BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Coola Suncare

Additional Locations

Phone: (760) 940-2125 Fax: (760) 940-2126 View Additional Phone Numbers 1726 Ord Way, Oceanside, CA 92056 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.coolasuncare.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sunblock and sunscreen products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Coola Suncare meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Coola Suncare include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Coola Suncare
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 06, 2010 Business started: 02/23/2004 in CA Business incorporated: 02/23/2004 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chris Birchby, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Birchby, President
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Skin Care

Service Area
Serving San Diego County
Alternate Business Names
C & K LLC

Additional Locations

  • 1726 Ord Way

    Oceanside, CA 92056 (760) 940-2125 (888) 682-6652

  • 31305 Via Mariposa Ct

    Bonsall, CA 92003

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 682-6652(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a coola matte tinted sunscreen, and requested a replacement because the lid was defective. Coola agreed to replace it only if I paid for the shipping myself, and sent in the unit myself. I only requested a new lid for the product. I am unable to drive and told them this, which limits my access to a postal center and my ability to return this item. They could have sent me a postage paid label, but did not want to and there is currently no post office anywhere near the transit stops on my train. I was shocked that a business with such pride in organic materials and human rights would treat customers so badly. After about 6 emails back and forth, I told them I was contacting the BBB and hopefully whoever handles this complaint has more authority than the customer service managers. They also did not seem to care that mailing an item which is know to leak would not be legal and I was shocked Coola was willing to waste so much of my time for a 36.00 product. They also wanted to "arrange a phone call" but since the outcome would not have changed their position, I declined to further waste my time with the agents. They could have requested a photo, but it seemed like Coola was trying to make the process especially difficult for disabled people unable to drive.

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement bottle of the coola face mineral sunscreen large unscented matte sent to my address under mfg warranty. If they would like to examine the bottle a self address postage paid priority label will need to be e-mailed to me.

Business Response:

Dear BBB of San Diego,

We are proud to be a growing company based in Oceanside, California - and even more, pride ourselves on creating quality products and offering exemplary customer service. The complaint raised is still one that we continue to offer both exchange and return on, as documented in the numerous attempts below to assist the customer. The only edits made were of those to hide the e-mail address of the customer, and the full name or addresses of anyone involved.

We continue to stand by our products and our service - and it is very apparent in the e-mail trail below that we attempted on numerous occasions to offer exchange of the customer's product - even in this case, without a receipt or recollection of where it was purchased. Most companies do not offer returns, exchanges or customer satisfaction without a receipt of goods - however we honestly wanted to help the customer out as much as possible. We also were not told until the end of the communication that there was any disability involved, as we are also able to arrange residential pick-ups as well, which would have gladly offered.

In cases such as this, we want our customers to be happy with the product - and do ask to receive the product back. In this particular instance, the product and customer could not provide proof of purchase, receipt of goods, or verify where the product was purchased. We continue to offer an exchange or return for brand new product to the customer, and would be happy to still do so - but without either a receipt of purchase or sending the defective product back is not possible.

Thank you for your time and consideration - as we feel that our efforts clearly reflect a company that cares deeply for it's customers.

Best regards,

COOLA Suncare

 

Please find a detailed accounting of all communication with customer below:

Initial email stating issue with product and requesting replacement:

On Sun, Aug 24, 2014 at 4:41 PM, <CUSTOMER> wrote:

Hello Coola,

I recently purchased your amazing mineral sunscreen in matte tint.

I am having trouble with the cap, getting it to seal fully.

Currently I have to wrap in in plastic to keep it fresh.

I cannot remember if I purchased it from Nordstroms or Ulta.

If I mail the item into your company, could you replace it under the mfg warranty, or at least send me a new cap to try.

 (ADDRESS hidden for privacy)

 

COOLA CUSTOMER SERVICE response with issued RA# and offering to replace entire product since there is no way for her to return to original purchase location.

On Mon, Aug 25, 2014 at 11:37 AM, <COOLA CUSTOMER SERVICE> wrote:

Hello *****, 

Thank you so much for contacting COOLA support!

I am so sorry that this is happening with your product, that is definitely not something I have heard of happening before. Usually I would suggest taking the product back to the retail location you purchased it from so that they can exchange the product for you as all exchanges for the product originated with that location, however, since you cannot remember where you purchased the product from we can go ahead and make an exception. 

I will issue you an RA# to use when mailing your product in to our warehouse and once we have the product we can go ahead and send out a replacement matte tint product with a working cap.

Send your product to the address below and reference the RA# for our records:

COOLA Suncare

Attn: Returns/Exchanges

1726 Ord Way

Oceanside, CA

92056

RA#**********

As soon as we have the product back in our warehouse for assessment we can send out the replacement product to the address you have provided in your email.

If there is anything more I can do for you, please feel free to contact me.

Kindest regards,

*****

Customer agrees to send product back, but is concerned about product spillage. Customer asks if she can get a replacement part of packaging.

On Mon, Aug 25, 2014 at 6:01 PM, <CUSTOMER> wrote:

Sure no problem, but I cannot guarantee it will arrive in a state that isnt a bit "messy" since the product cannot be sealed properly. Would it be possible to just mail a new cap? It would be much easier for me.


Response with suggestion on how to send product back.  I ask which product packaging she has since she never specified if she uses the twist cap or pump and depending on which packaging she has, we would not be able to send her a replacement part (for the pump).

On Tue, Aug 26, 2014 at 8:58 AM, <COOLA CUSTOMER SERVICE> wrote:

Hi *****,

Returning the entire product would best help us to investigate the issue with the product, so we sincerely request that it be sent in its entirety. If you believe it will a little messy I can suggest wrapping it in plastic wrap or a ziploc type baggie to help contain any spillage. Is your product a twist cap or a pump cap?

Best,

*****

Customer response to suggestions and return policy.  She states she will throw her product away and will purchase another.

On Tue, Aug 26, 2014 at 3:16 PM, <CUSTOMER> wrote:

It is a pump. Unscented matte tint. 1.7 oz. When I press on it, there is a leak around the sides, I dont think it is sealed properly.

In regard to your service exchange idea... paying for shipping myself and then dropping it off at a mailing station and waiting 3 weeks for a replacement isnt an option in my condition. If you cannot send me a lid/cap for this product. Ill just throw mine away and use something else, at only 36.00 I could just buy another. All this work for a cap is too much for me right now. But, I'll let the Better Business Bureau know about the experience. Very disapointed.”

Response explaining that her product would need to be replaced entirely as we no longer carry the pump and sending a twist cap would not fit the tube she currently has.  I offer to still exchange the product for and if she should change her mind and want to exchange for a new product that she can contact me.

On Tue, Aug 26, 2014 at 3:23 PM, <COOLA CUSTOMER SERVICE> wrote:

Hello *****,

I am so sorry you feel that way. I would still like to help you with replacing the product as COOLA no longer sells the matte tint product with a pump from our website, so we would only be able to replace the entire product; however, in order to do so, we would first need your original product. Again, if you would still like to exchange your product with us, please do not hesitate to contact me as I would be more than happy to help.

Kindest regards,

*****

Final email to CUSTOMER SERVICE from customer stating she would like to speak to a manager as well as the process it would take for her to return the other product to us.

On Tue, Aug 26, 2014 at 3:49 PM, <CUSTOMER> wrote:

Forward this to a manager pleae.... I think they should see how Ive been treated.

Like I said my time is worth more than the 36.00, and I will be sending a complaint to the BBB, instead of just replacing it with whatever you have, your company would rather I pay for shipping, spend time getting to a drop off (or begging for a ride from my friends), then wait around 3 weeks for the entire process to begin. I dont have a car, and riding a transit for such a small piece of cosmetics is foolish. It would take me almost 2 hours to accomplish all this.

I am done wasting time with emails to you, I will let the BBB contact you instead.

 

Internal e-mail from Customer Service to Manager:

>Forwarded on to manager Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 3:53PM.

---------- Forwarded message ----------
On Tue, Aug 26, 2014 at 3:53 PM, <COOLA CUSTOMER SERVICE> forwarded:

Hi ********,

***** is the woman who purchased a matte tint product from either a Nordstrom or ULTA, but cannot remember which, and was asking for a replacement cap. She is now asking to speak to a manager only, as she feels she's been treated badly.  

Best,

*****

Initial e-mail from COOLA MANAGER to Customer::

On Wednesday, August 27, 2014 8:28 AM, <COOLA SUNCARE MANAGER> wrote:

Hi *****, 

I'm sorry to hear about your recent dissatisfaction and would be happy to offer assistance. Would it be possible to schedule a call at your earliest convenience?

Look forward to hearing from you.  

Best, 

********

E-mail response from CUSTOMER to COOLA MANAGER:

“On Wed, Aug 27, 2014 at 2:40 PM, <CUSTOMER> wrote:

no thanks.

Second attempt by COOLA Manager to try and reach out to customer:

“On Wed, Aug 27, 2014 at 2:54 PM, <COOLA MANAGER> wrote:

Hi *****, 

Please let me know if I can offer additional assistance. 

Best, 

********

Response from CUSTOMER after COOLA MANAGER attempts to reach out twice to help:

On Wed, Aug 27, 2014 at 4:22 PM, <CUSTOMER> wrote:

One last thing I think you should know (full name deleted for privacy), your response to my complaint "trying to arrange a phone call" would have been a waste of time for me. Its obvious the purpose of the call was not to arrange an easier exchange, but to just reinforce your exchange policy, and have no bearing on your service, but only another waste of my time.

If Coola considers their customers satisfaction worth less than 36.00, I think the world should know.

Suggesting I pay for return shipping to replace a portion of the product under warranty, (that you could not supply me) is ridiculous. I only requested a part, not a new product. I explained my disability and cannot drive, I have access to only a light rail train, and still you dont care.

Enjoy the profits from the new tube I just ordered from Nordstrom, I didnt know you needed the money so badly.

Response from COOLA MANAGER to CUSTOMER: 

On Wed, Aug 27, 2014 at 4:36 PM, <COOLA SUNCARE MANAGER> wrote:

Hi *****, 

I truly apologize for the negative you feel you have experience with COOLA. It was completely my intention to offer additional assistance to your case in the best way I could within the lines of our procedures. I offered a phone call in view of the fact that your email sent to our customer service representative stated you no longer wished to email. 

While our products do not offer a warranty, we do wish to give the best COOLA experience possible and work with our customers to achieve that. Unfortunately, our products do not have interchangeable parts, thus the suggestion for a return/exchange. I and our customer service representative had no knowledge of any disability you may face. As a sun care company, we often assist customers who are going through or survived cancer, and we're always pleased to accommodate. 

If you would like to reconsider, we would appreciate the opportunity to replace your product. Please let me know if I can offer support. 

Best, 

********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved