BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Fox Rent A Car, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (800) 225-4369

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

355 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 124 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues28
Billing / Collection Issues88
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service238
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints355

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (355)
08/03/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Up-harged account when specifically stated verbally by employee no charge would be added to account, and verbally instructed employee for no insurance
Rented from facility on century BLVD in LA, California from the date's 5/25/15-5/31/15. Before my trip I had reserved a car online. I was quoted $194.74. When I was checking out at this location I specifically showed employee my reservation from my email and told them I did not want any additions and wanted nothing more than what I was quoted. They went over insurance options, that I explained to them that I did not need for I have my own private insurance and explained that I just wanted to rent the car, that's it, with no insurance needed. The employee proceeded with understanding of what I said and told me to initial contract, which I thought they understood what I had said so I initialed. I initialed given I was initialing for the car only, trusting he understood what I verbally explained to him. I went outside and told my husband to go get the car and gave him the receipt to go get the car. Another issue following the insurance charge is they had up-charged me for the car I was renting. For my reservation I requested a Ford Fusion or similar but then changed to Toyota Camry at the location (only being a couple dollars more). My husband went to pick up the car from the parking lot after I had checked out and was told they did not have any standard type cars and we could upgrade for free to a 4 runner, so we did. After we left the facility I noticed that they had up-charged me for the 4 Runner before we even knew we were going to receive this car and when we were told it would be the same price as the Camry. They were charging us more for this car before they even told us they didn't have any standard cars and before we were even given a choice and not telling us they had already up-charged us for this car. They also added in $17 a day for insurance that I specifically told the employee that I did not need.

When I had a chance to look at my bill they had charged me $375. I tried contacting customer service multiple times and once I was on hold for 50 minutes and am led no where.

Desired Settlement
The resolution for my case is to refunded the amount 0f $102 which equals the $17 a day for insurance that I did not want. The exact thing happened to my sister in law at the exact same time, as we both were checking out individually at the same time. She was refunded and was was told I could not be refunded. They refunded her but I was told specifically they would not refund me when I tried giving them her information explaining we had the same case. I have not be contacted accordingly and have only been led to voice mails that are not returned. I want the resolution of my $102 credited back to my account.

03/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife, *****, reserved a car through Fox rental (confirmation ************ from Dec 22,2014 through Jan 1 2015. When we arrived at Fort Lauderdale airport, we followed instructions to go to the shuttle bus pickup point. We were met by two gentlemen in Fox Rental logo shirts who informed us that Fox had overbooked and did not have a vehicle for us. We were instructed to go to the Thrifty car desk, where arrangements had been made for us to get a vehicle. We were informed to submit a claim to Fox for the difference in the cost of the rentals. On Jan 5, 2015, I called customer service @ 8:45am and spoke to *****. She stated she would inform management of my claim and a manger would call back. On Jan 8,2015, when I had not heard from Fox rental, I used there "contact us" form on-line to complain. IT is now Jan 19, 2015 and I have not heard from this company.
Product_Or_Service: 2 week car rental
Account_Number: **********

Desired Settlement
DesiredSettlementID: Refund The estimated cost from Fox was $545.92. The estimated cost from Thrifty was $964.69. I would like Fox to refund $418.77.

Business Response
RE: **********

Dear Mr. ******,

According to our records we this was an offsell issue, we would like to ensure that the proper documentation was sent to our offsell department. If you would be so kind to also forward us a copy of your offsell documentation to ensure that it is processed accordingly in case this has not been submitted.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have already sent them all this info, but I am willing to try again.

03/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
reservation made via Priceline was not honored
We made a reservation via Priceline for Thanks-Giving weekend. Priceline sent us an email with a trip number XXXXXXXXXXX and a Fox Rent-A-Car confirmation number ********** to confirm the reservation status.

However, when we tried to pick up the car, one of their representatives simply told us nothing available. That is, they had no cars at all.

Basically, two things they told us:
1. they have absolutely no obligation to ensure there was our reserved car for us to pick up,
2. they have no obligation to inform us about that situation either.

For not honored reservation, two things they offered:
1. put us on their waiting list and, again, no guarantee when can we have a car,
2. refer us to Payless Car Rentals for other alternatives.

Here is a list of facts what happened after that.
1. We originally booked a luxury car, and were forced to drive a standard SUV rented from Budget Rental Car due to this last-minute surprise.
2. Our low price from early reservation via Priceline was voided by Fox Rent-A-Car, since it's not honored.
3. We turned to Budget Rental Car because the offer was at least $20 cheaper than what Payless Car Rentals offered for the same standard SUV.

Since we believe not only Priceline but also all consumers need to take this seriously because that was simply an unethical business conduct and therefore unacceptable, we reported this incident to Priceline.

To our surprise, one of Priceline's representatives replied to their case number KMMXXXXXXXXIXXXXX**** with exact the words "rentals are subject to availability, ...and you would have been responsible for finding a new reservation with a different rental car company."

Because exact words of "subject to availability" did not show on rental confirmation at all, as customers, we can not accept any confirmations that simply mean "if you are lucky enough you will have the vehicle you reserved earlier, so customers are welcome to play against the odds as long as they understand that is their own responsibility."

For consumers' rights, two things we are trying to do:
1. Call for public's attention if similar situation ever happened.
2. Remind generic public ALWAYS do their businesses with big/reputable companies such as Budget Rental Car.

Desired Settlement
To begin with, Fox Rent-A-Car did not follow proper business conduct and they voided customers' reservation at will. Per their language, that is "subject to availability" which did not show on rental confirmation at all.

For Fox Rent-A-Car, we are expecting two things:
1. Fox Rent-A-Car should always try to honor customers' reservation as best as they can,
2. if, for any reasons, they can not provide customers what they reserved, Fox Rent-A-Car should at least try to notify customers about that in advance.

For Priceline, we are expecting either one of the following two actions:
1. delist any search results from Fox Rent-A-Car, or,
2. at least, notify customers Fox Rent-A-Car had been reported a few incidences about not honoring reservations at the last minute, customers should understand their reservations confirmation made from Fox Rent-A-Car are subject to availability, AND, it will be customers' own responsibility to arrange their rental, at the last minute, should that ever happen.

03/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was charged $172 when I should have only been charged $76. Employee assured me I would not be charged. Company not willing to listen to me. Rented a car from May 7 through May 11 of 2014. Was told the total cost would be $76.37. I asked what all the other charges were for and was assured by the employee that they would all be refunded to me upon return of the car. Was charged $226, but was told that the $150 was a deposit. Just received the deposit back and only received $54. So they charged me $172 for a rental that should have only been $76. When I called they told me that I had agreed to the insurance for the car. I told them that I told their employee that I never get the insurance when renting a car. She assured me that I would not be charged for it. I had waited 1 hour in line before this so I was ready to get out of there. So I took their employees word that I would only be charged the $76 I owed. When I call they tell me that there is nothing they can do. I paid this with my Southwest Visa credit card.

Desired Settlement
I would like the $96 they stole from me. I would like to only pay the $76 that they told me I would be paying.

Business Response
RE: LAS-470060

Dear Mr. Baker,

According to our records we show that coverage was opted upon arrival which was acknowledged and signed. As it appears that there was a misunderstanding regarding this coverage we will go ahead and process a refund for the coverage in dispute.

A refund of $95.96 has been processed as of 03/03/2015 and should appear in 3-5 business days on VI ending on 8379.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
That is the amount I was told I was going to pay. I appreciate them taking the time to do this. I will use them in the future and make sure to read all of the fine print and not listen to the employees.

01/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I rented a car from Fox Rent A Car LAX (RA# LAX-XXXXXX). When I returned the car, I noticed the charge was $173.95 instead of $106.74 which was the amount on my reservation (**********). I talked to a guy called ***** who pointed out that the extra charge is due to LDW/RSA/CFC insurance, which I explicitly declined when I checked out the car with a lady called *****. ***** told me since my signature/initial is on the paper, I need to pay those fee. When I checked out the car, ***** never mentioned about the LDW etc. fee and I told her explicitly I have my own insurance and my credit card has coverage too so I won't need any extra insurance. When I was told to sign/inital, ***** never mentioned what I'm signing for. This was really bad business practice and I'm not happy with the custom service I received from Fox Rent A Car LAX.

Desired Settlement
Refund me the extra charge.

Page 1 of 20
07/29/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I rented a car, and was charged for renters liability insurance. This insurance was not requested and is not mandatory.
I reserved a rental car from Fox Rent-A-Car, via economybookings.com (reference # BXXXXXXXX) on 5/17/15. I received a confirmation email stating that my total was $172.56, and I was required to prepay $32.56-which I did. The same day, I received another confirmation email with a printable voucher that I was to present upon car pick-up. This voucher states my total to pay on arrival is $140. Of course this didn't include all of Fox's hidden fees, which brought the total to $286.75. This was not explained to me, I figured it out after receiving my receipt (after drop off) using google to decipher their codes. The total charged to me upon pick up, 6/20/15, was $540.67. This included a refundable $150 deposit, which I have received. The representative tried offering me upgrades and insurance, but I stated that I did not want to pay for anything extra. After returning home(6/28/15), I was looking over my credit card charges and saw the total charge, and noted that even without the $150, I was being charged more than I was aware of. This is when I began looking over the receipt, trying to figure it out. I contacted Fox Rent a Car customer service via email on 6/29/15, asking where the extra charges are coming from. I received a reply the same day from ***** ****** simply stating "I show Renters Liability insurance was added to your contract at a cost of $103.92 (+tax) to the total of your rental." I emailed back on 6/30/15, asking if this was something that is required and automatically added. I have not received any further response. Today, still not having heard back, I decided to peruse their website's FAQ, where I found that this insurance is optional and not required to rent a car. Thus, I am filing this complaint.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive the amount charged to me for the liability insurance that I did not request, 103.92.

Business Response
Research into this matter shows that the rental contract did include Renters Liability Insurance which was initialed and signed for by the customer, this was added on 6/20 on pickup of the vehicle. The insurance is optional to purchase, however it was purchased and signed for at the time of rental.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I explicitly stated that I don't want to pay for anything extra. I was under the impression that I was signing the routine paperwork involved in picking up a rental car. At no point did the employee say anything along the lines of "hey, you're purchasing insurance that isn't mandatory for an additional charge." I am now being lead to believe that the employee succeeded in taking advantage of a young female, naive to the car rental process. I will make others aware of the manner in which this company practices.

07/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When flights were cancelled, we asked FOX to extend our car rental. Airlines did not charge extra for 2 delays - nor did park & fly company. FOX did.
When winter storms cancelled flights twice from San Francisco to Boston, we extended our car rental with Fox two days. Airlines did not charge for two changes in flights; park and fly company did not charge for the change (of course they charged for two extra days of parking, but no penalty.) Fox charged two more days of fees (understandably) but also penalties for each extra day. Though these "late fees" are mentioned in the paperwork, it seems the winter weather deserved to be taken into account - especially since we kept in touch with Fox both days. Texts, emails,attempts to chat with customer service, and two written letters received no response from headquarters of Fox. After June 6, I told the location manager ****** ******) in Los Angeles, that I would contact the BBB if I received no word from him.

Desired Settlement
Refund of late fees totalling $121.20.

Business Response
Please provide the dates of rental or rental agreement number. I am unable to locate a rental under the last name and first name provided. I do show a rental under a different first name, please confirm if this is the rental in question. Late charges on that particular rental are $60.00 plus taxes which does not match up to the $121.20
I will be happy to research this once I have confirmation of the rental details.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your response. The car rental agreement number is ***-XXXXXXX was under the name of *** ********* and dates were: checked out 01/13/2015 and due back on 01/26/2015.

11/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am totally dissatisfied with being left stranded with no one to assist with my break down, no one returning calls, and sub standard customer service

Desired Settlement
REF

Business Response
Dear Mr. ******,

Thank you for contacting us regarding your experience. please keep in mind that our service was denied as it would be at your expense since coverage was not purchased upon arrival. Our records show that there was no previous damage to our vehicle, nevertheless we reimbursed you for the tire purchased even though the appropiate coverage was not elected. we apologize for any incovneince this may have caused.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is a perfect example that this company has no idea what is going on. This company has a rich history of being far too zealous in trying to sell insurance, and less zealous in trying to demonstrate good customer service.

My money has been fully refunded after letters were written to the CEO and 4 of the VP's. They clearly understood the liability of the situation, and were quick to resolve the situation to my satisfaction.

07/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
overcharged me at least $125 and refused to help
I rent the car for one day only. I rent from Ontario airport location and return to LAX location. My quote is $54.45. I get insurance for $18. I fueled up at the gas station right beside the Fox location in LAX right before I return it. When I returned the car, a guy check the mileage and gas, he gave me the receipt with correct number on it which is around $72 I believe.
In a few days, I checked my credit statement. I found out that I was charged $217 from Fox. They charged me $100 for gas which I already gased up before I return. They charged me $25 something for late return which I returned within 2 hours timeframe which was allowed by them. I confirmed it with the guy from Ontario location when I rent the car.
Basically I was overcharged for at least $125. When I tried to get this resolved with billing dept from Fox. I called XXXX-XXX-XXXX ext**** on 5/15. The lady was rude and refused to help.
I am so disappointed with the service from this company. I need solution to this matter!

Desired Settlement
full refund and apology from Fox.

Business Response
thank you for contacting Fox rent a car, would you be so kind to provide a copy of the receipt you were provided upon return accourding to our records we show that the vehicle was returned with less fuel than what it was received. if you have a copy of the receipt for refueling the vehicle it will help us further ***** this incident.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did received the receipt from the guy used the scanner. I checked it and it shows correct charges with no extra charge. Then I threw it away. Fox should have this receipt themselves. If I don't see the correct amount,I would have disputed right away. I didn't know they over charged me until I saw the transaction from my credit card statement.

I don't have the receipt for the gas station either. I can show my credit card statement for my AE card shows the transaction of $23.74 I swiped on the gas station machine right beside Fox location.

08/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I confirmed a reservation with Fox for $277.65 (which I have in a confirmation email). Fox refused to honor it & tried to charge $659.48 upon arrival.
I confirmed a reservation with Fox for $277.65 (which I have in a reservation confirmation email dated 5/22/13 at 5:11 PM). Fox refused to honor it upon my arrival at the airport check-in counter. They had a copy of my reservation indeed (Confirmation Number **********) but instead claimed that it would cost $659.48. After showing them the confirmation email, they still refused to honor it and completely disregarded my CONFIRMED reservation and rate.

The very backbone of the entire travel industry is built upon trust, honor, and agreements (price quotes). If Fox is allowed to erroneously quote customers low prices, then upon arrival at the counter renege on their commitments and refuse to honor them, others will follow suite. This is a classic bait-and-switch tactic. Not only is it unacceptable and deceptive, it's illegal. This is NOT how a company should do business. After traveling 3000 miles from Florida to California, I need to be able to trust that my reservation will be honored.

I have contacted Fox's corporate office seeking resolution, but their staff has failed to return my calls after numerous attempts.

Fox cannot be allowed to operate in this manner.

Desired Settlement
I was forced to make an on-the-spot reservation with another agency (for a rental that was almost identical to the one I reserved with Fox). The only difference is that I rented a full-size with the alternate agency since it was cheaper than the intermediate class (which I had reserved with Fox). I want Fox to refund me the difference between the rate they guaranteed me and the rate I was forced to pay at another agency.

I can provide all documentation including the reservation confirmation email quoting $277.65, the erroneous inflated price the agent tried to charge of $659.48, and the receipt for my rental with Budget for $382.01. The difference is $104.36. This will compensate me for the additional costs I incurred when Fox refused to honor their confirmed rate. It will not, however, compensate me for my time or the stress incurred on my family and me while trying to resolve this issue.

Business' Initial Response
Dear Mr. ******** ****,

We show that the amount of $277.65 was for the original quote that was initially reserved. we show that the reservation was then modified which changed the total amount quoted. please provide the a copy of the final receipt from the competitor as well as the email that you received quoting the total to the following fax XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
I have not been contacted by Fox and no resolution has occured. To date, Fox has not made any effort to resolve this matter. I am still awaiting a response from them.

Business' Final Response
Hello W just wanted to confirm the address where we will be mailing the check for the difference. the address we show is
*****************************************
XXXXX

Page 1 of 6
08/25/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I rented a car at LAX from Fox Rent A Car. I paid the cost at the counter and two months later they invoiced another bill.
I rented a car at the LAX airport from Fox Rent A Car on March 26, 2015. I paid 101.89 at the counter for the rental. I did not receive an upgrade. The car was a 2015 Toyota RAV4 - vehicle plate number 7KBE767. Agreement number LAX-XXXXXXX. My wife paid with her MasterCard. We returned the car on 3/30/2015 with no damage to the car. Unfortunately, we didnt keep the rental agreement.Two months later we receive an invoice from Caine & Weiner collection agency saying we owe $160.00 extra for the rental. We never got a call or mail from Fox Rent A Car. They said they had a wrong phone number for us. However, they did have our address. It seems very suspicious that they wouldn't send us a bill themselves instead they waited until it was in collections. I spoke with Fox and they said there was nothing that they could do since the claim was already in collections. I spoke to ******* ******* at Fox Rent A Car. I called the collections agency. They could not have been less helpful and more rude. They could not give me a reasonable explanation for the additional cost of the rental. Again, this is a request from the rental car company after I already paid the bill at the counter when picking up the car. I spoke to 3 people at Caine and Weiner(Woodland Hills,CA). One of them was named Shantel Altonian (XXX-XXX-XXXX). I finally got to speak to the manager and he said he would take off the charge for an upgrade($40) since we didn't get an upgrade and would give me a 25% discount. I declined and said I would be contacting the BBB. He instantly threatened that this would affect my credit. The C&W Account # is XXXXXXX. This is a blatant scam. I have been renting cars for 20 years and have never had a rental car company try and charge me an additional fee months later. Moreover, it is extremely suspicious that Fox Rent A Car conveniently wrote down the wrong phone number and said they could not get in contact with us even though they had our address. The wrong number that had for us is XXX XXX XXXX. Thus, the first of hearing about this additional charge was from a collections agency.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that the additional amount to rent the car be dropped simply because they are unjustified and were added after I already paid for the rental.

Business Response
We have gone back and advised Caine Weiner further as to what transpired. Since the account is in collection, you will need to go back to them for resolution. **** at Caine Weiner is aware of all details.
Regards
FOX RentACar

07/24/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged a $150.00 Security Deposit on a credit card after the attendant at the company told me it would not be charged. I have a written receipt to support my position. Nobody will speak with me by phone or respond to email request for a refund.
Product_Or_Service: rent a car
Order_Number: RA # *********

Desired Settlement
Give me an immediate refund by over night delivery.

Business Response
FOX apologies for any misunderstandings regarding our refundable $150.00 deposit.
On researching your account, it shows that the $150.00 was credited back to your account as follows:

Refund 06/22/XXXX XX:XX AM -150.00 / CARD AT CLOSE / DRIVER / (Mobile - Auto)

The refund should be back on your card, please advise after verification with your credit card company if you have not received the credit back.

04/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged for fees not wanted.After we discussed ad-on's, I started to sign my name.He said no, so I crossed out half my signature, and I signed where he showed me. The time was about 10:00PM, with poor lighting, with tiny words. This resulted in a cost of $553.41 in stead of $279.84 .In addition, our car requested was promised, but was not available.The choice they gave us, was one of 2 cars, which were filthy and had nicks.When calling, we were held for at least 10 minutes, then the call was ended.After many many calls, the best they could do was to reimburse us for 25%
Product_Or_Service: Rent A Car

Desired Settlement
DesiredSettlementID: Refund We want the difference of $553.41 minus $279.84 = $273.57 We also want other people to find out the way FOX does business.

Business Response
DECISION:

For the sake of customer service a refund of 50% of the coverage was processed to the credit card on file

ACTIVITY:
Regards,

***** *********
Corporate Customer Care Manager
FOX RENT-A-CAR, INC.
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX x 9 (Toll Free)
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX x **** (Direct)
************** (fax)
******@foxrentacar.com
www.foxrentacar.com

04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sales associate told me that the total due from me would be $222.00 plus $150.00 deposit. However; my card was charged almost $500.00 and the deposit that was refunded back to me was less than the $150.00 that I paid. The form that I signed showed a lesser total amount in bold print that I feel is misleading. underneath the bold print letters is the actual total, not the bold print total. I only had to rental car for about four days. I have rented cars in the past for longer amounts of time that was less than this bill and i know that i could have gone to another company that would have been more upright about the total cost and the cost would have been cheaper
Product_Or_Service: rental car

Desired Settlement
I think the company needs to explain their charges to the customers more clearly and not tell them a false charge. they also need to let the customer know that the full refund would not be given back but most of it. And I would like for them to honor the price that was quoted to me. I would have not paid almost $500.00 for a car for only 4 days

Business Response
We apologize for the misunderstanding; we will take your feedback into consideration and revise the procedure of the location. Unfortunately there is a security deposit that is processed at the time of pick up along the amount of the rental which is later refunded at the time of return. We will ensure that this is reiterated upon pick up.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I accept that they will better quote prices in the future but they are not honoring what was quoted to me and what was in bold print on the forms

Final Business Response
IF you would be so kind to provide a confirmation number or rental agreement number we can further ***** your billing inquiry.

04/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was overcharged $390 dollars in my credit card
They charge $641.85 to my credit card when I should be charge only $251.85

They charged initially: 641.85
- 150.00 were going to be returned once I return the vehicle (rent deposit to be returned to my cc)
-240.00 when I returned the vehicle I paid $240 in cash

251.85 us

so
641.85 deposit
-251.85

390.00 was overcharged to my credit card

Desired Settlement
I need for the company to return $390, as I paid for the full rental amount - $491.85 ($240 in cash and the balance should be charged to my credit card)

Business Response
Dear Mr. ******,

According to our records two refunds where processed to a VI ***** one of $150.00 and a second one of $240.00 which equals the total requested. These refunds where processed on 10/19/2014. We apologize for the delay.

Page 1 of 20
01/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unknown to me, the compact vehicle I rented for one day on November 6th, 2015 was not in a safe or proper working condition. It broke down on me 240 miles away from home; and instead of enjoying my original plan (for renting a vehicle), I had to take it to the shop that Fox told me to go, wasting my entire day. The car shop had the vehicle from 8:54am until 6:03pm, which was the same time (6pm) I had to be returning the vehicle in Burbank. After several attempts, and two hours on hold waiting to see if they could resolve this problem in a full refund, they denied it and charged me anyway.I contacted Fox Rent-A-Car, Kim (supervisor) on November 06, 2015, and explained that the service was unsatisfactory. I explained to the agent that I had rented a vehicle for one day only, but that the vehicle that was given, according to the car shop, had several problems: two worn out tires, a cracked surge tank, and no coolant at all, and a needed oil change. Since I did not cause these problems and actually, my plans for that one-day rental were ruined, I requested a refund. She denied and stated that Fox counter would not charge me for two days. I insisted that that was not fair, but actually abusive and dangerous for a car rental agency to be renting vehicles in those hazardous conditions. I know they did not inspect the vehicle engine because they originally gave it to me dirty and were upset when I insisted they wash it before driving. Failure to receive an appropriate response to this problem has prompted me to write directly to you.
Product_Or_Service: LDXXXXXX
Order_Number: VIN #: *************
Account_Number: RA#: BUR-XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I paid $46.35 for this service. Payment was made by credit card. The name of my credit card is VISA.

12/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Made a reservation through Priceline for $87.46 for Fox Rent A Car. When picking up car I was forced to pay an additional $8.99 per day for toll pass or would have to pay $15.00 per day! We were staying in the Keys which would of been around $5 total fees. When we dropped car off they charged additional fees for a bill of over $140.00!
Account_Number: **********

Desired Settlement
To be billed the amount I was quoted of $87.46 and the correct toll amount.

11/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Renting from Fox Rent A Car was the biggest mistake I could have ever made! I rented a car from Fox Rent A Car for my vacation to Florida. While visiting Clearwater Beach I lost the keys to the car. I contacted Fox to see if they could bring me another key. I was told by the Fox representative that they did not have spare keys to the car. That I could either pay to have the car towed to the nearest car dealership and pay to have a key made, or that I could pay to have the car towed back to Fox and pay them for the keys. Since it was after 9 :00 pm and the dealerships were closed and I was stranded at the beach , I had the car towed back to Fox.I was given another car to finish out my vacation. When I returned the car I was given a bill for $686.93 to include the tow and lost keys. I requested an itemized bill so that I would know the exact amounts for each item. I was told that they could not itemize for me. I didnt understand how they could not give me a breakdown so I told them I wasnt leaving until I could get one. After waiting for about 30 to 45 minutes and worrying that I would miss my flight, I was finally given a print-out with the breakdown. 30 days later, I received a call from a woman at Fox asking if I had lost the keys to the car and if I had used their towing service to have the car towed. I told her that I had and that my credit card had been charged for the rental, tow and keys. She said she was just trying to get everything straightened out. 3 days after she called I receive and e-mail from Fox with an Invoice for an additional $930.55 for what is supposed to be for towing the car to dealer. I contacted the Accounts Receivable Coordinator (**** *****) regarding the invoice and again explained that I was told by Fox that I would only be responsible for the cost of the tow to them and the cost of the keys which had already been paid. After about 20 minutes with him insisting that I still owed for the tow and the keys, but could not give me a breakdown of the $9I never received a call back from **** or anyone else at Fox and just assumed that they had realized their mistake and had taken care of it. Until 90 days later, I received a collections notice with amount due to Fox for $930.55 that I do not owe.
Product_Or_Service: Rental Car
Account_Number: TPA-XXXXX

Desired Settlement
All collections stopped and billing adjustment in writing to reflect paid in full.

11/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rented a car from Fox Rent A Car's LAX facility on April 4th, 2015. Within minutes of leaving the facility we were rear ended by another driver. We waited for an LAPD officer, the other driver took full responsibility and gave us all his insurance information (AAA of Southern California). We brought the car immediately back to Fox and they said they had all the information they needed. More than two months later, I got a call from Fox saying that AAA was denying the claim (not true) and that I needed to pay the full amount of the repair. It turned out that AAA was still verifying the claim and took 100% liability. Even after AAA sent two checks, Fox was still trying to get me to pay the cost of the damage. AAA ultimately refused to pay $38 of the claim because it was not properly documented or justified on Fox's bill. Even though AAA explained this to Fox (and took 100% liability) Fox continued to try to have me pay the $38. For the past four months, Fox has been dishonest and deceptive in handling this claim.

Desired Settlement
The remaining $38 amount is a dispute between Fox and AAA over a bill that was either improperly written up or improperly documented. AAA offered to take this to arbitration. Fox should continue to seek payment from AAA (the company that has told them they are 100% liable for the damage to the car.)

10/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overcharged me for my rental car despite paying cash at check out. Very dissappointed.
On May 24, 2015 I rented a intermeditat sized vehicle from the Mia Airport (3275 NW 24th Street Road) Rental Agreement #MIA-XXXXXX. I will never rent with Fox again. First of all this is an off premise rental sight about 20 minutes away from the MIA airport. Secondly it took over an hour to even get to the rental car counter because there were only 2 people working at 1pm in the afternoon on Memorial Day weekend.
The car I rented was nice, drove well and I had no problems while the car was in my possession. At 5am in the morning of 5/30/15 I returned the car. There was no one in the return area so I went into the rental car office. At that time I had cash so I gave the Agent (Shakina Graham) the $133.89 in cash to pay for my rental and she advised me that the hold of $283.89 ($150 hold for incidentals and the $133.89 rental amount)would be credited back to my account 3-5 business days. Big mistake on my part. Finally when I received my credit card statement in July I noticed that Fox had charged me for the entire $283.89. I have yet to receive a credit to my credit card. Luckly I do have my receipt and on it there is a refund/credit amount for $283.89. Since July I have contact several people in the billing department at least 10 times. Based on my receipt they all agreed that I should receive a refund but no one has given me the refund yet. Everytime I call, they say that a Supervisor needs to refund the account yet a Supervisor is never available in the Billing Department. The most recent person I spoke with ******* is supposed to call me back with a resolution soon but I have no faith that this will happen since I have been calling them for literally 2 months about this issue. I have desputed the charge with my credit card company and Fox told them that the charge is real and should be charged to my account. At this point the credit card company has placed the charge back on my account and told me to despuite this charge with Fox Rental Car. Not sure why when the receipt clearly shows that I paid in cash. I am at the end of the rope with no where else to go. It has been 4 month since the refund should have been placed on my account and I have yet to hear anything. Isthis fare. Can a company really charge you two times the agreed rental amount and then take your cash. Please advise. I don;t know what to do from here. I have all of the supporting documents to prove my case.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund back to my account for $283.89 and I will be made whole.

Page 1 of 27

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Renting & Leasing, Leasing Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.