BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Allied Business Schools Inc

Phone: (888) 501-7686 Fax: (949) 707-5579 View Additional Phone Numbers 22952 Alcalde Dr, Laguna Hills, CA 92653 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.alliedschools.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers online educational programs in various subjects. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allied Business Schools Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allied Business Schools Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allied Business Schools Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 28, 2013 Business started: 07/03/1978 in CA Business started locally: 07/03/1978 Business incorporated: 07/03/1978 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833
http://www.bppve.ca.gov
Phone Number: 888-370-7589
Fax Number: 916-263-1897
bppve@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 24255659.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Charli Hislop, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Charli Hislop, President
Customer Contact: Mr. James Parent, Compliance Specialist
Number of Employees

253

Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational

Service Area
This company is a business school.
Alternate Business Names
Allied American University Allied Real Estate School Allied Schools

Additional Locations

  • 22952 Alcalde Dr

    Laguna Hills, CA 92653 (888) 384-0849

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 384-0849(Phone)
  • (949) 707-2978 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a online services that offer people who have very limited time to have the flexibility to take the real estate classes online. I am a licensed realtor in California with the hope to get a property in Tx so I am taking online classes for TX licensing, a package of broker classes. When I called in to Allied, I was told this is easy and flexible so the service is perfect for someone like me who cant go to classroom and need to get done within a certain period. As it turned out, this is nothing but a waste of my time. The person failed to tell me that they have glitches or whatever system in place that a security questions come up every few second and each time that happens, I was taken back from the beginning. So I can not continue these course and lost the whole labor weekend ( which I made arrangement to be home to study.) I couln 't contact them until Tuesday since they were off the entire weekend. Then when I finally got the hold of tech support the gal helped me get through the glitches thinking this has been resolved and the issues of security popping up will go away. I am currently in Tokyo and I made arrangement to spend a day to do the online classes. First few hours were fine until the questions again pop up every few seconds and each time it would take me back from the beginning. I am not able to deal with their glitches anymore. I called Student service up and was told that since its past 5 days they will take 20% off and only offer partial refund. First of all the weekend and traveling time I lost and now having to repeat everything elsewhere, they do not seem to acknowledge the hassle and valuable times I lost. If anything else they should be compensating me for the time and frustration. Not only since my time is so tight I may lose out on $15K of commission that I would made if I get these classes done. I am getting a 1331 exchange so my time is within 45 days after I close escrow.

Desired Settlement: They only offered me partial refund.

Business Response:

Hello BBB,

This compliant has been successfully resolved.  The student in question has decided to cancel her refund request, and to continue with the course.

Sincerely,

 

Allied Business Schools, Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I first approach to this school asking if I need class or certificate to become a home inspector and they stated yes this is wrong now I took their word and signed up on Friday but over the weekend I get to talk to few home inspectors and they told me I don't need class or certificate in state of California so I called around on Monday to state and business license and I was told no I don't need education or certificates to become home inspection I need to work for already establish company to learn and than I can go on my own so I called the school and cancel the class but they don't want to refund my money I need my refund and this school need to stop lying about need to take curse to become home inspector I didn't take any class this Scholl had set up user and password and they claim I took curse I didn't take curse I didn't take test I didn't get certificate I had called to cancel and they refuse to cancel I am not taking this curse I want my money back

Desired Settlement: I want my $357.00 refund to me I don't want to take curse that I am not required and I am not interested with this Scholl to work any future

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Thank you for this recent communication regarding a complaint from a student (Case #********).  This student is requesting a full refund.  After careful review, the information that was provided by the student does not align with the facts and therefore does not constitute a valid request for a refund.

·         The student claims that he did not take the course he enrolled in; however, the student has almost completed the course in its entirety.  Once completed, he will have access to his completion certificate. 

·         There is nothing for the student to “cancel,” as this student has completed his coursework, and has only the final exam left.

·         This student has been informed explicitly that he is not eligible for a refund.  We refer him to review his enrollment agreement for the terms and conditions of eligible refunds.

While Allied Business Schools does appreciate this inquiry, in this case it seems that the student has misunderstood the terms of his enrollment and his eligibility for refund.  If you have any further questions, please contact Student Services for additional information.

Sincerely,

 

 

Allied Business Schools

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I am filing this complaint because I being charged for two courses. I contacted Allied school for my Propery Management/RE agent license. I went on their website and notice that I would have to take two separate course to get what I wanted. So, I took Property Management first, once I finished that I called and got the Real Estate course. As I was completing my R.E. course I went online to BRE to see what the requirements are to take my test.. I found out you need two main courses and 1 elective. My elective could have been my property management. So, I contacted the school and I told them the same thing. I explained how I was under the impression that I had to take one course before I could take the other course. If I had known that I could take the R.E. course and gotten both of them of course that's what I would have done. The rep did not mention this to me even after I signed up for the R.E course. He actually lied to me and told me I was getting a good deal with the course but come to find out this was the regular price. So, if anything I was being mislead. I don't feel I should be paying for 2 courses when I could have taking 1 course and been done. And, then they tried to give me a credit of $50.00 for the property management, the course by itself $1,123. What is $50.00? That made NO sense at all. Then I spoke to ******* today and told her just cancel everything and I'll start over, I know they have a refund policy, If I'm not satisfied, I can get a refund. She tells me today that I can't do that now. I am happy with my lessons. I have no complaints. I do have a problem with them trying to benefit of my money.. The property management course is $1,123, they credit me $50.00 I've paid over $500.00.. I'm not paying another dime when I know I don't have too..

Desired Settlement: There are 2 things that can happen. 1) I offered to pay another $400.00 get my certificates and be done. I've already paid $500.00.. My balance is $800+. I'll pay half of that and be done. If not,2) Refund me my money that I have paid. (All of it) I'll return everything they sent me, they return my money we'll go our separate ways. This never happened..I hate that I have wasted so much time with this. As I stated, I was happy with my education. But, if I need to go to another school. I will

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for Allied Business School's Medical Assisting back office program so that I could become a successful Medical Assistant after taking the RMA exam that follows this program. It was a "pace yourself course" which being a military wife and constantly moving is something that I was in need of. When I inquired about the program with their enrollment line they told me that I could use my MYCAA scholarship to pay for the entire program. The Enrollment staff is so convincing! I started the program and after the first course I immediately started realizing what a mistake I had made. The courses are so outdated with old information and flaws in the assignment descriptions. Example: answer questions 5-10 (1-4 are optional) but 1-4 would be the questions you were tested on later? Then I would call the Educational support line (The line that they go on and on about during enrollment). Whenever I call into the support line my questions are NEVER EVER answered. The Support techs are always more confused then you are! They will transfer you 5-6 times during each call and then after no one comes up with the answer they will make you wait for the answer for 24 hrs so that you can't move forth in your course. They are also rude and belittle you when they speak to you, It blows my mind! I have completed 6 courses with them and I am currently on my last course. The material is terrible and It contradicts itself over and over. Their are so many flaws in the program I could write a book. It was a huge waste of money and the school is fraudulent. They make sure to take advantage of people by telling them everything they want to hear during enrollment especially ones with the MYCAA scholarship and then when the education part factors in they completely check out! I feel that the school is very unprofessional. The education is terrible and does not prepare you for the future. I called to make a complaint and I was told I would hear from the manager...never did. They only care about you during enrollment.

Desired Settlement: I want the school to step up and take responsibility for their bad Education services. In this day and age education is ESSENTIAL. I am trying to go to school to help people one day...To make a difference. The last thing I expect out of a school is to care about nothing but, money. Not a tiny ounce of compassion or care is felt through this school. They do not act like they care about your education. They care about a paycheck. How is that helping anyone.....

Business Response:

Hello BBB,

Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention.  Allied Business Schools is 100% committed to helping our students become successful.  After researching this complaint, I discovered that the manager did try to contact this student, per her request, on 5/1/2014 (in the afternoon).  After following up last week with that manager, I learned that the student has not yet responded to his original message; however, Allied has a record of the student calling the school to speak with an educational advisor on 5/2/2014. 

From the notes left by the advisor it seemed as if the student’s issue was resolved, which is why we were surprised to receive this complaint four days later on 5/6/2014.  On that day, Allied Business Schools attempted to contact the student several times, in addition to the following day.  In other words, Allied’s educational support department has attempted to reach this student at least 4 times in the last 6 days.  Please see the following contact attempts:

5/6/2014:  (10:55 am) - Called and left a voicemail for the student.

5/6/2014:  (2:22 pm) - Called and left a voicemail for the student.

5/7/2014:  (1:17 pm) – Called and left a voicemail for the student.

5/7/2014:  (3:35 pm) – Called student.  No voicemail was left.

Since this student has not followed up with Allied in the last six days, we consider this complaint to be closed, as we sought to make a good faith effort to address this student’s concerns.  Nevertheless, please have the student call educational support and/or request to speak to the manager if she still has any outstanding issues/questions.  We are here to help.  Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Allied Business Schools, Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made numerous inquiries into the cost and associated fees involved in coursework with AAU. I requested such information be made available to me, so I could make an educated decision whether to continue with AAU. My inquiry involved obtaining refund disbursement dates for block of classes 1/6/2014-3/2/2014. Furthermore, I was not satisfied with reply given due to vagueness of answer. The person I conversed with recently on phone was named, ******** *****. ******** seemed irritated about my questioning and my inquiry. Mrs./MS *****, inform me the AAU recently have made changes to availability of financial dates, student loan amounts . Although, Mrs./MS. ***** , did express to me she would forward my inquiry to Mrs./Ms. ******* ********. Plus, I am not entitled to know such privileged information such as, financial practices and other information about Governments loans originated in my name. However, in AAUs defense, prior support and answers and responses has been very professional and catered to quickly. Although, the desire for higher employment and looming financial cost, the completion of my degree, has urged me to be more proactive in seeking formal answers and precise information on refund. As one knows, student loans carry a heavy burden for students once a degree has been obtained. I find it quite absurd person must rely on financial advisers to convey such crucial and pertinent information about financials. This information should be readily available to students and transparent in nature. The financial cost and other obligation should be finished prior to any enrollment and through the educational process.

Desired Settlement: I would current information on enrollment, degree completion, financial aid disbursements, and cost associated with new enrollment for BS degree.

Business Response:

Hello BBB,

Our records indicate that this student received his award letter on 12/16/2013, which included the information that he is seeking.  Nevertheless, the student may contact the financial aid office during business hours if he has any questions concerning the charges details and/or award letter, or any other questions listed in the original compliant.

Sincerely,

 

 

Allied American University.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

***** ******


The reason for rejection of response is that the school is now trying to use teacher to fail me in current class. Furthermore, I sleeked to resolve issue with college .However; the school is choosing to escalate the problem.My refund has not been issued as yet to date. 

Business Response:

Hello BBB,

Allied Business Schools is not choosing to escalate this problem.  We would like to resolve this issue with the student.  According to our records, the student's funds were received on 02/20/14, and the business office staff is working to get those funds issued as soon as possible.  The school usually pays the funds out to the students within 10 days from receipt; however, the government allows institutions up to 14 days after receipt to issue the funds.  Every student is made aware that we will issue stipends up to 14 days from the receipt of funds too.  Please have the student call the business office if he has anymore questions or concerns, as we want to make sure to resolve his issue.

Sincerely,

Allied Business Schools.

Consumer Response:

Hello,
              Please close the case. I am currently working with college to address the issues stated in complaint.Thanks for your support on the matter

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello,I am a disabled single mom just trying to receive certification in the medical transcription field so that I can help support my family. I'm writing you in a last ditch attempt at receiving some fairness from the school that I had the misfortune to enroll in for MT studies. I have submitted many reports in the Medical Transcription program offered by Allied School's Medical Transcription Courses. Each report, however, is given to a different grader/reviewer to be graded. I have received contradictory edits and reviews over the last six months of being in this program. One grader says one thing, another says something else. I'm left feeling very confused about what they want from me even though I've done well in every other aspect of the courses.The head of the department, **** **********, admits that the grading is all subjective and is based on the grader's own ideas of how a report should be written even though on many instances they go against what their school's own text books tell the students to do to produce a proper report. I have learned in the past week that there are no set guideline or grading policy, it's all up in the air and comes down to whether the grader is having a bad day or not, essentially.I have gone round and round with them about how unfair this practice is (sometimes I make one correction from one grader that's deemed incorrect by the next) and all I've gotten was essentially, "Oh well, that's how we do things." This has cost me months of aggravation and stress in not being able to move on in the course without a passing grade. Many times, I'm made to wait up to two weeks to be able to re-submit reports that were deemed failing by one grader only to be passed by the next. I'm not learning anything but how to follow orders from graders that I'm not even sure are qualified.All of my tuition is payed off, I just want to be able to get my certificate and finish.

Desired Settlement: Fair grading policies and guidelines in place so that I can reference them during grading, and to receive my certificate upon completion of my current course (without having to enroll in any further courses not specified by the recruiter at the time I enrolled initially in the MT course). If not, then a full refund of tuition, $2500.

Business Response: The Quality Assurance (QA) specialists the student is referring to are subject matter experts in 
the field of transcription, and dedicated to preparing students for the real world of 
transcription. In order to mimic real world transcription,  benchmarks are graded by a pool of QA 
specialists. Each specialist will have a different style and focus when grading the benchmarks; therefore,
it is possible to receive feedback that is conflicting on the same benchmark.  It is crucial to remember 
that unlike traditional grading, QA is designed to assist students in improving their critical 
thinking skills and accuracy.  Therefore, students must analyze the feedback and use their critical 
thinking skills to determine the cause for the nuances within the feedback.

Please also remember, that medical transcription is subjective.  When receiving feedback from the 
QA analyst(s), students are required to review the entire report including the errors that may not 
have been brought to their attention by the QA analyst(s).  The purpose of this method is to expose 
students to what medical transcriptionists  most likely will encounter in the professional work 
environment.  This process will help sharpen the student's proofreading skills, critical thinking 
skills, and train their ear, so that he or she will be set up for success upon entering the field.  
Also, if an error was not marked wrong initially, and then subsequently marked wrong on a second 
review, it does not necessarily mean that conflicting feedback has been presented.  It may be the 
case that such feedback should have been given on the initial review, but was missed by the QA 
analyst.

Upon satisfactorily completing modules 1-5, the student will receive a transcript from the school.  
The student may only receive an AHDI completion certificate once the course requirements for 
modules 1-7 have been fulfilled.

Sincerely,

Allied Business Schools

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First, per AHDI rules governing transcription education programs, benchmark grading is to be based on the AHDI book of style (BOS) third edition.  Allied's QA "professionals" have repeatedly graded against what the BOS says in favor of the "flow of the report."  This practice causes endless confusion and does nothing to "sharpen" the student's report writing skills.  It serves to mainly add confusion and endless frustration in the grading process.
 
Secondly, the person in charge of the QA review graders isn't even qualified to teach medical transcriptionists let alone grade their reports.  by AHDI's strict program rules, all teachers and grading staff need to have current CMT licensure.  This person is a CMT-R, meaning that she retired her credential who knows how long ago and is not required to keep up on her continuing CMT education.  As for the graders themselves, the student has no way of knowing who they are or what credentials they possess to be able to grade the students reports properly.
 
Third, at the time that I enrolled in this program, I was told that if I paid X amount of dollars in tuition and then finished all of the courses on my blackboard, I would receive my certificate of completion.  However, I'm finished with all the classes and I've paid all my tuition, but in order to get my certificate, i have to enroll in and pass one more class.  This was not mentioned anywhere in the coursework or financial agreement, and I didn't find out about it until I began my final course.  This sounds like a classic bait and switch scam.  What happens after I finish that class, will there be another class and then another?  Something is not right with how this school is being run.
 
Regards,
***** ******



Business Response:

Hello BBB,

Thank you for bringing this reply to our attention.  Unfortunately, the additional information provided by the student does not correspond to the facts, nor does it constitute a valid request for a refund.

Allied’s grading process is designed to help sharpen the student's proofreading skills, critical thinking skills, and train their ear, so that he or she will be set up for success upon entering the medical transcription field.  It is true that Allied’s program director, who is in charge of our graders, is a CMT-R.  However, her retired status does not preclude her from being the program director of our transcription program. 

Allied’s transcription program was initially approved with her as the director, and with her CMT-R credential.  Also, the program was just recently reaccredited in 2013 in the same manner.  Furthermore, our program director is a sitting member of AHDI’s approval committee and review board.  Hence, this student’s claim about our program director’s lack of continuing education is unfounded and spurious, as she is deeply involved with AHDI and the industry.

Allied has been in contact with AHDI in regards to this compliant, and the information we have received stands in direct opposition to what this student claims.  Also, the student’s comments about grading practices are not sufficiently true.  For example, AHDI, via the ACCP approval process, does not evaluate grading practices, nor does the “Model Curriculum” have rules regarding QA/grading.

Lastly, this student is eligible to receive a separate certificate of completion for each course she completed, and/or a transcript.  However, this student is not eligible to receive Allied’s AHDI approved programmer certificate of completion.  If she is having trouble obtaining her individual course completion certificates, then she may call the Student Services Department (###-###-####) to assist her.  Also, Allied’s AHDI approved program consists of 7 courses, and this information is listed in the coursework.  Specifically, the language is located on the introduction page of every course within the entire program.  With the abundance of clear and concise information related to Allied’s AHDI program, it seems highly improbable that an Allied student would believe that he or she was required to only complete 5 out of the 7 courses within the program, and/or claim that this is “a classic bait and switch scam”.
 
While Allied does appreciate this reply, as it is possible that misunderstandings can arise, there is no justifiable reason to provide a refund to this student.  Hence, Allied considers this complaint to be settled, and wishes this student the best in all of her future endeavors.

Sincerely,

 

Allied Business Schools

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First, when I initially spoke with *** ****** (the representative for Allied who registered me for this course), she assured me that all of the courses that I would need to recieve a certificate of completion for Allied's MT program would be easily found on the blackboard-type syllabus that I would find after logging in with my password and username.  I then set up a payment plan with her as well (for which I made my last payment this last August) and began my work.  I completed all of the six courses that were available to me, but it was only as I read the introduction of what I thought was my final course, did I find out that it wasn't, in fact, my final course.  This took me by complete surprise as I had always been under the assumption that if I paid my tuition in full and completed all available courses, I would get the satisfaction of receiving at least something for my troubles.  Now, all I'm offered is either to pay more money for an additional class or be satisfied with incomplete transcripts.  This is most definitely a bait and switch scam, as I had no idea that they would not provide all necessary courses to me for the money that I paid them until I was almost finished.

Second, in regards to Ms. **********'s qualifications and the grading curriculum issues, they are listed in black and white from email correspondence between myself and **** ******, Program Coordinator for AHDI:

"In the Education Approval Manual for the Self Study requirements for education approval, item 3.c. all programs must submit for each course several items which include “Clearly delineated grading scale and requirement for course completion” and “methods of evaluation, grading scale, and requirements for completion”. 

 It does not address consistency in grading.  I would think they would use the BOS 3rd edition as a guide to grading any of the Healthcare Documentation Courses.  All approved programs have until January 1, 2014, to adhere to the AHDI Model Curriculum 5th edition and have only CMTs teaching the Healthcare Documentation Course."

 

Regards,

 

 

 

**** ******
Programs Coordinator
Association for Healthcare Documentation Integrity (AHDI)


This flies in the face of what Allied claims.  Ms. **********, by AHDI's own written standards, is not qualified to teach or be involved in the teaching process in any way due to her lack of current CMT certification regardless of her extracurricular activities with AHDI.

Third, I was told on multiple occasions by ********* ******, my student services adviser, to purposely add mistakes into my pristine reports in order to have them graded properly.  I have two witnesses to this as I thought it was completely absurd and decided to put her on speakerphone so someone else could hear what a school professional was advising me to do to get a passing grade.  Grossly unprofessional.

This is no longer an issue of refunds, it's an issue of legality and fairness.  I did my part.  I completed all of the courses provided to me.  I paid my tuition in full, and now I have nothing to show for it.  If this issue is not resolved in a fair and reasonable manner, my next step is to take civil action against Allied for false advertising and theft.  I will not stop until this injustice is put to rights no matter what governmental, legal or public means I have to take.

Regards,

***** ******



BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 27th day of November 2013, I contacted Allied Schools to inform them that I had received my CPhT license, I was given an email address (studentservices@alliedshools.com) and told it was the communication medium between externship department and students that are interersted in this program. Same day: I was able to inform externship department via the mentioned email that I had received my license. But I did not hear anything from the mentioned department and until six days later, when I called back. Yet, I was assigned to a coordinator named Dora *********, who explained the six-day-no-response mystery, stating that the employee that was handling the (studentservices@alliedshools.com) email was no longer working for Allied School.thus no one was checking that email. even though the mentioned email is not a personal email?Ms. *********, asked me to submit my application along with other documentations so that she can process it. Three days later I also did not hear anything from her, I decided to call in and find out why. She claimed that she did send me the email it might went to my spam. but she did send me instructions at that day. asking me to agree to terms and conditions of the program which I responded with yes immediately. and she informed that she was going to send me further instructions. She sent me another email (welcome note, explanation of what externship was and so forth) and asked me to go to my i-board account where I would find further instructions. I went to the I-board did not see any instructions. (Third strike) Which let me to compose a letter stating that she sends ,me "Bull-shit" emails. and that if she doesn't know how to do her job have someone else do it for her. A few hours later I receive an email form her boss (Ms ***** ****) who is director of the externship program at Allied Schools. attacking me in it by stating that I must write a sincere apology to Ms. ********* and predicted that I was not going to be able to communicate with others.

Desired Settlement: I would like to enter externship program. I would also like Ms. Terri Hock formally apologize to me for not acknowledging unprofessional preference by her staff and attacking me without asking me one single question about the situation. I would like to see Allied School reevaluate Ms, ********* and Ms Hock's preference.

Business Response:

Hello BBB,

Thank you for bringing this complaint to Allied’s attention.  It is true that this student was trying to enter the externship program right at the time our coordinator left the company with less than one week’s notice.  Also, the student is correct in that there was a delay in responding to him.  However, when he was contacted by an Allied staff member, the student communicated to her in a very unprofessional manner.  Also, the student continued his trend of unprofessionalism and unacceptable behavior when he was contacted by the Director of Medical, and the Director of Operations at Allied Business Schools.

The student has received a thorough explanation from the Director of Operations concerning why he was denied entry into the externship program, which will be briefly summarized for you.  First, the student was denied entry into the externship program based on his unprofessionalism and unacceptable behavior.  Second, he was denied entry into the externship program because it is an opportunity offered above and beyond the course; consequently, Allied is not required to place him in the aforementioned program.

The student was offered an opportunity to compose an apology letter to be sent to the Director of Medical in order to ask her to change her decision.  The student agreed to write the apology letter; however, the student has sent the Director of Operations several drafts that were unapologetic, and continued to place blame on Allied’s staff.  His last letter was forwarded on to the Director of Medical, and his request was denied.  Therefore, Allied considers this complaint settled, and will not consider any future requests to place this student into the externship program.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

 

 

Allied Business Schools

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear BBB staff.
 
First of all I would like to point out some facts here. On November 27 I contacted Allied Business Schools, letting them know that I was interested in participating in Externship program via an email that was provided by Students services.  after six day I did not hear anything from them so I call them back. and I was assigned to a coordinator who asked me to send her my application and other documents. I did that and waited another four days. still didn't her anything from her. so I call her back and asked her why she stated that she did send it to me but it might went to my spam (please note that I have received email from her perviously...?) . she stated she was going to send me instructions immediately, she did send me some policy documents and asked me to go to my I-board account for further instructions. I went to my I-board and DID NOT FIND ANY instructions.  After these four unprofessional and unproductive  communications from Allied Schools I composed an emails directed to the mentioned Coordinator  stating that "you sending me these boll-shit emails and that I opened my i-board account and there were no instructions in it" after I sent her this email I saw was shucked how fast The Director of the program sent me and email  strongly recommending me to send the mentioned coordinator a letter of sincere apology.  and that I was not professional and I will not be able to do my job and went on and on. And then after over twenty (documented) phone calls attempts and emails to Allied Schools I was able to speak to Director of operations. Who informed me that I he was not going to be able to solve this issue for the fact that I was unprofessional  with his employee. I asked him to  listen to my side of the story he. he suggested that I apologize to that coordinator and hopefully the director of the program may  reconsider me. I formed three or four letter of apologies to Her (the Coordinator) just because I used the statement (she sends me boll-shit emails) he kept saying put this take out that and so fort. I felt I was their prisoner and I had to do whatever they tell me to do. 
 
 

"At this point I would like to express my sincere apologies to Ms. ********* for using that language, and I should have not used it instead I should have been professional and dealt with the situation in a professional manner and explained to her in a profeciant way that I was not happy about the lengthy and an productive communication from Allied School towards myself in regard to my externship application. 

I'm fully aware that Allied Schools is extremly cautious when it comes to sending students out (on externship…etc.). Every student   goes out must be nothing less than 100% professional.

 I will do my very best to meet this guide line. and ready to do whatever it takes to meet that guide line. 

Please let me know if I needed to add, cut and/or edit any part of this letter to meet your standards.

Your help is appreciated. ""



 Even though they were unprofessional with me they accused me of being unprofessional in almost every communication took place between me and them at let twice. 
I extremely recommend that Allied Schools reconsider putting me in externship program. and reevaluating performance of its coordinators and Director of this program. 
Thank you 
**** 

Business Response:

Hello BBB,

Thank you for bringing this reply to Allied’s attention.  Allied Business Schools does consider this complaint to be settled based on the previous facts and analysis provided by the school.  In addition to the facts and analysis provided by Allied in its initial response, we would like to point out that this student has clearly violated the school’s Code of Conduct Policy (please see policy below) on several occasions.  Therefore, this student caused himself to be denied from the pharmacy technician externship program at Allied.  Nevertheless, we wish this student the best in all of his future endeavors.

Code of Conduct

As a student of Allied, you agree to abide by the following Code of Conduct during the time of your enrollment.  Not abiding to one or more of the items below may be grounds for reprimand or even dismissal…

·         You accept responsibility for your actions and your educationYou must be respectful

when communicating with Allied employees and contractors, as you would in a

traditional classroomUses of profanity, obscenities, or threats are cause for dismissal.

Sincerely,

Allied Business Schools

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
Dear BBB
I appreciate your efforts.
I regrat every moment  I spent with Allied Schools and how they treat their students. I'm deeply disappointed by the actions they choose to take in dealing with issues arise.  
Again thank you for your help BBB. I have no choice but to take this mater to the AAA. 

Regards,

**** *******



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for classes and logged on twice I called to cancel it. I figure it was cancelled because I never heard from them. I now get a copy of my credit report and calls from collection agency that it was never cancelled and they are expecting me to pay for whole class when I only participated for an hour.

Desired Settlement: Money removed from my credit report and will be willing to pay for hour that I participated

Business Response:

Hello BBB,

Thank you for bringing this to Allied’s attention.  Unfortunately, the student’s statement of the problem does not correspond to the facts.  The student never canceled her course with us; therefore, the student in question had an outstanding balance owed to Allied.  After multiple attempts to contact student to resolve the outstanding balance due and no responses from the student, her account was sent to a collection agency.  The student may call the collection agency to make sufficient payment arrangements, as her account is no longer at Allied Business Schools.  Therefore, Allied considers this complaint resolved as she is no longer a student, and her account is with another business.

Sincerely,

 

 

Allied Business Schools, Inc.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied to go to this school on 03/25/2012. While trying to use the online classes for Notary Public I noticed that I couldn't log in and the system wouldn't work properly. I called the school the next couple days. I have been getting the run around when I ask for a refund. They put me on hold several times and never come back to the phone. if I ask for a supervisor and they hang up. I have been getting the run around for over a year. Now they say that the time limit has passed. But I have been trying to get a refund since the next day I gave the funds. They will not even return calls. They have a really nasty attitude. I don't know what else to do. I have a receipt that I have paid and can email you. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I never received the class, because there online system wouldn't work. I want a full refund because they didn't keep any part of there deal. Also they are extremely rude.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this matter to Allied’s attention.  The student who brought forth this complaint (Case # *******) is requesting a full refund for several reasons.  Unfortunately, the information that was provided does not correspond to the facts.
 
First, the student claims that our system does not work properly; however, this is not the case, as the student has had access to the course since his start date, and numerous students have successfully accessed and completed the notary course.  Second, the student has not been getting the "run around" at the school.  The first time our school heard of this compliant from the student was on 12/11/2013, which is the same day he also submitted the BBB complaint.  Also, the student has been informed explicitly that he is not eligible for a refund for his notary course because his course has expired.  However, it was discovered by Allied’s accounting department, that the student charged himself twice for the notary course.  Therefore, Allied Business Schools will refund the student $38. 
 
Sincerely,
 
 
***** ******
 
Compliance Specialist
Allied Business Schools, Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service