BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Mexico Travel Net/Baja Motion Tours

Phone: (619) 474-0100 Fax: (619) 474-0344 View Additional Phone Numbers 4364 Bonita Rd #150, Bonita, CA 91902 http://www.weknowmexico.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in Mexico travel.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mexico Travel Net/Baja Motion Tours meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mexico Travel Net/Baja Motion Tours include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mexico Travel Net/Baja Motion Tours
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 30, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1997 in CA Business incorporated: 01/16/2005 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Attorney General Seller of Travel Program
1515 K St #511, Sacramento CA 95814
http://ag.ca.gov/travel
Phone Number: (213) 897-8065
The license number is 2057506.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jacque Fux, President Ms. Irma Montenegro, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jacque Fux, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Irma Montenegro, Customer Service Manager
Number of Employees

11

Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus Raft Trips & Tours Golf Tours & Promoters Sport Fishing Transportation Services Fishing Charters Resorts Vacation Time Share Vacation Rentals Airport Transportation Sightseeing Tours

Alternate Business Names
Baja Motion Tours
Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

Attorney General Seller of Travel Program 1515 K St #511, Sacramento CA 95814 Phone Number: (213) 897-8065 http://ag.ca.gov/travel

Industry Tips
Independent Travel Agents

Additional Locations

  • 4364 Bonita Rd #150

    Bonita, CA 91902 (800) 511-4848 (619) 474-0100

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 511-4848(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order details:Reservation made: 7/01/2013, 1:12 PMHotel Cortez, San Felipe Baja MexicoNovember 01-05 (4 nights)Customer # *****Order reference #*****, (******)Locator #****cancelled reservation prior to expected dates of stay. was informed that they would do partial refund after that date. To date, 8+ email requests to "Irma" requesting refund and providing credit card number since a new one had been issued by Bank of America due to "possible fraud". Still no refund 2 months later and would request any assistance you can give. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Partial refund based on their policy would be fine. Thank you.

Business Response: Hello *****


Hope all is well. We apologize for not responding sooner as my computer system lost all information, and was with out
a computer for a few days. The worst part is over. But as always thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Ms. ** ****** as she indicated made a reservation for El Cortez in SanFelipe thru Baja Motion Tours. and as she indicated cancelled
thou this is not  not the actual issue but the fact that she has not received her refund. Ms ** ****** indicated that we would have to credit 
a different card not the one we have on file. Our Credit Card gateway does not allow  this type of change a formal letter has to be issued from
the bank or if from the client  it has to be notarized.  As we have indicated to her.

We have received a call from her bank as a matter of fact yesterday February 12 2014, and we explained this to them as well. and they indicated
that they would relay this to her.

Please understand that it is not our intent to not refund  Ms. ** ****** but you must understand that we need to make sure our records show
documents to get approval for refund on a different card.


Any questions feel free to call me

Regards

**** **********
Baja Motion Tours 

 

 
  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

  • I have emails that show I provided the correct credit card number
  • No effort has been made to contact me since my last email to Baja Motion Tours on 12/24/2013
  • No resolution was indicated in the response from the above company so there is no proposed action
I give this company an "F" in rating for their lack of timely communication, for not adhering to the agreement stated in their policies and for their refund policy.
 
You may close the complaint at this time as I do not hold out hope for their customer service and willingness to work with the customer which is obvious in the stalling shown for the past 3 months.

Regards,

***** ** ******



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/30/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the 31st Dec 2012, after booking 5 nights at the **** **** Hotel,my partner and I arrived at the hotel at 16:30 local time in Cancun. The following then occurred: - We were told the reservation had been cancelled by the hotel automatically because the payment from the agency, Baja Motion Tours, had not been made.- The hotel contacted the agency shortly after our arrival (leaving a voicemail after no response) and later spoke with the Agency representative when she called them back.- I personally spoke with the agent on the same call as the one between the agent and the hotel (after they had spoke) and was told the whole issue would be sorted out within 15 to 30 minutes and that the hotel 'had to' find us a room.- The hotel then told us the agency were going to provide further information to the hotel and call them again to confirm. This was at approximately 17:30- The hotel also informed us that they had no rooms free and could not offer us alternative rooms at their hotel.- At approximately 18:30 I used the hotel phone and left a voicemail with the Agency requesting she call back as promised.We were left on our own to sort out the accommodation and when we got back from the holidays we contacted Baja Motions Tours and requested a solution to this problem. We had requested the below settlement but was refused by Baja Motions Tours. We were instead offered a $75 voucher to use with them again, which is negligible compared to the $2000 booking we made.

Desired Settlement: 1) A full refund for the 1st night in the hotel.2) Compensation for the inconvenience of losing the double bed room previously booked and cancelled by the hotel due to non payment by your agency.3) An explanation of what went wrong and what corrective actions have been put in place to ensure it doesn't happen to other customers.

Business Response:

Dear ****
RE: ID#*******
As always thank you for your assistance in this matter. In response to the letter we received, here are
the facts:
Customer booked their 5 night hotel reservation on December 19, 2013 for travel on December 31, 2013
- High Demand Dates.
Reservation was confirmed and charged on December 21st, 2013
Agency check was issued immediately after confirmation was received and mailed out same day to
service provider in Miami offices.
Technically at this point our job function has been executed without a hitch and finalized - Room
confirmed payment sent out and guest confirmation voucher delivered.
We received an afterhour's voicemail message from the service provider on Saturday December 29th
advising they had received a payment, but did not know to what
Reservation they should apply it. This is out of our control, as we label each payment with the hotel
name, and customer name and travel dates and we do not manage Inventory and confirmations for the
hotel. They may have been overwhelmed by last minute reservations and room allocations, as they
manage multiple properties.
Keep in mind these are holiday hours for most companies and staffing is limited.
We attempted to return the call to service provider to advise to what reservation they should apply, but
Miami office was dosed for the holidays.
We received another after hours call on Monday December 31, 2013 from the customer. Like all after
hour calls we monitor remotely and we then proceeded to clarify the
confusion directly with the **** **** hotel in Cancun, Mexico.
We provided the hotel with a scanned copy of the payment and the guest was given the room - The
guest checked-In as scheduled on December 31, 2013 for the 5 nights they booked.

It is common practice by most hotels worldwide to oversell rooms to compensate for last minute
cancelations - It is our belief that we did everything necessary on our behalf to properly and
professionally handle this reservation as we normally do. In most cases we try to use a company credit
card to secure rooms and assure quick payment. In this instance this service provider does not accept
credit card payments.
Please find copy of check and date it was cleared by our bank date indicates that it was cleared prior to
checking out of the hotel.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear ****,

The response provided by Baja Motion Tours are reasons why the booking went wrong; however, it does not resolve the complaint because of the following:

1. We made the booking with Baja Motion Tours, not with the hotel. The business collected our money (which came out of our account on 21-Dec-2012) and is 100% responsible for guaranteeing us a room as per our booking. Our business is only with the agency for the purpose of this booking. While we understand that it was a busy season and things may be hectic, anything that went wrong during the booking should have been dealt with between the agency and the hotel.

2. From our understanding of the agency's explanation, the agency realised that the reservation was not assigned to our name on 29-Dec-2012 and was not able to reach the hotel subsequently to correct the error. Yet no phone call or email were sent to us to inform of the potential problem with the booking. So on 31-Dec-2012, we were left with the following situation. Our money in the sum of USD 1,984 came out of our account for the FULL payment of the hotel stay; we arrived at the hotel and was informed by hotel staff that our reservation was cancelled and all rooms are sold out for the night. We were left with limited choices to even look for a new hotel that night, having already half of our credit card account blocked due to the pre-paid hotel room that apparently did not get assigned to us.

3. The explanation provided by the agency does not match with the hotel's understanding of the issue. The information we received from the hotel when we arrived was that they were not paid by the agency in time for the reservation not to be cancelled, which is a completely different problem than the guest assignment that the agency explained. Regardless of what happened, we would request to see a written confirmation from the hotel stating their agreement with the agency's explanation.

In summary, we do not find it justifiable that we paid in full and on time for our hotel booking, and had to spend 4 hours on New Year's Eve dealing with the hotel to sort out a room. At the end, if the hotel did not have a last minute cancellation, they would not have been able to accommodate us. Some of those 4 hours were spent by us looking for another hotel to stay at for the night. We are simply asking for an equitable solution to this issue.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response:

To whom it may concern, ***** ******* & BBB,

RE: ID#*******

 

It is important for the customer to understand how things work for companies such as ours for this to make sense, so I will attempt a shortened version for explanation, and clarification.

 

We are a "wholesaler" we are not a typical travel agency that books a hotel through a GDS "Global Distribution System" at regular "Rack Rates". we do not contract directly with the hotel(s).

We contract with the hotel chains corporate offices and follow all contractual obligations and instructions, as to how and where to send our reservations requests, as

well as payments etc. We negotiate highly discounted rates from those which the hotels sells to the public directly.

 

We are one of many ways hotels sell their room inventory - called distribution channels - We are not a 24 hour a day hotel operation and we do not have control of the

hours of operation of hotels corporate offices. Never the less we were able to resolve the problem the actual day of check-In. Customer paid for the room and received the room.

 

Also worth clarifying all rooms are assigned directly by the hotel(s) and all we can do is request a room type. We sincerely hope you can understand that the real problem, obviously was

the hotel was oversold, which is 100% out of our control.

 

Regards,

 

******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regardless of how the agency works and whether or not the hotel was oversold, we should not have needed to spend 4 hours without a room. Since our booking, the agency made no effort to resolve this issue with us, even though they had already collected the full amount of the payment. As mentioned, we were not notified prior to our arrival that there was something wrong with the booking, giving us a bad surprise on New Year's Eve.

It would appear unethical that if money is collected IN FULL for a hotel booking and the guests had to spend 4 hours going back and forth with the hotel and agency and be told different information, that the agency should not benefit from this full amount. In addition, it took us 2 months to receive a response from Baja Motion Tours when we initially filed the complaint directly with the company. Attached is the response we received, which displayed a lack of customer service and care for the guests' bookings.

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

6/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/6/12, I reserved three rooms for one night at the ** ****** hotel in San Felipe, Baja Mexico, through Baja Motion Tours on the internet. I was charged $246.79 (about $82 ea room).We checked in 3/19/12 and were given 3 very small rooms. When we asked for a receipt the next morning, each couple was given a receipt for 759.36 pesos (about $62 each room.)When we stayed at the same hotel about 10 days later, we found out that the $62 rooms were the very small, one bed rooms; but for $80 each, we got very large, nice 2-bed rooms. In other words when going through Baja Motion, we did not get what we had paid for; whether it was the tour company's fault or the hotel's.The real problem began when we made Baja Motions aware of the problem and asked for a refund of the difference (about $66)! I first tried calling then and left several messages detailing the problem and what I wanted. After no response, tried emailing them, again explaining the problem and what I wanted. The first two emails were answered "Give 7-14 days and we'll get back to you". The last email was ignored completely by them.

Desired Settlement: I would like a response and explanation to my emails and voice messages.But mostly, I would like a refund of at least $66 as soon as possible since this has been going on for two months.

Business Response:

While we hate to have dissatisfied clients, it is also imperative that we as a company protect our business. But let me apologize for Baja Motion Tours not responding to Mrs. *******’s emails.

We have sent out several emails to the Hotel in reference to this matter and we did not receive a response, Baja Motion tours, is contracted by ** ****** Hotel to sell rooms at a certain rate that we did for Mrs *******, we are not responsible for any rate increases or decreases in part of the hotel. Motion Tours acts only as an agent for these services and is in no way to be considered the principal or operator.

Please understand that we are all facing hard times, but we are not able to return any monies to Mrs. *******.

As always, thank you for your assistance in this matter.

**** **********

Baja Motion Tours Inc

4252 Bonita Rd #151

Bonita, CA  91902

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1