BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Repossess Auto Sales

Find a Location

(310) 644-9444View Additional Phone Numbers11916 Prairie Avenue, HawthorneCA 90250http://www.repossessautos.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Repossess Auto Sales is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 16 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service17
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Repossess Auto Sales

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (24)BBB Closure Definitions
10/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Auto Repossess sales are lying to customers and saling lemon cars that customers are stuck with paying a car note on. They sale cars that they know are bad cars and they don't try to help you once you complain about the issues. I took my car in after having it for two days and the salesman lied to me and told me the problem I was having was due to the oil change. I put my car on a diagnostics machine just to find out after getting a major tune up to find out that 8 different codes popped up on the car. When I brought this attention to the manager he stated if i already went over 1000 miles their was nothing that the company can do...and told me if I want to voluntarily bring the car back and leave it...for them to keep I can but u would still be obligated to paying the car note on it. I explained to him that I am a single mother with 3 children and that I am a care giver who only makes 9.00 an hour he laughed a nonchalantly told me he prefer I get another job. I felt disrespected and angry. Please help me I feel like they rig the vehicle ling enough to work after 1000 miles then they're in the clear with money coming in for a non working car. Which they know that to fix the car people would be late on their payments they repossess the vehicle then resale the vehicle making profit off someone else purchasing it for 3-4 thousand. Keeping them in business and people unsatisfied...there must be something done because after looking at their views I understand that I'm not the only one that has been done in this matter. Sincerely ******* ******* a woman who's only trying to get to work and provide for her family.
Product_Or_Service: ******** ********
Account_Number: **

Desired Settlement
I put down 3,700 on a 7,000 dollar car and I've been paying 180.00 for my payments every month for 5 months now. Either a refund or a better vehicle. Please help me I'm in desperate need of help.

Business Response
THE ONLY THING TAHT CAN BE DONE IS TO TRADE THE CAR CAN NOT SWITCH BUT YOU CAN TRADE IT IN

04/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchase a vehicle with this car dealer & it happens to turn out bad because one week later wen I drive the car it had defects I tried going back telling them the situation and they just kept saying it was normal for the car to turn off on me anytime while driving it they just didn't want to deal with the problem so I got tired off trying so I just returned them the car at that moment . I would like my money back which is the down payment I used to lease the car . Thank you for your attention. !!
Product_Or_Service: Vehicle

Desired Settlement
I would like refund or replacement a.s.a.p now that it's been close to 2 years since the purchase .

Business Response
I'm sory but it seems that we can not pill you're name in the computer and if its has been 2 yaers since you bought the car we can not do that exept to do a trade in

07/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
About 9 months ago I Bought a car from repossess auto, Both cars were Lemons. The first car I attempted to buy, had a key entry problem, I did notice in the beginning, they so called fixed, the car locked me out for 2 hours at my job then it wouldn't start and when driving it home I woke up to a pool of oil. After 5 different times going back to the dealership I was frustrated and decided I didn't want the vehicle and picked another. The second car, when getting on the fwy came a loud humming from both rear and front end of vehicle. By this time I was upset and frustrated due to having to spending my time and gas coming back and forth from Victorville to Los Angeles because I trusted the company would do right by the customer. When taking the vehicle to my company mechanics it was found that 1. Shortly the transmission was going out and it did I just recently replaced it. 2. The bearings and rear end needed to be done along with the differential 3. The front end with rotors & brakes also needed to be done and now the alternator is going out. I am behind 2 payments because of having to fix this car so I can go to work. I do believe that the salesman at the lot knows the conditions of the vehicles and to make a sale they will sale you anything.
Product_Or_Service: Vehicle

Desired Settlement
My desired settlement is to have a dependable vehicle, I'm not trying to get out of my contract I need my car and if I can't get a dependable vehicle please just allow me to go else where so that I can get what I need to make my living, but if it means I have to come out of the contract, let it be. I don't trust this company after my experience with them I have to say that.

Business Response
Mrs. ****** purchased the vehicle on 7/16/12. the warranty on the vehicle was 30days or 1000 miles 50/50 on power trans. She has had the vehicle for almost a year. If she would like to trade the vehicle in, we will be happy to review the deal and see how we can help her with another vehicle.

09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 3
08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
sence i've purchased my vehicle it has given me problems.one thing afer another.the diagnoses ive received from dealer and any other machanic shop has become overwelming. my trust in anyone in reguards to my vehicle and its health has become hesitant.i dont know who to trust.from the suspension,to the engine,alternator plus battery and a apparent electrical shortage somewhere. i really feel taken by them and unhappy with this business. there's nothing worse than. paying a rediculous amount on your car note ever month,and also worried if the next time you crank it up you have a $3,000 plus machanical job to repair.
Product_Or_Service: dodge charger
Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
i would appiciate the repairs to be done,and payed by the dodge dealer. considering that the trust in repossess auto sales is no longer there.

Business Response
you have had the car since march of 2013 we can no longer honor any work at this time

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
These are problems that have been continuous and,or never resolved at the time of vehicle purchase. I've spoken to numerous repossess auto personal, including management about these issues concerning constant check engine light on the dash of my vehicle. I received nothing but negative feedback, rude verbal responses and careless song and dance about my 'now' purchased problematic vehicle. It's a shameful thing to have a car note that I pay monthly that restricts me. If repossess auto had any integrity and morality in it's establishment they wouldn't have sold a vehicle uniformed about it's major issues. Being that they can legally bind you to a four year payment contract, but can't make sure that you're satisfied on the condition it's in before placing a individual in the "car of their dreams." I feel like I was taken advantage of. Maybe because I was a female with ****** knowledge of cars and didn't have a male attending me with my purchase I got haggled. I didn't know which way to turn in my struggles behind my 'now' vehicle until I was informed about a lemon law and who to contact for assistance with my issue. If repossess couldn't be trusted to repair the noticeable issues and problems that was brought to them in a 30day time period. They shall not be trusted to be responsible in any other matter.

10/21/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Negligent customer service. False advertisement
I ****** ******** call and spoke to repossessed autos on 7/11/2014 about reimbursement because of issues with the car I brought the car 07/03/2013.i called to speak with the salesman by the name of ***** sales manager ***** said," stop harassing there company". and threatened to call the police .I started calling at 8:00 a.m.
I spoke with several men about the vehicle and all the men told me to just call back until I ask for a gentlemen named **** and I was transferred to sales manager named *****
The salesman who sold the car is ******
The payments on the vehicle is $380 a month
The Dow payment was $2000
payment by debit
pontiac XXXX X
Acct#XXXXX

Desired Settlement
***** supposedly answered the call and I told him that I needed to speak with **** and ***** said" this is ****", in a sarcastic manner I told him to transfer me so I could speak with **** he said he is **** and he asked me how am I ****** ******** going to tell him who he is and continued to say that "**** is a short black ********** from new york city and if I don't stop telling him he is not **** he's going to hang up on me", so he went on to say I need to straighten out my boyfriend who wants to beat me up All the time and what I called for was a waist of conversation and he said he was going to hang up goodbye.i asked about payments and registration and "****" went on too say that there is no business don't call there anymore.now I'm stuck with a vehicle that doesn't the due **** states no free work was promised and only the middle counsel needed repair. I have a 30 day warranty so I'm not shore what my next step should be but I'm looking to definitely get the right to sue
And also looking to get my money back of 2000

Business Response
please bring it in and see **** he is the general manger so we can try to get repairs done for u on the middle console

04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I got a car from them 9/4/2013 since ive had the car I have to make repairs.its a 2001 bmw 525 before I took the car home they kept it for a few days to work on it and after I had it for 2 weeks I had to have it towed back in. They kept it for a few more days to repair again, it seem like every other month I habe to have the car towed and repaired.im spending almost 600 every so many months or repairs.i replaced the radiator. Water pump , belt, altinator, the radiator blow up again. The check engine light keep coming on. And I still need more repairs. Thats gonna cost me alot of money. And sometimes white smoke or steam is coming from under the hood and through the vents

Desired Settlement
I want another car or all my money back I traded a car which I bought from them and only have a few months left to pay and I put down $2000.00. And ive been making my payments of $480.00.a month. I feel its wrong that I have to pay my car payment and pay for all the repairs.i can really drive the car cause I. Scared it gonna stop on me.

Business Response
You had bought the car over 30 days the warranty is for 30 days or 1000 miles we are sorry that u have had problems with the car but at this time what you are asking we can not do

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because they should have sold me a car that works properly. Its not right to sell a person a car and every other month you have to do repairs and pay the car note.I can't enjoy what im buying cause im broke from making 3-600 hundred dollars repairs and paying over 400 for car payment.

Final Business Response
you had bought the car in sept of 2013 ther is nothing we can do it has been to long

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Like I said its wrong to sell a person a car and im putting more money than miles on the car. I guess thats how they treat people with bad credit sell them anything just cause they know it will be hard for them to get a car else where. Even if they dont replace the car they can at least fix all the problems thats left

09/26/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/08/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Mxnxoxp, Inc., Repossess Auto

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Repossess Auto Sales

11916 Prairie Avenue

Hawthorne, CA 90250

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Repossess Auto Sales is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (310) 644-0077
  • (310) 644-8373
  • (310) 644-4913
  • (310) 644-8000
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.