BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2004

Longo Toyota

(626) 580-6000View Additional Phone Numbers3534 Peck Rd, El MonteCA 91731-3596View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2004

BBB has determined that Longo Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Longo Toyota's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Longo Toyota

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
03/04/2015Problems with Product / Service
08/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Negotiated a price. Wife arrives and is told it will be $500 more because car has an alarm. Worse, car alarm doesn't work and they give us runaround
Negotiated a specific price for a specific make, model, year, and color. Wife arrives to pick up the car on a Saturday night, and is told it is $500 more because it has an alarm. Classic bait and switch, but we need a car so wife proceeds. It takes four hours to complete the transaction, even though we had an appointment and paid cash. When she finally gets the car home, the alarm goes off randomly every 20 minutes for no reason, forcing us to move it to the garage and leave the alarm off. We're told to bring the car back on a Sunday. Wife arrives first thing Sunday morning to be greeted by a rude and unhelpful service department employee and manager, who make no effort to address the problem and tell her to return Tuesday. This is not the type of treatment we have come to expect from this dealer, though this is not the first time my wife has found the service department to be rude and unhelpful.

Desired Settlement
We should have received the car at the negotiated price. If they want to keep the alarm, that is fine; just refund our money and we never need do business again.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************
Allow me to begin by apologizing to Mr. ******* and his wife *. ****** for any frustration and disappointment they may have experienced when conducting business with our dealership. Mr. ******* was dealing directly with ***** ****** one of our iNet Sales Consultants. Our records during the online negotiations Mr. ******* presented a TRUE CAR price quote. At no time was there a written price agreement between Mr. ******* and ****** When Ms. ****** arrived at our dealership alone and without her husband she asked for two names, *** (with no last name) and a **** ******* **** was unavailable and the deal was given to the next sales consultant ** *********. The alarm on this vehicle is an additional cost of $499.00 (+) tax. *** ****** agreed to the price and signed the contract. Vehicle was purchased on 1.31.15 and later that evening (late) the alarm triggered twice. Ms. ****** contacted her sales consultant ** ********* and informed him of this matter and he instructed her to bring the vehicle in on Sunday, to our service department to have them adjust the sensitivity of the system. Salesman was unaware the service alarm specialist was not on call and will not be returning back to the dealership until the following Tuesday February 4, 2015. ** ********* (slsm) was unable to verify the hours for the alarm technician due to the time Ms. ****** called which was around approx. 10:00 PM on Saturday January 31, 2015; service department closes @ 5:30 PM on Saturdays. Guest was dissatisfied that she came in on Sunday to be told nothing could be done. The dealership once again, would like to apologize for this inconvenience that was brought forth to Ms. ******* Vehicle was brought in on Tuesday February 4, 2015 (REF #XXXXXX) and had the alarm adjusted. Because our guest satisfaction is important to our dealership, management has agreed to uninstall the alarm and refund Ms. ****** $499.00 (+) tax even though Ms. ****** agreed to the price and signed a contract. Once the alarm is uninstalled by our technicians the dealership will begin the refund process and mail a check to the address we have on record. If Mr. ******* and or his wife Ms. ****** would like to accept this offer, please have them contact **** ******* at 626.580.6057 so she may orchestrate the removal and refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We appreciate that **** has been responsive in terms of speaking with us and returning our calls. We also agreed to have the alarm (which remained broken despite visiting the service department a second time) uninstalled in exchange for a refund, and **** was helpful in arranging for a technician to come to our home to uninstall the alarm. The technician arrived on time, was friendly, and completed his work quickly. The car now works perfectly. We, however, found it interesting that the technician reported that there have been a number of problems with alarms on this particular vehicle, something we were never told in our prior service visits and certainly not when sold the vehicle.

To be sure, we were disappointed that the alarm was broken and not fixed despite two visits to the dealership. And we certainly were unhappy with how the people in the service department handled the entire situation. But the key reason we will not be returning to this dealership is that we do not feel that Longo has taken any responsibility beyond agreeing to refund the price of a plainly broken alarm.

According to a 2.2.15 email from ****** the Internet Sales Manager, she entered notes of our oral agreement upon a price for a specific car: "I had all the notes in the computer for everything we spoke about ...." We had even agreed upon a time frame when we would arrive to pick up the car (namely before 7 p.m. on a Saturday), and we arrived at 6:30 p.m. We asked for the sales agent by name (****) as directed by ****** but **** apparently was unavailable. We then explained that we had dealt with someone over the internet whose first name begins with an "A." Presumably there are not too many women in Longo's Internet Department with a first name that begins with an "A."

For Longo to now say that there was nothing in writing suggests that ***** did not in fact keep notes as she later represented in her 2.2.15 email or, equally troubling, that Longo does not stand by oral agreements by its sales people as later confirmed in an email and supposedly in system notes.

At the end of the day, we were told that we could come down and pick up a car at an agreed upon price, and that did not happen - a fact Longo readily admits. We likely would have tried to work this out through less formal channels but the manager and agent in the service department were so rude and unhelpful when the alarm first acted up that we felt something more formal truly was warranted. We also thought for sure that Longo would honor the agreed-upon price for the car upon learning of these events, but after a series of negative interactions, we figured we better propose a backup position where they simply uninstalled the alarm and refunded the money. Not surprisingly, Longo chose that course, further confirming for us that this is not the dealership for us.

One further note of significance. We were told at the time of sale that all of these particular vehicles come with alarms. If this is true, then Longo really has no excuse for trying to charge us an additional $500 for the alarm because ***** would have known from the outset that the car came with an alarm, so representing that we could come down and pick up a vehicle at the agreed upon price would have never been true. So it is no excuse that, rather than sit around waiting for an alarm to be uninstalled on a Saturday evening (for a transaction that took 4 hours even though we paid cash), we proceeded with the transaction. It is still bait and switch because we were told that we could come down and pick up a car at a set price, and apparently that was not true. We did not negotiate a price so that we could sit around at the dealership for supposed "extras" to be uninstalled.

Final Business Response
Mr. ******* was dealing directly with ***** ****** one of our iNet Sales Consultants. Our records during the online negotiations Mr. ******* presented a TRUE CAR price quote. At no time was there a written price agreement between Mr. ******* and *****. When Ms. ****** arrived at our dealership alone and without her husband she asked for two names, *** (with no last name) and a **** ******. **** was unavailable and the deal was given to the next sales consultant *. *********. The alarm on this vehicle is an additional cost of $499.00 (+) tax. Ms. ****** agreed to the price and signed the contract.

Because we're a company that understands the ****** & ****** time is very valuable, **** ******* orchestrated and schedule for an alarm technician to go out to their residents to remove the alarm. The alarm was removed on February 11, 2015 RO # XXXXXX. A check request was generated for the amount of $543.91 on February 10, 2015 as a refund for the alarm.

If there was any doubt of price, vehicle make, model and or features, Ms. ****** should not have signed the contract.

**** *. *******

07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Longo Toyota saying I cause the brake overheated. They don't have any fault. I need to take all the responsibility for myself.
I just change whole brake system less than 2 months at Longo Toyota dealership which cost me more than 1000. However, i had a car accident on 6/6/2014 due to brake malfunction. After I bring my car to Longo Toyota they are accusing me causing the brake overheated. They don't want to take responsibility for it. How can you convince me I cause the break problem after change the whole brake system wiithin 2 months.

Desired Settlement
pay the damage causing by the accident and replace the whole new brake system

Business Response
On or about June 9, 2014 *********** brought their 2007 Toyota Matrix to Longo Toyota, alleging the vehicle brakes failed resulting in a very minor automobile collision. Longo Toyota Service Shop Foreman ************* performed a very extensive inspection of the vehicle, along with a test drive with Mr.***** present. During the test drive with Mr. ******* driving and the consumer Liao as passenger, Mr. ******* was unable to duplicate consumer Liao's allegations and the brakes performed as designed with no malfunction of the brakes.
Upon initial inspection of the vehicle, Mr. ******* found the brakes to be severely overheated with material build-up on the caliper bridge, white brake rotors, and a red tint on the brake pads. An inspection for possible brake fluid contamination, brake drag, brake pedal fade, and stuck pistons in the caliper were all negative. The results of Mr. ********* inspection found no fault with the vehicle or the previous brake repairs that were performed on the vehicle at Longo Toyota. The type of overheating on the brake pads that Mr. ******* did find are indicative of the driver possibly driving with two feet, "riding" the brakes, or driving the vehicle outside of normal operating conditions.
consumer **** has contacted Toyota Customer Experience Center to file a complaint with Toyota Motor Sales, Inc., and a Toyota Legal Inspector will be inspecting the vehicle to attempt to determine the exact cause of the alleged brake failure. We are awaiting the results of the Legal Inspector's report, which may take several weeks.

11/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a new 2008 Toyota Sienna in August of 2008, in July with only 3 payments remaining to pay it off the Sienna broke down. I took it to Toyota and was told it needed a new engine due to "sludge". I took it to my own mechanic who said the same thing. I serviced my vehicle on a regular basis , oil changes, routine tune ups. Sludge is produced when you grossly neglect car maintenance, something i did not do. I have now read several complaints on line regarding Toyota and the "sludge" problems they have with their engines.
Product_Or_Service: 2008 Toyota Sienna

Desired Settlement
I can show proof of my vehicle being serviced so I believe that Toyota should pay for if not at least half of the cost to replace the engine being that the car is just 5 years old and Toyota is supposed to be known for their longevity of their cars.

Business Response
Longo has been in contact with the consumer regarding sludge concern. Consumer informed the dealership in today's conversation they take their vehicle to an independent shop for their schedule maint (oil changes). Guest did perform one (1) oil change at Longo Toyota/Scion repair order # CXXXXX on 11.12.2008. Vehicle has not been at Longo Toyota/Scion for sludge concern nor has vehicle inspected for such claim. Consumer was informed to provide Longo with all oil change receipts to show proof consumer has been doing his regular scheduled oil changes. Guest will need to contact the company's he has been going to so he can obtain the receipts to show dealership. Guest stated he would be able to get all this information to Longo no later than Friday November 8th. Consumer has been given the direct line to **** *******, Guest Relations Director for the dealership to keep us posted of their efforts/results.

09/07/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/23/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

Business started: 02/27/1967
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 268047 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 02/29/2016.

Type: Bureau of Automotive Repair

Check License Status:$LCEV2.QueryView?P LICENSE NUMBER=268047&P LTE ID=1101

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Longo Scion

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Longo Toyota has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Longo Toyota

3534 Peck Rd

El Monte, CA 91731-3596

To | From


1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Longo Toyota is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (626) 580-6057

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.