BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dentistry, dental implants and cosmetic dentistry services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 4th Ave Family & Implant Dentistry Of San Diego meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 4th Ave Family & Implant Dentistry Of San Diego include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 4th Ave Family & Implant Dentistry Of San Diego
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 14, 1996 Business started: 08/01/1976 in CA Business started locally: 08/01/1976 Business incorporated: 06/11/2012 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dental Board of California
2005 Evergreen St #1550, Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dbc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 263-2300
Fax Number: (916) 263-2140
dentalboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 25281.

Dental Board of California
2005 Evergreen St #1550, Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dbc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 263-2300
Fax Number: (916) 263-2140
dentalboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 10094.

Dental Board of California
2005 Evergreen St #1550, Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dbc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 263-2300
Fax Number: (916) 263-2140
dentalboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 20425.

Dental Board of California
2005 Evergreen St #1550, Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dbc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 263-2300
Fax Number: (916) 263-2140
dentalboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 747.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Charles S Nicholson III, Dentist Dr. William Nordquist, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Charles S Nicholson III, Dentist
Principal: Dr. William Nordquist, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Dentists Dentistry - Children Dentistry - Cosmetic Dentist - Dental Surgery Dentist - Periodontist Dentist - Dental Implants Dentist - Prosthodontist Dentist - Sedation

Alternate Business Names
4th Ave Family Dental Group Implant Dentistry Of San Diego Nordquist & Nicholson Professional Dental Corp
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages


Additional Locations

  • 1901 4th Ave #300

    San Diego, CA 92101 (619) 236-7959

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am Very disappointed in their billing practices. Started surgery last July, finished fitting in September 2012, paid in full in September 2012. According to my insurance company first claim was filed in July 2012, after having to resubmit the claim due to improper coding finally got an EOB stating January 16, 2013 a check was sent to their office. Trying to get money from their office, I was refused due to office policy. Questioning why I was told that until all insurance is returned in case there is an underpayment I could not get the money. Then asked why the check was not sent to me directly as in the past and was told by their office manager that it always comes that way automatically. Checking with the insurance company on the form there is a box 37 that is checked to have the money sent to the dentist, if left blank it goes to the insured. Their office policy is wrong; their office manager was uncooperative, stating the money is not mine. Since the bill is paid in full why should I not get the money, why was it requested to be sent to their office? This policy is just a way for your office to get money they should not get and hold onto it. Even after telling the office manager that you may lose future business due to this policy, she did not care. She would not let me talk to anyone else about this. She said the dentist do not have any say in this.

Desired Settlement: I want my insurance money without having to wait for the secondary insurance. They should not get the money from the secondary insurance, it should be sent directly to me.

Business Response:

IDSD

IMPLANT

DENTISTRY

OF SAN DIEGO

 

William D. Nordquist, BS, DMD, MS, Inc

2304 6th Avenue

619/236-7959

San Diego California 92101

Diplomate: American Board of Oral Implantology/ Implant Dentistry

Honored Fellow: American Academy of Implant Dentistry

President and CEO: Creative Custom Systems, Inc.

AAID 2008: International Dentist of the Year

AAID 2010-12 Research Foundation: Governing Board Member

 

01-29-13

 

Re: ***** ******

 

We appreciate your business. Thankfully, your implant dentistry treatment went smoothly and you are happy with it.

 

The insurance issue is far more difficult and complicated than the dentistry. You have two insurance companies and neither would pay if they could get away with it. In my previous office under my command when we treatment planned and agreed to a payment plan, we gave discounts to cover the insurance benefit to avoid us having to fight with the insurance company for months. On many occasions, our staff hours and costs needed to get any benefit wasn't even regained by the insurance payment we received. I don't know if your case was such a case where we gave you a discount so we wouldn't have to submit a claim. If it was, if we did submit a claim, it would pay us back for the discount we gave you so we wouldn't have to deal we the insurance company. I don’t know since the previous office manager doesn't work with me anymore.

 

I was told by my staff that ******, out on maternity leave, greed to submit the claim for you for both insurance companies. However, since the insurance companies try to avoid payment at any cost and fight each other so that the other has to pay the claim, we must wait to see how the fight come out to know who is paying what. My opinion is I'd rather not deal with this expensive insurance claim clerical situation, since we do not get paid for the secretarial staff that has to submit and re-submit for any excuse the insurance has for not paying. It’s closer to fraud in my humble opinion.

 

I'll have my staff look into it further for. Remember we are not being paid by the insurance for the secretarial staff aggravation they put us through. Since we just submitted the second claim, it’ll be 2-3 weeks hopefully, unless the second company claims we submitted it wrong or whatever the excuse is for their delay.

 

Sincerely, 

 

William D. Nordquist DMD MS

Cc BBB

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

There was never any mention of a discounted rate, we paid the full amount.  Now it sounds like they are making excuses about having to spend time filling out insurance claims and making up for it by defrauding me his customer to make up for it.  Dealing with insurance companies is part of the cost of being in the business he is in.  We have never had issues getting payment from either of my insurance companies if the coding was done properly, which his office has done correctly in the past, but apparently not his time.  They are presently holding $1500 that is mine. 

This response basically says they are not going to do anything about returning this to me now.  It is putting it off until the second insurance claim is complete and this letter strongly implies that they may not return part or all of the insurance payments at that time either.  The bottom line is since the bill was paid in full they should have never had the insurance check sent to their office, they should not have requested the check to be sent to them on the insurance form.  There was no reason for them to have the money.  There is no reason for them to hold it until the second insurance company pays.

Since this was paid in full the only reason for the check to be sent to his office and for them to hold it until the second insurance company pays is so he can earn interest with my money. His way of making up for the time to file insurance claims

 

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

William D. Nordquist, BS, DMD, MS, Inc

2304 6th Avenue

619/236-7959

San Diego California 92101

Diplomate: American Board of Oral Implantology/ Implant Dentistry

Honored Fellow: American Academy of Implant Dentistry

President and CEO: Creative Custom Systems, Inc.

AAID 2008: International Dentist of the Year

AAID 2010-12 Research Foundation: Governing Board Member

 

01-30-13

 

Re: ***** ******

 

First of all, I understand that this response will be published in the BBB website so let’s be truthful and inform the public of your behavior in my office in front of my mortified patients. You “screamed and hollered” at the top of your voice at my staff who had nothing to do with the decision to refund your money. Neither I nor those employees have anything to do with the financial function of the office. The employee who is helping you with your refund is on pregnancy leave and will be back in mid-February. Other employees are working on your refund.

 

My position at this office is that I work there on a daily basis unlike my previous ownership I had at my 6th Avenue office. The management in charge of the finances of this and of the six other offices have office policy’s that apply to all the locations. When there is an insurance issue that involves two insurance companies, the refunds are not paid out until both insurance companies paid whatever they will pay. Then the refunds are issued. That is the office policy. No funds will be withheld.

 

As far as holding money to earn interest, why would anyone do such a thing at the low 2-3% interest rates of today? Bad business choice! It makes no sense at all.

 

My suggestion is to be patient and “good things come to them that wait”. 

Sincerely,  

William D. Nordquist DMD MS

Cc BBB

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1