BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Repossess Auto Sales

Find a Location

(310) 644-9444View Additional Phone Numbers11916 Prairie Avenue, HawthorneCA 90250http://www.repossessautos.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Repossess Auto Sales is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

31 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service22
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 31

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Repossess Auto Sales

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (31)
10/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
bought the car in March been having problems with the car everything is then had the car for 7 month take the car to the Cadillac dealer they said it has the wrong computer box on the car they're not trying to fix it nor give me another car give me my money back
Product_Or_Service: car

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of my 3500 dollars back or are they would I would like for them to give me another car

Business Response
If the car har the wrong computer the car would not work at all. But the car is out of warranty the warranty is only for the 30 days or 1000 miles ther is the option of trading in the car to get another car

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Not once have they offer me a different car and if they do there going to want more money and like I said the car has the wrong computer box on that send out wrong signals to the car still having problems with the car when you go pass ** on the freeway the car slow down

Final Business Response
as before like we said if the computer box was wrong in the car it would not run at all the computer tells the car what to do and how to do it if it is not the right one it wouldn't tell it nothing at all but now you can always upgrade as well we can do that

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
7/16/13 I purchased a 03 Chevy Trail Blazer & within 2 to 3 week I had to take it back to said "Dealer" for repairs at least 4 to 5 times I had EXPRESSED several time to several people at the business that I was moving out of state in few week or so & they reassured me as well as the GM Manager ***** that I would not have anymore issues. I had also requested an invoice for ever time that had to bring it back so I would know exactly what had & being done to the truck I was denied. On 8/4 my chk engine light came on I had a couple local mechanics chk the truck come to find out it was the fuel injector. 8/12 I thought about going ahead & paying to get it fix then I sent a fax to dealer informing them that I may be late or short with first payment because of me having to fix it. 8/17 I called because now the low oil pressure indicator came on (which I was told that the engine is going bad) I spoke w/a **** & I explained the situation & asked since I was under my 30 day warranty & I was still out of sate & could they pay for repairs or assist in paying for repairs he said no but if I brought the vehicle back they would fix, I told the truck will not make that far and he said then I can not help me, I replied then they can come and get and he hung up on me. I have had several issues with them that I tried to workout before I left town & when I was out of town. They would have been able to keep my business if they would have compromised. As of 8/17 my 30 days was up. I refuse to have any more conversations with them. I made my attempts to resolve they didn't suggest anything to help they didn't try to compromise they were rude about the whole thing and I am out of a car.
Product_Or_Service: 2003 Chevy Trail Blazer
Order_Number: XXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
They stated that they have GPS on the truck so it will be parked & locked with keys and paperwork inside I would just like them to come and get the vehicle & they can fix it and resell it to someone else and I DO NOT WANT MY CREDIT TO BE TARNISHED AT ALL.

Business Response
We have the trailblazer here we will not put it on you're credit.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the response because they agreed NOT to put this on my credit which means they will NOT look for me to pay for something that they were NOT willing to assist in helping me to fix or to fix themselves. I'm sorry that they couldn't keep mt business.

08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
sence i've purchased my vehicle it has given me problems.one thing afer another.the diagnoses ive received from dealer and any other machanic shop has become overwelming. my trust in anyone in reguards to my vehicle and its health has become hesitant.i dont know who to trust.from the suspension,to the engine,alternator plus battery and a apparent electrical shortage somewhere. i really feel taken by them and unhappy with this business. there's nothing worse than. paying a rediculous amount on your car note ever month,and also worried if the next time you crank it up you have a $3,000 plus machanical job to repair.
Product_Or_Service: dodge charger
Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
i would appiciate the repairs to be done,and payed by the dodge dealer. considering that the trust in repossess auto sales is no longer there.

Business Response
you have had the car since march of 2013 we can no longer honor any work at this time

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
These are problems that have been continuous and,or never resolved at the time of vehicle purchase. I've spoken to numerous repossess auto personal, including management about these issues concerning constant check engine light on the dash of my vehicle. I received nothing but negative feedback, rude verbal responses and careless song and dance about my 'now' purchased problematic vehicle. It's a shameful thing to have a car note that I pay monthly that restricts me. If repossess auto had any integrity and morality in it's establishment they wouldn't have sold a vehicle uniformed about it's major issues. Being that they can legally bind you to a four year payment contract, but can't make sure that you're satisfied on the condition it's in before placing a individual in the "car of their dreams." I feel like I was taken advantage of. Maybe because I was a female with ****** knowledge of cars and didn't have a male attending me with my purchase I got haggled. I didn't know which way to turn in my struggles behind my 'now' vehicle until I was informed about a lemon law and who to contact for assistance with my issue. If repossess couldn't be trusted to repair the noticeable issues and problems that was brought to them in a 30day time period. They shall not be trusted to be responsible in any other matter.

03/02/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
10/21/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Auto Repossess sales are lying to customers and saling lemon cars that customers are stuck with paying a car note on. They sale cars that they know are bad cars and they don't try to help you once you complain about the issues. I took my car in after having it for two days and the salesman lied to me and told me the problem I was having was due to the oil change. I put my car on a diagnostics machine just to find out after getting a major tune up to find out that 8 different codes popped up on the car. When I brought this attention to the manager he stated if i already went over 1000 miles their was nothing that the company can do...and told me if I want to voluntarily bring the car back and leave it...for them to keep I can but u would still be obligated to paying the car note on it. I explained to him that I am a single mother with 3 children and that I am a care giver who only makes 9.00 an hour he laughed a nonchalantly told me he prefer I get another job. I felt disrespected and angry. Please help me I feel like they rig the vehicle ling enough to work after 1000 miles then they're in the clear with money coming in for a non working car. Which they know that to fix the car people would be late on their payments they repossess the vehicle then resale the vehicle making profit off someone else purchasing it for 3-4 thousand. Keeping them in business and people unsatisfied...there must be something done because after looking at their views I understand that I'm not the only one that has been done in this matter. Sincerely ******* ******* a woman who's only trying to get to work and provide for her family.
Product_Or_Service: ******** ********
Account_Number: **

Desired Settlement
I put down 3,700 on a 7,000 dollar car and I've been paying 180.00 for my payments every month for 5 months now. Either a refund or a better vehicle. Please help me I'm in desperate need of help.

Business Response
THE ONLY THING TAHT CAN BE DONE IS TO TRADE THE CAR CAN NOT SWITCH BUT YOU CAN TRADE IT IN

09/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged $33 late fee because P.O box is not checked on a daily bases per Steven in payment center. P.o Box is the only address in payment booklet
Paymeny was mailed on Aug XX XXXX, however was not checked per Steven until 8/25/2014. I expressed to him I mailed the payment to the only address provided in payment booklet and was told I have the option to walk it in which is over 50 miles from my house to prevent a late charge because that is their policy to charge $33 even if the payment is sitting in their P.O box for days or weeks per ******. I also spoke with him several times in between to see if their received the payment and he never stated this policy although I stated the address it was sent to.

Desired Settlement
I would like the $33 credit back to my account and if the P.o box is not checked on a daily bases then the address on payment booklet needs to be updated to the payment center on Prairie in Hawthorne, california.

Business Response
we have not charged you a late fee at all

09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a used Dodge caravan from this place. I have 30 day warranty and the battery died on me. Can't get a hold of dealership.
I traded in my girlfriends Chevy Aveo in order to get this Dodge caravan. My girlfriend and i both agreed upon it. When i was about to leave the dealership, they didn't have any gas in the Dodge caravan, someone had to go to a gas station to pick some up. The next day i couldn't get the Dodge caravan to turn on. I am looking at the battery, but if it keeps messing up then i believe it's the alternator. I tried calling them. The person on the phone said to call back in a hour because they were having problems. I called back and i didn't get anyone to pick up the phone, and the salesperson who gave me his number is not picking up either. In my contract it states that i have a 30 day warranty so if there is anything wrong with the car, their company **** fix it. How can i get it fixed if the people at that company don't answer their phone? I think this company needs to be investigated because i looked on yelp (after i bought the car) and it's getting all bad reviews, a lot of people are saying this place is a scam. I got a jump for the battery and i let it run, i am just hoping that the battery doesn't die again, i had to miss a day of work over this. I would think that a car at a dealership should not have problems like this, unless i bought it "as is", but i didn't buy this car "as is". It shows it in the contract that i have a 30 day warranty and in the contract it states that they **** cover the cost within the 30 day warranty if anything goes wrong on the car within that time. Again i say, how can i get them to fix it when they can't get back to me, or even answer their phone.

Desired Settlement
If they can replace what needs to be fixed, or replace the entire vehicle with something similar to what i have, or the exact same vehicle (another Dodge caravan). Or if they can not fix the problem or replace the vehicle, then they need to give me back(in the same condition i brought the vehicle in) the vehicle i traded in order for me to get the Dodge caravan.

Business Response
*** See Attachments***

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car ran hot within 2 weeks of them saying they repaired it still had the warranty paid out of pocket to get fixed did not reimburse me.
I bought my car from them in California I live in Arizona. They had me come back and forth cause of different problems they claimed they fixed. After the last time of them "fixing it" it ran hot couldnt mal it back to Los Angeles so I came out of pocket. Called them about my warranty **** said he would reimburse me or put the money toward my car note never did so they repoed my car for failed to pay

Desired Settlement
I want my money back that I paid for the car 2500 dollars do not wish to conduct business with them

Business Response
you never faxed info on repairs there for we can not do anything to help out

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don not accept the respone because when I revived a call from ine of the employees there they told me that **** wasnt in charge to make a decision that if I got my car fixed out of pocket they would reimburse me. When I first made the call **** said that he was capable of this action. But Later found out that he wasnt suppose to make that decision

Final Business Response
The car is here u need to cali the payment dept

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Then i would like my car returned to me and for guys to fix the problems that are wrong with it.

04/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My issue with Repossess Auto is I bought a used 2010 Ford Taurus from the February 2012. This year February 2014 I have repaired major parts on car.
My husband and I purchased a 2010 Ford Taurus from Repossess Auto on February 2012. The problem first occurred February 14th, 2014. I had to replace three transmission mounts and shocks and struts that cost me $1350 dollars. The second issuse I had to replace a shifter $357 February 22nd, 2014 Third issuse my engine light came on I took the car to a real dealarship. And on March 12th, 2014 I had debris in the gas tank that was clean $95. Fourth issuse engine light came on again March 12th, 2014 replaced a fuel filler $178 37. Fifth issuse engine light came on again on March 17th and now I need a engine throttle body that cost me $283.40. I pay $515.00 car payment on time and I call them with my concerns with this vehicle and they treat me like dirt.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund on these repairs. When I bought this car they told me and my husband that the car was a certified used vehicle. And with these type of repairs clearly shows me that this isn't true. I'm out of pocket for two months straight $2263.77 dollars this is the amount that I'm seeking back.

Business Response
we are sorry to here about isuuses you have with the car but when u bought that car the warranty was 30 days or 1000 miles whichever comes first no it is 2 years after u bought the car it is way to late for warranty repairs

Page 1 of 4
08/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repossive Auto has fail to communicate with me.I never received a phone call nor letter in the mail. Customers service is horrible.
They sold my car right under my nose. I fixed on that car since I brought it almost done with payments. No phone calls no letters service is unprofessional.

Desired Settlement
I want my car back or my money I invested!

05/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Having trouble with the car repairs are not being made in a timely manner
Purchase date 2/27/2015 down payment 3.300 my front interior was tore my back windows won't roll down my front window motor has gone out my radio goes in and out my paint is starched up

Desired Settlement
Fix my car the proper way with new parts and provide me a car while my car is being repaired

09/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******* *** lied to me, said he was aythorized to repair my frozen engine in the 3 month old car i was paying on, i was going to pay, but repossed it.
******* *** said he was going to rewrite my contract, said he was able to do it once only since my motor froze and i wasGOING TO PAY HIM THE BACK MONTH AND A HALF, he said he would charhr 1/3 of what i was goung to oay and dont make the payment and he was going to HELp ME AND GET ME CURRENT and trans service qould pick up the car, utll be ready by sat call fri and dont worrt ni need to pay anything right now, the TRANS SVC picked up thw car the guy said he didnt qany me ti loose the raider licwnae plt vut NOONE EVER SAID REPOASESSION, i called the next day yi cokliment him on the trans svs and he said call fri Nd ill let u kniw wHat tine yi come ib to pick up car sat.. i valled fri and he wasny in i called sat and he foesnt work wrekends and mon i callef and apik ti victor and he said "ur cars reposssesded and its kot gonna get fixed and u owe 1409 and 25 per day fron the 30

Desired Settlement
4/28/14 *********** promised to have my motor repaird at half of the regular amount 1800.00 that my machanic qouted me. i imformed mr *** of the vehicle being released from the ato body repair shop eirler that day the 28th of april and with in 10min of delivery the vehicle oil light came on and shut down the motor shortly there after.i was aware of my payment needing to be procesed and was fping to make the payment that day in order to catch up and save for 3 weeks n pay my mechanic,but mr *** said not to pay he would get me caught up on my contract by rewirting and placeing the half of the $1800.00 into the new rewrite.my vehicle would be picked upat no cost to me by transport service and the safty hazard reparis that should have bin taken care of prior to the car being purchased. i was ashured by mr *** that i would here on friday 5/1/14 of the pick up time saturday but had to get myself to the pick up site and need not bring any cash for this transaction. friday and saturday unavaible. monday i spoke to victor in finace and he stated the car was repossessed and the rims,tires,stereo system are all part of the vehicle and the motor n safty hazared repairs **** not be done and i have no other recourse but to pay the 1409.00 and motor and repossess fee n 25.00 per day storage and tow it out myself he was unreasonible and obtuse and indifferent to my arangement and verbal agreenment with mr *** said it is irrelevent and has nobearing and he is the only person i am able to speak with no one is above him. bob is in semminars and **** not ever speak to me.i spoke to mr *** tuseday n he stayted the was noe arangement and if i hrrassed them any futher i would have to pay the full amount of 13,000.00 up gront in order to get the car. after camling myself i spoke to mr *** once more he then said he tride n was not able to help. stayted he has done this to two other women and was very arrogant. at no time was i made awared of the vehicle up for repossession i was lied to and am now requesting the total of 5000.00.

09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i was sold a lemon and i wont my money back
I ******* ***** bought a car on 02/28/2014 and the car wasnt ready and i had to wait until 03/05/2014 to get the truck and on 03/06/2014 i had to take the truck back the back light was not working and the gas fumes are coming in the car and i have a new born and a 5 year old and 3 older kids and they still havent fix the problem the check engine light been on for over 2 months and the tires were separting then they told me to take the truck to get new tire for there place and the thread is coming out also i didnt get my 3rd row seat for over a month they wouldnt give me my downpayment back or give me another car and my heat or AC was not working and it was cold outside

Desired Settlement
i wont my down payment back

09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i was sold a lemone and i wont my money back
I ******* ****** Purchase the truck on 04/08/2014 and put a down payment of $3000 it was suppose to have a 3rd row seat that why i told them i wanted the truck and they said they would have to order the seats the very next day i was lock out the car because the door didnt have no door locks on them so they had to come out to my house and open the door so i took the truck back on 04/09/2014 and they did the drivers door and i had to bring the truck back 04/14/2014 for the other door lock to get put on there and the 3rd row seat.so when i got the truck back on 04/15/2014 the transmission was going out so i called them told them i wont my money back the truck is giving me to many problems and they kept giving me a ran around so i brought the truck back and then they gave me a loaner on 04/16/2014 after i kept telling them how i suppose to get back and fourth to work and take my kids to the babysittersso they took it to the transmission place and the transmission person said it dont see the problem so they **** they services the transmission and gave the truck back to me on 04/23/2014 doon as i drove the truck it was the same problem so i called them back and then i took it to another transmission place and the man who work there test drove the truck and said the transmission need to be rebuilt so on 04/30/2014 i took the truck back and they gave me a loaner until the truck was finish also they sent the truck back to the transmission place then on 05/15/2014 they called me and said the truck is ready to be pick up and then on 05/16/2014 the truck didnt want to reverse and thenon 05/17/2014 the check engine light came on also the truck cut off on me

Desired Settlement
i just wont my down payment back and go about my business

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Mxnxoxp, Inc., Repossess Auto

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Repossess Auto Sales

11916 Prairie Avenue

Hawthorne, CA 90250

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Repossess Auto Sales is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (310) 644-0077
  • (310) 644-8373
  • (310) 644-4913
  • (310) 644-8000
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.