BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

West Covina Nissan

(626) 732-1000205 N Citrus St, West CovinaCA 91791-1617http://www.westcovinanissan.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

West Covina Nissan is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised West Covina Nissan's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on West Covina Nissan

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
04/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract terms are not what the salesperson purported them to be. Deceived me. My English is not good I could not verify the contract.
I went in to service my vehicle. I was talked into trading-in my vehicle for a new vehicle that I was promised would be under the same terms and conditions and price of my current vehicle. I do not have full understanding of English, therefore, all negotiations were in Spanish. The terms promised to me were the same as the terms on my current vehicle. I was instructed where to sign on the contract. When I arrived home with the new vehicle, one of my sons reviewed the contract and informed me of the actual terms on the contract, which were entirely different from those I was promised in Spanish. I live on a fixed income and cannot afford the increased payment stated on the contract for an extended five-year term. I am an elderly woman with a special needs son. I need a good, reliable vehicle due to my being his only transportation as my husband is elderly and no longer drives much. I returned to the dealership to file a complaint and to try to get my traded-in vehicle back. The salesperson claimed I was fully aware of the terms on the contract and refused to further talk to me. I had no choice but to leave the new vehicle there I cannot afford it. They took to keys and I left without my old or new car. I am now borrowing my daughter's old, spare vehicle, which can only be on a temporary basis. I am devastated. Please help me. (This complaint is written by my daughter, Nohemi Kent).

Desired Settlement
I would like my old vehicle back or the new vehicle under the terms I was promised.

Business Response
Invited customer to come into dealership to resolve issue. Customer came in 4/7/15 and spoke with GM. As a gesture of goodwill, GM powered sale price of car which in turn also lowered amount financed and monthly payments. Customer signed new, revised contract. Customer was satisfied with resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
My mother and brother did in fact go to the dealership to resolve the issue. The revised contract was accepted by my mother; however, to her dismay, the contract term was prolonged for an additional three years over the terms of the vehicle she was deceived into trading in. She really had no other choice, short term, than to accept the new contract. Rejection of the contract would mean legal action and fees and an indefinite period of time without a vehicle. Therefore, she really had no choice but to accept it.

07/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They sold me a new Nissan Versa car that was on the recall list without disclosing this information to me.
I purchased a new 2015 Nissan Versa Sedan from West Covina Nissan on May 30th, 2015. The service department calls me on June 12th, 2015 and says there is a recall for the center console and I need to make an appointment. After the call I went onto the NissanUsa.com Website and put in my VIN number to find out more information and I see that Nissan sent out notices of the recall to dealers and consumers on April 15,2015. I think this is against the law. I went to the dealership to try and resolve the issue. I stated that I was unhappy that they sold me a car on the recall list without disclosing this information. I went on to say I would have not purchased the car had I'd known of the recall. I asked if there was any way we could come to a resolution and the Manager on call told me no and to get out of his office. I asked if there was anything else they could do before I left and the salesperson, manager on call and the service manager all replied no. It seems to me that even-though they are clearly in violation of federal law for selling a new vehicle under recall they still refuse to resolve this issue. I am very disappointed in the way that I was treated by this dealership. Once they got my money they acted as if I was a bother. This dealership should be fined for the way they carry out their business practices.

Desired Settlement
I would like to return this vehicle and parts ways with this dealership.

Business Response
Ok we performed the recall on Friday 6/19.
Here is the "recall" notice as issued by Nissan.

***Please see scanned docs***

01/13/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Business will not stop calling me even though I emailed, called, and spoke to a manager on YELP. Every time they say they will stop, they don't.
I went in after receiving a paper ad from this location. Upon getting there, they said they could not give me the rate that was advertised. That was fine and I purchased an automobile elsewhere. After being called almost on a daily basis from West Covina Nissan, I sent an email in October stating I purchased a car already and did not need to be called further. The salesperson assured me my info would be removed and I would receive no more calls. I still continued receiving calls (20+ a month, on weekends and weekdays, AM to PM). So, I decided to leave them a negative review on YELP. The manager, ****, messaged me stating they needed my person info to remove me from their system. I provided it to him, he guaranteed he'll stop the calls, and I'm still being called. Since September, I have received close to 100 calls from this location. Just this past week, I was called 3 times. The phone number that is calling me is XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like them to stop calling me. I'm not even asking for any compensation for all of the time I've wasted listening to their messages and deleting their voice mails. I want my information removed permanently from their system, which I was promised would happen multiple times now.

Business Response
Customer info has been deleted fro our system.

01/12/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Went into West Covina Nissan to end lease and buy out my vehicle 3 months ago. They failed to ground and pay off Nissan corp, my credit now affected.
In August 2014 I went into West Covina Nissan to terminate my lease on my vehicle and buy it outright. I signed a new
contract with a new bank for the new loan to purchase the vehicle. However, West Covina Nissan never properly grounded the lease or payed off vehicle with Nissan Motor Acceptance corp until almost three months after I completed this transaction. This now showing over sixty days past due on my credit due to their negligence. The staff failed to follow up with me or provide me with the proper documentation to correct this on my credit. This dealership and staff cannot be trusted.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking proper documentation stating that it was their negligence and not mine as to why Nissan Motor Acceptance Corp was not payed off in a timely manor. I'm seeking documentation stating that my credit not be affected due to their negligence. I'm also seeking a full refund of all processing fees and title transfer fees I payed at the time when I grounded the lease.

Business Response
The customer should have received a letter from Nissan Motor Acceptance Corp. (NMAC) that the delinquencies were removed from her account.
The letter was dated 11/5/14.
NMAC states on the same day, notifications were sent to the credit reporting agencies removing the late payment reports.
NMAC also says that it takes 60 to 90 days from 11/5/14 for the agencies to update their records so it looks like that won't happen until January or February 2015.

01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold Gap coverage and an extended 3rd party warranty and was told i could cancel at any time.I have been requesting cancellation for 3 months.
Tommy in finance has not cancelled the optional gap coverage and extended warranty that i purchased from him in January 2014, despite repeated requests in writing and on the phone and in person at his office.

Desired Settlement
i am entitled to a 2400.00 dollar refund to cancel these purchases, that i was assured were optional and refundable by Tommy in Finance.

Business Response
Customer came in on 5/9 to resign paperwork that seems to have been mispalced by business office. Customer is aware that refund goes back to financing company, not directly back to customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Still awaiting cancellations and refunds to alaska first cu as promised.

Final Business Response
Please see attachment, gap and warranty cancellations took place on 5/13/14 and 5/15/14 respectively.

The customer is under the impression that the refund goes directly back to her but it does not.
Both policies are "financed" items meaning they are funded by the bank that provides the loan.
Had the customer paid for these policies "out of pocket" she would have been entitled to the refund herself.
In this case, the refund goes back to the finance company who provided the loan which in turn reduces the amount owed by the buyer.

Ms. ***** should request the refund from Alaska FCU who provided the loan on her purchase.

03/25/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
Business started: 12/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 66154 for this company. As of our verification date, this license is valid.

Type: DMV, Motor Carrier Unit

Check License Status: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/search.do

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Emil Moshabad (General Manager)
Number of Employees

134

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for West Covina Nissan

205 N Citrus St

West Covina, CA 91791-1617

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 205 N Citrus St 

    West Covina, CA 91791-1617

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*West Covina Nissan is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.