BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Xtermite Inc

Phone: (619) 542-8582 Fax: (619) 542-8584 View Additional Phone Numbers 10107 Prospect Ave #B, Santee, CA 92071 http://www.xtermite.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers non-tented environmental (organic) termite eradication and wood replacement and repairs caused by dryrot, termites and other wood destroying organisms.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Xtermite Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Xtermite Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Xtermite Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1998 Business started: 08/01/1998
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 3336.

Business Management
Ms. Anna Stevens-Folkins, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Anna Stevens-Folkins, C.E.O.
Number of Employees

24

Business Category

Termite Control Pest Control Services

BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 300-6483(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Xtermite had been to my home 7 times in 6 months treating my home with their orange oil product from July 2013 to December 2013. I refused to have them come out again to poke more holes in my wood when I could clearly see that their orange oil product was not working. I asked for a complete refund and they refused and insisted that their orange oil treatment works and said that the droppings I see are from my house shifting which is utterly ridiculous. I had ******** come out on April 3, 2014 and do a thorough termite inspection and needless to say I still have termites and the droppings are fresh. I also have a copy of the complete inspection report from ********. I want a complete refund (not a partial refund)so I can move forward and hire ******** to fumigate my home. I am a senior citizen and on a fixed income and I can't afford anything less then a complete refund.

Desired Settlement: I paid $1535.00 and I want $1535.00 refunded to me.

Business Response:

The last time we spoke with the homeowner of this property was during a Quality Control Inspection performed 10/21/2013 by our Production Manager and Inspector Supervisor ****** *******. 

At that time, *** ******* identified the droppings as old and explained to the homeowner that the infestation was no longer active. The homeowner understood and seemed pleased and satisfied by this information. The homeowner’s daughter, however, was also present for the inspection and did not agree with *** *******’s assessment. Prior to this, we had never spoken to the homeowner’s daughter and she is not listed on any of our documentation for this property.

Since this inspection, someone on behalf of this property has tried to cancel the ******** ******* payment to our company on four occasions. Each time, ******** ******* has refused on the grounds that our attempts to contact the homeowner have had no response. Because they have not responded, we have no way of verifying that the complaint and cancellation requests are coming from our customer and not from her daughter.

As we have not been out to this property since 10/21/2013 we cannot refute nor confirm the recommendations of the mentioned ******** report. We have requested a copy of this report from the State Board to facilitate further investigation and will keep the BBB apprised of our findings.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


 

****** ******* the quality control person from Xtermite did not come to my home on 10/21/2013 a regular technician who works for Xtermite came on this day and applied the orange oil treatment. This was not the last time Xtermite came to my home to treat my home with their orange oil product.

These are the dates they came to my home to apply their orange oil product:

July 24, 2013, August 8, 2013, August 27, 2013, October 21, 2013, November 15, 2013, & December 26, 2013.

****** ******* the quality control person from Xtermite treated my home on November 15, 2013 and then again on December 26, 2013 not October 21, 2013 nor was this the last time they treated my home.

The droppings are not old droppings and my house shifting is not the reason why I there are still more and more droppings. I had ******** come to my home on April 3, 2014 and do an extensive inspection and I have the report to prove that these are not old droppings and my house still has termites. The contract number for this report from ******** is ************* and inspected by ***** *****.

I am not happy with Xtermite and their orange oil product because it does not work. I want a full refund in the amount of $1535.00.

 

Regards,
**** ******



Business Response:

 The last time we treated the property in question, there was no active termite infestation. We made several service calls to the property and, although evidence suggested the droppings were a result of damage and not infestation, XT2000 Orange Oil Plus was applied to the area at the customer’s request.

 We have attempted to contact the customer several times to resolve this conflict and have received no response. ******** ******* has denied the customer’s requests to have the payment to our company cancelled because there has been no response to our attempts to resolve the issue. 

We cannot speak to another company’s inspection report, but we are looking into the matter.

 

Thank you.

 

******** *********

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Xtermite would not have treated my house over and over if there were no signs of termites. Every time they came out they inspected first and noticed I still had termites then applied the orange oil.  I do not have property damage and this is the first time I have heard this from them. Xtermite seems to come up with new excuses every time I hear from them. Xtermite said they were going to obtain a copy of the inspection report from the state and not from the company itself. They already know that a termite company will not give the report to them they have to go through the state.  Why hasn't Xtermite obtained this inspection report? It has been several weeks now and this is just another unbelievable excuse that they seem to think is acceptable.
Also, they have never tried to contact me in anyway either by phone or by mail. I have a message machine which they could have left messages if I wasn't home for some reason, but I have NEVER received any calls from them in all this time.  I want a full refund because the orange oil does not work for termites.

P.S. I am having ******** e-mail the inspection report to Xtermite since they do not do what they say they are going to do. This report will in fact prove that I still have termites and this way there will be no more excuses  I will also be sending Xtermite a copy of the inspection report from ******** by mail and whoever receives the mail for Xtermite will have to sign for it so they cannot come back and say they never received it.

**** ******

Business Response:

Date: 05/21/2014

Re: Let this document serve as a response to the ******** report issued on 4-3-2014. Property described in report is *** ********* ***** ***** ***** *** *****. The report states that there is evidence of visual Dry-Wood Termite infestation at/in the following areas.  Attic, Fascia and garage. As said before in previous documented conversation, Dry-Wood termite fecal matter dose not necessarily mean that there is active termite activity in that area... however our warranty covers any necessary inspection and treatments if needed. Best thing to have done is for me to come out with the ******** report in hand to make sure the areas are alive or not. To many times termite companies have said that old termite evidence is active so we need to be concern.

Please reach out at you earliest convenience to set up a time for Q.C inspection      

Field Operations Manager:

****** *******

Xtermite, Inc

*** *** **** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Quality Control Manger ****** ******* has been to my home twice, once in November 2013 and once in December 2013. Both times he inspected and then treated my home with the orange oil product.

Every month my home was inspected by Xtermite from June - December 2013 and then treated with their orange oil product. Coming out again to do exactly the same thing they have done before will not make the product work and they will find active termites just as they have each and every time they have been to my home.

I have written documentation from ******** that I still have active termites. ******** is a reputable company and have been in business since 1927. There is absolutely no reason for them to write false statements. 

It is now time for Xtermite to refund me my money. No more inspections, no more treatments and no more excuses from Xtermite. Just refund me money in full.

P.S. Two inspection reports from ******** were sent to Xtermite documenting I still have active termites. One copy was e-mailed by *** a manager at ******** and the other was sent by registered mail and received/signed by **** ****** at Xtermite. They were both addressed to ******** ********* and both were received on May 15, 2014.

Regards,

**** ******

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, , and find that arbitration is necessary. 

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Complaint was resolved through BBB Arbitration

6/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a THREE year contract of termite inspection and treatment services.. this cost me $2100.. this company will NOT call us to schedule the annual inspection.. we have to call them.. so when I called them at the number on my initial inspection report (conducted in July 2012) they could not FIND any evidence or copy of me even being a customer. I spoke with **** on at least three occasions as well as traded emails.. finally after almost a year of Xtermite denying me or doubting me they met my request to have my annual inspection scheduled.. the inspector came to inspect two months ago for my SECOND paid for inspection.. now on June 9th I receive a letter saying my contract will be expiring on 6 July 2014 and they want me to go onto the annual plan of paying $350/mo .. I called and asked what about the whole year I missed? How are you going to credit me for that? I paid for services I did not receive.. they are a PREDATORY contracting company. I resent the way I was treated and how they conveniently say "well we are not associated with customer service" BUT that is who you have to contact to schedule your service.. how can they get away with this??

Desired Settlement: I desire them to refund me ONE YEAR worth of service that they never provided.. This equates to $700. I want a phone call apologizing for the way they treat customers who pay good hard earned money and are treated like dirt. I want them to conduct a performance review on ******** (Director of their Billing) and I want it included in her performance review she received a formal complaint and to hold her accountable for YOUR company's ethical behavior.

Business Response:

Mr. ******* is correct that he paid for a three year contract. The expiration notice he received was sent to him in error, and we apologize for the mistake. We would like to offer Mr. ******* an extra annual inspection, in addition to the one he is entitled to under his contract, to make up for the error. If he would like to schedule the inspections available to him, he is welcome to call our customer service department. It is Xtermite, Inc’s policy that it is our customers’ responsibility to schedule their own appointments.

 

Aside from the expiration notice, we cannot verify Mr. *******’s complaint. As his account information is in our computer system and his file is easily accessible, there is no reason for the situation he describes. Our company emails are monitored and stored, and there is no record of any correspondence between him and Brad.

 

We do take full responsibility for the erroneous expiration notice he received, and we hope Mr. ******* takes advantage of the extra inspection we are offering him.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: April 14, 2014, I contacted Xtermite to schedule our "FREE ANNUAL INSPECTION & SERVICE" (retreat), because we discovered termites in our garage area. An appointment was set for 4-28-14, Noon to 2:00pm. My mother died at 10:00am the morning of 4-28-14. I called Xtermite to see if I could reschedule the appointment, on April 28, 2014, 11:00am. We discussed the expiration date of the warranty and **** (I believe) said they could work around the warranty problem because the first available in our area was 5-23-14. The day before the appointment (5-22-14) Xtermite (**** again (619) 542-8582) calls to advise we will have to pay another $350.00, because the warranty ran out on 5-5-14. WOW! I just want what I already paid for. Thanks.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of my $350.00 paid in May 2013. My contract was from 5-5-13 to 5-5-14. OR "FINISH THE JOB" as described in our Xtermite warranty.

Business Response:

When Mrs. **** called Xtermite, Inc. on 4/28/14, she spoke with ****, who rescheduled the appointment for 5/23/14.

The customer did not mention that the warranty would be expiring on 05/05/2014, and there were no arrangements made to take that into consideration. As soon as Xtermite realized that the property was not under warranty, the operations director called the customer to let them know that the renewal fee would need to be processed before we could legally treat their property.

Because of Mrs. ****'s circumstances (family loss) , Xtermite is willing to extend the customer’s warranty for two months at no additional charge. The customer has been scheduled to receive their annual inspection on 7-1-14 and the warranty will expire on 07/05/2014.

 

We value Mrs. **** as a customer and we hope that this result is satisfactory.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. Some of the FACTS need to be corrected. My Husband *****, called XTermite and made the (new)appointment with ****. I called early on 4-28-14 to ask if the appointment could be delayed due to my Mother's sudden death the morning of 4-28-14. I absolutely discussed the expiration of the warranty with ****...her reply: "We can work around it".  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ****is

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: XTermite applicator broke a exterior light fixture and broke the electrical junction box under the light fixture. They forced the light fixture into the electrical box with sufficient force to break the internal structure of the box. They also failed to fill the holes drilled to apply the termite treatment nor did they attempt to fix the wood molding around the front door that they damaged. When I called the company the Supervisor denied the whole thing and alleged that the light fixture was hanging by its wires when they began their work. They did not note this to Mrs. ******** who was home during the treatment procedure. The supervisor claimed that he had personally done the work in the area of the problem and that the damage occurred before they got the job. This fixture is in a prominent location next to the front door and the damage would have been seen if it occurred in the past.

Desired Settlement: Fix the fixture. The damage to the electrical box will require removing it from within the wall. This will require electrical and stucco work. The damage has been reviewed by our son who is a licensed general contractor. He is willing to do the repair but we are also willing to let another properly licensed person do the work. I do not think the owner of the company knows of this issue and suspect that it has been concealed from her.

Business Response:

 

In response to Mr. ********’s concern, a quality control inspection led by both Xtermite, Inc’s Production Supervisor ****** ******* and Operations Manager ******** ******* has been scheduled at Mr. ********’s property for 3/28/14 at 9-11am in order to survey the area in question.



Thank you.


******** *********

Operations Manager

Xtermite, Inc.

*** *** **** * *** 

Consumer Response:

BBB

The above referenced complaint ID ******* has been settled to my satisfaction.  It is my expectation that the two year service warranty against dry wood termite infestation in the property treated remains in force.

***** ******** ***************** ************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to share my dissatisfaction with Xtermite. I hired this company 2 years ago only because I have 4 dogs and a terminally ill sister that tenting was not an option at the time. From the beginning, things were not done right. The person who came to inspect my house told me that his crew can work around other services that were occurring at that same time. Just to make things clear, the bottom floor of my house has flooded and there were men doing different things. I'm not an expert but it only makes sense that you should treat the termite areas while the wood is exposed and then let the other men do their restoration but that is NOT what happened. When the restoration guys were done w/the work(putting drywall and painting),the termite crew start drilling holes in the same wall and patched it w/white stuff. I had chosen a mauve color to paint the wall and I had to ask the other men to repaint it due to again someone not paying attention to detail. By the way,I was informed that the agent this company uses is going to smell like oranges and after every treatment, the odor in my house was unbearable and caused me migraines which resulted in me missing work. The odor bags had a minimal effect. I've had 3 inspections & several repeated infestations in the same areas and the problem was NOT resolved. This company's employees have continually misinformed me and given me empty promises. Also, the customer service is poor. The office manager kept telling me that she would call and she wouldn't(unprofessional). Moreover, the customer service guy was rude and not accommodating to my needs. I had to be late to work several times just to go around their schedule when it should be the other way around. For the last year they have tried to address swarming termites in same areas and to no avail. It is disgusting for me to awake to finding bunch of termites flying around in my kitchen, bedroom, bathroom and living room. Top it off,the drama after every treatment of cleaning & hiring someone to paint.

Desired Settlement: I am tired of giving this company sooooo many chances to prove to me that their product works and it doesn't. I want my money back so I can move forward and hire a company that can get rid of the problem. Time is urgent and I need this problem corrected before it causes more costly damages then I will ask for more money to address these issues and pain/suffering. Thank you

Business Response: I CONTACT MRS. ****** ***** ON 10/14/2013, 

XTERMITE INC, WAS ABLE TO RESOLVED THE ISSUE AT MRS. ***** SATISFACTION.
 

Consumer Response:

I would like to let you know my final thoughts toward the complaint I had w/ XTermite.  I have been sick for 3 weeks with the flu and I apologize for not responding sooner. I spoke w/ a representative from BBB this morning and he told me that my case is closed but I can email you so you can reopen. I just would like to clarify that I wanted to get my full refund or even $1000 out of the $1500 that I paid but the manager I was speaking with regarding the resolution said that will never happen and the best she can do is half which is $750. I settled because I want this to be over with and move forward to hire another company to do the work but I'm not really happy with the outcome. I would like if you can write on my complaint that I would not recommend this company to anyone first because the agent they use is ineffective and second because they don't know how to satisfy their customer. If you have any questions, please let me know

Thank you

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I pay them annually to maintain my home.It turned out my home was not maintained by them in 2011. I called last June 2012 & advised them that termites were eating my attic and i hired someone cause they are difficult to deal with service wise. They took my annual payment and scheduled my "annual inspection" for September 2012 to take care of this. They came in Sept and showed me how the inspection done in 2011 resulted in serious overights in the attic. This required them to send out groups of people including supervisors to treat my home repeatedly and to apologize. They are the only ones that use orange oil otherwise i would take stronger measures to resolve this. Needless to say, i pay each year and now have to pay tons of money to fix damaged wood due to their inspector's negligence. The fact they didnt respond faster in June gives you an idea of how they treat people.It is too overwhelming for me to read their reports. I had my home under control until now. They are lucky i am being reasonable right now.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting they extend my annual contract to a reasonable time. It took me 3 months to get help but i lost one whole year of paying for nothing

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for the extended warranty (almost $2000.00) and within a couple of months of the original service saw more termites. So I called for 4 weeks in a row and they would set up a day to come out and never show up and never call. Each time I called because no one would come or call they would be sorry say they are busy etc. When they finally came I was told there is old employees leaving and new ones coming. I was told places were missed the first time. After the last employees came out I found pieces of woood on the paneling broken and pieces not put back on the wall. I am now seeing termites again in all different rooms and can not believe what I am going through for this amount of money. My son and I suffer from asthma so each time they do the work we have to suffer until the pesticide drys. I understand termites are a part of life and you cannot get rid of them or any insects completly but for what I paid I should not have to be as bad off as I was before having the work done if it was done correctly. I would like someone to correct this matter please! thank you!

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of what I paid for the work to be done because I am back where I started as if I never had it done. It is torture to keep having the pesticide in the house and suffer through it drying for weeks at a time.

Business Response:

November 5, 2012

Mr. ****** *****

The Better Business Bureau

5050 Murphy Canyon, Suite 110

San Diego, California 92123

 

RE:  Complaint ID ******* (****** ***** – Customer Name)

 

Dear Mr. *****;

 

This letter is in response to the matter referenced above, and shall serve to provide additional information for your consideration.

 

(a)  Ms. *****, is unable to allow Xtermite to fulfill our contract due to health concerns.

(b)  Xtermite has resolved Ms. *****’s concerns and both parties seek to terminate this matter.

 

Please contact me at my office (619) ******** should you required additional information.

 

Sincerely, 

 

********* *******

Director of Office Operations

Xtermite, Inc. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1