BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vocational education.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kaplan College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kaplan College include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Kaplan College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 19, 2003 Business started: 09/01/1976 in CA Business incorporated: 05/06/1981 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833
http://www.bppve.ca.gov
Phone Number: 888-370-7589
Fax Number: 916-263-1897
bppve@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 3705071.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Graham Nott, Campus President Ms. Laura Stinson, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Graham Nott, Campus President
Customer Contact: Ms. Laura Stinson, Executive Assistant
Number of Employees

115

Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
Maric Learning Systems Inc

Additional Locations

  • 2022 University Dr

    Vista, CA 92083 (760) 630-1555 (800) 251-9769 (800) 935-1857

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 251-9769(Phone)
  • (800) 935-1857(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended Kaplan College from 2012 to 2013. I completed my externship and was then supposed to take my state test but I wasn't notified that the payment of one hundred dollars was required one month before testing so I missed the deadline. Because this happened I was told I'd have to pay another two hundred and twenty five dollars and then they would send a letter in the mail stating where and when I would take my test so I paid that amount but never received a letter. Since then I've gone into the school several times to speak with the program director about the issue and he gave me a phone number to call and said to be patient. I've called the number dozens of times and never once got an answer. I'm continually paying a hundred dollars a month and am eighteen thousand dollars in debt to a profession I have nothing to do with, I cannot afford this anymore and I now have no interest in proceeding with this school.

Desired Settlement: I need to have my debt differed.

Business Response: Dear Sir or Madam: 

This response is regarding a complaint filed by Mr. ***** **** ****** for Kaplan College - Vista, CA.  

On September 8 2014, Kaplan College Campus President ***** ******* spoke with Mr. ****** regarding his complaint.  Mr. ****** explained that he had not heard back from the State regarding his test date and was therefore unable to take the test. At this time Ms. ******* provided him with two email addresses for contacts at the State so that he could follow up with the X-Ray board regarding his application.

X-Ray Program Director Patrick *** followed up with Mr. ****** on September 17, 2014 to ensure that he had heard back from the State.  Mr. ****** confirmed that he received new application papers in the mail that he would be completing and submitting shortly.  Mr. *** confirmed that Kaplan College would pay for the $100 testing fee per its policy for all first-time test taking graduates.  Additionally, Mr. *** encouraged Mr. ****** to attend the refresher courses at the College offered to all graduates before taking the test, and Mr. ****** agreed that he would attend.

At this point the matter is resolved and we request that the BBB close the matter.


Thank you, 


***** *******

Campus President

Kaplan College-Vista

l*******@kaplan.edu

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Admissions counselor ***** said I would make $18-$25 an hour as an x-ray tech. I have not found this true. My internship was suppose to only be a few months, but turned into over a year long internship. I felt lied too about how much I would make as an x-ray tech. I had to wait a very long to time to complete to my internship. The sent people to intern sites not approved by state of California. Hundreds of students has to wait for an internship while the state of california shut down the x-ray technician program back in about 2009.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund or partial refund from Kaplan College. I never found a job as an x-ray technician. The career department never found me a job. I would also like future prospective students to know what entry level x-ray technicians make. The school made it sound I would be a radiologist. Radiologists make $80,000 a year. X-ray techs make around $15 an hour. That is a huge difference!

Business Response:

April 17, 2012 

********* ******

Better Business Bureau 

Re: Case # ******* *******  ****** 

Dear Ms. ******:


This correspondence responds to your letter dated April 10, 2012 regarding the complaint submitted by one of our graduates, ******* ******. We take seriously any indication that our students may be dissatisfied with their experience at Kaplan College, Vista campus (“the College”), and we appreciate the opportunity to address this matter.
 

In Mr. ******’s complaint he asserts admission representative, “*****” told him he would make $18-$25 per hour as an X-Ray Technician.  Mr. ******’s assertions are inaccurate. Kaplan College cannot guarantee placement or wages for any of our students.  

Mr. ****** enrolled in the X-Ray Technician/Back Office Medical Assistant Diploma program on June 18, 2008 and graduated on March 10, 2010. As part of the enrollment process, he signed a document entitled Kaplan College Enrollment Agreement dated March 7, 2008 where he confirmed his understanding of the following clause, on page 4 of the agreement: 

ADDITIONAL CONDITIONS: The College offers job placement assistance for all students upon graduation at no additional charge; however, no guarantee of job placement, level of anticipated income, or wage rate is made or implied.  

After Mr. ****** graduated, the College attempted to offer him career services. The College has numerous documented attempts (over 11) to assist him and offer placement assistance. These attempts were unsuccessful and Mr. ****** was uncooperative with regards to this outreach.  Kaplan College cannot assist Graduates to secure career placement without their participation and cooperation. The Kaplan College Catalog, which Mr. ****** received upon enrollment, states on within the Career Services section of the catalog:  

The Institution offers career services to all eligible graduates. The Institution’s Career Services Department will assist students in their job search. Career services include assistance with resume writing, interviewing, identifying job openings, and other job search activities. It should be understood that career services offered by the School are not an obligation or a guarantee of employment. Although average wage information based on data received from employers and graduates may be available to prospective students, no employee of the Institution can guarantee that a graduate will earn any specific amount. Each student's program of study, academic performance, employer needs and location, current economic conditions, and other factors may affect wage levels and career prospects. Continuous career services are available to all eligible graduates

 

It is also important to note Career Service Representative, ******* ******* has spoken with Mr. ****** multiple times and he refused several job opportunities as the compensation was not satisfactory to his standards.  Furthermore, Mr. ****** is a difficult candidate assist as he has only passed one of three perspective licensures which greatly limits his opportunities.  Also, according to our records, Mr. ****** has not returned to the College to take advantage of review classes that are offered or tutoring opportunities to remediate skills to achieve additional licensures. This would greatly improve Mr. ******’s resume and credentials needed for employment. 

While we are sympathetic with Mr. ******’s frustrations regarding his current X-Ray Technician related unemployment status, nonetheless, we remain committed to assist Mr. ****** with career services assistance should he elect to take advantage of the services afforded to him as a graduate of Kaplan College. Kaplan College has followed all policies in accordance with the College’s catalog and as such we respectfully decline Mr. ******’s request for refund. 

We hope that this response is helpful.  Please notify me directly at (760) 305-0270 should you require additional information.
Sincerely, 
 

***** *******

Director of Operations

Kaplan College, Vista campus

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started school in May 2011, the only reason i signed with Kaplan is that my counselor ***** ***** told me I will have my Pharmacy License by graduation. I recently graduated in Feb 2012 and I have no license the reason I don't have my license is that the school lost or forgot to send our paperwork that we turned into the school on Sept. Th 2011 with *** the pharmacy extern coordinator. They will not give me a straight answer on how they will fix the situation or make me happy as a consumer. All I want is my moneys worth which is to receive my license or I want compensation because the loan companies already want their money and I cant provide money if I don't have a license. I might even lose my job at the pharmacy too. so nothing but trouble with this school.

Desired Settlement: I either want a refund or my license asap or compensated with my tuition owed.

Business Response:

March 13, 2012

 

********* ******
Better Business Bureau
5050 Murphy Canyon, Ste. 110
San Diego, CA 92123

Re: ***** ******* ****, ID#: ******* 

Dear Ms. ******:

 

This correspondence responds to the complaint filed by Pharmacy Technician Graduate, ***** **** dated March 2, 2012. Kaplan College takes seriously any indication of student dissatisfaction and appreciates the opportunity to bring clarification to this matter.

 

Unfortunately there was a delay in processing Mr.***** application for licensure due to unforeseen turnover within campus administration. Upon discovery of the oversight, Mr. ***** application was expedited and submitted in a timely manner. Additionally, Kaplan College absorbed all fees associated with the application process usually the responsibility of the student.

Kaplan College was able to rectify the issue in time to prevent a negative impact on our Graduates and many of Mr. ****’ peers have already received their Pharmacy Technician licenses. However, it is our understanding there is an undue delay with Mr. ***** licensure with the California State Board of Pharmacy. This delay must be rectified by Mr. **** directly with the State Board. It is for this reason, we must respectfully decline Mr. ****’ refund request.

Upon graduation, Mr. **** was hired by his Pharmacy Technician Diploma program externship site, *** Pharmacy. Kaplan College is certainly sympathetic to Mr. ****’ situation and if it would be helpful, we are willing to reach out to his employer to further verify Mr. ****’ is in the process of completing his application process for licensure with the State Board of Pharmacy.

Please feel free to contact me directly at ************* or via email at ****************** should you require additional information.

Sincere Regards, 

****** ****
Campus President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved