BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

VetDepot.com

Phone: (866) 456-0400 Fax: (866) 488-7820 View Additional Phone Numbers 543 Encinitas Blvd #107, Encinitas, CA 92024 http://www.vetdepot.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers brand name pet medicines, pet food, pet medications and pet supplies for dogs, cats, horses and fish.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that VetDepot.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for VetDepot.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on VetDepot.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 09, 2001 Business started: 12/12/1991 in CA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John McLean, CEO Mr. Craig Gilmore, Former CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John McLean, CEO
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Internet Shopping Pet Supplies & Foods - Wholesale

Products & Services

VetDepot.com sells the following brand(s): Advantage II, Cosequin, Cosequin, Dausuquin, Denamarin, Fortiflora, Frontline Plus, Glyco-Flex, Greenies, Heartgard, Interceptor, K9 Advantix II

Service Area
Serving Nationwide
Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • 543 Encinitas Blvd #107

    Encinitas, CA 92024 (866) 456-0400 (858) 357-8200

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (858) 357-8200(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an older dog who has health issues and needs to take medication. On April 19th, I made an order through the www.vetdepot.com website, which was immediately confirmed. On the 22nd, I received an email confirming shipping with the following tracking number: nine 400 one one 02 zero *************. On the 25th, I checked online to see when the medication would arrive. The www.usps.com showed that the electronic shipping info had been received, but nothing had been given to the post office for delivery. I responded to Vet Depot's shipping confirmation email with the following email: "It does not look like this has been shipped yet..... ??????" On the same day, Vet Depot responded with: "Hi ****, Thank you for your message. We have experienced slight shipping delays with orders due to a current pharmacy transition. Your order was processed and was shipped, however we are currently unable to view the new tracking information. As soon as it is updated in our system we would be happy to let you know. Thank you!" It is now the 29th. This morning, as I have not received the meds, not heard back from Vet Depot, and saw that the USPS still has not received any items to deliver, I tried to call customer service. No one would pick up the phone, so I sent Vet Depot the following email: "I still have not received my pet's medication, and USPS is showing that it has not yet been shipped. I called you Customer Service phone number this morning during business hours and no one would pick up the line. What is happening with this order? My pet needs her medication. I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau if I do not receive a satisfactory resolve for this issue very soon. Again, my pet needs her medication. Her health is at stake." Vet Depot responded with : "Hello, Thank you for your message. We are truly sorry for this delay and inconvenience. We are in the process of contacting our new pharmacy for a status update. Because of this change, many orders have been delayed a lot longer than expected. We sincerely apologize again, and we will get back to you as soon as we have more information. Thank you!" It is now the evening, and I have not yet heard back anything from Vet Depot. I feel like they are brushing me off. I am very concerned about my dog. She needs her medication.

Desired Settlement: I want my dog's medication immediately. I don't want her to get die because of a lack of medication.

Business Response: We recently changed pharmacies as well as underwent a major system upgrade.  Unfortunately there were a small number of orders that encountered one or more issues that slowed processing and delivery. This process is now complete and orders are processing normally. We have attempted to contact the customer several times with no response.  We are giving the customer a full refund on this order as well as an attractive offer on her next order. Thank you very much.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaints:1. Over charging for California Sales Tax--charging 9.05%. I live in San Diego County where tax is 7.75%. 2. Product is charged (credit card billed) when ordered and not shipped. Product shipped +2 weeks (11 working days from order date) after ordering product. 3. Poor customer service (*********) when I complained and she continued to argue with me.

Desired Settlement: Refund all customers in California over charged sales tax.Apology from senior management for rude customer service rep (*********).Charge/bill product when product is shipped to customer.

Business Response: When the customer contacted us he was upset because he believed he was overcharged for sales tax and he apologized that he had delayed the order by not mailing the required prescription earlier. Our customer service personnel were professional and attempted to help throughout the conversation. Our response to the customer's complaints: The customer was charged a flat shipping rate on his order. California law requires that sales tax be applied to shipping charges unless the actual shipping charge is applied. The current tax rate of 7.75% was correctly applied to the product and flat rate shipping charge in the customer's order. Our system charges for orders as they are placed, we provide full refunds immediately for any orders that are cancelled, etc.  The customer placed his order on a holiday and we contacted his veterinarian the next business day. We informed the customer as soon as their veterinarian responded to us that he would have to mail us the required prescription. The customer did not mail the prescription until 9 days after he placed his order. We shipped his order as soon as we received the prescription and he received it two days later. We regret the customer was not fully satisfied with his experience and attempted to contact him prior to responding.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/9/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 01-17-12 I ordered medicine for my cat online from vetdepot. The order was to be delivered the next day because it needed to be refrigerated. When I did not receive the order I called and inquired as to why,I was told it had been shipped to the wrong address (in Mississippi) and would be delivered on 01-20-12 or 01-21-12. On 01-23-12 I still did not receive the medicine I had ordered and I called and canceled the order. I was told my money would be refunded. I am still waiting for the refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund.

Business Response: The shipping carrier made an error in delivering the order to the customer and the shipment was lost. There was then a miscommunication with the customer regarding the return of the order. This has been resolved with the customer to her satisfaction.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased and paid for our medicine on November 18th. We were sent emails verifying our order and receipt of perscription which was emailed. We assumed our order would arrive within a week, since it is stated online orders take 3-5 days to arrive. There was no mention that there is a substantial amount of time to process. After calling to check on our order and leaving a message, we were told our order shipped that day, November 28th, 10 days AFTER placing the order. We ordered our medicine in time to ensure our dog would not run out, knowing how long it takes to ship the order. When speaking to customer service, she simply said because of the weekends, that is what caused the delay. Two weekends passed before our order was shipped--unacceptable. When I asked to speak with a supervisor because I was not satisfied with that answer, I was put on hold, then the same woman returned to tell me what her supervisor had said. I was not able to personally speak with someone like I asked. I am not happy with how this order was treated nor the customer service I recieved. Therefore, I am writing this in hopes to recieve an explanation.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know if there is a reason why my order took so long to process, and why no email was sent stating that the order was processing and would be shipped on a certain day specifically. Any online business will make a point to provide a quick and informative communication as to the whereabouts of a person's order. If there was an issue with the pharmacy, we should have been informed, but 6-7 weekdays to ship an order is obsurd. I want a verbal explanation via telephone.

Business Response: Ms. **** placed her order after business hours, for our warehouse, on the Friday before Thanksgiving week.  As a result, there were two weekends and two holiday days during the period when Ms. ****'s order was being processed; this totals to seven days, including the day of her order. Although the product Ms. **** ordered is typically readily in stock at our facilities, at the time her order was placed it was delayed from a distributor for approximately two and a half days. As part of our standard follow-through, Ms. **** would have been called, typically within one day, to be informed about the delay. In terms of what we had control over, her order actually shipped 2-3 days after what would have been possible if the product had been on our shelves as it normally is. We called Ms. **** and discussed the circumstances and apologized. We have discussed Ms. ****'s feedback with the individuals involved and have taken measures to reduce the likelihood of this occurring again.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1