BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Barato Auto Sales

905 North Long Beach Blvd, ComptonCA 90221

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Barato Auto Sales is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Barato Auto Sales' rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaints filed against business.

Factors that raised Barato Auto Sales' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Barato Auto Sales

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
07/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealership refuses to send me title or Plates to car after more than two months of me Paying off.
I have tried to cooperate with dealership. They sold me a car (white Toyota camry 1994) they don't own the title to. I cannot use vehicle because it is not registered. I paid barrato auto sales for registration and title and have not received either. I held up my end of the contract but Barrato auto sales will just not. I paid off the car on March 22 2013

Desired Settlement
Plates and registration or full refund

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer did not transfer the registration to the buyer within 60 days as required by the State Law.
1994 Cadillac Deville plate #4BVT925 was purchased on 3/29/2014. As of 8/3/14 the titled had not been transferred nor the registration paid. Car was impounded due to lack of registration over 6 months. Sheriff's dept. told me why vehicle was towed off the street in the City of Bellflower and that it was located at *****'s Tow in Bellflower. Dealer was notified of towing on Mon. 8/4/14, the first business day. Manager, ****** (XXX) XXX-XXXX, said he would take care of the issue and have the car out by end of business. Many days have past, many calls have been made, many visits have taken place to the company trying to get them to retrieve the car out of the impound. Margin repeatedly has said that he is working on it and the lady, whose registration service he uses, has submitted the required documents to DMV. The registration is still incomplete. I am not the registered owner because they failed to honor their end of the contract where I paid for taxes, fees, and licensing. The vehicle is still in the impound.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking restitution of the fees I paid due to the contract not being fulfilled by the dealership. I honored the contract by paying in full.

04/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund $1800/Car needs many repairs that Barato refuse to repair including warranty parts.
On February 16th, 2014, I bought a **** Cadillac Deville at *** ***** **** ***** Blvd for 5,700 dollars. The fair purchase for this vehicle should have been between $1,500- $2,200,which i found out later on through KellyBlueBook.com and reliazed Barato charged an extra $3000 on the vehiecle.

Unfortunately, the car has not performed well and the service was inadequate because on the first day(02/16) of driving the car less than two miles away, the car over heated so I returned it to your location. **** the Manager one day then not a manager the next, told me he will have it by wednesday.I went without the car for a week calling **** who told me the car is ready Friday (02/21). I drove the car about 6mi away and it overheated so i returned vehicle (02/22).**** promise to fix once more. Upon numerous requests for confirmation during that week I received no confidence in your company fixing the car. Car ready on (03/3), car overheats so return vehicle and ask for refund. **** said the Owner dont give refunds and once again promised the car will be fixed. This same routine happened over the course of six weeks with the car being in my possession for only two days during that whole time. . I am disappointed because upon my research after the purchase of the vehicle I found that the car is valued at $2,196. This shows I was over priced for this vehicle as well. Time and time again your company refused to fix the vehicle and your sellers even advised that nothing was being done to the car and the reason was that the "owner" didn't want to fix the car. This lack of professionalism violates the lemon law and vehicle code ethnics. Employees would not give owners info even though they claim the owner is making all decisions and refuse to get the car fix. The car was never worked on but Manager **** insured me that the car would be fixed or i can have a refund or exchange cars. **** said the Owner doesn't want to fix car so pick another one and pay an extra $900 for the exchange. That is an outlandish deal after all that has happened and dis-concern for solving a customer issue. I purchased a vehicle from you that your sales rep (****) said was in excellent condition and the car is a Lemon. It is now going on 2mos. and i still don't have the car or cant get info out of the **** because he informed me that the Owner does not want him dealing with me, and i don't know where the car is.

Desired Settlement
The down payment of $1,500 and the first month payment ot $300. Which is a total refund in the amount of $1,800.

12/01/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
04/11/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
Business started: 06/24/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Barato Auto Sales

905 North Long Beach Blvd

Compton, CA 90221

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 905 North Long Beach Blvd 

    Compton, CA 90221

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Barato Auto Sales is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.