BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Hamer Toyota

Phone: (818) 365-9621

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
08/27/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchase a vehicle with an advertised price plus a cash back offer too at Hamer Toyota, get charged thousands of dollars more with no cash back.
On 7/12/15, I purchased a 2015 Toyota Tundra CrewMax 4X4 with a price of $41,108, and it was also advertised $750 cash back. After driving home; a few hours later, I read the contract and I then realized that Hamer Toyota had added $3,500 more to the price of the vehicle and there was no $750 cash back either. I am most upset because I had put down $12,000 to keep my monthly payments to fit my budget. I could've put only put down $8,500. This overcharged amount of $3,500 could have been returned to me. I went back to Hamer Toyota and asked them why was I overcharged $3,500 more than the advertised price, and also why didn't I receive my $750 cash back as advertised? The financial rep. said "We charge $3,500 because there are not a lot of those vehicles". I thought to myself, this is ridiculous. I wanted to return the vehicle and he said I couldn't. He agreed to supposedly remove the extra $3,500 they had over charged, but he did not include the $750 cash back. I received no cash back (not even the $3,500 they had overcharged me), they supposedly modified the contract and my payment went down a few dollars. This dealership is very dishonest. I can't imagine how may other people they did this too and them not realizing it. Their financial department also makes you feel like you are an obstacle when you have questions, this is wrong.

Desired Settlement
I would like to return the vehicle and give me back my full $12,000 I put down for the dishonesty this dealership has displayed. Or at least have the $3,500 they overcharged me, refunded in cash and the $750 cash back they advertise as well.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****, CRM
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@hamertoyota.com
We met with our customer, reviewed the terms of the previously re-written contract and re-wrote it a 2nd time to address all of the concerns listed.

We were mutually satisfied with the results.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have accepted Hamer Toyota's resolution. I'd like to note that they gave me no other option but to accept a partial refund for the thousands they overcharged me. I am NOT happy that up till this date, Hamer Toyota has NOT giving me an apology; verbally or written, for overcharging me the thousands. I have accepted to close this complaint because I think their resolution was fair. Again, I hope Hamer Toyota changes these deceitful sales practices, so no one else has to go through the emotional stress they have caused me.

04/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife's brakes went out. ***** "fixed" it. The next day, her brakes failed again.
Last week (3/23/15), my wife's brakes went out on her 1999 Corolla. I took it in to ***** (very carefully). ***** gave me an estimate of over $1400 to fix the brakes. I approved the work. That afternoon, I drove my wife to pick up her car. The next day, on her way to work on the 5 freeway, her brakes went out again! She could have been injured or killed. ***** did pay for a tow back to them and eventually discovered that the problem was with the master cylinder. WHAT? Shouldn't that have been the first thing they checked??? They replaced the master cylinder for no charge. I talked to **** ******, the general manager who said this episode was "regrettable" and that when they test drove the car, the master cylinder did not show any external leakage and that the best they could do for us was replace the master cylinder at no charge. Sorry, ****, that's not good enough. We will not be returning to *****.

Desired Settlement
The very least ***** should do is give us a complete refund. The work was not done properly the first time which could have resulted in injury or death to my wife.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@hamertoyota.com
The customer **** ****** spoke to Mike Kushnatsian the Service Director and the concerns were addressed and the issue was resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
bought a 2015 Camry on April XX XXXX received a certified letter dated 4/30/15 i received on May 02 to return the vehicle due to credit issues
bought a 2015 Camry on April XX XXXX received a certified letter dated 4/30/15 i received on May 02 to return the vehicle due to credit issues I Went to hammer Toyota on April 20 got a 2015 Camry they said we would be better off leasing I received a phone call telling me that I would have to buy the car instead of leasing due to having a repo 11 years ago **** the financial rep said I will be put of the office till next week and when I come back I will figure it out he never called I made many attempts to call and figure out what waa going on I was worried and didn't know what to expect as this has never happened before I even looked into purchasing anothervehicle w them incase this price wouldn't work for us or w them I still tried on my end to do their job I called and called he even forgot to call me I spoke w the financial rep which was very nice and very helpful she would touch bases w me more than **** did but had no idea half the time what was going on navigate they were not communicating w her he called and said I can finance the car for U the payments will go up I can give U 7yrs XXXXXX mikes than had to call me back said 6 urs XXXXX miles than said he got me 6 years XXXXXX miles and I asked when I signed for the lease I had 3 year warranty oil change said they took it off we went back and forth all day for two days than he calls me back and says U needs to return the car very rude not explaining nothing when the last conversation was from my understanding we were making another deal i advised him of his bad customers service and I was going to contAct the BBB he raised his voice told me is it our fault U didn't advise us of a repo and to go ahead and do as I please and hung up on me I than contacted someone else because they were giving me my cat which was past my payment now and mind U I have never been late and tags were due when I turned the car in they advised me as long as the tags we're nof past due I can turn it in so o returned the car on May 6 got my car back that had marks every where stickers for selling couldn't wipe it down I intically went in for a oil change !!! Now I am owing two car patents 314.10 each and tags that are 301.00 plus late fees they cut me a check for only 150.00 from hammer The financial stress that they have put me through I did not have the budget for this or expect to through this from them we have bought many cars from them and this is how they treat their customers that come backThe day that I left the actual dealership and I had talk to them about the tags and car payment being due they ASSURED I was not responsible because they were paying off what needed to be paid for the corrolla and the tags were not past due so I was fine so when I left the dealership I did not have that in my mind that it would still fall back on me and I would be reliable for all these payments and things that were due they gave it back to me like sorry this is your problem not ours anymore because you didn't get the car they might not have said but that's how I got my car back not their problem !!!! what kind of business are they running it what are they doing to customers this needs to be looked into and this needs to be handled please help me I am on a fixed income and this is absurd I set family over there to get a carthey told him that they had a repo they told them all they needed to do was to leave a down payment of 2500 and that they would be financed to find that the Toyota financial and they had received a letter back same as I did to return the car same letter this has all happen within weeks of eachother sown thing needs to happen

Desired Settlement
I want for payment they made me behind on 314.10 and the late fees of 15.00 they gave me only 150 my tags were originally 188 but because of this they are now 301 so the 150 barley covered that difference !!!! They took my car so I believe they are responsible so I have had to pay Aprils payment of 314.10 plus 15.00 late fee they have me the car may 6 my due Faye for the car payment came again for 314.00 and 301.00 for tags how is this fair ???

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** **** - CRM
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@hamertoyota.com
Customer did not disclose to the dealer when asked about her credit history that she had a previous repossession with Toyota Financial. Toyota Financial declined the loan. Dealer cancelled the loan, made the 1st month payment on the new vehicle for the time Ms. ***** had possession of the vehicle. Dealer then paid the loan off in full. Dealer also issued a goodwill check in the amount of $150 to cover any late fees and penalties on payment and registration. This was far above the late fee and actual late registration penalties.

Customer Relations Manager did request that if any penalties exceeded the $150, please provide documentation and they would be paid also. Customer has not provided any proof of any additional outstanding fees or the actual amount of the expenses that she incurred.

Dealer paid the 1st payment on the vehicle that was purchased. Customer was never without a vehicle. We feel that she would be responsible for a regular month payment on her vehicle.

Dealer declines to pay the payment due on the customer's vehicle because they paid the payment on the actual vehicle that she was driving.

Dealer offers to pay any additional penalties from late fees and registration once she provides documentation of those fees in total.

06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Never received a refund for Extended Service Contract.
On 12/2/2014 we purchased a Certified Toyota Camry from ***** Toyota in Mission Hills. When we were in finance, we were offered an extended service contract at a cost of $1,695.00. We were told we had 60 days to review all of the information and could cancel within that time frame for a full refund.

On 1/23/2015 I sent a letter to our finance manager at ***** Toyota (Aidriana) requesting to cancel our Extended Warranty and was told they would process our refund within 30 days. I did not receive a response or a refund by the end of February, so I called the dealership again.

This time I spoke to Armando in Finance. He told me the refund hadn't been processed, but that he had taken care of it personally, and we should see it post to our account in a few days.

I have not yet received a refund and am unable to get anyone to take my phone call.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of the total price paid for the extended warranty of $1,695.00 as I cancelled within the aloted time frame.

Business Response
Our records show that you communicated with ******** on 01/23/2015. She acknowledged receipt of your request. The request for cancellation was submitted on 01/26/2015. A check was issued to Toyota Financial Services in the amount of $1,695.00 on 04/22/2015.

09/17/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/31/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I came to Hamer Toyota for regular scheduled maintenance and my car came out with various scratches.
I went to Hamer Toyota for an oil change and when I picked up my car and began to drive off I noticed my mirror was folded in half ways. When I pulled over to fix the mirror so I could safely drive I noticed it was scratched. It looked like some one hit my mirror against a wall or post. When I complained to the person at the desk he came out to inspect. Upon a full inspection of the vehicle I began to find door scratches that were not there before I dropped it off. I know this because I just had a carwash and I did a walk around to make sure it was nice. The scratches were on both the driver door and passenger side door. I told the attendant that 3 different scratches in 3 different locations. I calmly told the attendant that it was unacceptable that a car should come out of an oil change with damage. I came to an authorized Toyota dealer because I expect a certain amount of professionalism and I came out with a damaged car. At the best case scenario they fix my car but now I have to go back drop it off get a rental and wait until they fix it go back and still lose sleep over because I have to worry about filing an insurance claim or worry about getting a lawyer to help resolve the situation. I'm really upset and its not fair that a negligent company could have just prevented the damage if they cared enough about other peoples property. They are in the car business and its unacceptable that one person get their new truck from them and have a service department damage it.

Desired Settlement
I want Toyota to repair my Truck.

05/06/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They told me they would give me $23,000 for my trade in vehicle and dealer changed the trade in value to $15,000.
On 03/15/2016, I arrived at 11:00 am left at 5:30pm at Hamer Toyota located at XXXXX ********* **** Mission ****** ** XXXXX and inquired about purchasing a new 2016 Toyota Tacoma Crew SR5.I was greeted by a salesperson by the name of Federico Ayala, Sales and Leasing Consultant, who accompanied me while I conducted the test drive. Upon returning from the test drive, Federico introduced me to ******* ********** Floor Manager. I informed ******* that I wanted to trade in my 2013 Toyota Tacoma Crew and upgrade to a 2016. After talking to Federico and ******* and showing him a recent offer of $21,000 for my 2013 Tacoma from CarMax, ******* said that they would offer me $23,000 for my 2013 Tacoma. The offer was confirmed by them showing me a print-out that broke down the figures and also illustrated the trade offer of $23,000. After hours of negotiating, I felt the offer was fair as I only owed little over $13,000 on my existing car loan and told ******* that I would utilize the trade in offer towards the down payment of the car. After a lot of talking they both left for about an hour. When they finally came back they said they were going to give me "the deal I wanted" but that I had to put $3,000 on my credit card. After about a half hour I was led to the finance manager's and spoke to the finance officer, **** ****** **** printed out the contract and said "sign here and here" I was so excited but exhausted and needing to eat due to being diabetic, I was greeted to my new and left the premises. Later that day when I ate and I decided to go over my paperwork. While reviewing the contract, I notice I had been given the "bait and switch" instead honoring their $23,000 offer for my trade in they only gave me $15,000. The following morning of 3/16/2016, I immediately called Atta and he said to "come over" when I arrived half hour later he seemed VERY irritated that I had come back and insisted that they had given me "the best deal possible" and we did give you $23,000 for trade in. **** said to go ahead and come back to the dealership. I went to the dealership and went to Atta's office at which time he was very aggressive and irritated and kept reiterating that they had given me $23,000 for my trade and that the reason they wrote the contract in that manner was to avoid me paying sales taxes. Due to ******* aggressive behavior and being told that they would not take the truck back because they had already paid the DMV fees. Hopeless, I left the office and got the impression from Atta that nothing could be done to remedy the situation. On 03/30/2016, I received a letter from Toyota welcoming me to their credit card which I never applied for. On 4/2/2016, I was contacted by Toyota Corporate regarding a survey that I had completed regarding my recent purchase experience. I contacted Toyota Corporation and opened claim #XXXXXXXXXX and spoke to a representative by the name of Devin. Devin indicated that he would escalate the case to the dealership's Hammer. On 4/3/2016, I received a call from *** ******* who said not to speak to anyone else regarding this issue that he would resolve this issue. *** offered me a full tank of gas and a bead extended in order to get this resolved. I told *** that I would need to discuss this with his wife.On 04/03/2016, my wife Karina and I contacted *** Alvarez from Hamer Toyota. My wife asked him what the sale price of the vehicle I had purchased. *** said that I paid $25,154 without taxes and fees and $27,640 with taxes and fees. My wife then asked how much my husband was given for my 2013 Tacoma. **** said that he was given $15,000 and that the reason they listed that was because they dropped over $8,000 from the sale price of the vehicle. My wife then told ***, that the sticker price of the vehicle said was $30,824. *** said that the price of the vehicle would be the price listed right under the "manufacturer's suggested retail price (MSRP)" which would be the $27,985. My wife told *** that $27,985.

Desired Settlement
On 03/15/2016, I arrived at 11:00 am left at 5:30pm at Hamer Toyota located at XXXXX ********* **** Mission ****** ** XXXXX and inquired about purchasing a new 2016 Toyota Tacoma Crew SR5.I was greeted by a salesperson by the name of Federico Ayala, Sales and Leasing Consultant, who accompanied me while I conducted the test drive. Upon returning from the test drive, Federico introduced me to ******* Arredondo, Floor Manager. I informed ******* that I wanted to trade in my 2013 Toyota Tacoma Crew and upgrade to a 2016. After talking to Federico and ******* and showing him a recent offer of $21,000 for my 2013 Tacoma from CarMax, ******* said that they would offer me $23,000 for my 2013 Tacoma. The offer was confirmed by them showing me a print-out that broke down the figures and also illustrated the trade offer of $23,000. After hours of negotiating, I felt the offer was fair as I only owed little over $13,000 on my existing car loan and told ******* that I would utilize the trade in offer towards the down payment of the car. After a lot of talking they both left for about an hour. When they finally came back they said they were going to give me "the deal I wanted" but that I had to put $3,000 on my credit card. After about a half hour I was led to the finance manager's and spoke to the finance officer, **** ****** **** printed out the contract and said "sign here and here" I was so excited but exhausted and needing to eat due to being diabetic, I was greeted to my new and left the premises. Later that day when I ate and I decided to go over my paperwork. While reviewing the contract, I notice I had been given the "bait and switch" instead honoring their $23,000 offer for my trade in they only gave me $15,000. The following morning of 3/16/2016, I immediately called **** and he said to "come over" when I arrived half hour later he seemed VERY irritated that I had come back and insisted that they had given me "the best deal possible" and we did give you $23,000 for trade in. **** said to go ahead and come back to the dealership. I went to the dealership and went to ******* office at which time he was very aggressive and irritated and kept reiterating that they had given me $23,000 for my trade and that the reason they wrote the contract in that manner was to avoid me paying sales taxes. Due to ******* aggressive behavior and being told that they would not take the truck back because they had already paid the DMV fees. Hopeless, I left the office and got the impression from **** that nothing could be done to remedy the situation. On 03/30/2016, I received a letter from Toyota welcoming me to their credit card which I never applied for. On 4/2/2016, I was contacted by Toyota Corporate regarding a survey that I had completed regarding my recent purchase experience. I contacted Toyota Corporation and opened claim #XXXXXXXXXX and spoke to a representative by the name of Devin. Devin indicated that he would escalate the case to the dealership's Hammer. On 4/3/2016, I received a call from *** ******* who said not to speak to anyone else regarding this issue that he would resolve this issue. *** offered me a full tank of gas and a bead extended in order to get this resolved. I told Joe that I would need to discuss this with his wife.
On 04/03/2016, my wife Karina and I contacted Joe Alvarez from ***** Toyota. My wife asked him what the sale price of the vehicle I had purchased. Joe said that I paid $25,154 without taxes and fees and $27,640 with taxes and fees. My wife then asked how much my husband was given for my 2013 Tacoma. **** said that he was given $15,000 and that the reason they listed that was because they dropped over $8,000 from the sale price of the vehicle. My wife then told Joe, that the sticker price of the vehicle said was $30,824. Joe said that the price of the vehicle would be the price listed right under the "manufacturer's suggested retail price (MSRP)" which would be the $27,985. My wife told *** that $27,985.

03/18/2016Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.