that he would try to rush ship me a tent ** that I would not miss my tent deadline for my camp that was coming up in three days. He said he would have to call me back.

In a few hours, I received a call back that went to my voicemail saying that they were not going to be able to do the shipping for that Monday three days after they had promised originally when I first talked to the salesman and that also he was going to be on vacation for the next 10 days.

I spent the better part of the weekend calling manager after manager unable to get in contact with any of them. When I was finally able to talk to someone on that Monday I explained in detail my problem and how I felt like I had been lied to about my shipping date. It was at that point that, the highest up manager that I could talk to, told me that I was "just whining".

I felt very deceived and also felt like there was nowhere else to go with this claim. After haggling on the phone for a great length of time I finally accepted a measly 20% extra off my tents. At this point the manager said he would ship me my tents and they would get here no later than Friday (it was currently Monday).

I was promised that I would have an invoice that day but I did not receive an invoice. The next day, when I finally received an invoice, I processed it and returned it to them on time like they asked and received an email saying that if I did not ship it rush shipping which was an additional several hundred dollars I was not going to receive my tent by Friday or Saturday or Sunday not even next Monday but all the way next Tuesday.

So I footed the bill for the additional several hundred dollars shipping and currently at 2:30 Saturday (one day after it was promised for the couple hundred dollars shipping) I've still not received my tent.

I have called the president's number several times left several voicemails and last time I tried to call it said his phone had been disconnected.

This is a terrible way to do business. From the very beginning with a false shipping date being promised, to a receptionist who would not connect me to a manager because she knew just as much as they did, to a manager who told me I was just "whining " .......

This is very upsetting and we will never do business there again.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking number one my tents.

I would also like to be compensated for the tent rentals that I will have to pay for in the absence of the planned on tents that I have not received. Each week of tent rentals costs me $1000.

I am currently in my third week. Totaling $3000.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Awnings & Canopies, Sales Promotion Service, Furniture - Outdoor, Flags & Banners, Signs

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.