BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Download Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Candymachines.com

Additional Locations

Phone: (760) 744-1550 Fax: (866) 863-5867 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 9, San Marcos, CA 92079 http://www.candymachines.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vending machines.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Candymachines.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Candymachines.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Candymachines.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 26, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1970 in CA Business incorporated: 03/23/2000 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Harris G Harris, Vice President Sales & Operations Mr. Irving Korn Mr. Jerry Korn, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Harris G Harris, Vice President Sales & Operations
Principal: Mr. Irving Korn
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Vending Machines - Supplies & Parts Fund Raising Games, Merchandise, Supplies Internet Shopping Candy & Confectionery Manufacturers Supplies Coin & Bill Count,Sort,Wrap Machines Gourmet Corporate Gifts Home Decor, Accessories & Gifts - Online Retailer Business Opportunity Companies Candy & Confectionery Brokers Candy & Confectionery Manufacturer Equip & Supplies Candy & Confectionery - Wholesale & Manufacturers Chewing Gum Coin & Bill Change Machines Coins & Tokens - Manufacturers Wholesalers & Distributors Balloons - Novelty & Toy Cake Decorating Equipment & Supplies Candy & Confectionery - Retail Games & Supplies Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Party Supplies Vending Machines

Alternate Business Names
Candymachines RM Electronics Inc RM Electronicsinc.com
Industry Tips
Business Opportunities Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • 27721 N Twin Oaks

    San Marcos, CA 92069

  • 858 S Rancho Santa Fe #H

    San Marcos, CA 92069

  • PO Box 9

    San Marcos, CA 92079 (800) 853-3941 (760) 744-1550

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for Candymachines.com

DISCOUNT: Receive 10% discount off your order! At checkout, simply type "BBB" where it asks for promotional code, click the "Apply" button, and your discount will automatically be calculated. For items priced less than $999. 

This company offers vending machines and refill supplies. 

To receive this discount, contact 800-853-3941 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
DISCOUNT: Receive 10% discount off your order! At checkout, simply type "BBB" where it asks for promotional code, click the "Apply" button, and your discount will automatically be calculated. For items priced less than $999. 

This company offers vending machines and refill supplies. 

To receive this discount, contact 800-853-3941 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date. 
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 853-3941(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vending machine for $316.87 on 3/21/14 from this company. There were multiple problems with the purchase. *****, the Executive Account Manager, told me the machine I was purchasing was "Made in the USA" but when I received the shipment, I noticed the boxes had "Designed in the USA, Made in China" printed on them. I immediately called the company and left a voicemail asking for a refund, ***** didn't return my call. This purchase was for a vending business my children have and this machine was to go into a retail store--thus I wanted to make sure it would last. ***** has been unresponsive to my need to return the machine. After weeks had passed, she finally called, stated she asked her Customer Service team to take care of me, but they didn't. She convinced me to open the boxes because she said that although the tri-vend machine was made in China, it would still hold up in a retail store. I hung up, and opened the boxes and noticed the machine was plastic, not metal as she had stated when I ordered it from her. Also, the vending machine came with 6 bolts that are used to attach the 3 machines to the holding plate, none of the bolts would screw into the machine. I emailed ***** again, told her we had a defective machine, among all the other customer service problems I was experiencing. She said she would send me a RMA to return the machine. I told her she needed to pay for shipping both ways as well since the machine was defective and not my fault. Several days later, she sent an RMA number and told me to make copies of the shipping receipt and include it in both boxes. As I was driving to the post office, boxes packaged in original packaging, labeled the way she asked, she sent an email and changed the RMA number and told me to send them to a DIFFERENT STATE! This company isn't even sure where to send returns! It's been two months since my purchase, and Candymachines.com has not refunded my money. They don't return calls or emails, and it's clear they aren't interested in making things right with customers when there's a problem. This purchase has been a nightmare in every way possible. They owe me $366.87, which includes shipping.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of purchase price plus shipping both ways - $366.87.

Business Response:

In a previous order the customer had chosen Assembled in USA machines and received them with no problems. For this new order, the customer was given a choice of machines, either Assembled in USA by the same manufacturer as in his previous order or a Made in USA machine at a higher cost as we are authorized distributors for both manufacturers.  After choosing and receiving the Assembled in USA machine the customer said it was defective. Our customer service department attempted to assist the customer with his issues but he insisted it was defective and therefore wanted to make a return. To satisfy the customer we issued an RMA however, upon hearing of the customer’s claim that the machine was defective the manufacturer assigned a new RMA to ship the return directly to their warehouse assembly address. The customer was advised that he would be reimbursed for the machine and the ship cost only if the machine was found to be defective.

Upon receipt, the manufacturer who authorized the return videotaped the unpacking and set up of the entire machine. They confirmed the holes lined up correctly to attach the machine heads to the holding plate, the bolts screwed into the machine properly and they found no defects as the customer claimedhttps://www.*******.com/watch?v=****************************

As per the manufacturer a refund was issued minus shipping and a 15% restock fee since the manufacturer deemed the machine was not defective.

 

In summation, on May 16th, 2014 a $239.25 refund was made. We guarantee everything we sell 100%.

 

In addition to phone calls….

Email correspondence:  Mon 4/7/2014 9:03 AM

Email correspondence:  Fri 4/18/ 2014 3:36 PM

Email correspondence:  Mon 4/21/2014 8:55 AM

Email correspondence:  Tue 4/22/2014 8:44 AM

Email correspondence:  Wed 4/23/2014 4:43 PM

Email correspondence:  Mon 4/28/2014 8:19 AM

Email correspondence:  Thu 5/1/2014 12:00 PM

Email correspondence:  Mon 5/5/2014 8:40 AM

Email correspondence:  Mon 5/5/2014 8:41 AM

Email correspondence:  Tue 5/6/2014 8:16 AM

Email correspondence:  Wed 5/7/2014 8:16 AM

 

We want to uphold both yours and our high business standards.  With the above explanation please advise if we need to do anything further to close the complaint and have it removed from our rating as we did issue a refund.

 

Sincerely,

 

******

V.P. Sales & Marketing

a.k.a. Gumball Girl Extraordinaire

 

mailto:******@candymachines.com

www.candymachines.com

 

Phone:  ###-###-####

Toll Free:  ###-###-####

Fax:  ###-###-####

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The only thing accurate in ******'s response is that I had purchased a machine from this company before, without any problem...which was a good reason to return business to him.  Contrary to his response, ****** has never once returned any of my calls, nor has his apparently small staff.  I talked to his account manager when I placed the order, then once more (after several attempts/emails on my part) well more than a month later.  He is correct in that he finally issued a partial refund (nearly 2 months after the order); however, unlike my previous machine ordered from him a year or so ago, this machine was 1) NOT made in the USA as his manager promised at the time of order, and his manager knows this to be true and admitted to remembering our conversation at the time of order when we finally talked the second and final time. 

 
The machine shown in this video is not my machine.  My children have a vending business and have for about 8 years, I discussed this with the manager as well at the time of order, so I am very familiar with putting the machines together.  Candymachines.com is keeping over $120 of my money claiming the machine is not defective, which is simply untrue to the core.  It is also a fact that they clearly misrepresented the machine as being "Made in the USA" at the time of order, which 100% false.  I want my money back.


Regards,

***** ******



Business Response: I, ******, did not receive any messages by email or phone to communicate with this customer.  He dealt with his account manager/other sales staff.  The customer was offered a choice to purchase the made in USA machine which he chose not to purchase due to it being higher priced.  There was no misrepresentation, of the two options, the customer opted to purchase the lower priced vending machine assembled in USA.

 

Attached is a screen shot of the address label the customer used to return the machine taken from the video.  Contrary to the customer’s claim that this is not his machine, please read the attached letter from the manufacturer stating details of the return, confirming the machine shown in the video is indeed the return made by the customer and confirming there were no defects. 

 
Please let me know if you need any further information to rule on our behalf and close this case.
 
Sincerely,
 
******
V.P. Sales & Marketing
a.k.a. Gumball Girl Extraordinaire

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1