BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Subaru of Glendale

Phone: (818) 396-3900

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
04/22/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a prepaid service plan on the premise that the 1st major service was covered. Just before major service we were told that it was not covered.
We paid $686 for a prepaid 3-years/36,000 miles maintenance plan for our Subaru Forester X on June 30, 2012. Prior to purchasing it, we were told that it would include the 30,000 mile major service, which is why the plan was cost effective. No mention was made of any limited number of services, and the contract, while it had options for certain service intervals (every 3750 miles or every 7500) available, none were checked.

On April 3, 2014, at just over 27,00 miles, we had our car serviced (basically an oil change) at Subaru of Glendale, and were informed that this service would be our final one, as we'd used up our allotment of five services.

We asked why this was our last service, and they told us our contract only let us have five, even though the contract says no such thing. We offered to pay for the April 3 service in order to be able to use the plan for the 30k mile major service. We were then told that the plan didn't cover the major service, despite what we were told when we bought the plan, and despite that fact not being mentioned in the contract (as far as I can tell).

In short, we have apparently paid $686 for five oil changes, a service for which they advertise on their website for $29.99 each.

There is simply no way that we would have purchased this plan without the major service being included. Why would we pay nearly 700 for five minor services? It's unacceptable that this dealership is now trying to bait and switch us, right before they would need to perform the service for which we bought the plan.

Desired Settlement
This dealership needs to cover the 30,000 mile major service as was promised to us originally, or provide a refund of the purchase price of the plan, which was sold to us under false pretenses.

05/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusal to complete a negotiated and paid for sales contract on a new car after being extorted to leave positive review on dealer survey
I had a negotiated deal through Costco to buy a car. They sent me to ****** *********** at Subaru of Glendale. He found a matching car and arranged for me to pick it up on 2 April. When I drove the 40 miles to the dealership, the agreed upon car wasn't available and I had to take a different car and that car wasn't on the lot. No notice of the change. I agreed to the new car and was told that I would get floor mats for my trouble only if I agreed to give them all tens on the dealer review. I paid with a cashiers check, cash and a credit card and the car was to be delivered at 6pm. At 6pm, I checked with the dealer and ****** was still on the lot and the car had just arrived. I told him the car mats had to be delivered with the car because of the delay and I would still give the 10-only review. He refused and threatened to cancel the deal. He called back and agreed to deliver. Then 5 minutes later his manager *** ******** called and said they were canceling the deal because they were worried I wouldn't give them a good review. They had my money and told me they wouldn't send it until Monday via mail delaying my ability to get a car. I also paid for parts that they haven't refunded to me either. $159 plus tax.

Desired Settlement
delivery of agreed upon car with floor mats this week.

11/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told that I would qualify for maintenance services when I leased the car and subsequently discovered that I did not.
Problem date: May 2014 - October 2014.
Purchase date: 8/13/2013
Model: 2013 Subaru Impreza 2.0i 5-door Premium
Body Type Model: 5D
Type Veh: 110
Office/Tech ID/SEQ: *********
VIN: JF1GPAC60DXXXXXXX
Sales Rep: Yahya Mehrannia
Payment amount: %238.54/month
Payment method: Bank transfer

When I leased this car in August 2013, the sales representative who assisted me, Yahya "****" Mehrannia, promised me that I would qualify for regular covered maintenance services for the first two years of my lease. At the time, when **** worked on my lease terms and tried different options to figure out the best possible deal, he asked me for an address. I initially gave him my Los Angeles address and, once he entered that and saw the potential cost, he asked me if I had another address so I gave him my parents' address in Palo Alto, California. He confirmed that this would lower the cost of my payments for reasons that I did not fully understand and I agreed to use that address. Before agreeing to do this, however, I asked him more than once if I would still qualify for the regular covered maintenance services and he told me that I would. A few months later, when I needed to bring my car in for its first service, I scheduled an appointment and, when I came in and checked in at the front desk, I was told that because I was registered with a Northern California address, I would not qualify for maintenance services. I was very upset to learn about this and brought it to ****'s attention. He admitted that he did not know that I had to use a Southern California address to qualify for the services (one of his superiors had to clarify this to him). At the time, John suggested the option of updating my address to my Los Angeles address in the Corporate Subaru system, which he promised he would work on. For well over a month after this encounter, I would call Subaru of Glendale, ask to speak with **** and was told that he would call me back, though he very seldom did. Eventually, **** called me and told me that the issue was resolved and that I could schedule my maintenance. When I did, I was already due for my second maintenance and my car had not received any services. When I came in for my appointment, I was, again, told that my address still showed up as a Northern California address and that I, therefore, did not qualify for services. This time, I was also told that there was nothing I could do about this problem. I complained and was told to speak to someone other than ****(*****). When I spoke with *****, she said that there was nothing she could do and that I needed to speak to someone from sales so I called *** ********** who promised to help me. He said that there was nothing they could do about the address and that the only option would be to change the car, start a new lease with my Los Angeles address. When I asked if the new lease would be the same, *** told me that this could be arranged and that I should come on Monday after 10:00 AM to sort out this issue. When I arrived on Monday at 11:00 AM, *** was not there and I was forced, once again, to deal with **** to sort out the matter. **** and other sales representatives worked on my new lease terms and kept abandoning me in a little office for up to 45 minutes at a time. When I finally got up and asked them what the status was, I was told that I would have to pay $1,800.00 up front and that my monthly payments would increase to over $300.00 When I told **** that this problem was not my fault, that it was his fault, and that I should not have to pay for this change, he said, "Don't put this on me. I didn't know." When I argued with him about this, emphasizing that it was absolutely his fault and that, despite his good intentions, I ended up in a disadvantageous position solely because of his blunder, he said, "Please, not in front of my customers" and walked me over to his office to discuss the matter. He then left me and attended to his new customers and I left.

Desired Settlement
I would be satisfied if one of the two following options would be fulfilled by Subaru of Glendale:

1) The dealership finds a way to cover my maintenance services for the two years that I was promised. This would mean that I would have two years of maintenance from the time that my coverage would be approved and commence and NOT that the two years will have been counted from the date when the lease formally began.

2) The dealership terminates my current lease, offers me an entirely new lease using my current Los Angeles address such that I would receive two years of covered maintenance service as I was initially promised. The lease would have to be for the exact model that I'm currently leasing but one year newer, and I would not be responsible for any additional costs. That is, the monthly charges for the new lease would be exactly the same as those associated with my current lease, or cheaper, and I would not have to pay any other fees up front or any additional fees.

If one of the two scenarios described above will be fulfilled, I will be satisfied.

10/27/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False advertisement on Subaru of Glendale website. The Vehicle is priced at $923 and when I called to ask for price its at $16,500.
I was looking for a used vehicle today and went to Subaru of Glendale website and saw that they had a Kia soul 2013 at only $923. I was supper excited of the price, went ahead and called the dealer and they told me the price was at $16,500. I told the sales associate of the error and he said that his MANAGER posted the car at that price. I told the associate it was false advertisement and he just agreed like it was no BIG deal. They didn't even offer me a solution for this! I am so disappointed at this because they're two vehicles at this price. UNBELIVABLE!!!

Desired Settlement
To Receive the 2013 Kia Soul at the price advertised for $923 VIN# KNDJT2A60DXXXXXXX

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Auto Repair - Mobile, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.