BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/17/2011

Clean Energy Experts, LLC

Phone: (888) 630-6690

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues16
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints18

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (18)
02/24/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They keep sending spam even though I have unsubscribed many, many times.

I do not want to receive email from them. I receive one to two each day even though I have unsubscribed.

Desired Settlement
Remove my email address from their spam list.

Business Response
Solar America is committed to compliance and we honor any requests not to be contacted. If Ms. ******* can provide us (1) her email address and (2) the email that she keeps receiving, Solar American can add her to our unsubscribe list and also make sure that the entity that sent her the email is appropriately dealt with as it is a violation of our contracts with vendors for them to send emails to individuals who have requested to not be contacted.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
My email address is **********@aol.com. I no longer have the email as I deleted it. If I get it again, I will send them the information on the sender. Thank you.

Final Business Response
The above email has already been added to our unsubscribe list. If the consumer ever receives another unwanted Solar America email, please forward it to *****@cleanenergyexperts.com and we can determine if it is a third party mailing without our consent. We can only stop the emails if we know who is sending them and to determine that we must have the email forwarded to us. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
Still receiving spam from these people. When will it stop?

Hi, See If You Can Profit From Solar - Free Quotes for Qualifying Homeowners!
From Go_Solar_America.294 ********************@peakfaze.comhide details
To clnnarnd ********@aol.com, bobcella ********@aol.com
Cc lrcracing07 ***********@aol.com, rkona *****@aol.com,thespis114 **********@aol.com, aitapotata **********@aol.com,joew521 *******@aol.com, imatripandahalf4 ****************@aol.com,kifle5 ******@aol.com, gnbunnell *********@aol.com,therealtender *************@aol.com

03/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company calls me 5-10 times a day. I am on the Do Not Call List and have repeatedly asked them to remove my number from their lists.
They call me at work, during dinner, on weekends. I can not take it anymore!

Desired Settlement
I just want them to stop calling!

Business Response
Thank you so much for the feedback. We do not want consumers to be called who have expressed a desire to not be called. Unfortunately, we believe that there may be third party call centers calling individuals without our consent and in violation of our contracts we maintain with them, if at all.

If you could send us your number we can add your number to internal DNC list and ensure that any telemarketing partners we have add this number to their DNC lists as well. In addition, if you could provide us with the caller ID of the company calling you, we might be able to determine which party is calling you. We have also added your email to our unsubscribe list too. Thank you!

02/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SPAM emails after requesting to be removed
Multiple spam emails are sent to me daily, I've requested to be removed from the list multiple times.

Desired Settlement
Removed from email list.

Business Response
****,

Thank you for reach out to us. Clean Energy Experts is committed to compliance and we do not want anyone receiving emails when they have opted out. There appears to be 3rd parties sending emails out the are non-compliant which would be a clear violation of our contractual agreement with them.

I have personally added the above email address to our Unsubscribe list. If you could forward one of the emails that you received to *****@cleanenergyexperts.com that would enable us to figure out which 3rd party is emailing you. Thanks so much.

01/19/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have asked them to remove my number from their calling list 4 times and they continue to call. I have never done business with them.
Solar America calls me at least 2 times per week. They don't leave messages. When I pick up the phone and tell them to stop calling me, they say they will, but the following week I receive additional calls. This is extremely frustrating. I have never done business with them and I have no desire to do business with them.

Desired Settlement
Stop calling me. Remove me from their calling/mailing lists.

Business Response
Dear Ms. *******,

Thank you for your message. Solar America is committed to compliance and we have no desire to contact any consumer who has expressed a desire not to be called. Based on your description, we strongly believe that there are third parties who are calling consumers without our consent as Solar America's call agents are trained to honor Do Not Call requests without question. In addition, Solar America only calls individuals that have previously expressed interest in solar.

If you can provide us the caller ID of the company calling you, we can try to determine which third party is calling you. In the interim, I am adding this number (XXX XXX-XXXX) to our internal DNC list. Thank you for your time.

Solar America

10/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Solar America calls my house between 5-7 times weekly. Each time they have called, I have asked them to 1- take me off their list 2- stop calling.
They continue to call me almost daily despite my requests. This has been ongoing for months. They call mornings, nights and weekends.

Desired Settlement
STOP CALLING MY HOUSE

Business Response
****,

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. Solar America is committed to legal compliance and we have no intention of anyone from Solar America or from a third party working on behalf of Solar America calling you when you are clearly not interested.

If you could please send me your phone number, we can do two things:

1. Add you to our internal Do Not Call list so that you are not called further
2. Find out which Solar America partner is calling you against your wishes so that we can address this issue with that partner.

Thank you again for your time.

****** ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
****** ****** did not give me a phone number to call or an email address to write to to addres this problem. (Someone from Solar America called again last night). I have already asked them to take me off their lis and they still callt. I would like a # or email from R. ****** to get this taken care of.

Final Business Response
****,

Feel free to email me at ******@cleanenergyexperts.com.

I can assure you that no one from our company is calling you for two reasons: (1) we only call those individuals who submit their information request directly to us as we do no cold calling and (2) our team is strictly trained to add individuals to our internal DNC list upon request.

Based on what you have described, it sounds like third party call centers are calling you. I am committed to making sure that they do not contact you further.

Please email me and if you can provide your number I will do my best to make sure these entities no longer contact you.

******

10/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False advertising on www.************.org/ listing accreditation from the BBB, violation of TCPA telemarketing rules.
Pursuant to the firm's telemarketing efforts to find customers locally, I received an uninvited telephone solicitation at 3:02 PM on Wednesday afternoon, September 3, 2014.

The call was from a telephone sales representative who identified herself as Brooke. She had what certainly seemed to be a phony Caller ID. My display only showed "UTILITIES" and the number XXX-XXX-XXXX, so I had no idea of who was calling when I answered. Of concern was Brooke's request that I agree to waive my rights under the Telephone Consumer Protection Act for this and future sales calls from Solar America. I said NO and the agent hung up on me before I could ask another question.

I am on the federal DoNotCall Registry since 2007 and calls to my residence are a violation of my privacy and the law.

When I checked the Solar America website, they claim accreditation from BBB, however your page shows a "F" rating an NO accreditation.

Desired Settlement
I demand:
1. Solar America provide me a copy of their written Do Not Call Policy as required by federal law, and
2. Confirm in writing they have taken my phone number off their telemarketing call list, and
3. Remove false advertising from their website suggesting BBB support and accreditation.

Business Response
*******,

Thank you for your email. We have no record of calling your number as Solar America only directly calls those individuals who submit information requests directly to us.

There may be a third party vendor who is calling on our behalf without permission. If you have provide me with your phone number, I can add it to our DNC list, our partners DNC and determine which third party partner (if any) was calling you despite your inclusion on the DNC list.

As far as DNC policy, you can find it here: http://www.******************.com/cee-dnc-policy/

As far as the BBB logo, we have received the appropriate permissions from the BBB to use their logo. Thanks again.

Consumer Response
9/22/14

Ms. ******* @ BBB,

I do not accept the Solar America response. The response from Solar America does not address the facts, my demands or comply with the law. I assume since I provided BBB with my contact information, that it was provided to Solar America so they could meet my demands. I have not heard from them or received mail from the company.

My 3 points were as follows, I demanded:
1. Solar America provide me a copy of their written Do Not Call Policy as required by federal law, and
2. Confirm in writing they have taken my phone number off their telemarketing call list, and
3. Remove false advertising from their website suggesting BBB support and accreditation.

Regarding Point #1, Solar America failed to provide me with a copy of their written Do Not Call Policy, as required by federal law.

Regarding Point #2, Solar America failed to confirm in writing they have taken my number off their telemarketing list.

Regarding Point #3, at 8:25 PM on Monday, 9/22/14, I checked the BBB San Jose website for info on Solar America **************************** and snapped a screen shot (attached). In bold lettering the page shows a "F" rating for Solar America, and says, "this business is not BBB accredited." However the Solar America website (http://www.solaramerica.org/) continues to claim the company is BBB accredited, falsely claiming BBB participation and support. Is the BBB going to permit companies to lie, claiming their accreditation, when it does not exist? This is FALSE advertising, seems an inexcusable and likely illegal deceit of consumers who rely on the BBB seal of approval.

I have written the company directly, with no reply. I am on the federal DoNotCall Registry since 2007 and calls to my residence are a violation of my privacy and the law. The reply to BBB's inquiry fails to address issues, demands or the law.

If an independent agent or sub-contractor is making calls on behalf of Solar America, as they suggest, the company remains vicariously liable for civil damages. I am preparing a civil law suit here in Ventura County Superior Court for violations of my right to privacy, violations of the TCPA and Telemarketing Rules prescribed by law.

Regards,

**** *****
******* B. *****
**** ********** Place
****** CA XXXXX-XXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
5foot18@gmail

Attachments (2)


Final Business Response
Mr. *****,

1. We did provide a link to our DNC Policy in our initial response. In the event that you are unable to view that link, I have FedEx'd a copy of this policy to you.
2. Your phone number which you provided in your second response has been added to our corporate DNC list and emailed to any telemarketing partners for them to add to their DNC lists.
3. Our designers are in the process of taking down the BBB insignia per your request.

Regards,

Solar America

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Solar America agrees to remove my number from their telemarketing database, but only after being contacted by BBB regarding this issue. The company took no such initiative based on my direct requests, e-mail or letters to Solar America. I appreciate the BBB's effort to at least get the company to address this one issue. We'll see if they follow through as promised.

However, the remainder of the business response is incomplete. A partial resolution or reply is unacceptable.

The website link mentioned being sent by Solar America did not open a page containing the document I requested, that is required by law to be mailed on demand. I have not received the Solar America Do Not Call policy by mail as demanded, that they claim was sent to me. I did receive a FedEx delivery envelope, but the Solar America Do Not Call policy I demanded was not enclosed.

Solar America admits they are using the BBB logo on their website improperly. Solar America fails to even attempt to explain why they are improperly using the BBB logo on their website pages. Why is http://www.solaramerica.org allowed to display the BBB logo and claim accreditation? As of Saturday, October 4, 2014 at 10:30 AM the company site continues to make false claims about BBB association.

What is the BBB position on a business falsely claiming to be associated with BBB?

The company fails to mention an "F" rating by BBB on their website, while falsely claiming BBB accreditation.

What has the BBB done to correct this hijacking, false claims and abuse of public trust, to put the company on notice? What is the BBB position on a business like Solar America falsely claiming to be associated with and accredited by the BBB, when that is totally false?

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Advertising Agencies & Counselors, Marketing Programs & Services, Marketing Consultants

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.