BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/04/2009

Statewide Auto Sales

Phone: (818) 897-1009

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
06/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The complaint is in regards to a money being applied to an account that was not mine the money order was filled out with my information an applied to someone else account In which this caused my account to go into repossession which in result I have to pay extra fees due to an error made by statewide auto sales

Desired Settlement
Desired Settlement ID: Refund
I would just like to be refunded the fees an cost of the repossession

Business Response
From: "Statewide Auto Sales"
To: "******** ********* <********@atlanta.bbb.org>
Sent: Friday, May 17, 2013 9:13:51 PM
Subject: Re: BBB Complaints

COMPLAINT ACTIVITY REPORT Case # XXXXXXXX
Consumer Info: ******, ***** Business Info: Statewide Auto Sales

Response: ****** ********* a different customer of ours, mailed 3
money orders ($700, $800 and $200) on APRIL 20th. All 3 money orders
were mailed at once and in the same envelope. Therefore, all 3 money
orders were credited to ****** *********** account. Once ***** ******'s
vehicle got repo'd, ***** brought to our attention that one of the
money orders ****** mailed in were for her payment. As requested and
authorized by ******* we corrected the payment and posted one of the
money orders to *****"s account. Regardless of that, *****'s account
was still pass due at the time of repossession. In the future, if you
are mailing in a money order for your payment, please mail your
payment separately and clearly put your name and account number to
avoid future miscommunications. As a courtesy, Statewide agrees to
credit back half of the repo fee as long as account is made current.

08/25/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues
06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/30/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought the car in 10/2012 within a month I noticed there were a few major issues which were; a Oil leak everywhere I parked, brakes squeaked, electrical shortage, whining noise when steering, the car would shut off while driving, "check engine" light was on, engine was smoking, back window had came off track, and a host of minor issues. First time taking the car in on 11/26/12 I submitted the list of everything that needed to be repaired I stayed there with my 5 month old son and fiance from 10a-5p when they said they were finished. The service manager ***** said the reason it was leaking oil was because of the oil cap on the top of the engine. It did not make sense at but we got in the car and proceeded to drive it home. Before we got on the freeway the check engine light was back on which made us check everything else and it was all still the same, except the rear window. When we made it home it confirmed it because it still leaked oil, brakes everything. 01/16/13 we came down again for them to do the repairs we stayed for about 7hrs and ***** said he had replaced the starter and then requested we bring the car and leave it for 2 days. 01/30/13 We were back again because the car broke down on the freeway the day before and I had to get it towed back home then back to the dealership the next day. By this time myself and my fiance a livid because she was driving it at the time of the break down along with our son, her mother, sister, and niece, and they could have all been seriously injured. We simply wanted to swap the car out and they told us we had to talk to ***, who miraculously had been nowhere to be found. They let us sit around for a while then we spoke to ***** and another man and we told him we wanted a different car he said ok pick one. Then he tried to tell us we needed 3 or $4000 on top of the the $7500 we'd put down less than 3months ago which ****** us off even more. They were treating it like we had changed our mind instead of treating the car like the lemon it is.
Product_Or_Service: BMW
Account_Number: $22188.24

Desired Settlement
Desired Settlement ID: Refund
As of 03/17/13 the car is broke down yet again. It's stalling, still has the same old problems the same and something is now wrong with the transmission so the car does not even go into gear now. I did get a second opinion and the car is a piece of junk and for the money I put down I deserve a reliable vehicle safe enough for my family. I do not want to deal with them anymore. IT IS A LEMON!

Business Response
From: "Statewide Auto Sales"
To: "******** ********* <********@atlanta.bbb.org>
Sent: Friday, May 17, 2013 9:14:56 PM
Subject: Re: BBB Complaints

COMPLAINT ACTIVITY REPORT Case # XXXXXXXX
Consumer Info: ****, ***** M

Response: As of right now, your account is past due. Not only are the
payments pass due but there is a balance owed for the down payment as
well. Make the account current and we will repair the car completely.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not made a payment because I refused to pay for a broke down car the has repeatedly been "REPAIRED" at your service department. I feel like your company has scammed me and had little or no concern about the safety of myself or my family. I had to pay about $2100 to repair the car completely! I have been there to your service department a numerous amount of times and sat there all day with my fiance and my young baby, just for you guys to "fix" it. I have a copy of the invoice if either you or the BBB would like to see. I refused to continue to make payments on a vehicle that was a lemon because it was non operable. And since you guys took almost 2 whole months to try and resolve this matter with me I paid for the repairs myself by a trusted BMW mechanic. I was hoping this headache would be resolved and over with by now but unfortunately I am forced to relive this nightmare. Now, what can you do resolve the problem now?

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Renting & Leasing, Leasing Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.