BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Carrolandia #1 Auto Sales, Inc.

Find a Location

(323) 750-8884View Additional Phone Numbers2525 W Florence Ave, Los AngelesCA 90043-5106http://www.carrolandiaautosales.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Carrolandia #1 Auto Sales, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Carrolandia #1 Auto Sales, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 9 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 5 complaints filed against business.
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Carrolandia #1 Auto Sales, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
04/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I PURCHASED THE CAR ON 2/28/2013(2001 JAGUAR 4.0) WHEN I PURCHASED IT THE GAGES WERE BROKEN AND I COULDN'T TELL HOW MUCH MILEAGE THE VEHICLE HAD ON IT, BUT THE OWNER OF THE AUTO SALES TOLD ME TO BRING IT IN THE NEXT DAY AFTER THE PURCHASE WHICH WAS 2/29/2013 THAT HE WOULD FIX IT.WHEN I RETURNED ON 2/29/2013 THEY TOLD ME TO BRING IT BACK ANOTHER DAY AND THIS SAME THING WAS TOLD TO ME THE NEXT DAY I TOOK THE CAR BACK FOR A WHOLE WEEK STRAIGHT AND THEY KEPT TELLING ME THE SAME THING OVER AND OVER.THEY ALSO SENT ME HOME WITH NO EMERGENCY BRAKES IT WAS BROKEN AS WELL.ON 03/13/2013 THE TRANSMISSION BLEW OUT.THE NEXT DAY I HAD CALLED THE AUTO SALES AND SPOKE WITH AN EMPLOYEE AND TOLD HIM WHAT WAS GOING ON.HE TOLD ME THAT THEY CAN HAVE SOMEONE BRING A TOW TRUCK OUT.I THEN SPOKE TO ANOTHER (FEMALE) EMPLOYEE AFTER THE PHONE GOT DISCONNECTED AND TOLD HER, SHE THEN TOLD ME THAT THEY DO NOT PROVIDE TOWING SERVICES TO THEIR CUSTOMERS AND THAT I WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR GETTING THE CAR TO THE AUTO SALES WHICH WAS DIFFICULT DOING BECAUSE THE CAR WASN'T ABLE TO GO IN DRIVE.SO MY BOYFRIEND THEN TOOK ACTION AND MANAGED TO REVERSE THE CAR ALL THE WAY TO THE AUTO SALES LOCATION.WE THEN GOT THE CAR TO THE AUTO SALES AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY WERE GOING TO FIX TO THE VEHICLE.I THEN ASKED FOR A LOANER CAR BECAUSE I WAS TOLD THAT I WAS GOING TO BE OUT OF A CAR FOR A WEEK THEY TOLD ME THEY DON'T PROVIDE THOSE SERVICES.I THOUGHT THAT WAS NOT RIGHT AND THEN I ASKED TO SPEAK TO OWNER THEY TOLD ME HE WASN'T THERE.THEY THE FIXED THE CAR AFTER A WEEK AND I PICKED IT UP ON 3/20/2013 AND THE CAR STILL WASN'T IN GOOD CONDITION.I CALLEED THE AUTO PLACE TO LET THEM KNOW AND I SPOKE WITH AN EMPLOYEE AND THE MANGER NAMED ****** AND THEY BOTH GAVE ME BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE HANGING UP IN MY FACE AND TELLING THERES NOTHING THEY CAN DO.I THEN WENT BACK UP THERE ON 04/01/2013 TO SPEAK WITH SOMEONE TO TELL THEM CAR HAS BEEN GIVING ME MORE TROUBLE THEY SORT OF JUST BRUSHED ME OFF. I'VE BEEN DEALING WITH THEM FOR A MONTH AND JUST REGRET IT.

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LOVE TO GET MY MONEY BACK AT THIS POINT AND DO NOT WANT TO EVER DEAL WITH THIS DEALER.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: **************@YAHOO.COM
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN THE PROBLEM WAS ALREADY RESOLVED. ANY FURTHER QUESTIONS CALL ME

12/26/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought car and heard a noise took car back and spoke with owner. Said they would meet me half way on repairs then said no because of corporate
2006 Dodge charger rt motor was no good had been rebuilt before and was rebuilt poorly ***** match pistons. valve issues.also had the wrong size spark plugs in the motor Total cost of repair 2960 with labor included

Desired Settlement
****

Business Response
HOLA A CUALQUIER PERSONA INTERESAD MOSOROS POR LEY SIEMPRE VAMOS EL MEJOR SERVICIO AL COUSTOMER SERVICE A TODOS MUNDO EN GEMERAL LE DAMOS 30 DIAS DE GARANTIA EN MOTOR Y TRAMNSMISION DESPUES DE ESA FECHA NOSOTROS NO SOMOS RESPONSABLES YA QUE NOSOTROS OFRECENOS UN SISTEMA DE GARANTIA EXTENDIADA EL CUAL EL CLIENTE TIEME LA DECISION DE DECIR SI O NO EN ESTE CASO EL NO COMPRO LA GARANTIA LA CUAL EN ESTE MOMENTO ESTARIA CUBRIENDO SU PRBLEMA CUALQUIER INFORMACION POR FAVOR ESTE MI # DE TELEFONO ***** ***** XXXXXX-XXXX PRESIDENTE CORPORATION

07/01/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/15/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Carrolinda failed to honor service agreements according to the warranties provided during the purchase of the car.
On February 1, 2014 I purchased a 2005 BMW 645Ci from the people at Carrolandia. The vehicle was paid in full the same day. Along with the car purchase came a warranty for the vehicle.
In the warranty it states that the "dealer will pay 50% of the labor and 50% of the parts for the covered systems (engine and transmissions only) that fail during the warranty period." The duration of the warranty was 30 days or 1000 miles whichever occurs first. Within the first 72 hours there were emissions problems with the vehicle. The price of the emissions test was a total of $50 which I was told to pay in full. That already breached the warranty agreement where dealer is to pay 50% of the cost.
Within 14 days of purchase the vehicle there was a dynamic drive malfunction, a transmission oil pan, a transmission seal and a new alternator was needed for the proper function of the vehicle. I called Carrolandia to inform them of the problems with the vehicle on February 8th. They informed us we can go to a mechanic to get the vehicle fix and they will pay half as the warranty stated. We took the car to get service by an outside mechanic on February 10th and on February. The total cost to repair the vehicle for both services was $3,651.37 I brought the receipt in to the people at Carrolania. They fabricated and stated that there no verbal agreement about paying 50% of the cost to fix the engine problems on the vehicle although it is stated in the warranty.

Desired Settlement
I would like half of the cost, as stated warranty, to be reimbursed. Which is a total of $1,825.69.

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a Mercedes/SUV 1999 from Carrolandia Auto Sales. The Mercedes was a lemon. Had transmission problems. I took it back to them after just two days. They told me to bring it back at 3:00pm to have their mechanic fix it. It took a week for them to fix it n I was outta transportation for a week. I got the Mercedes back. It kept doing the same thing, again I took it back. This time they agreed to put me in another car of their choice. A 2012 Dodge/Caravan. It too had issues. I took it back to them. Mr. ****** said he would have his mechanic check it out. I took it on a Monday, it stays until a Tuesday. They never looked at the Dodge. The brakes was grinding(nr. ****** said his mechanic said nothing was wrong w/the brakes). He also said nothing was wrong w/the transmission. Again, he never looked at it. I took it to Pep Boys for dignostic. The mechanic said for it to be a 2012 n not that many miles on it, I shouldn't be experiencing problems like that. It was dignosis was the transmission going out. I've had to put brakes on it all around(frnt n bck) I had to have the tire plugged, oil changed. Mr. ****** have harassed me repeatley. The car over heated, the thermostat was stuck n he wanted me to pay him $90.00. He also told me he didn't have to fix my car for me if he didn't want to. He has continue to harasse me. I took the old brakes to him to show him the old brakes that came off the car was suppose to been alright. I showed him the paper-work from Pep Boys where the transmission was slipping, rolling bckwards n causing me driving problems. Finally Mr. ******(the general manager agreed to have it fixed. Mr. ****** said it was no longer under warranty. While my car was in their care, they stole my old brakes outta my car, gospel cd's, my seat rest pillow, n other personal items. Mr. ****** said he was going to reimburse me for the work I had did on the car w/money outta my own pocket. He lied. He said the dealership was going to send me the check n the mail. I called the dealership n they .
Product_Or_Service: January 18, 2014

Desired Settlement
Continue from above. Said they wasn't aware of no reimbursement.I have been constantly harassed by ******, joked w/by Mr. ****** n made sexual insults toward. This matter is deeper than what I'm limited on here.I want my items they stole from me returned n I want my reimbursement of the repairs I had performed on the Dodge/Caravan....Thank U For Your Time.Sincerely,******** *********,

10/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchase a 2007 bmw x 5 in april of 2013 after trading in 2006 mercedes c230 with the tranismission went out after a year of having the car ..the agree to trade me in for a more practical car I made it very clear that I didn't want another luxury car ..and I wanted a toyota or nissian They told me that the cars that they had at the time had to many milesSo they offer me the bmw ..and promise that the car had no issuse and that they were going to give me a 2year warranty with the deal.. when the deal went through they said the could not give me the 2year warranty because it was hard getting me finance with the bmw..so they only gave me a 30 day warranty after having the car for 2weeks none of my services requiredment were up to dateThe fix that problem and weeks later I had a oil leak and a coolant leakI took it back and they claim the problem was fix ..another 2weeks later the car was still leaking coolant and oil..every week after that I had to buy oil for the carI went back to them and ask for another car they promise me if I pay off my down payment of 2500 and mmake monthly payments to the bank for 3months that they can trade me out and get me a car that I want ..on 9/6/13 I pay off my down payment of 780 dollars and they started the process for a trade I sat in the office for 2hrs for them to tell me that the bank that they work with doesn't work on the weekend ..after being in the vehicle for 4months my car doesn't drive I have issuse with the battery and ihad to replace it twice ..I was forced to rent a car for a week with hopes by Friday 9/6/13 I will have a nenew car ..I had to return the rental becaues I gave them all my money for the down paymentNow I have no rental or a new car ..they took my money and did not even process my applacation
Product_Or_Service: 2007 bmw

Desired Settlement
I would like a new car that they promise me or my refund from my 2500 down payment

07/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a car from Carrolandia Auto Sales in July 2012. The car came with The One Gap insurance that I payed $799. The One Gap insurance is purchased so that in case you get into an accident and its a total loss, the cars value is covered in an event of a total loss. Well, I finished paying in full the car in March 2013. So the need to have the One Gap insurance is no longer needed because the purpose of the One Gap Insurance is to protect the bank that lends you the money in case you get into an accident and its a total loss while making payment on them.So I got a letter from Wells Fargo dealer stating that I had payed off the car loan in full.So the letter got faxed to Carrolandia and Carrolandia forwarded to The One Gap insurance.I then, contacted The One Gap Insurance and talked to ***** the administrator. They informed me that the One Gap Insurance was cancelled and that they had mailed out a check to Carrolandia. ***** faxed me a letter that clearly stated that my refund was for $650.So I've been contacting Carrolandia for the past 8 weeks and they are telling me that they have not received a check from The One Gap insurance. I called ***** from The One Gap Insurance and she told me that they have been holding on to the check for more than 6 weeks and she doesn't understand why they have not cashed it.So ***** put a stop payment on the check and issued a new one. Since issuing the new check, I've been waiting for 3 weeks and they are still telling me that they have not received the Check.Clearly they're lying. It doesn't take three weeks to receive a check from another state.I have contacted them several times to issue me my refund but they have not been sincere with me and always an excuse is given to me.Please talk to them and have them refund my money. It's clearly my money that they're holding too. And I don't understand their business ethics. They've clearly made money off me when I purchased the vehicle from them. Why are they now trying delay my money
Product_Or_Service: The One Gap Insurance

Desired Settlement
They need to refund me my money based on the duration of the contract. Total price of The One Gap insurance is $799 for 66 months. That's $12.10 per month. Car payed off in 8 months 8x12.10=$97Plus $50 cancellation fee from The One Gap Insurance. My total refund should be around $650.I need a check for $650.

04/07/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Carrolandia Auto Sales, Gavino #1 Automotive

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carrolandia #1 Auto Sales, Inc.

2525 W Florence Ave

Los Angeles, CA 90043-5106

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2525 W Florence Ave 

    Los Angeles, CA 90043-5106

  • 2525 West Florence Avenue 

    Los Angeles, CA 90043

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carrolandia #1 Auto Sales, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (323) 789-3314
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.