BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Road Race Motorsports

Phone: (562) 906-0080

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Item received was missing lots of pieces and not as described company is being shady about refund policy and changed their website.
On February 12th 2016 I placed order #XXXXX for a 2013-2013 Dart 2.4L Road Race Turbo system (M/T). I paid $4399.00 for the item and $112.58 in chipping for a total of $4511.58. When I order the product details on http://roadracemotorsports.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=141_197_198&products_id=2418 stated the following would be included
The all new 2013+ Dodge Dart manual transmission turbo system development is complete.On the Dodge Dart 2.4L it produces 290HP and 285 lbs ft of torque. The system includes all the necessary parts to turbo your Dart, pre programed fuel management, 16g turbo charger, front mount intercooler, and all the piping. The piping comes powder coated wrinkle black and the manifold is ceramic coated to prevent rust or corrosion. This is a complete kit just install and go. This turbo system was developed to produce the maximum HP that can be safely achieved on the Dart to ensure proper diving characteristics and reliability. On March 7th I received on my order and several items were missing. I called and email the company and no one offered to help me. I also found out that this item was not as they describe it to me. I was told this was a simple plug and play system and come to find out it is not. I requested a refund from the company and was told today 03/10/2016 that the item I ordered was considered a CUSTOMER ORDER and that refunds were not accepted. This company's website on 03/09/2016 did not reflect this item as a custom item but ALL OF SUDDEN TODAY AFTER SPEAKING WITH ME ON 03/10/16 THEIR WEBSITE reflects it as a custom order. I have proof that as of 03/09/2016 the website did not reflect this item as nonreturnable. When I purchased it on 02/12/2016 and up until 03/09/2016 this item was not listed as a custom item. Therefore my return should be accepted.

Desired Settlement
I wanted $4399.00 refunded for this product. I will take responsibility for the shipping from and to them for the product but I am not paying for a product with was not as described and not complete.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: R *******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Contact Email: ***@roadracemotorsports.com
Unfortunately this customer is frustrated because he is not able to install this product. It does require a professional to install it and I explained that to him. He said he was a professional mechanic. I again urged him to seek out a professional to install it as he has disability that does not let him think so good, (PTSB.) This is what he told me. It is a simple kit but too complex a kit for him. He does not want to admit that his mechanic skills are not enough or the right kind to work on a car. Maybe he worked on other items in the military. Regardless he is not able to overcome these hurdles. This is an entirely bolt on kit for a car, he was unable to comprehend instructions (approx. 30 pages). He was talked to on March 7th and 9th for at least 3 calls with 2 different reps from our company. He said he was missing a couple bolts and nuts. These nuts were accounted for on our master checklist sheet as included but the customer lost them. Regardless, we give the benefit of the doubt to the customer. HE was instructed to make a list and email it to me ***. He never did so. WE were going to resend these items that are cents, literally and could be picked up locally at auto parts store. Talk to him long enough and he trips up. His wife is mad at him is the WHOLE STORY. He spent way too much money on himself and now he will need to spend more!! She is already mad at his initial purchase.

Our policies are clear but we decided to write the policy in a few more places. The policy DID NOT CHANGE and I HAVE PROOF OF THAT. I decided to write the policy in more places because in one of the talks I had with this customer, he said he had PTSB syndrome from being a mechanic in the military.Because of this, his words, he cannot concentrate on **** for very long without getting frustrated. In other words, another excuse why he cannot install the system. So this disability makes him not capable of installing the kit and we should give him his money back. So policy is in a few more places on our website as it is possible that someone will just say they did not see it, even though it is clearly on our site.

This was not a response to this sale. In fact this kit was built side by side with another one. That customer received his product (2nd kit) and is raving about it. Only thing was he had was a tech question that needed to be answered and it was answered.

I asked this complaining customer why he was overreacting to a total of 5 nuts/bolts missing,(which we accounted for) at the time of shipping. He finally told me the truth. I feel sorry for the guy but his wife was angry at him for buying something for himself that was so expensive. This is the only reason that he has.HE and his WIFE GOT IN A FIGHT ABOUT IT AND HE SAID HE WAS AFRAID OF HER. And it is she who is making up false allegations and posting them to various places. She is behind this and he is not stopping her.

I will be contacting our retained legal council regarding their libel and slander of our product and company practices. They are posting and publishing lies about poor customer service, poor product etc... We have 10s of thousands of dollars invested in development of this product, and potential 100s of thousands in sales at stake. A lawyer will love a case like this. These are serious slander and libel actions on their part. The only thing that may have confused them was seeing some changes to the website including more locations or links where one can find the policy of RRM. I see where he thought that website change was just for him. He is the one that made us realize that some people are going to lie and say they did not see it because it needs to jump off the computer screen for them to read it.

So he has looked for shady excuses to return a SPECIAL ORDER item that took 6 weeks to build just for him. It is made to order.Last we spoke he was fine and was going to send photos to me so that I could look for anything missing before he tried to install the system. He agreed and last we spoke he was keeping the kit. Then the next day, we see postings harassing us and making up things. I wasted my time even writing this much in response and spending a good hour on the phone with this individual, but it is important that we try to help the customer as we did. It all seemed fine at the time of the last communication. I never heard from him. Again the wife is the driving force behind this. She must be difficult to deal with.

IF these things are not retracted and the Credit Card Chargeback removed, you force us to seek a legal remedy in the court system in *******. Our retained legal team has practice (office in AZ.) there so this lawsuit will go quickly for us and we will seek total satisfaction on this matter. ****** ***

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I find this response to be extremely comical!!! Please go ahead and seek legal action so that I may do so as well! After all it will in the end be your company that has to come out of pocket for the legal costs! My wife has nothing to do with these allegations against your company except for the simple fact that she as well as me are completely upset that we paid $4,499 for something that came with missing parts and NOT AS DESCRIBED!
Before I even ordered this part I was advised by Keith (I believe) that this turbo was a simply PLUG AND PLAY and come to find out I actually have to cut into the engine management computer it order to connect this part so therefore it is not a simple plug and play. I graduated as a certified mechanic here in AZ back in June of 2015 so I am pretty sure that I have the credentials to prove myself as a worthy mechanic to complete this task. NEVER was this item listed as a CUSTOM PART on their website until of course I asked for a refund. I saw their policy that there are no refunds on custom items (custom items are described as special product requests from customers) This item was listed for purchase to anyone who wants it (like any other car part that works with this specific model of car) NOT A CUSTOM ITEM AND NOT AS NON-REFUNDABLE!!! I find it funny that his gentleman is an owner to this company responds to a compliant in regards to his products trying to attack my character! Also I ordered this item on 02/10/16 and received it on March 7th, 2016 (it was mailed on March 3rd) for a total of 3 weeks and a couple of days for something that supposedly takes (took) 6 weeks (ALL LIES) I also noted that this same situation has happened to this company with a previous customer (where they changed their website information to reflect differently after a refund was requested) Also it does not matter what was missing what matters is that I contacted the company several times via email and phone after I received this product about the missing pieces and I was either ignored or told that I was basically a liar (funny since according to them these were simple little pieces that they were supposedly willing to replace). Also the kit is listed as a complete kit with ALL REQUIRED PARTS AND PROGRAMMING so if I'm paying $4,499 for it I expect to get everything that is needed to install it.
I did contact them on 03/10 to request a refund and was told that the owner would have to call me back. He called me back a couple hours later and told me (after a heated conversation about this being a custom item and nonrefundable) to send him pictures of all the items included. After, that call I rechecked their website and noticed that is when they decided to change their webpage to reflect that this item was a custom order and nonrefundable (but I have the proof from the previous day that is was not listed as a custom nonrefundable item) so I decided to just go ahead a dispute the charge through my bank and Visa.
I also find it funny that this gentleman took things out of our conversation in regards to my prior military experience and reason for retirement and decided to make up his own little wild assumptions. Yes, I did indicate to him that I was a veteran of the US Army but at no point in time did I tell him that my PTSD (not sure what ptsb is) effects my ability to be a mechanic. Grow up man!

Well, I guess we will have to see how this plays out in court then and wait to have our bank refund our money.

08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I've ordered fiberglass lip which arrived as defective and not as described.
On 6/20/2014 I've placed an order for "CARBONTRIX- XXXX-XXXX Lancer RRM Fiberglass Front Lip" for a total of $356.06. On 6/23/2014 I was contacted by RRM stating that the shipping charge will be an extra $70, which I was aware of when placing an order as it states on the product page that there may be an additional fee for shipping. Both payments were made with PayPal. They also mentioned that they don't have this product in stock and it will take them 2 weeks to make one and 2 weeks to ship it. On 7/22/2014 the product was delivered. After inspecting package for any external damage I've opened it and noticed that the product is not the one I paid for, also it is defected. One of the edges that runs in the middle of the lip flattens out towards one of the sides. The lip itself is asymmetrical and would not fit without major modifications unlike it is stated on product page that it may need MINOR modifications. Overall, I've received something that looks nothing like RRM advertised product.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of $426.06. If Road Race Motorsports would like their product back, they will pay the shipping fee.

Business Response
We have spoken with the customer, after he spoke with our Lead Tech about the installation, the customer was okay with the instructions on how to mount the product. The product does need some finishing from the end-user as per product description. After explaining the type of finishing needed, the customer implied that he was okay with the product.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have never said that I was okay with the product, that is just flat out lie. I've spoke with the owner - ***, he said to send him pictures of areas where the product is defected. While comparing what I have and product pictures on RRM website I've noticed another defect, and I stated that in my email to the owner with pictures attached.

09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
purchased 3/7 received partial order on 3/16
Was lead on for over a month being told every time I called one more week.
Called once a week from the time I received the partial order for a month was promised call backs never received them.
Was lead on for over a month being told every time I called one more week. Never received the rest of my order . Spent a lot of time trying to resolve the issue was hung up on lied to . When I finally spoke to the owner he was rude a demeaning to me. made promises he didn't keep. Had to do a charge back with my credit card company. Was told on 4 different occasions I would receive a call back never ever received these call backs . I had to initiate contact every time. What kind of company lists parts in stock when they don't even have them in stock! *** blamed the sun the moon and the stars. It was his supplier, he was sick it was his employees fault. blah blah blah. He said he would give me a discount , and send me the parts I ordered and a partial refund. Never happened.Maybe thing are ok when they go smooth . But bet your money if there is a issues these guys will show their true colors and quick!


*** promised for my trouble he would send me the carbon fiber eyelids I purchased for 169 for 100 dollars and refund the shipping. After loosing faith in their promises and waiting for 6 weeks with no resolution I filed a charge back. He never sent the parts or gave me the discount like promised. When I told him I filed the charge back because he still had not done as promised he became irate and told me to screw myself he was refunding everything have a nice day .

Desired Settlement
*** to honor what he promised. 100.00 for the eyelids free shipping. At a minimum for the way I was treated.

Business Response
On March 7, 2014 Customer ordered parts from our company. We had one part available and the other was back ordered. We shipped the one part to Customer, and the other needed to be built. Customer was aware that the back ordered parts needed to be built. ****** ******* (owner Road Race Motorsports) spoke to Customer about sending the back ordered parts at a discounted rate. Customer agreed, and the parts would still need to be built. Shortly after this agreement, Customer filed a charge back through his credit card company for the entire amount of the order. Customer had already received one portion of the order, and tried to steal funds that were not entitled to him. We notified the bank, and the sided with our company. At this point, we do not want Customer business at a discounted or retail rate. Road Race Motorsports had no problem honoring the agreement between owner and customer, however this was before the customer tried to steal from our company. The customer has already been credited for the parts that were not in stock. We owe the customer nothing at this point. If any questions or concerns should arise, feel free to contact Road Race Motorsports at your earliest convenience. XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not try to steal anything. I waited 2 months for parts that were listed in stock. When they were not. I filled a charge back to protect my self. I won the charge back. I only disputed the amount for the items I did not receive. His response is ludicrous. And not far from what I expected. I have the emails from my credit card and can disprove his claims.

Final Business Response
Due to the back order of the products purchased, there was a delay in delivering the parts. Because of these delays, the customer would only be satisfied if we sold him the parts at a discounted rate. More than half off the listed price. We cannot sell the parts for that price. Furthermore, we do not ever want to do business with this customer again. Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*** knows what he offered me and knows he did not follow through. He is not being forthcoming. And still has no remorse for selling products he does not have in stock and making people wait for months with out delivery. Not good business.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Engines - Supplies, Equipment & Parts, Auto Service - Specialty Parts, Truck Equipment & Parts, Tire Dealers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.