BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

W I Simonson Mercedes Benz

Find a Location

(888) 877-6849View Additional Phone Numbers1626 Wilshire Blvd, Santa MonicaCA 90403http://www.wisimonson.netView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

W I Simonson Mercedes Benz is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised W I Simonson Mercedes Benz's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on W I Simonson Mercedes Benz

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/01/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

**** ******** sold me a used car without showing me the inspection report or telling me the issues with car. They told me the car perfect condition.
I purchased a 2003 Mercedes car on 2.6.14 from **** ********* I was told the car was in perfect condition. I was not shown the Buyers Guide and the Buyers Guide was not posted in the window of the car. After being told the car was in ready condition I purchased a one year warranty with the sale of the car. Not even a month after having the car I heard terrible noises and brought it right into the shop. I was told the car had pre existing conditions that would not be covered by total care my warranty.I had to send more than a few emails to get the inspection report that showed the preexisting conditions, these are:
Lower Ball Joint Right side rubber torn
Right Front Thrust Arm Ball Joint is Torn
Rear Main Seal Leaks Engine Oil
A/C Heater Shut off Valve Causing High Temperature while using
Woofer in the Stereo
I tried many times to communicate with **** ******** but the only communication I received was they would not cover the preexisting conditions on the car, even though I wrote that they were supposed to show me the buyers guide that would have listed the preexisting problems with the car. I then took the car to Malibu Motors and they even said why would they sell you a car in this condition. The Rear Main Seal is leaking oil and Both lower ball joints and the lower control arm needed to be replaced. One was so loose the wheel could have fallen off. This is very dangerous and complete negligence on W.I.Simonson not to tell me.
What my adviser ******* at Simonson told me was the car is safe to drive. This was absolutely not true. I had the car repaired with Malibu Motors. Going back a step...when the car was with W.I.Simonson other issue's were wrong with the car and Total Care did take care of those issues because they said they were not preexisting. Those issues taken care of were the Radiator. When I picked up my car from W.I.Simonson a huge deep scratch was on the hood of the car. The manager said they would repair it at their cost but I am feeling very distrustful of W.I. Simonson at this point. Since I could not get managers to call me back or respond to my emails at W.I.Simonson I called Mercedes of North America and lodged a complaint for their files. They said that was all they could do was document the complaint. I also was told I would receive my plates for the car in 90 days and I still do not have plates for my car. The real issue is they sold a dangerous car to me and did not tell me the dangerous issue, they hid those issues from me and told me the car was in perfect working order. My adviser ******* even told me she could not get sales to call her back to resolve my complaints.
It has been a real nightmare and I am just documenting here the big issues not all the customer service issues I had, these I have documented in emails.
Thank you for your help.

Desired Settlement
I would like reimbursement of $750.00 I paid Malibu Motors for the repair of the Ball Joints and Control Arm. I would like ************ to repair the other issues not yet fixed: The Rear Main Seal Leaking (Malibu Motors also told me if this leaks enough the car **** just shut off and this can be potentially dangerous also if I am on the Freeway) Engine oil, The Woofer in the Stereo and the A/C Heater Shut off Valve.

Business Response
This complaint does not reflect the level of service we are commited to and have been providing since 1937. We will most certainly evaluate the vehicle as requested. Please contact me directly and I will make arrangements for inspection. Sincerely , ***** **** * General Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Mr. ***** **** *** Mr. ***** ********** were very professional and took care of my complaint. They restored my good faith in **** *********

10/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Misled the amount of repair necessary, charged at inflated cost, took no responsibility for additional problem that occurred on site.
On August 26, 2013 I paid an invoice # XXXXXX in the amount of $4,142 to Simonson. Because the car broke out of town, the ******** repair estimate was questionable when we got a 2nd opinion locally. While the car was on the premises of the dealer suddenly an unrelated and previously non-existent issue developed for which they wanted an additional $2,000. I declined and brought the car back home where a technician said the problem was caused by the Simonson dealer breaking the parts during the initial repair, for which dealer declined to take any responsibility. I had multiple conversations with Simonson to resolve the issue but no avail.

Desired Settlement
$700 refund

Business Response
I had a chance to speak with Andre, representative for ***** ********, on September 26, 2013. Upon detailed conversation, and upon complete investigation on my end, ******* ********** (Service Manager), I found no fault of W.I. Simonson recommendations of repairs. I explained to Andre of why we recommended such repairs. Car was towed in to W.I. Simonson with front end collapsed and vehicle disabled. Tech found front struts leaking. Tech also found airmatic pump abnormally noisy. Tech recommended both front struts and airmatic pump. Customer authorized repairs. After replacement of recommended repairs, when tech went on a test drive, tech noticed check engine light was on. Tech ran engine smoothness test, and found misfire codes # ** ** ******** Tech clears codes and test drive vehicle. After test drive, tech checks vehicle with SDS machine, and found only two misfire that were current. Due to miles and age of the vehicle, tech recommended all spark plugs and wires to be replaced. Customer declined repairs. Customer took vehicle back to their independent repair shop in Santa Barbara, CA. Independent replaced two spark plugs only and cleared light. When Andre called me, he asked of why we did not only replace two spark plugs. He could have waited longer for remaining spark plugs to be replaced later. Also, Andre asked of why our prices are so high on struts, and we could have repaired air shocks by performing a repair kit instead of replacement of shocks. . In response, I explained to Andre that our customer's safety is our number one goal. We, at W.I. Simonson, as a dealer, do not perform patch work. We perform work ensuring when vehicle is released, our customers are safe on the road. In response to his first concern on prices being high, I explained to ***** that we do not perform any aftermarket repair kits. We receive parts from MBUSA. Prices he had gotten were through his independent shop which independent shops receive courtesy discounts as well. I also explained to Andre that dealer prices might be slightly difference from one dealer to another because of two reasons, first is because each dealership is independently owned and operated, and second is depending on the location of the dealership geographically, prices might be different. On Andre's second concern of why we recommended all spark plugs and not just two; I explained that we recommended spark plugs and wires due to time and mileage of the vehicle. Vehicle is over 13 years old. I ensured ***** that we recommended repairs based on the codes we had causing the check engine light coming on, not because we took spark plugs out to check them. Technician did not take engine apart to check spark plugs. I had a nice 40 minutes conversation with Andre and explained to him that all of what W.I. Simonson had recommended were all fair and correct. In my opinion, customer was comparing us with his independent shop where they could have done repairs via ordering aftermarket parts and keeping the cost down for customer. We, at the dealership level, take the high road, ensuring of using factory parts on vehicle, and ensuring our customers are safe on the road. I, ******* ********** (Service Manager), do not feel we owe customer any reimbursement of any kind. I have attached a copy of the repair order. Please refer Repair Order and find a total discount of $760.00 that was already applied on original repairs RO# XXXXXX, as goodwill gesture. If you have any questions/concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX, or email address of ******************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While you find no fault with your tech's repair recommendations our tech finds that the magnitude and the number of them were exaggerated and unnecessary.

The pump noise was found abnormally loud but wasn't heard by anyone except the Simonson's tech.

While we presume that its true that the tech ran engine smoothness test and found misfire codes # ** ** ******* this is the first time that Simonson admits that only two misfire were found. This is what our mechanic had said and what we related to ********

While Simonson suggests that due to miles and age of the vehicle the tech recommended all spark plugs and wires to be replaced, we disagree because the Mercedes standard on my car is to change plugs at a 100,000 and the car only has 84,000 miles.

While now Simonson offers no reimbursement they offered a free $250 next service. Why would I bring my car for service to a dealer I don't trust? I would rather have that $250 value in cash refund to satisfy my complaint, which is a third of what I originally requested in compensation.

Final Business Response
We, at W.I. Simonson, take high grade of integrity of what we do as our main business of servicing Mercedes Benz Vehicles. I, ******* ********** (Service Manager), after complete investigation of recommendations, found absolutely no wrong doings of any type. Our Clients' safety on the road and ensuring repairs have been performed to their highest proper standards, is what we practice. We do not patch, glue, use aftermarket parts, or partial repair a vehicle. Spark plugs are recommended every 5(five) years or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first(please see service sheet attachment on page 4). In conclusion, what we had promised our client was to perform a VIP Detail on their vehicle which is equivalent to about $250.00 if done at W.I. Simonson, as a convenience, I will gladly issue a $250.00 check if our client would like to get their vehicle's detail done elsewhere since they reside in Santa Barbara, and it would be rather inconvenient to drive to W.I. Simonson. I am not certain why our client compares us with independent shops that do half repairs for a low budget costs, but we take the high road and do not practice business and jeopardize safety of our clients for aftermarket (non-Mercedes) parts, or partial repairs. Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We accept the check for $250 as a resolution.

03/27/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

Business started: 06/26/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 63802 for this company.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicle

Check License Status:

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Service Area

This business is a auto-dealership.

Alternate Business Names
Simonson Mercedes Benz, W.I. Simonson, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for W I Simonson Mercedes Benz

1626 Wilshire Blvd

Santa Monica, CA 90403

To | From


2 Locations

  • 1626 Wilshire Blvd 

    Santa Monica, CA 90403

  • 1700 Wilshire Blvd 

    Santa Monica, CA 90403

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*W I Simonson Mercedes Benz is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (310) 829-4511
  • (800) 784-9231

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.