BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Scott Robinson Honda, Inc.

Phone: (310) 371-3521Fax: (424) 212-7298View Additional Phone Numbers20340 Hawthorne Blvd, TorranceCA 90503http://www.scottrobinsonhonda.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Scott Robinson Honda, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Scott Robinson Honda, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Scott Robinson Honda, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Scott Robinson Honda, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
02/06/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a 2008 Toyota Corolla at this dealer but when I test drive it I notice that its bouncy , there's some wiggle and producing an annoying sound. I told the salesman about it and they said they will check on it and said that maybe because tires are brand new. It was late night and I didn't have a chance to see the condition of the cars. I bring back on Jan. 15 to be checked and they give me a rental car. I told them to fixed it properly and make sure that the tires are really NEW because I noticed that its not BRAND NEW. I called Paul Holmes the salesman and told him about the tires and he said it should be NEW. Come Thursday afternoon Jan. 15, 2015 I called the service advisor and he said the car is fixed and I can get it . I told him if they put the NEW TIRES already and he told me it's not new it's 80% new. I told him that when I buy it , I was told that the TIRES are Brand New He asked me to talk to finance regarding this concern and the finance said I'm sorry if the salesman told you that the TIRES are NEW becoz if its still good we don't replace it. I call the sales man and he said he will check it and will call me back. But now he is forwarding me to another person to deal with this issue and they wont replace the tires.
Product_Or_Service: 2008 TOYOTA COROLLA LE
Order_Number: R.O.S # ********
Account_Number: CONTRACT # ******

Desired Settlement
Replace the tires to BRAND NEW TIRES as agreed upon and make sure that the bouncing, wiggle and sound the car is producing is addressed.

08/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have called for YEARS, I have physically gone to the location. They keep assuring me resolve, and that someone will get back to me but NO ONE ever calls me back.

Business Response
Ref : ****** ******
Thank you for bringing attention to the customer compliant we have called and rectified the issue
With the customer check was issued on mailed out on 08/01/2014 thank you for your help on this matter .

*** ********
General Manager
***** ******** *****

07/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract # XXXXXX - On March 24, 2013, I gave a letter of cancellation to one of the sale managers (I do not recall his name) requesting a refund on a GAP insurance and an extended warranty that I have bought for a 2012 Honda accord earlier in the month of March 2013. The sale manager who took my letter asked me to come back the next day (March 25, 2013) to complete the proper paper work for both refunds. So I went back to the dealer to complete the paper work on 03/25/2013. The letter was addressed to the General Manager - as of now, I have not heard from him. However, I did received a full refund for the extended warranty, not for the GAP insurance. It has been more than three months and nothing for the GAP insurance.
Product_Or_Service: GAP INSURANCE
Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like for ***** ******** Honda of Torrance, CA to refund my full $800.00 GAP insurance immediately. I applied for the refund on 3/25/2013 so it was within the grace period from the purchasing date. Contract # XXXXXX - XXXX Honda Accord.

Business Response
We apoligize for the delay on getting this taken care for customer. Refund for caancellation of Gap Insurance for $800 was sent on 7/15 to the lean holder Wells Fargo Dealer Services.

04/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2011 Honda Accord was sold as new in May 2011 when the car was legally sold in Jan 2011.
In May 2011 I purchased a "new" 2011 Honda Accord Coupe at ***** ******** Honda. I recently (March) took my car to S.R.H to repair some items that needed repairing on the car. When talking to the service rep he advise me that my warranty has expired as of *** 2014 but he would ask his manager if he could fix the items on a "Good Will Warranty" meaning since my warranty recently expired Honda might still be able to cover it. I asked him why my 3yr/36k miles warranty was expired if i purchased the vehicle in May 2011 and the car has 32k miles on it. He show me a piece of paper that stated i was the current ***** but the original ***** was someone else. It also showed the car was originally purchased in Jan 2011 and the warranty started on 01/05/2011 the first original purchased date. Confused, I went inside to speak with a manager. I spoke with Aaron **** and explain my concerns. ***** assured my car was a new vehicle, was sold to me as new and that my warranty would expire on *** of 2014 . He also told me if i had any problems receiving warranty service to contact him and he would take care of it. I called American Honda the next day to confirm the information Aaron provided was the truth. They opened a case and told me they would look into and get back to me the next business day. When American Honda called me back the claim manager said the car was legally sold to someone back in *** 2011 but that the customer never took the car. The deal was unwind and sold to me in May as new. She also said since the car was never recovered but legally sold in Jan 2011 that my warranty began from the first original purchased and that my warranty has expired. I asked her if that meant the car was used and was told i would have to look up that information on my own. I did and according to a bulletin from the D.M.V when a deal is unwind, the car could only be sold as new to the original customer. If a new co-signer or ***** is added to the contract the car must be sold as used. Since I am not the original customer from back in Jan 2011, the car should have been sold as used and I should have been told about the detail of the previous sale. Not to mention ***** should have mention my warranty would expire in Jan and they should have also no advertised the car as new.

Desired Settlement
I would like the money invested in this vehicle refunded.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******/Marketing Dir
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@scottrobinson.com
We have researched Mr. ********'s concerns regarding the purchase of his vehicle in May 2011. Our records indicate that he purchased the vehicle on 05/22/2011. The vehicle had 34 miles on it when purchased. We do not have any record of the vehicle being an unwind or selling the vehicle to anyone other than Mr. ****** ********.
Additionally, we pulled a DMV and CARFAX reports to confirm our findings. According to both reports, he is the sole owner of this vehicle. Unfortunately, we do not have an explanation where the error for the warranty expiration date being Jan 2014 could have occurred.
As a loyal ***** ******** Honda customer, we would like to ensure Mr. ******** piece of mind by offering an extended 2 year / 24,000 mile warranty from the original date the warranty shows going active in Jan 2011. This will ensure he will be covered for an additional year and seven months from the time of his purchase or until January 2016. Also, we would like to offer a complimentary routine service for Mr. ******** the next time his vehicle requires service.

11/28/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/22/2015Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
Business started: 10/01/1969
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1969, CA

Number of Employees

200

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Robinson, Scott Honda

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Scott Robinson Honda, Inc.

20340 Hawthorne Blvd

Torrance, CA 90503

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 20340 Hawthorne Blvd 

    Torrance, CA 90503Fax: (424) 212-7298

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Scott Robinson Honda, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 229-3521
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.