BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

SkinMedica Inc

Phone: (877) 944-1412 Fax: (760) 448-3603 5770 Armada Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008 http://www.skinmedica.com/

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers skin care products.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SkinMedica Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SkinMedica Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 27, 2001 Business started: 02/28/2000 in CA Business incorporated: 11/05/2002 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Mary Fisher, CEO Mr. Steve Loomis, CFO Mr. Theodore Schwarz, President Mr. Rob Sorenson, Senior Vice President of Operations Ms. Christina Balesteri, Vice President of Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mary Fisher, CEO
Principal: Mr. Steve Loomis, CFO
Principal: Mr. Theodore Schwarz, President
Principal: Mr. Rob Sorenson, Senior Vice President of Operations
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Skin Care

Alternate Business Names
Skin Medica
Industry Tips
Internet Shopping Unproven Medical Treatments

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5770 Armada Dr

    Carlsbad, CA 92008

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello,It is being advertised that there is a $25 rebate for purchasing one tube of Vaniqa.I did make this purchase and I sent in the required rebate information. I only received $9.41. I did not cash this check because it was not for the correct amount.I contacted the rebate program numerous times through email and regular mail and was not responded to regarding the incorrect check amount.The check should be for $25 and I am asking for a reissue of the check for $25 per the rebate policy. Thank you,****** ******

Desired Settlement: Re-issuance of the check for $25.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am very concerned about a situation that I am having with Skin Medica. I phoned their company on 2/11/13 to follow up on a rebate that I submitted in the previous month for my Epiquinn Micro purchase I made at **** *** ******* ******* *** *** on 1/16/13 in Winter Park, Fl. I was told by ******* that they are no longer honoring this particular rebate since the product has recently been discontinued but that this product was a good one, blamed it on the regional reps as they were notified of this change and should have pulled all of the Rebate coupons from their stores. I left my information for ***** the manager to return my phone call to discuss my concern. I still have yet to hear back from him. I followed up the following day 2/12/13 with an email. I have yet to hear back from him.This concerns me that as a Company, Skin Medica would not stand behind any promotions their marketing dept had to bring in and maintain good, loyal customers.

Desired Settlement: I am a new customer and I love the results I am having with the products I am using. I hope that you reconsider the decision and honor the $35 rebate to maintain good, loyal customers.

Business Response: This consumer request was honored with Check number ******** that was issued and mailed on 2/22/2013.  It has since cleared our bank.  We are considering this case rectified and closed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1