BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Concorde Career College Inc

Phone: (619) 688-0800 View Additional Phone Numbers 4393 Imperial Ave #100, San Diego, CA 92113 http://www.concorde.edu

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vocatational training in the health fields.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Concorde Career College Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Concorde Career College Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Concorde Career College Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1989 Business started: 01/12/1987 in MO Business incorporated: 01/12/1987 in MO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833
http://www.bppve.ca.gov
Phone Number: 888-370-7589
Fax Number: 916-263-1897
bppve@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 3700721.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Couling, Campus President Mr. Timothy Foster, Chairman & CEO Ms. Yvonne Marsh, Vice President - Secretary Ms. Floreda Mary, Director of Student Affairs
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Couling, Campus President
Principal: Mr. Timothy Foster, Chairman & CEO
Principal: Ms. Yvonne Marsh, Vice President - Secretary
Customer Contact: Ms. Floreda Mary, Director of Student Affairs
Number of Employees

65

Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
Concorde Career Institute Inc

Additional Locations

  • 4393 Imperial Ave #100

    San Diego, CA 92113 (619) 688-0800 (800) 693-7010

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 693-7010(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I registered for a class that would qualify me for a career in insurance billing and coding. I was charged 13,000.00 for a 9 month course. I applied for a loan which the schoo lappropriated and I received no accounting as to where the funds were allocated. After completing my course, I am working as a porter for a condominium because the placement service at the school failed to help me secure employment in my field.

Desired Settlement: I wish to be refunded for the tuition charged by the school since the course I completed was useless in my search for employment.

Business Response: June 25, 2014

Better Business Bureau

Re: Complaint # ********

To Ms. *****,

Thank you for your recent communication regarding Ms. ********* *********. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Ms. ********* graduated from the Insurance Coding and Billing program in June 2008.

Our graduate services policies and practices are communicated with our students upon enrollment and stated in our college catalog. An excerpt from our 2008 catalog is provided below:

GRADUATE SERVICES
Concorde Career College does not guarantee employment for its graduates. The graduate services staff will assist students in their job searches after they have successfully completed their studies, by offering information on job opportunities and temporary assignments and guidance in resume preparation and interviewing techniques. The school will make a reasonable effort to satisfy the wishes of a graduate as to location and type of employment.

Because graduates who are actively interviewing for jobs are often unavailable by telephone, the graduate is asked to call the Graduate Services Department twice a week while actively seeking employment. This informs the school of a graduate's employment status and allows the school to keep the graduate current with job listings on a regular basis.

Students will improve employment opportunities by continued communication with the Graduate Services Department. Graduates of Concorde Career College are eligible to utilize the Graduate Services Department any time after they successfully complete the program. This is applicable at any Concorde Career College, provided the school is still owned by Concorde Career Colleges, Inc. Graduates must observe all rules and regulations of the school as they relate to placement.

Our records indicate several dates on which attempts were made to help the graduate secure employment. The first attempt following graduation was on June 10, 2008 where we left a message for her to call us back for assistance and proceeded from there.

Between June 10, 2008 and June 10, 2010,22 attempts were made to communicate with graduate and work with graduate toward employment. In 12 of the 22 attempts we were only able to leave messages. Three efforts were made to reach the graduate through her family and references. Three emails and/or postcards were sent in an effort to communicate and work with the graduate. When we were able to contact the graduate, several resumes were sent out on her behalf and several job leads were provided. On July 15, 2008, the graduate notified us that she wanted something within walking distance of her home.

From January to June 2010, all efforts to communicate or remain in contact with graduate were unsuccessful. We had not heard from the graduate until we received this complaint.

It is our policy to offer employment assistance to Concorde Alumni and we would look forward for an opportunity to reconnect with this graduate and assist in her in her efforts to secure a position in the rewarding field of healthcare. Upon receipt of this complaint, we attempted to contact this graduate and left two voice mails. We have not received a call back to this date, but we look forward to hearing from Ms. *********.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at 619**********

Sincerely,

**** *******
Campus President/Vice President of Operations- West Region
Concorde Career College- San Diego, CA
4393

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I would like to respond to several of the statements made in the letter received from **** ******* of Concorde Career College. To Begin:

1.       I am aware that Concorde does not promise guaranteed employment however it does emphasize that they have a successful placement service available to graduates of its various programs. In my experience  this was not the case. On one occasion, I was sent on a job interview that I was not qualified for. The employer was looking for someone with a totally different set of job qualifications. He wondered why I was even sent on the interview for the position. This experience was repeated on several occasions.bbb.org

2.       On two occasions when I attempted to use the placement services there was no-one there to assist me.

 3.       My resume lacks polish and punch and there was no-one available or qualified to help me make it more attractive to potential employers.

4.       I am also concerned over the loan that Concorde “helped” me obtain at a rate of 8.5% interest. This is an exorbitant rate for a student loan and I wonder why there were not more reasonable alternatives offered.

In conclusion, the experience has left me with a bitter taste of failure. I am of Hispanic descent and I wanted to make a better life for myself than janitorial, or fast food employment. I believed this career path would lead to a professional position and an opportunity to improve my life. All that is left me is a large debt that is borne not only by me but also my family.

********* *********

Business Response: August 15, 2014
Better Business Bureau
Re: Complaint# 10102909

To Ms. *****,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this graduates additional statement.

Although our historical data does not reflect the experience the graduate describes, as we stated in our original response "It is our policy to offer employment assistance to Concorde graduates and we would look forward to an opportunity to reconnect .with this graduate and assist her in her efforts to secure a position in the rewarding field of healthcare.

All incoming students meet with a Financial Aid specialist for an entrance interview (materials provided and required by the US Dept. of Education) that concludes with a test, reviewing the repayment process, amounts, and interest rates so that the student fully understands their financial obligations related to their education. Additionally, the interest rate is set forth by the government, not by the school. Students do not embark on an education with Concorde unless they choose to agree to the financial terms of their chosen program. At the conclusion of a student's experience at Concorde, an exit interview is conducted as well to review the same information as initially provided. In this case the student had her entrance interview on August 27th, 2007 and her exit interview on April l0th, 2008. In both instances the student signed a document stating that she understood and agreed to the financial terms of her education and accepted the terms of the loan and her obligation to repay.

If the graduate would like assistance with her resume or other career related assistance, please have her call the campus Graduate Employment Department. According to our records, we have had some difficulty reaching Ms. *********.

Thank you again for the opportunity to respond.

If you have additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at 619-********.

Sincerely,

*** ********
Interim Campus President
Concorde Career College- San Diego, CA

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a veteran student utilizing the post 9/11 GI bill. The VA paid the tuition for my entire third term, but I failed after a few weeks. I am obligated to pay the tuition back for the time that I did not attend school. Concorde was supposed to refund me the remainder of the tuition (which is $4113.21) so that i can pay the VA. That was December 2012. It is now roughly 3 months later and I have yet to get the money back. I spoke with the Veterans student representative when I failed in December, and she told me in her office that once they figured out how much tuition I owed for the time I attended, I would receive the refund. She told me it would be about 30 days. I received a letter from the debt management department at the VA stating that my debt was going to go to collections. I have called and left voicemails and still no response.

Desired Settlement: I would just really like the money I owe the VA back, and to not be ignored.

Business Response:

March 28, 20 I3
**** *****
BBB of San Diego
4747 Viewridge Ave. Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92I23
Dear Ms. *****,
This letter is in response to the complaint ID: *******, regarding ***** **********.
As a healthcare education college that prides itself on student outcomes, student centered support, and
customer service, we are disappointed when one of our students feels we have given an inadequate level
of service.
In the case of our Financial Aid Department not refunding $4, I13 .21 to Ms. **********, after careful
review and per our Cancellation and Refund Policy under Pro Rata Refund Calculation," If a student
withdraws after the 75% point of the period of enrollment for which they have been charged; the student
shall be obligated for the tuition charged for the entire period of enrollment and not entitled to any
refund."
The US Department of Veterans Affairs paid Concorde Career College for the entire year. Concorde
Career College is entitled to retain the full amount paid on behalf of the student (per the US Department
of Veterans Affairs policy). The balance owed to the student is $86.73, and will be available for pick up
on April I 20 I3. I have personally contacted Ms. **********, informing her that the refund check will be
available on April I 2013.
Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at ****@concorde.edu or at
***************

Sincerely,

****** ** ***
Director of Operations
Concorde Career College- San Diego, CA

Cc: **** *******- Campus President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable