BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2001

Volkswagen Pasadena

(626) 577-0300130 North Sierra Madre Blvd., PasadenaCA 91107

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of new cars.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2001

BBB has determined that Volkswagen Pasadena meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Volkswagen Pasadena's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Volkswagen Pasadena

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
dealership agreed to specfic repairs when i certified my car and did not repair vehicle has agreed
ON NOVEMBER X XXXX I ****** ***** LEFT MY VEHICLE AT VOLKSWAGON OF PASADENA IN THE CARE OF OMAR SEPULVADA FINANCE MANAGER TO BE CHECK FOR POSSIBLE CERTIFICATION OF MY CAR BECAUSE I WAS GOING TO PURCHASE CAR WHEN MY LEASE WAS TERMINATED THAT MONTH. MR. ********* CALLED ME THAT SAME DAY TO INFORM ME THAT MY CAR WAS IN GOOD SHAPE THE ONLY TWO REPAIRS NEED WERE COSMETIC FIRST BEING REPLACING A PLASTIC COVER TO REAR VEHICLE OVER AIR CONDITIONER (I HAD PLASTIC PART IN MY GLOVE COMPARTMENT) AND SECOND REPAIR TO HOLES IN REAR TOP OF VEHICLE IN THE UPOLESTERY.I ALSO NEGOTIATED WITH HIM BUYING MY CAR THREW VOLKSWAGON AND TO CERTIFY CAR. A SERVICE MAINTANCE WAS ALSO REQUIRED OF 40,000 MILES WHICH WAS ALSO ADDRESSED. THAT SAME EVENING WE AGREED TO OUR DEAL IN ORDER TO CERTIFY THE CAR REPAIRS WERE TO BE MADE AND MAINTANCE TO BE DONE. I LEFT MY VEHICLE IN THE CARE OF VOLKSWAGON OF PASADENA FROM NOV. X XXXX TO NOV 9, 2013 ON NOV 9, 2013 I SIGHNED CERTIFICATION PAPERS AND CONTRACTS PURCHASING MY CAR. THEY DELIVERED CAR TO MY HOME ANSD CONTRACTS SIGNED IN MY HOME WITH AN EMPLOYEE OF VOLKSWAGON OF PASADENA. WHEN I GOT INTO MY CAR THAT NIGHT I PHONED MR. ********* BECAUSE I SAW THE HOLES WERE NOT FIXED HE ASKED ME WHEN I COULD TAKE THE CAR IN I TOLD HIM NOT TILLAFTER THE HOLIDAY (THANKSGIVING) HE AGREE AND SAID HEDIDNT WANT ME DRIVING IN BASICALLY A NEW CAR(BECAUSE IT WAS CERTIFIED) WITH HOLES IN IT. THE NEXT DAY A SIGNAL GOES OFF IN MY CAR SERVICE NEEDED I CALL MR SEVULDA THE FOLLOWNG WORK DAY TO TELL HIM AND TO INFORM HIM THAT I DONT HAVE PAPREWORK OF SERICE DONE TO MY CAR OR CERTIFICATION PAPRERS. MR ********* INFORMED ME HE WILL CHECK WITH MAINTANCE TO SEE WHAT HAPPENED. MR SEPULVADA AGREED WITH ME THAT HIS MAINTANCE DEPT WAS SLOPPY I HAVE A TEXT FROM HIM STATING SO. MR. ********* CALLED ME BACK STATING HE NEED THE CAR IN ORDER TO SEE IF THEY HAD NOT RESET TIMER. I TOLD HIM I WOULD TAKE IT TO HIM IN DECEMBER 2013. ON NOVEMBER 29, 2013 MY CAR FLASHES ANOTHER LIGHT THAT MY BACKLIGHTS ARE NOT FUNCTIONING AND MY BREAKS ARE SQUEKING AND CAR SINCE WAS RETURNED TO ME FEELS DIFFERENTLY. I CALL MR ********* NOV. XX XXXX I INFORM HIM HE IS VISIBLY CONCERNED AND TELLS ME HE WILL HAVE CAR CHECKED AGAIN WHEN I TAKE IT IN BECAUSE THESE ISSUES SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING. I STATED TO HIM THAT I DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE MY CAR AT HIS DEALERSHIPS SERVICE DEPT I DID NOT TRUST IT AND THAT I PAID ALOT OF MONEY FOR A SERVICE WHICH IS QUSTIONALBY DONE PROPERLY. I ASKED HIM TO PLEASE HAVE THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT HE WAS AT PREVIOSLY (VOLKSWAGEN OF ALHAMBRA) TO CHECK IT. ALL MY SERVICES HAD BEEN DONE THERE. I LEFT MY VEHICLE WITH **** IN THE SERVICE DEPT FOR HIM TO CHECK CAR AND FIX HOLES. **** CHECKED VEHICLE AND PERFORMED ANY NECESSARY AJUSTMENTS BUT HE TOLD ME HE NEEDED MR. ********* AUTHORIZATION TO FIX HOLES MR. ********* DENIED AUTHORIZATION. **** CALLED ME TO INFORM ME I THEN CALLED AND TEXT MR. ********** HE SAID HE WOLD CALL ME LATER, LATER NEVER CAME. I TRIED TO CALL HIS MANAGER I HAD NO RESPONCE, I CONTACTED VOLKSWAGON THEY TRIE TO INTERVEIN THE ONLY THING MR. ********* OFFERED WAS TO REFER ME TO THE BODYSHOP THAT VOLKSWAGEN OF PASADENA WORKS WITH AND OFFER ME THERE DISCOUNT. I HAVE NEVER SPOKE TO MR. ********* AGAIN SINCEDEC 18, 2013 WHEN I TRIED TO SPEAK TO HIM AS TO WHY HE HAD DENIED WORK ON MY VEHICLE . A REPAIR THAT HE WAS SUPPOSSE TO HAVE DONE IN NOVEMBER 2013 PRIOR TO ME BUYING MY CAR. I WANT MR. ********* TO HONOR OUR AGREEMENT AND HAVE THE REPAIR DONE IN VOLKSWAGEN ALHAMBRA, I AM CONCERNED WITH THE INTEGRITY OF VOLKSWAGEN OF PASADENA AND I AM NOT CONFORTABLE WITH THEM PERFORMING ANY REPAIRS ON MY CAR. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND CONSIDERATION TO THIS MATTER.

Desired Settlement
to fix the holes in upholestery as agreed

Business Response
I would first like to apologize for not responding to this case last year. I never received it!!! I just reviewed this issue with Mr. ********* (Sales Manager). Mr. ********* never advised the headliner damage would be part of the certified pre-owned reconditioning. The 40K mile service, AC vent repair, and trim around rear electrical receptacle repair were all performed. It does appear that the Technician failed to reset the service reminder light or the rest did not take? I can provide a copy of that repair order if necessary(RO# XXXXXX). Mr. ********* did advise we could send the vehicle out to one of our vendors to see if it could be repaired, and cost. Mr. ********* claims the customer no longer wanted to do business at our dealership and that was the last we heard about this. We will still honor that agreement to send the vehicle out to one of vendors to see if it can be repaired and cost associated to perform this repair at the customer's expense (if possible). Again, I'm sorry for not responding to the original complaint last year(never received). You'll see our BBB rating being A+ and we always reply to customer concerns in a reasonable timeframe. I have not seen the two holes in the headliner, but most of these cosmetic items can be repaired at a reasonable cost.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
That is a blatant lie Mr. ********* did indeed say it would be fixed the holes. When the car was inspected for certification I was told the is in great shape it has two cosmetic issues a plastic cover in the rear of the car and the holes. The upholestry tore. I asked him of o certify the car you will fix everything he said yes. Again it's is a blatant lie and yes he referred your outside service dept. After I certified and picked up my car and saw it was not fixed. There were many things that were not done well there at the A establishment according to Mr. ********* service dept. lacks communication and detail. I was also promised my car would be checked before or at 70,000 miles before my certification warranty is up. I am sure that promise is noy going to be honored. I might add for an a establishment you took over a year to respond.

Final Business Response
Not sure if this helps, but I would be willing to sit down with you and Mr. ********* and discuss in person? At that time, I would be willing to inspect your vehicle and send to our interior repair vendor and see if it can be repaired and cost associated.

If you're only interested in asking me to commit to approving the repair without discussing, inspecting and sending out for a quote, we will be stuck at an impasse. I believe my offer to discuss in person, inspect the vehicle and getting a quote for the repair is fair.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Sir or Miss who ever you are. In reference to your he said she said comment in all common sense why would I immediately complain to Mr. **** ********* when my car is delivered that the work was not done if it hadn't been discussed and agreed by Mr. ********* and mysel. It was the first time I am certifying a car we discussed what we needed to. For your info. More oil changes were promised but only one could go in writing as per Mr. ********** You have used your tactics best to your ability. It is so unfortinate that your employees lie or if you prefer the ter misguided customers who deposit there trust in them. I am an intelligent woman and am fully coherent I know exactly what was negotiated with Mr. ********* I originally called him in Sept. 2013 and went to see him in November 2013 for inspection. You can keep repeating what's on the contract but when I was sitting in front of Mr. ********* and I ask something or have a question I got the don't worry well take care of it the papers were signed at my home than I was given the keys my car was delivered. When the gentleman who works for you left I got in my car to run an eron and I saw the work was not done I called Mr. ********** We can go back and forth the truth is Mr. ********* did not fulfill his deal with me and other things were promised so I would certifiy the car like the maintnece before my warranty runs out and another oil change. Obviously integrity is not a prerisquite to represent Volkswagen.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
Business started: 03/01/1963
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 16752 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 04/30/2017.

Type: Bureau of Automotive Repair

Check License Status: http://www2.dca.ca.gov/pls/wllpub/WLLQRYNA$LCEV2.QueryView?P LICENSE NUMBER=16752&P LTE ID=1101

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Richard Wilson
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr Karl Zerrenner (General Manager)Mrs. Sherri Kotyluk Mr. Mario Snaer (Service Manager)
Number of Employees

88

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Service Area

This business' service area covers the greater Los Angeles area.

Alternate Business Names
Trans Ocean Motor Co., Inc., Trans Ocean Volkswagen

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Volkswagen Pasadena

130 North Sierra Madre Blvd.

Pasadena, CA 91107

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 130 North Sierra Madre Blvd. 

    Pasadena, CA 91107

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Volkswagen Pasadena is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.