BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

SelfHelpWorks.com Inc

Phone: (619) 296-6001 Fax: (619) 296-1048 2970 Fifth Ave, San Diego, CA 92103 http://www.selfhelpworks.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers online health coaching courses.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SelfHelpWorks.com Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SelfHelpWorks.com Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SelfHelpWorks.com Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 18, 2008 Business started: 09/22/1999 in CA Business started locally: 09/22/1999 Business incorporated: 09/22/1999 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bryan Noar, VP Marketing & General Manager Mr. Louis Ryan, CEO/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Noar, VP Marketing & General Manager
Principal: Mr. Louis Ryan, CEO/President
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Training Programs Health & Wellness Health & Diet Products - Retail Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs Health & Fitness Program Consultants Motivational & Self Improvement Training Smokers Information & Treatment

Products & Services

SelfHelpWorks.com Inc offers the following product(s): LivingEasy - Creating Calm & Resilience, LivingFit - Learning to Love Exercise, LivingFree - Breaking Tobacco Addiction, LivingLean - Ending Food Cravings, LivingSmart - Managing Alcohol Use

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Credit cards
Refund and Exchange Policy
Complete one of our coaching courses within 90 days of initial registration and if you are not completely satisfied with the results, contact us to ask for your money back. We will issue you a refund of all course fees paid. Fee paid for trial, if applicable, is non-refundable.
Alternate Business Names
Selfhelpworks Inc
Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

Federal Trade Commission 600 Pennsylvanis Avenue, NW, Washington DC 20580 http://www.ftc.gov

Industry Tips
Cancer Treatment Scams Dietary Supplements Free Trial Offers Identity Theft Internet Shopping Savvy Consumer Unproven Medical Treatments

Additional Locations

  • 2970 Fifth Ave

    San Diego, CA 92103 (619) 296-6001

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted company for a refund of $26.95, the agent stated he could not honor that and the only way I could get money back is to log on, however he failed to state that I had to fully complete the program. I informed him that I do not have online access. He disregarded the comment. I requested to speak to his manager. He placed me on hold for a while, when he had already stated that there was a supervisor available. I disconnected and called back. Chip answered again and I requested to speak to his supervisor again, he then stated playing around by expecting for me to say ok every time he did. Mind you I am very upset and all I want is a supervisor. I then yelled at him to get me to a supervisor. Robert then answered and pretty much gave me the same response, but added that he can only refund me $15. I informed him that I need the full amount back as I have to pay rent, bills, and I have not used their services at all due to I don't have internet access and he gave me the option to log on for a full refund. I then requested to speak to his manager. Lindsay came on the line and offered the same $15 back and stated she would request the recording and if at any point their was a mistake then I would get my money back. I requested to speak to her superior and she refused stating that there was no one over her available. I then requested a call back from someone over her and she ignored my comment stating their was no one over her. I then asked her if she was the owner, she said no, I then stated that I as the consumer have the right to request to speak to the person that supervises her as I am following the chain of command. She just refused by ignoring my request. I did not get the issue resolved and I will be seeking legal options. I understand the company has policies to follow but they also have a mission and a vision and if a company does not care to keep a consumer happy and just make money then they sure have the wrong idea of business in the US.

Desired Settlement: All I would like is for the company to understand my situation and issue me the $26.95 refund.I am a single mother of 4 children, my oldest being disabled, only my income to count on, I have to pay rent a day or two, gas, light, water and worst of all I do not have internet access to start the program. I ordered the product on 6/30/14 and today being 7/30/14. California having the 30 day to try any product and a full money back guaranteed if not satisfied, where would this fall under then if this company does not follow these guidelines and decides to make their own. Worst of all I have not even tried their services. Thank You

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

We have investigated this complaint in detail, including listening to a recording of the call in which the customer purchased a trial subscription to our LivingFree online tobacco cessation course. Based upon our findings we hereby confirm that 1) the customer knowingly purchased our LivingFree smoking cessation course with full knowledge of the trial and purchase terms, 2) she did not contact us to cancel the course within the time period she had agreed to, and 3) when she did call to cancel several days after the trial had expired she was offered a partial refund of $15.00 on her $26.95 payment, even though she was not entitled to one. However, in view of the customer’s difficult personal circumstances the supervisor made a decision to refund the entire $26.95 as a gesture of kindness even though we had already incurred additional processing costs after her trial period expired.

Please note that the $26.95 refund was made to the customer’s credit card on July 30, 2014 – the day BEFORE she filed her complaint with the Better Business Bureau asking for a $26.95 refund. The customer therefore had no reason whatsoever to file a complaint in the first place!

Furthermore, we wish to reiterate that we have listened to the recording of the call in which the customer purchased the trial and she clearly said that she wanted the trial, clearly agreed to the terms, and willingly gave the representative her credit card number. Furthermore, she did not abide by the trial terms she had agreed to so there was technically no reason to give her a refund. In other words, our company went above and beyond the call of duty to take care of this customer by issuing her a full refund due to her difficult situation, even though the entire situation was a result of her own doing and caused us to incur additional costs. We therefore believe that we have acted in a manner consistent with our excellent Better Business Bureau rating, and that this complaint should not have even been filed. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I continue to be dissatisfied, the phone call they should have reviewed was the one made on 7/30/14, where the manager, ***** refused to allow me to follow the chain of command, and where she repeatedly stated she would call me back within 48hrs after listening to the recording. They failed to call me back, or email not even as a courtesy. The misled me to believe that they would call me back, but then again this company does not care about the person on the other end, all they care about is the credit card number they were able to get. After this experience, I just don't understand, how a company like this can have a good rating with the BBB. I'm sure their are many, many customers that feel the same way I do about this company, unfortunately they are probably not aware of the BBB. 


Regards,

******* ****

Business Response: Dear BBB,

 
We are mystified by this consumer's response. In her initial (unwarranted) complaint, she stated that "All I would like is for the company to understand my situation and issue me the $26.95 refund." As explained in detail in our original response, we did understand the customer's situation, which is why we had already issued her a full refund of $26.95 PRIOR to her filing her complaint. We did this out of the goodness of our hearts, even though our company had already incurred additional processing costs caused by the customer's failure to abide by the terms she had agreed to when ordering the trial. We thought the customer would be grateful that we went "above and beyond" to take care of her at our own expense but that appears not to be the case. Although we find her reaction highly surprising we would appreciate it if you would consider this matter closed.
 
Sincerely,
 
SelfHelpWorks

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for this program for $1.95 for a free 1 month trial. I was not told I would be charged $39.00 per month after that, but in any case, did not use the program, so called within the one month time frame and cancelled the program. This company is denying that I called and cancelled the program on time. They have charged my credit card for 2 months at $39.00 per month plus interest. They are claiming that I called them on 6/6/13 to cancel, which isn't even possible as I was at work that day. They also sent falsified documents to my credit card provider showing that they charged my credit card with an expiration date of Jan. 2010, which is obviously incorrect.

Desired Settlement: I want all charges to my credit card reversed and any interest incurred paid for as well.

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

We have investigated this complaint in detail and based upon our findings we hereby verify that 1) the customer purchased our LivingFree course with full knowledge of the trial and purchase terms, 2) she did not contact us to cancel the course within the time period she had agreed to, and 3) based on several false statements made by the customer, we believe she may be confusing her purchase of our LivingFree course with another purchase she made.

We are sorry that the customer has not yet taken advantage of the LivingFree course she purchased and which we have set up for her. Although there is no refund due we would be happy to help the customer by re-activating the LivingFree course she purchased, so that she can complete it at no further cost to her. We would also be happy to extend our standard 90-day money-back satisfaction guarantee period, as follows: The customer may call us toll-free at ###-###-#### and request to reactivate her course. Upon re-activation, she would then have 90 days to complete the course and, if not satisfied with her results, receive a full refund of her discounted $78 course purchase price.

Regarding the details of the customer’s complaint, we offer the following facts and explanations to set the record straight:

On March 28, 2013, the customer was contacted by a third-party call center agent calling on behalf of a company from which she had recently purchased electronic cigarettes. During the call, the agent offered her a 30-day trial of our LivingFree program. We have obtained a recording of the call and listened to it in detail. Here is a summary: After confirming the customer’s identity, the agent asked the customer to confirm her shipping address for her electronic cigarettes. The agent then asked the customer if she was interested in quitting smoking. When the customer said yes, the agent offered her a 30-day trial for the LivingFree online quit-smoking course for $1.95. Contrary to what the customer stated in her complaint, the agent explained the terms of the trial in specific detail: If the customer was not satisfied with LivingFree she should contact SelfHelpWorks and cancel within 30 days at no further obligation; or, if she was satisfied with LivingFree and did not call to cancel within 30 days, her credit card would be billed a discounted course fee of $78 in the form of 2 equal monthly payments of $39 each. The customer said she wanted the trial offer and she confirmed that she understood the terms (cancel within 30 days or pay the course fee). She also gave her 16-digit credit card number to the agent. We have a recording of the call on file and would be happy to make it available to the Better Business Bureau for review upon request.

Once SelfHelpWorks received the LivingFree order from the third-party agent, we confirmed the customer’s purchase by sending a receipt/terms email directly to the email address the customer had provided the agent with. SelfHelpWorks also followed up by sending a welcome email containing the customer’s username, password and login instructions. As laid out in the terms the customer had agreed to, her card was then correctly charged $1.95 for the trial on March 28; $39 (first half of the $78 discounted course fee) on April 28, the day after the 30-day trial ended; and $39 (second half of the $78 discounted course fee) on May 28. Then on June 6 we received notification from the customer (either in person or via voicemail or email) that she wanted to cancel her LivingFree course, which we immediately did.

On June 13 we received a notice from the customer’s credit card company saying that she was disputing the May 28 charge to her account because she did not recognize the sale. In response to the credit card company’s request for proof of sale we supplied a transcript of the call during which the customer had purchased the LivingFree trial and agreed to the terms, as well as a copy of the subsequent email correspondence we had sent to the customer. Based on the credit card company’s review of the information, they determined that the sale and charges were valid so they denied the customer a refund. It was at this point that the customer contacted the Better Business Bureau.

Regarding the following false statements made by the customer we believe that she may have us confused with someone else, which is entirely possible seeing as she purchased more than one product from the third-party call center. First, she listed her account number on the Better Business Bureau complaint as *************, which we do not recognize. Her LivingFree account number is a 7-digit numeric User ID, which was emailed to her. Second, she stated that we charged her interest however our system, which bills automatically based on what the customer purchased, is not programmed to charge interest. We have confirmed that we did not charge her anything other than the $1.95 trial fee and the two $39 charges for the course that she had agreed to. Third, the customer’s statement that we sent falsified documents to her credit card company showing that we had charged her card with an expiration date of January 2010 is not only false but makes no sense whatsoever to us. Financial information stored in our system is encrypted for security purposes and does not show anything but the last four digits, so the only credit card information given to the credit card company in response to their request was the last four digits – not a date. Additionally, our system cannot process expired credit cards. And fourth, on her Better Business Bureau complaint the customer lists the date that the problem occurred as 5/13/13, which has no relevance to anything regarding her LivingFree trial. The sale and first billing ($1.95) took place on 3/28/13, the second billing ($39) took place on 4/28/13, the third billing ($39) took place on 5/28/13, and we had no other dealings regarding with the customer until we received notification to cancel her course on 6/6/13.

Again, we are sorry that the customer has not yet taken advantage of the LivingFree course she purchased and which we have set up for her. Although there is no refund due we would be happy to help the customer by re-activating the LivingFree course she purchased, so that she can complete it at no further cost to her. We would also be happy to extend our standard 90-day money-back satisfaction guarantee period, as follows: The customer may call us toll-free at ###-###-#### and request to reactivate her course. Upon re-activation, she would then have 90 days to complete the course and, if not satisfied with her results, receive a full refund of her discounted $78 course purchase price.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

The following company, owned by "*** **** (**** ********* ***.****@*************.com is a third party vendor that obtains credit card information illegally upon completion of an online order with http://www.****.com/. Even if you click the option NOT to sign up for any additional services, or if you cancel your order prior to actually submitting it, the company http://www.*************.com/ obtains your account information and begins charging monthly fees of $38.88

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $39.99 Plus an Over Draft Fee of $37.00

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

We have researched this complaint in detail and based upon our findings SelfHelpWorks strongly denies these incorrect allegations. In light of the obvious factual confusion of the customer, who has already been issued a $39.00 refund, we offer the following facts and detailed explanation to set the record straight.

1) SelfHelpsWorks has never obtained any information (illegally or otherwise) upon completion of an online order made at http://www.****.com.

What DID happen was that on March 8, 2013, the third-party order validation center that works with the electronic cigarette company called the customer to verify his address before shipping the electronic cigarettes he had ordered from them. SelfHelpWorks has obtained a recording of that call and listened to it in detail. Here are the facts:

During the call, the agent confirmed the customer’s order and shipping address for his electronic cigarettes. The agent then asked him if he was interested in quitting smoking. When the customer said yes, the agent offered him a $1.95 30-day trial for LivingFree (a $129 quit-smoking course offered online by SelfHelpWorks). The agent clearly explained the terms of the trial: If the customer was not satisfied with LivingFree he could contact SelfHelpWorks and cancel within 30 days at no further obligation; if he was satisfied with LivingFree and did not call to cancel within 30 days, his credit card would be billed a discounted course fee of $78 in the form of 2 equal monthly payments of $39 each. The customer clearly said he wanted the trial offer and confirmed that he understood the terms. He also gave the agent his 16-digit credit card number to pay for the trial. Once SelfHelpWorks received the order for the LivingFree trial from the third-party agent, we sent a trial receipt/terms email to the address the customer had provided the agent. SelfHelpWorks also followed up with a welcome email containing his course username, password and login instructions.

2) SelfHelpWorks has never charged monthly fees of $38.88 to anyone.  

What we DID charge the customer was $1.95 on March 8 for the trial he ordered, followed by the first of two monthly course payments of $39.00 that he had agreed to. Per the customer’s agreement to either cancel the trial within 30 days or be billed a discounted $78 course fee in the form of 2 equal $39 monthly payments, he was correctly billed $39.00 on April 8th - the day after the 30-day trial ended.

3) Although the customer did not contact SelfHelpWorks to cancel his LivingFree trial within 30 days as directed, as soon as we learned of his obvious confusion we cancelled his account and refunded the $39.00 payment course payment he had made.

In summary, SelfHelpWorks has acted forthrightly and done what we can to help this customer including refunding him the partial $39.00 course fee he had paid, even though we were not legally obligated to do so. Although we are sorry to hear that he was charged an overdraft fee by his bank, we do not feel it is our responsibility to pay for something he caused through his own doing.

Sincerely,

SelfHelpWorks

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

There has been no refund of $39.00. Plus this caused an over draft of $37.00. Yes there was mention of the $1.98 Trial for the Magazine. However there was no mention of any automatic charge of $39.00 to my account. I did call in and cancel this after only 2 weeks.

Regards,

*** ******

Business Response:

We have researched the customer’s rebuttal in detail and once again we strongly deny his incorrect allegations. Based on our findings we offer you the following information:

1)  We have verified that he was indeed issued a refund of $39.00. The credit card company processed the refund to his Mastercard ending ******* on 4/10/13 at 8:07am Pacific Time. (Attached: credit card processor screenshot showing refund)

2) He was fully informed of the terms of his $1.95 LivingFree trial, and he affirmatively accepted these terms. We have on file a recording of the phone call made to him by the third party that confirmed the shipping address for his electronic cigarettes and sold him the 30-day LivingFree trial. A transcript of the relevant excerpt of the call follows: [Agent] “So, with your okay, unless you call to cancel within the first 30 days you will receive the entire program for just two easy monthly payments of $39 and continued telephone support access for only 9.95 billed each month unless you cancel. Okay?” [Customer] “Okay.” In reading his rebuttal, it sounds like the customer has confused the LivingFree trial with a magazine trial that was also offered by the third party. (Attached: recording of entire offer call)

3) We have no record of this customer contacting us 2 weeks after his LivingFree trial began, nor at any time since then. We only became aware that he wanted to discontinue his LivingFree course after his 30-day trial had expired and we had billed his first $39 course payment, when the Better Business Bureau notified us that he had filed a complaint.

Regarding the customer’s overdraft of $37, we are sorry to hear that he was charged an overdraft fee however we have acted forthrightly and we do not feel it is our responsibility to pay for something the customer caused through his own doing.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved