BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2004

Longo Lexus

Phone: (626) 580-6200

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
11/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Used Lexus 2006Rx400h sold, sales person did not state Lexus had after market radiator.
Re: Letter of Concern and Statement of Facts Regarding the purchase of 2006 Lexus ****** Vin # JTJHW31UXXXXXXXXX.

To Whom It May Concern:

Approximately in April/May of 2013 I purchased the above referenced vehicle at Longo Lexus. I chose Longo Lexus because of its reputation for treating it customers right and also because it was the number 1 Lexus Dealership in Southern California for many years. With Longo's reputation I had no doubts I would get honest service.

Since the purchase of my vehicle I have had all recommended services performed at Longo Lexus Service Center. This past Saturday 11/08/2014 I was told that my radiator was leaking and that it was an urgent matter that needed to be addressed as related by ******* Wang my service representative. She also related that the problem could be due to the fact that the radiator was an "after market" brand and not a genuine Lexus part. I had assured ******* I had not used any "after market" parts for my Lexus since I purchased the car, then she informed me that the "after market" radiator could have been placed by the previous owner of the vehicle. I was upset because I bought a Lexus at the Longo Lexus Dealership because I wanted to ensure I get a quality used Lexus with genuine Lexus parts. How can Longo Lexus allow Lexus cars to be sold on their lots with after market parts? A Lexus consists of all the components being Lexus genuine parts. Would this not compromise the integrity of Longo Lexus? I was upset and related my concerns to "***" the service manager on duty on 11/08/2014 per telephonic conversation.

*** related that sometimes after market parts are placed in Lexus Cars and those cars at times are traded in and nothing is done to replace those after market parts, so long as they meet "their standards." How can an after market radiator placed in a Lexus meet Longo's standards when after market parts are not sold at Longo Lexus Service Centers. *** related that I was taking "my chances," by buying a Lexus 2006 and those things can happen. I understand that I am taking a risk by buying any used car, but I felt comfortable with my chances with buying a used Lexus because of Lexus's reputation for durability and reliability. I felt even more confident buying a used Lexus at Longo Lexus because of their reputation as well. My confidence and my decision to buy the vehicle in the first place would have been different had I known that my car was a "Lexus Shell" with after market engine parts. I feel strongly that this information should have been disclosed to me at some point especially during the purchase process or during my other 2 maintenance visits. I do not know at this time if the letter of law requires this type of disclosure but I feel there has been some deceit and some unethical practices used in the sale of the above referenced vehicle. I strongly believe all customers expect that used Lexus cars sold at Longo Lexus contain genuine Lexus parts. I strongly feel that any consumer that is aware that Lexus Cars sold at Longo Lexus's car lot are not required to have genuine Lexus parts would sway them not to purchase those particular Lexus cars.

I would also like my headlight components replaced per Lexus Recall Warranty Enhancement Letter ZLB, as I have noticed signs and symptoms of excess moisture build up. Per ******* Wang I was requested to take pictures of when this occurred as the Lexus technician could not detect moisture. I am a working professional and do not have time to monitor my headlights and take pictures, I should not have to, this is a known Lexus issue per their recall letter, this should be replaced.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have this matter resolved. I am requesting a full inspection of my car and a list of all non-Lexus parts be disclosed to me. I have also requested the following services below and was quoted the following prices:

1) Radiator $875 (request complimentary replacement)
2) Left front window regulator $395
3) Battery $170
4) Service $190
5) Wiper blades (no pricing) request replacement.
6) Rear hatch motor $1500 (DECLINED).
7) Head Lamps should be replaced per recall warranty enhancement notification ZLB, service department refused this replacement due to Lexus technician not observing excess moisture formation as related by Ophelia Wang, although I observed this and I request enforcement of this warranty.
I would like to have the following services performed but I feel I deserve a complimentary Lexus Radiator as I would not have purchased the vehicle back in April/May of 2013 had I known my Lexus could be filled with after market parts. If this information was disclosed I think many would lose confidence in purchasing a used Lexus at Longo Lexus.


I would also like to use the loaner car that I am currently driving while this issue is addressed.
Please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX to resolve this issue in a timely manner as my car has been at the service center since Saturday 11/08/2014. I hope my confidence in Longo Lexus can be restored.

Business Response
Consumer purchased a pre-owned vehicle on May 13, 2013 with 132,196 miles on a 2006 RX400h.

Because this is a pre-owned vehicle, Longo may not be aware, visually of any after-market parts that are installed by the previous owner. After- market does not indicate parts are unsafe and or of low quality.

Because the consumer has been a loyal guest of Longo Lexus, we've agreed to pay for the radiator free of charge for *** ***. Consumer is aware of this one-time goodwill gesture and has authorized the dealership to continue with the repair.

Consumer also has been made aware of the Lexus warranty guidelines for the headlamp and is out of the dealerships control. The dealership cannot change out the headlamp(s) unless we're able to duplicate the concern. No further assistance will be given regarding this headlamp request.

05/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service dept damange the inside structure with outside body after repair. Car is no longer safe to drive.
I sent my Lexus ***** (VIN#JTHBL96SXXXXXXXXX) at Longo Lexus on 4/10/14 3:57pm (M:XXXXX)Collision Center to repair a trucker's damage on right rear body part. 4/21 car was fixed *** **** suggested maintain, 4/23/14 3pm *** **** called for car was ready to pick up. A couple of hours later *** **** called again stated the car was hit by a worker at Longo. From the pictures he email shows not only right back rear body part was inside out, tire & inside tried part's structure shape has changed. 4/24/14 me & my husband went to check out at 10:30am, the inside shape around back rear tire part has been changed, the inside structure has been damage,whoever drove my car must be on drug & not under 5 mph as Longo's speed limited. We asked **** ***** (SRV director)for damage report with test data on paper, also the driver's drug test report since the car safety is #1 we concern.#2 the car value will drop.He promised he will provide paper report with a plan if we do not feel safe to drive the car anymore. We stated that we want the car back as the original structure not just repair. 4/25/14 6:45pm Man Wong called to stated the car needs a month to "Repair" & no damage report or drug test report for the driver. Longo is trying to brush me off with covering the drunk drive over 5mph inside my car. I want Longo either return all my money that I paid in cash for the car in year 2008 or give a brand new ***** with same color, interior everything for they do not follow their own rule- driving under 5mph inside Longo. Also, I seriously think this driver was on drug from the way my car inside structure was damaged shows.

Desired Settlement
Either return all my money when I paid for the car in year 2008 in cash plus the trade in a Infiniti 2005 GS350 (I paid in full cash with a 3 years old Infiniti GS350) or give me a brand new same model GS460 with same color, interior , tires and fully loaded, same spec of everything.

Business Response
Consumer is currently working with ********** and has agreed to the following recompense. Vehicle will be repaired at Longo's Collision Center, cost of repair $6,937.07. Consumer will also receive, as a one time goodwill gesture a 2 year extended service contract along with $6,600. Guest has agreed to all terms/condition and has authorized the dealeship to begin repairs.

06/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
11/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/13/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.