BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers proprietary, vocational education.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kaplan College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kaplan College include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kaplan College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1976 Business started: 09/01/1976 in CA Business incorporated: 05/06/1981 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833
http://www.bppve.ca.gov
Phone Number: 888-370-7589
Fax Number: 916-263-1897
bppve@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 3703221.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Prehn, President & Campus Director Mr. Mitch Sudy, Vice President of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Prehn, President & Campus Director
Number of Employees

166

Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
Maric Learning Systems

Additional Locations

  • 9055 Balboa Ave

    San Diego, CA 92123 (858) 279-4500 (800) 935-1857

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 935-1857(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kaplan college is using money from Veteran GI Bill leaving the Veteran in debt. Kaplan will certify our classes to the VA. The VA will pay the full cost of the class to Kaplan. Then Kaplan will go back and change the certification of the Veteran. This causes an education over payment to be paid by the veteran back to the VA, and Kaplan gets to keep the extra money that should have been paid to the veteran for their GI Bill. It a perfect bait and switch scam that is targeting a large group of veterans at Kaplan College. When we approached Kaplan they will not deal with us to correct the situation.

Desired Settlement: That Kaplan stop stealing US Veteran GI Bill money and refund debts they have caused the Veteran to occur while taking our money.

Business Response:

May 27, 2014

***** *****

The Better Business Bureau

** East 33rd Street - 12th Floor

New York, NY 10016

Re: Case #********* ***** ****

Dear *** ******

Kaplan College would like to thank the Better Business Bureau for contacting us regarding the inquiry submitted by one of our current students, ***** ****. We take seriously any indication that our students may be dissatisfied with their experience at Kaplan College San Diego, and we appreciate the opportunity to address this matter.

Upon receipt of this complaint, Kaplan College San Diego has been in direct contact with *** **** to discuss his concerns. He is aware of the documentation that he needs to provide the campus to resolve the matter. We are confident that his concerns will be resolved to his satisfaction.  

We hope that this response is helpful.  Please notify me should you require additional information.

Sincerely,

***** *********

Executive Director

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had registered at Kaplan College to further my education as a Medical Assistant and then to attain an R.N. License. I was enrolled in the MA program and was given my school uniform, ID, and a start date. I clearly stated that I was homeless and unemployed and Kaplan staff stated they have other students in the same situation and " That were her to help." My ambition and motivation to finish school has never been so high in my life! I'm a ** **** old hungry for a better future that was turned away from furthering my education due to a financial situation. They allowed and encouraged me to begin the MA program. 1 month into the program, after completing the 1st module with an "A", I was called into the financial aid office. I was told they had reviewed my income taxes and am now ineligible to recieve a federal pell grant that would cost me 90.00 per month as my portion of the loans to attend school. My monthly charges had been raised to 700.00 per month which shattered my hopes of continuing the program. I had finished my final exam, was super happy to complete the first module with flying colors, then to be notified that I have to pay 700 dollars to continue attending. I feel l was lured into a school, put me in uniform, wasted my gas, time, and effort only to be denied an education where clearly nobody in the entire school pays even close to that much! I appreciate your time for reveiwing my complaint and hope you can HELP me! ***** ******* *******

Desired Settlement: First and foremost this type of practice is stopped and that I don't get charged for an investment, I thought, that happened to be a waste of time and unneeded stress in my life!

Business Response:

February 29, 2012

********* ******

Better Business Bureau of San Diego

5050 Murphy Canyon, Ste. 110

San Diego, CA 92123

Re: ***** ******* ******* **** **** *******

Dear *** ******:

This correspondence responds to your notification of complaint by former student ***** *******. Kaplan College takes seriously any indication of student dissatisfaction and appreciates the opportunity to address and clarify this matter.

*** ******* asserts he was “turned away” from furthering his education and the financial aid department “raised” his payments. According to our records, *** ******* has attended two Kaplan College locations; one located in San Diego and more recently, Chula Vista. He is not financially responsible in any way for either enrollment therefore we are unclear what remedy *** ******* is seeking.

As *** ******* speaks to his enrollment in the Medical Assistant Diploma program, we will assume for the purposes of this complaint response he is referring to his enrollment at Kaplan College, Chula Vista campus. *** ******* enrolled into and began the Medical Assistant Diploma program on January 17, 2012 with his last date of attendance occurring on February 13, 2012. It is the student’s responsibility to complete the process for Financial Aid to determine eligibility for coverage of tuition and expenses prior to their second module. *** ******* did not complete this process in a timely manner; he determined his financial options based on eligibility were not feasible toward the end of his first module.

Due to incidence occurring at the College on February 13, 2012, *** ******* violated the student Conduct Policy at the campus and was asked to leave the College. Security reported to the scene and notified Kaplan College and *** ******* he was banned from the property due to a pre-existing restraining order.  The property manager had previously filed a restraining order against *** ******* as he was a former employee of a business within the same business park of which Kaplan is a tenant. As a result, *** ******* is not welcome on the premises for incidence unrelated to Kaplan College.

I reiterate, despite *** ********* perception within his complaint, he is not financially responsible for his enrollments at Kaplan College San Diego or Chula Vista campuses. I hope this explanation brings clarification to your inquiry. We respectfully consider this matter closed.

Please contact me directly at ************* or via email at ****************** should you require additional information.

Regards,

******** ******

Executive Director

Kaplan College, Chula Vista Campus

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1