BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Bob Wondries Ford

Phone: (626) 289-3591

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The dealership didn't disclose the vehicle had open/active safety recall defects at purchase and said none existed during inspection.
On 1/31/15,I purchased a used 2012 jeep grand cherokee. Salesman never disclosed that vehicle had active/open safety recall defects. In conversation of vehicle,he stated-it was a trade in, had a clean title,no accidents,with no outstanding issues that's when he referenced to the car fax report.I felt it was not necessary to look at report since he had report in hand and reading from it. Whether information on report was incorrect or he deliberately falsified information just to make a sale,I would not have purchased vehicle with existing defects. 2 weeks later vehicle had major engine failure and active recall defects since prior yr 10/14,were made known to me by service mgr of dodge dealership in my city. I called ******** ford and spoke with service mgr ***** inquiring regarding these safety defects and said- none existed when vehicle was inspected by them. This a blatant coverup and/or deliberate refusal to disclose serious hazardous problems by this dealership of their vehicles on their lot.

Desired Settlement
Replacement equivalent product to my satisfaction and or refund of all monies paid in full.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@bobwondriesford.com
Customer requested a full refund of the service contract he purchased. The Sales department agreed and issued the refund; customer is happy with decision.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
dealership didn't respond to main complaint regarding purchased vehicle with existing/recorded recall defects and not disclosing defects on vehicle and their deceptive business/sales practice.

12/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to this dealership after shopping the internet, The used Ford Fusion Hybrid's ad had that it would get an average of 40 mpg city and highway.
My original problems began with the purchase of the used Ford Fusion Hybrid 07/21/14. I was not sure if they were suppose to fill up my car before we (my daughter test drove and drove the car home for me) left the dealership but by the time we reached near her house she had phoned to say the car was alerting that the fuel was low so we needed to stop to get gas. The Fusion ID# ****************** -Licese Plate# ******* -Ford Credit Account# XXXXXXXX, I had made 3 payments, totaling 886.48. The bill dated 10/30/14 prior to me making those 3 payments showed that my payoff for the Fusion was $15,785.13 good through 11/19/14. I went back to the dealership to voice my concerns about the gas mileage at least 5 other times before insisting that I needed to trade in the car. The first time I was reminded of their 'NO BUYER'S REMORSE' policy and that I could not take it back, I was told by the Fleet Internet Manager, *************** that the mileage they have advertised came straight from Ford and that I'd have to take my concerns to Ford the company, the dealership is not responsible for the false advertising. Just within a few weeks of having the car I had to phone AAA because it was out of gas and battery. I spoke with a different finance person, the 2nd time I went to the dealership (I did not get her card), she told me more or less I would loose money, like being upside down in a house because I had already paid registration fees along with other negative sounding problems. On the way home from that visit My Check Engine Light was alerting, UGH! The 3rd time I went back to the dealership to have it serviced for the fuel light being on, I was told they would give it a thorough look over and told that there was a recall on the vehicle that had not been repaired and that they were going to fix it and the gas mileage should get much better. NOT TRUE, whereas the car was up to a 32 average mpg before the service, after the service visit it was at an average of 30 mpg. I could not afford the need to put gas in it so frequently and I had not even started traveling to L.A. as frequently as I had planned to and will soon need to. I went back to the dealership again for, at least, the 5th time I had the car from 07/21/14 to 11/04/14, less than 3 1/2 months to sell the car back and start the process over. My Sales Representative this time was Sales Consultant, *************-He spoke of my trade in value and some of the other discounts I might be able to use, today being Veteran's Day makes me think that may have been another one. I settled on buying a Focus and was led to believe that yes my extra warranties and maintenace I had purchased before would be applied to the new sale. They have 17,500.00 being credited from my Fusion I sold back but NONE of that money is reflected in my purchase of the Focus. I was told yes, I'm going to get a check in the mail for 3-4,000.00. I just bought 5,000 for the warranties and maintenance for the Focus. I returned home with a very bad tension H/A and full of anxiety of which "Thank God" I have already been undergoing treatment for. So, after trying to calm my nerves and think of some logic to the reason they would think it's justified for not anything back on the 2013 Ford Fusion, I took back. I spoke **********, Finance Manager, he told me that I could not get the $16,000 back. ***** said he had just completed the paperwork for my 3,4,5 thousand dollar refund (He never could tell me how much it was and it seemed to change every time he spoke of it. The Fusion was still there, I was able to get some things out of the car (My floor mats and steering wheel cover) but my paperwork related to my sale of the Fusion was no longer there. So, I asked again about the value for my car and he told me again that I would not be getting any of the money from my down payment back. So, I gave them back the 2013 Ford Fusion Hybrid and bought a 2014 Ford Focus Titanium at full price with no discounts.

Desired Settlement
I would like to NEVER have to deal with *** ******** Ford again. I feel they were very nice to me (GREAT SALESMEN), but took full advantage of me naitivity. From the very start, Advertising Issues, with the 2013 Ford Fusion Hybrid not getting the mileage it was advertised as getting. Refund or Exchange Issues, I made my first complaint within the first week and was told that I could not then discouraged not to. Finally,I was ripped off of my initial down payment of 16,000.00 and monthly payments totaling $886.48. When told by**********p that I would actually be coming out ahead (thinking of the 17,500 that was traded in from the Fusion), I believed him. Sadly, NONE of that money has come back to me.Repair Issue, In the little over 3 months that I owned that car I had to phone AAA for service (when the car was out of gas and battery). I had a oil change alert and recall repair although, I purchased the car from that dealership so things like a recall repair would have be done prior to me purchasing the vehicle. I feel thy did not disclose all of the sale details with me, the pricing information that I was told did not equate to my sale. I do not believe I literally paid them to take the car back and I did not receive any type od deal in doing so.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *******************
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@bobwondriesford.com
Good after noon, my name is *********** I am one of the managers here. **** please allow me a little time to talk to ***** and come up with the exact dollar amount you have coming back due to the cancellations of the extras you bought on the car you trade in. I will find out and call you later today. Thank you **** for being patient.

Consumer Response
I received an email on XX-XX-XX with the latest response from *** ******** Ford, which I have been unable to access from my home computer but the email specified I had 10 days to respond or the matter would be assumed to have been resolved. The matter has NOT been resolved. So, here I am on Thanksgiving Day trying to make sure that BBB is aware that it is not.
I received a phone message on 11/13/14 from Luis Alfaro, I did return his call and agreed to go back to the dealership to meet with him and discuss this issue, but as usual I was very tired and given my history with *** ******** Ford (BWF) decided it would not be in my best interest to do so, especially alone.

I received a check from BWF for $4.98-Four Dollars and 98 cents. BWF got the 2013 Ford Fusion back, along with the $16,000.00 down payment and 3 car payments for 1,721.10 which was the credit I received in the transaction for the purchase of the Focus. PLEASE, give me the justification for dealing with me SO unfairly.

I had the 2013 Fusion Hybrid for less than 4 months (it would have not even been for that long had they allowed me to trade the car in when I first realized it did not get the gas mileage it was advertised as getting). Lemon-Law, was my first thought. Would've, Should've, Could've...Ugh, BWF advertises it does wonders, on this point - I have to agree. I would not have believed it possible that I would end up paying them to trade in the car. But, it happened. Or, that the fact that I had already paid off more than half of what was owed on the Fusion but did not have that money refunded nor applied to the purchase of the Focus.

Before, I received the check for almost $5.I received the papers for insurance after I asked to leave the dealership with temporary insurance like I did with the Fusion. I did not get billed for the year or have premiums due before with that car. Asking to do the same thing with the Focus - I was told I could BUT, this time I've been billed for the year with monthly premium payments.

12/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to honor appointment for service
This is a complaint for ford *** ******** located in Alhambra California.

I made an appointment for 8am on Saturday November 15, 2014 to correct my SYNC system. The software version needed to be upgraded and the SYNC representative told me that only s dealer was able to install the new version. The day I made the appointment I made it clear that I only had an hour and a half available and they ford representative (***) assured me that they would at least review and try to correct during that hour and a half.

I arrived at the dealership at 7.30am only to be told that my car would not even be reviewed until hours later.

This is not the first time this dealership gave conflicting information over the phone so they can attract a customer in. In the past I used a Glendale dealer successfully but because of proximity I seem to be making the same mistake and make appointments with *** ********...never again. They are unreliable and a dishonest group. It's truly an embarrassment for Ford Service.

Desired Settlement
No settlement is requested. I judt want this comment to warn other potential customers. I do not intend to remove this comment.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****@bobwondriesford.com
Service Manager left voicemail message for customer requesting more information and to offer assistance. Customer did have an appointment for SYNC update but needed to be assured that it would be completed by 9am. We can not guarantee a completion time before knowing what is actually required, but a simple update is normally done quickly. As it turned out Ford's technical support website was down. We were unable to gain access to diagnosis and support features throughout the day.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My complaint did not state that I expected an assurance of the completion time. I was told however at the time of the appointment (Friday) that my car was going to be inspected first thing at 8.00am on Saturday.

My complaint is that when I arrived at 7.30am I was told that nobody would be available to inspect the car until several hours later.

I did receive a voicemail by mr. ******* and left a voicemail back. I'm not sure if this issue can be resolved. The best action the dealer can do is assure the public that appointed times will be taken seriously in the future.

03/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was denied a refund for the lo jack that I purchased through the dealer.
Last week On February 4, 2014 I purchased a used Lexus is250 from Wondries Ford. The vehicle was a used vehicle with approx 23330 miles. I was charged for a lo jack system which costs approximately 1995.00. I returned on February 6 after suspecting I was charged for a lo jack system that was already installed in the car and was included in a one time fee from the previous owner and explained to the dealer that I did not want or need the lo jack service regardless of anything. They told me this 1995.00 is not refundable. I don't understand how any purchase costing this amount of money is not refundable

Desired Settlement
I want to be refunded for the full amount of the lo jack approx 1995.00 and the lo jack service removed.

Business Response
On February 4th 2014, ********* came into our dealership and purchased the used Lexus IS250. During the time of negotiation and going inot finance department to sign the contract, ********** has agreed on purchasing the pre-installed security system (Lo-Jack) for the price of $1,995.
It was clearly stated on the purchase contract that Lo Jack system was added with disclosure, Initial and Signature.

Following feruary 6th, ********** returned to dealership asking for cancellation. For customer satisfaction, we have explained to ********** of reimbursing $1,000 to him.
he has accepted to the arrangement and is very satisied.

09/08/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
03/14/2016Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.