BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/04/2009

Statewide Auto Sales

(818) 897-100912039 Branford St, Sun ValleyCA 91352-1006

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/04/2009

BBB has determined that Statewide Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Statewide Auto Sales' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Statewide Auto Sales

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
06/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1X-XX-XXXX purchased 2006 r500 mercedez told statewide about problems with the car is now XX-XX-XXXX issues still not resolved.
Check coolant level has been on since purchase,power steering pump still out, shocks still making noise, allegedly statewide fixed complete head gasket thermostat housing,valve jobbarring noise,electrical problems,head lamp out,tail lamp out. Every month since ive purchased the car it has been on statewide lot anywhere from 4 days-3 weeks getting repaired.

Desired Settlement
I would like all my hard earned money back 7300 dollars of it and my monthly payments of 399 dollars since december 2014 till now dec 2015.

Business Response
Vehicle I was repaired free of charge and this matter has been resolved.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I keep taking my car back in for the same problems tomorrow April 22 i am taking it back in again for the coolant level indicator is back on. all my tail lamps head lamps and indicators are out again for the 12th time. My steering wheel is still making noise when i turn it left or right. My car is going in to statewide every 2 to 3 months for the same thing they claim they fix.I dont think Eddie or his workers know how to fix any of those cars evidently.

Final Business Response
RESPONSE: ****** brought vehicle to our facility for standard maintenance services on May 7th. Vehicle was repaired and returned to customer. We have no knowledge of any issues with ******. Please have her contact our office if she has any other issues.

05/02/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False reporting to all 3 credit bureaus & charging me almost 30 NSF FEE'S on a account they were well aware was closed. Despite I made my car payment.
I purchased a 2001 S430 Mercedes on 08/26/2009. The contract was for 48 months; payments $399.02... My first payment was due on Oct 1, 2009 my last payment was collected in Sept 2013... I mad a down payment of $8,450.00; Amount finance $12,588.00; finance charge $6,564.00 totaling $28,602.00. When I purchased the car I gave Statewide 24 personal checks to deposit to into my account. I later informed them my account was closed. However they continuously deposited the checks to a closed account and charged me a $25.00 fee, despite the fact I deliver my payment by cash or money order. When I made my last payment in September of 2013. They would not release my pink slip because of the fee's they purposely created through their own negligence or lack of concern. They have also ruined my credit by reporting late payments to all 3 credit bureaus from October 23- Jan 2016 and still reporting my account as being revolving and a open account. I have contacted them several times concerning this matter, but I keep being told they deposit the checks regardless if the account is closed or not if the payment wasn't received on the first of the month

Desired Settlement
I would like for Statewide to remove all late payments of my credit starting from 09/13 - Jan. 2016 and release my pink slip.

Business Response
This matter has been resolved.
Customer paid balance owed and we released title

12/07/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
May of 2014, I purchased a 2007 Range Rover Sport from Statewide. I paid $7500 down. Transmission failed. was pre-existing condition.

The shop that fixed my car is a renown shop in Oakland for Rovers. They told me that this transmission issue was VERY old, and was a problem when I purchased, and that the dealer should have informed me. It cost me nearly $4000 to fix the car, which took me 2 months to pay for. While car was in shop, I did not pay car note. I told Statewide the issue, they did not respond. Month 3 they came to repo my car.
they did not give me an opportunity, or send a notice to come and get my personal items from my truck. When I complained, they said they did send, I asked for proof that they sent it, they said they didn't have to prove it.

Desired Settlement
These are scam artists, and I only want their "repo" item on my credit report removed from all 3 credit agencies.

Business Response
Gina ********* purchased the above vehicle on June 4th, 2014. The vehicle Gina ********* purchased came with a 30 day or 1000 mile (whichever comes first warranty.) Thereafter, she is responsible for all repairs of the vehicle. Regardless of the repairs (which she may or may not have made on the vehicle) that does not change the fact that she is responsible for making the contractual agreed upon monthly payments on the vehicle.

Gina ********* had signed up for automatic debiting of her checking account for her monthly car payments. The first few payments returned with nonsufficient funds. At the time the fifth month's payment that was past due, she actually closed her account which shows she willfully was not making her payments. Moreover, after ever return payment, Statewide Auto Sales sent her a notice in the mail. Before Statewide Auto Sales repossessed the vehicle, Gina ********* was 5 months past due. She had ample opportunities to come and settle her past due balance before the vehicle got repossessed.

Statewide Auto Sales acted lawfully when repossessing the vehicle. We cannot remove the repo from her credit report.

09/29/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They repossessed my car for a payment missed in June 2013.
01/23/2014: Spoke with *****. He is one of the owners. He purports himself to be a salesman, but state licensees and other public sources reference him and his brother as a owner. After test I discussed buying a car from him again since I had so much enjoyment from my last car and he said it would be no problem to call him back. I called back, gave "Financing" my name and SSN because I was told by Dave aka ***** to call back. He said that he reviewed my case with financing and I was good to trade in my car. 7 days later... my car was repossessed.
02/03/2015 My car was repossessed for a they state was missed on June 2013 and a payment missed on April 2014. They have collected payments up until 02/03/2015. No notices were ever sent to my abode. They kept collecting payments in good faith but still redeemed the collateral.

Desired Settlement
They need to redeem my credit history

Business Response
Vehicle was not repo'd in error and Account history was not reported in error.
We have attempted to contact Mrs. ******* to work something out but she is unwilling to compromise.

08/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a car on 02/07/13 for $5400 from Statewide Auto Sales. The car was a lemon and had many problems that I knew nothing about. On the way back to my city which Is 104 miles away from the dealership the check engine light came on so the next day I took the car to a local mechanic just to have it checked out that's when I find out about the problems. About a week after getting the car it had to be towed back to the dealership because of an engine malfunction, oil leak & misfires. I picked the car up a few days later It seemed fine till the next day the car started shaking again! I didn't know what It was and I called the mechanic at Statewide Auto Sales and he says the shaking doesn't mean anything that the car will be fine.It was so frustrating knowing that I paid that much money for a car and I still have to worry about It breaking down and I haven't even had the car for six months at that time, on top of the fact that every time something is wrong with the car they tell you that you have to bring it in so it can sit on their lot for however long till they get around to supposedly fixing the car, its like how do they expect you to get back home if you don't live in the area, which I don't. So about a couple months go by with me having to deal with the shaking and other little problems and knowing I have to pay constantly for things for my car on top of the $400 car note and I get a letter in the mail from some air pollution people talking about the pollution coming from my tail pipe which was white smoke that I never really thought anything about. So once I got that letter I went to a repair shop and they tell me that the "o valve rings" needed to be repaired and it basically needed a new engine and because its a BMW it would be on the expensive side. I go get a second opinion they find the same problem but with a higher amount to fix it. So now I'm stuck with a car that I can't drive and the dealership wants me to pay them for the lemon they sold me.

Desired Settlement
I would like to come to some kind of agreement with Statewide Auto Sales, for me to be refunded my money and return the car or for the car to be returned and any negative reports they've put on my credit to be taken off. I shouldn't have to pay a $400 car note for a lemon. How do you expect me to pay for something I had to keep spending money on just to keep it running.

Business Response
The vehicle was purchased over a year and a half ago and payments have not been made. We have tried calling you several times but unfortunately we did not have a good number or address for you. Please bring the vehicle back to our office so we can evaluate the condition of the vehicle and possibly buy it back from you. Please call our office and ask to speak with a supervisor.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Renting & Leasing, Leasing Service

Additional Information

top
Business started: 08/05/1994
Business Management
Principal: Debbie Maher (Office Manager)Danial Danialian (President)
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Auto Renting & Leasing, Leasing Service

Alternate Business Names
Danial Danialian Salvage Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Statewide Auto Sales has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Statewide Auto Sales

12039 Branford St

Sun Valley, CA 91352-1006

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12039 Branford St 

    Sun Valley, CA 91352-1006(818) 897-1009

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Statewide Auto Sales is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Renting & Leasing

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.