BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

SalonSwipe Inc

Phone: (714) 257-9930 View Additional Phone Numbers 1015 E Imperial Hwy #C-8, Brea, CA 92821 http://www.salonswipe.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers merchant services for salon owners.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SalonSwipe Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SalonSwipe Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SalonSwipe Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 10/25/2004 in CA Business incorporated: 03/02/2006 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Isaac Lay, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Isaac Lay, President
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Credit Card - Merchant Services Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Salon Swipe
Industry Tips
Identity Theft

Additional Locations

  • 1015 E Imperial Hwy #C-8

    Brea, CA 92821 (877) 725-6690 (714) 257-9930 (877) 296-3446

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 296-3446(Phone)
  • (877) 725-6690(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salonswipe has been contacted numerous times in the past two weeks to resolve a monies transfer issue from them to my bank account. Was told at first that the account information was invalid, which was checked and all information was correct. When contacted again, was told money would be put in account once it was "corrected" and since this time, company places you on hold, then disconnects the call after 4.5 minutes. Have attempted to get results 3 times this evening with NO RESULTS except a disconnection. Had to give all information every time and was then placed on hold to be disconnected again and again. When prompted to leave a message, message was left, then no return call. THEY HAVE FUNDS THAT HAVE BEEN TAKEN FROM CUSTOMERS AND HAVE REFUSED TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE AND ARE AVOIDING CONTACT. THAT IS FRAUD. All transaction have cleared from the customers account to SalonSwipe, they have all money in their possession. Transactions on May 31, $17.00 and $30.00; June 3, $14.00 and $30.00; June 9, $85.00 and $25.00...all totaling $201.00. This service hs been used since November 2013 without incident so their "incorrect account information" excuse does not make sense since the banking information is the same as November, December, January, February, March, April and May. When asked for a Supervisor this evening, I was told that I had to give my information AGAIN to be "transferred," which means that I would have been placed on hold and disconnected AGAIN. This is why I am contacting you for their LACK of customer service and support as well as their fraudulent business practices.

Desired Settlement: Transfer monies to bank account as agreed to with this service. At this point their 2.69% charge should be waived since THEY have had all monies for over 2 weeks and have refused to transfer funds to the appropriate account.

Business Response: Unfortunately, the merchant provided invalid checking account information, meaning that the checking account number they provided was invalid. The merchant finally provided accurate information and funds deposited into the merchants checking account on June 18th. The issue has been resolved. As a courtesy, we would be more than happy to refund this merchant her fees corresponding to this deposit.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Co. is a credit card service company catering to the salon industry. I purchased the little white swiper for me iphone for the convenience of taking it location where I was working. They deducted $985.00 from my clients cc acct. yet they will not release funds to my bank account. After over 5 attempts and meeting all their criteria they still wont release funds and will not call me back, as they hold my money and collect interest there is still not resolve. Is this a legitimate co. and if so their practices are fraudulent and unacceptable. Both my client and myself are out these monies owed with no response from the co. Today is 12/19/13 her service was provided 12/9/13. please someone help me.

Desired Settlement: I only want the money owed to me deducted already from my clients credit card account.

Business Response: As part of our fraud and risk monitoring policy, a policy that seeks to protect customers and cardholders, 

****’s account was placed on hold due to suspicious transaction activity. **** complied with our 

policies and provided the necessary information we required to validate her account. Upon successful 

validation of her account and information, we successfully deposited her funds into her account. She is 

still using SalonSwipe to process credit cards and we are very happy we were able to provide an 

acceptable level of service when she needed it.

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

6/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salon swipe states that there are no additional or monthly fees for their services.My last transaction using their mobile card reader was on 12/31/2013. I have had $10 withdrawn each time from account on 2/4/2014, 3/5/2014, and 4/2/2014 for no apparent reason.

I noticed additional fees withdrawn from account outside of the regular transactional fees that are applied to amounts BEFORE they are deposited into my bank account. They are as follows:12/3/2013: $107/2/2013: $5.886/4/201: $1.93I contacted Salon Swipe multiple times to be refunded and for them to stop withdrawing money from my account. The phone representative then states that they will put the request in to a Tier 1 representative and I will see a followup email or phone call which never happens. They give me no confirmation or email where I can provide proof of theses transactions. I want a refund in the amount of the fees they withdraw from my account without my consent of $47.88 and I also want to stop their unapproved ACH withdrawels from my account. Cancel this account.

Desired Settlement: cancellation of SalonSwipe accounts, stop future ACH withdrawals, and refund $47.88 from previous unauthorized ACH withdrawals immediately.

Business Response: These fees are for SalonSwipe's standard credit card terminal. As part of our service agreement for a standard credit card terminal, we provide the terminal free of charge as long as the merchant is using our processing services. This free terminal is provided to merchants with two requirements; 1) if you cancel, return our terminal, and 2) the merchant must process $1,500 or more per month. As our website clearly states, "Owners who process more than $1,500 monthly will receive a free terminal, otherwise a $10 monthly fee applies." This merchant is not processing the required amount and has not returned our terminal, therefore she is being charged our $10 monthly fee.

Furthermore, this merchant stopped processing credit cards using our free terminal less than 30 days after we issued the free terminal in May 2013. Since she discontinued service shortly after receiving our free equipment, we attempted to retrieve our credit card terminal. Our requests to have this merchant return our credit card terminal went unanswered for the rest of 2013, thus we began charging her account based on the terms she agreed to. We charged her account for the first time in December 2013. We have charged her a total of $40.

We would be more than happy to refund her money if she returns our credit card terminal.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9994166, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am not in ownership of any salon  swipe credit terminal other than  their mobile card reader which I no longer
Regards,

******** *****



Business Response: Here is the FedEx tracking number and delivery confirmation showing that the delivery was signed for by one ** *******

***** Tracking Number: ************
Link: ***********************************************************************************

Terminal Serial Number: ***********
Make and Model Number: ******** ******

We would be happy to refund her fees upon receipt of our terminal.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not have this terminal in my posession therefore I have nothing to return to SalonSwipe.  If they agree to stop any further ACH withdrawals from my bank account.  I am willing to withdraw my demand of a refund.  I just want this to this to be done.

Regards,

******** *****



Consumer Response: No longer have access to email to where this information would be saved.  Company says it will mark as lost and stop further withdrawals

Consumer Response: Yes as i have not seen anymore withdrawals from my acct

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used salonswipe to accept client payments. Of those two payments, one never went through and the other one for $154.00 has yet to be paid to me. I have spent over a year attempting to communicate back and forth with this company. I keep sending them information, they respond extremely slowly and still don't send me a payout. It's been two months since I've last responded to their request for information.

Desired Settlement: I want my $154.00 payment that they received and have yet to pay to me.

Business Response: When ***** originally enrolled, she provided invalid checking account information. When we first attempted to deposit funds, they rejected. Our system automatically sends multiple emails informing our customers of the reject. We also ask that they provide updated checking account information. Unfortunately, ***** never responded to our requests. Her money was held until we could receive updated checking account information.

At the end of each year, we review all unfunded accounts and attempt to contact merchants. As a result of our efforts, we finally received updated checking account information and paid for her transaction.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After swiping a clients credit card for $150.00, salon swipe processed the transaction 4 times totaling $600.00. After contacting salon swipe, salon swipe stated that they would credit my client $450.00 and transfer the $150.00 minus their 2.6% commission. Instead of depositing $146.92 they withdrew $146.92. My account incurred overdraft fees. I dismissed the overdraft fees and called them to correct it. I could not contact a live person that could help. A "sales" rep told me that another office that could help would call me back but I have not been contacted.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund me $146.92 that they "Stole" from my account and give me 146.92 that was taken out of my clients account for the services I rendered to my client. Salon swipe owes me a total of $293.84

Business Response: On January 15th, ******* charging her client $150 on four separate occasions. She contacted us the same day to correct the problem since 3 of the charges were processed by mistake. We manually processed 3 separate refunds to the cardholder's card and then notified ******* via email of this fact. This all occurred on January 15th.

Since we manually overrode our system to stop payment to ******* for the invalid transactions processed on the 15th, we had to manually pay her the 1 valid transaction of $146.93 ($150 minus our processing fee). Unfortunately, the SalonSwipe representative who handled this case made a mistake and withdrew $146.93 instead of paying $146.93. This problem was immediately corrected and ******* received a deposit of $293.86 ($146.93 that we accidentally withdrew + $146.93 from the charge to her client).

Since ******* incurred overdraft fees as a result of our mistake, we would be more than happy to reimburse her bank fees. *******, please contact support with a bank statement showing the fees you incurred and we'll be happy to reimburse you. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1