BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Pet Mountain

Phone: (888) 373-8686 8400 Miramar Rd #290, San Diego, CA 92126 http://www.petmountain.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers pet supplies for sale online.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pet Mountain meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pet Mountain include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Pet Mountain
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 16, 2008 Business started: 02/13/2004 in CA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Gavin Mandelbaum, Owner Mr. Bill West, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gavin Mandelbaum, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill West, Manager
Related Businesses
TorreyCommerce Inc
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail

Products & Services

Pet Mountain sells the following brand(s): Over 400 trusted pet brands.

Pet Mountain offers the following product(s): Aquarium Supplies, Bird Supplies, Cat Supplies, Dog Supplies, Pet Supplies, Pond Supplies, Reptile Supplies, Small Pet Supplies, Wild Bird Supplies

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Master Card, Discover, American Express, PayPal, Amazon Checkout
Refund and Exchange Policy
60- Day Money Back Guarantee. Please rad our returns policy - https://www.petmountain.com/returns
Industry Tips
Savvy Consumer

Additional Locations

  • 8400 Miramar Rd #290

    San Diego, CA 92126 (888) 373-8686

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a filtration assembly from Pet Mountain on February 24, 2013. I ordered the pump with the same product number as my old pump. The new pump was not the same as my old pump (the numbers were the same). I called about this and the lady I talked to told me to throw it away as it was probably not a good pump. After talking for a while she finally understood that this pump (even with the same product number as my old one) was not the same as my old one, so I ended up buying an impeller. I ordered the impellar on March 7. I received the impellar and put it in the aquarium and it would not pump the water up to work properly. I called them back, and now I need impellar housing. At this point I wanted to just get my money back, but that was not an option!!I asked the young man if I bought the housing and it didn't work what else would I have to buy to make this work!!!

Desired Settlement: I ordered a replacement pump, received a pump with the same number as my old pump, but the new pump was not the same as my old pump. They want to sell me more parts, but no one told me up front that the pump had changed and my old parts would not work on a new pump with the same product number.

Business Response: #*******: After reviewing the notes on order #******* – we spoke with ****** on 3/5/13 at 4:00pm PST and was able to determine through technical support that the customer did not order all the parts required for the motor to run. To remedy the situation we waived the shipping on the impeller that was required for the motor to operate correctly and placed a new order #******* on 3/6/13 at 10:36am.

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe

12/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered from them they choose to send 4 different packages I got 3 packages and called Fed Ex to ship the other one back to the company. Called the company sent them emails no response to the emails. I asked them to call fed ex to confirm the package is being shipped back to them so they could refund me for that item they refused to do so. One of the products was defective/damaged they said they would refund me for that but not for the package I'm having Fed Ex send back to them Cause It will not Arrive on the Guarantee delivery date. I've dealt with other companies (Better Companies) that have refunded me my money back before they received the items back. They (Pet Mountain) know they are getting the item back. Because Fed Ex is shipping them back but they refuse to refund me for a product I didn't receive. But are willing to refund me for the damaged one. It makes no sense to me when they know they will be getting the product back because Fed ex is shipping it back why they can't refund me for that item. I sent them pictures of what I received and the only thing I haven't not received is whats being sent back to them. Why should I have to wait for a refund? I had fed ex send it back cause it was not going to be here in the Guaranteed delivery time. It was also supposed to be ship to me in my name but they shipped it to the name on the billing information which is ******* ********. They screw up and refuse to make it right by refunding me the way it was payed. It is still in Bloomington, CA and has to be here by the 20th and it took 4 days to get here from the same place and it still hasn't left Bloomington, CA yet. So it more then likely won't be here the 20th. I see know why you rate them an F but you should add a - after the F. Also when i called the first time the customer rep. started to raise his voice at me. the company has all around bad business skills. I hope they all shut down. Also they packed catnip with cleaning products. Do Not Buy If already have Call Them Quick And Cancel. And when you call them they don't say there name at least not when I did


Yeah said they would refund me for the book and I didn't need to send it back and now they're saying they want it back. sent an email to the billing address email and not the shipping address i gave them. they are refusing now to refund me for the damaged book now until the receive it. I'm sick of the run around they are doing and the lying being told to me. I'd like a full refund of the entire order after all this. getting a customer rep raising his voice at me and laughing at me is not good business 

Desired Settlement: To Be Refunded the same way it was payed. But with all this hassle and run around by the company. If i could keep the products and be refunded for it all that would be awesome. But a refund for the 2 products is all I'm asking for.

Business Response: Thank you for contacting us regarding order #****** placed on 12/11/13. After reviewing your order it appears you selected the Free Saver Shipping - (5-8 Business Days). Your order shipped on-time the same day on 12/11/13 - FedEx Tracking #: ************. After tracking your package at www.FedEx.com it shows 3 of the 4 packages arrived early on the 3rd business day on 12/16/13 and the 4th package was scheduled to be delivered early on the 4th business day 12/17/13. Customer refused delivery on the 4th package. When the 4th package is received by our returns department for inspection we will process your package as a return upon receipt and issue a refund for the returned items. The name on the shipping address provided by PayPal is ******* ********. This name resides in the PayPal account used when placing this order. If you need to update your shipping name, address, email or phone number on your PayPal account then we recommend logging into your PayPal account and updating your records. A pre-paid FedEx shipping label for the book you wish to return has been emailed to the email provided on the order - ******************* from ********************. Return tracking #: *************** - we will process your return and issue a refund for the item/s you wish to return free of charge. Your satisfaction is extremely important to us. Thank you for shopping with us, we appreciate your business!

Thank you,

Customer Service

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They are scheduled to be delivered back tonight and if you lie and say that the products I sent back are damaged or what not and refuse to give me a full refund I will contact a lawyer. I took  pictures of them and they are the same products you sent in the same shape too. You've lied to me in the past already and according to the BBB your stores are shutting down left and right. So now I clearly see why. Rude customer reps and plus they lie so if when you get the packages and for any lie you come up with not to give me a full refund you will and up in court. And the name on the paypal account is right but I said ship it to me your company can't even do that right. Yes someone other then myself has the paypal account but I paid them. They were just a third party in this.  Here is some pictures of the book you sent peeling cover and please do read the warning label on both bottles and tell me if your company made the right choice not to inform me of this before you shipped it. Because a good business would've done that for their customer. What did you think was going to happen shipping this product to Minnesota Fed Ex ground at this time of year. Yes you offered free shipping and I took it. But you didn't have that warning on the product description. You're lucky I read it because if I used that product on my reptile tanks my animals could have died. I even called you and your customer rep ensured me you were a good business. And said the rating by the BBB means nothing cause you have to pay them for a good rating. No their rating is correct but I'd give you an F- not just an F 

Regards,

***** ********



Business Response: Thank you for bringing this to our attention! Customer service is very important to us and want to make sure you are completely taken care of when shopping at PetMountain. After reviewing your order it appears that your shipment FedEx Tracking #: ************ arrived earlier than the Free Saver Shipping - (5-8 Business Days) that you selected. We did do a complimentary upgrade free of charge to FedEx Ground so your packages would arrive early for the Holidays. We apologize for the condition your Tortoise Book and as explained over the phone we will pay for the return of the book at no cost to you. Sometimes products do get damaged during transit and all of our customers are 100% protected against loss or damage through our FedEx package insurance policy. For your convenience we have emailed you a pre-paid FedEx return shipping label - FedEx Tracking #: *************** the same day you brought this to our attention on 12/16/13. We are awaiting the return of the items you wish to return for a full refund. If you have any questions or need any further assistance feel free to contact us at 1-888-373-8686 and reference order #*******. Thank you for contacting us we appreciate your business!|

Thank you,

Customer Service
www.PetMountain.com
 
 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a dog life vest on June 27. When I recieved the vest it was too small. So, I ordered and paid for another one (larger). I obtained a return ship label from pet mountain and shipped origanal vest back on July 5th. Today is July 30th, and no refund. Although, I have been promised the refund, it is not forthcoming. I actually recieved a phone call from pet mountain, stating they were giving me a refund immediately. THAT WAS OVER A WEEK AGO. I have sent an e-mail every day asking for my refund.

Desired Settlement: refund my money as promised.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this to our attention! We recently received a large amount of returns and have completed your return. A full refund in the amount of -$20.99 has been processed on 7/30/13 at 1:35pm PST and an email confirmation detailing the full refund was sent to the customer at tnb587@yahoo.com. Please let us know if we can further assist you! Feel free to reach us toll-free at 1-888-373-8686.


Thank you for shopping with us, we appreciate your business!

Thank you,
Customer Service
www.PetMountain.com

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Finally, August 2nd, they gave my refund.  Thank you San Diego BBB !!!   PET MOUNTAIN is a horrible company to deal with, and I never will again.

Regards,

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 6 pkgs of Pur Luv Fish Jerky and they were dated 4/2013. When I called Pur Luv, I gave them the code on the back and they said they were from 2009.How can a company sell expired fish products? My dog could have gotten very sick. She loved them and she got one everyday. I returned the first batch to them because of the expired date and they told me they would send me a fresh batch with a new date. I got a box with the same expired date. So, I got two shipments of expired Fish Jerky.I told them I want a refund. I feel they should be investigated if they sell expired goods.Thank you,****** ********

Desired Settlement: I would like back all the money I paid for this product. I also think they should compensate me with another item at no cost.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention! Your satisfaction and the safety of your pets is very important to us. We immediately removed these items from the website after we spoke with the customer and sent the expired items back to the manufacturer for a fresh batch.

Pur Luv Fish Jerkey - http://www.petmountain.com/product/meaty-dog-treats/11442-573854/pur-luv-fish-jerky.html?xx

We have scheduled a FedEx pick up free of charge and will issue a full refund upon reciept. FedEx Pick Up Tag - ***************

If you have any further questions please contact us at 1-888-373-8686 and we will be happy to help in any way we can!

Thank you,
Customer Service
www.PetMountain.com 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order #******* Placed on: Sat Jun 22 17:43:09 PDT 2013Petmountain.com enticed me to go shopping at their store by giving me a coupon for free shipping on my 1st order over $49. I have a screen shot of it saved, if you really need it. You can also see the coupon pop up at...http://www.petmountain.com/As you can see, the coupon makes me think that I will get free shipping on my first order over $49, not much else to it... This is the reason I spent around an hour a day, for about a week, getting to know most of the products on their site, and tallying up what it is that I needed to buy, whilst saving up the money for the purchase. I vested quite a lot of time and energy into getting to know the website and organizing my purchase (shopping under false pretenses), something I would not have done had I known the coupon was a lie, but I needed medicine for my pet fish, and I needed it fast, because nobody in town carries it, and I thought this coupon was awesome!Now, after spending hours shopping, I find that I have actually been charged for the shipping and that, ****, at customer service, feels me stupid to have believed the coupon and gone shopping at their store. She insisted that my being lied to was none of their concern, that I had the right to cancel the order, but that they would not be keeping their word as to the shipping being free on my 1st order over $49. She actually first tried to act like I didn't even spend $49 and has infuriated me greatly, repeatedly hanging up on me, and lying to me further... She tried to say that the coupon specified the shipping was only for 5-8 business days and would not admit that it didn't say that, no matter how many times I pointed out that the coupon said, "Get free shipping on your 1st order over $49", nothing more. I told her not to cancel the order, that I need the medicine, but I just now received an email saying that the order was cancelled, and she took her toll free number (1-888-373-8686) out of service, although, the website is there.

Desired Settlement: Is this bait and switch stuff legal? Can we not force them to keep their word and send me my purchase, as promised by the coupon? If not, can I not be compensated for having wasted my time shopping under false pretenses, and possibly even losing fish because my not having my medication when expected?I just emailed my bank about it to see what they can do and also contacted Google Trusted Sites. I want to do everything I can to get what I was promised and to warn others. Please help.9xxx-xx-xxxx

Business Response: Customer called in on 6/24/13 for an explanation regarding the coupon code he used, at that time we reviewed his order and notified him that the coupon code ******** if for Free Ground Shipping on orders with a sub-total over $49.00 as indicated at our checkout. At that time the customer requested to cancel the order because he refuses to pay for shipping and has proceeded to make death threats to our customer service representative. At that time **** the customer service representative instructed the customer that she will transfer him to a manager and he hung up before being transferred. He has proceeded to email death threats aimed towards **** (See copy below). We have since blocked him from placing orders at petmountain.com and have filed a complaint with the Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) - https://www.********************   Customer Email Copy: Name: **** ******* Email: ********@*****.com EmailVer: ********@*****.com Subject: Other Message: To Whom It May Concern, and ****: I am giving you one last chance to keep your word and put my order through as promised by the coupon. You can\'t cancel my order just because you don\'t want to keep your word on the coupon. Also, you can\'t be lying to people about prices at your store to get them to waste time shopping there and expect things to be okay. I will be filing a dispute with the bank, the BBB, Google Trusted Sites, and my lawyer. I will also be hiring a bounty hunter to track **** down personally, and be posting this issue at 4chan for the hackers to have a go at the site. That\'s right, I have nothing better to do than go after those who betray me and my pets. I hope you chose to keep your word instead. Have a nice day. My fish, however, thanks to ****, will not. **** ******* ###-###-#### IP: ************* OS: Windows XP Browser: ******* Browser Version: 5.0 Guest Cookie:  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i ordered a pet harness from pet mountain and though it is indeed pictured in the ad with a fleece lining it is not listed as having an insanely thick fleece lining which makes it far too hot to use in any weather other than extreme winter. i live in l.a. and its impossible to use this ultra-hot harness on my dog

Desired Settlement: i would like the company to 1) cover return shipping charges and 2) to reimburse me for the price of the item plus the original shipping charges i paid ($27.00)

Business Response: *****,For customers who wish to return items within 45 days of receipt may do so by using our easy returns tool by entering your email and order number. A full refund on the purchase price of the item will be processed back to the method of payment upon passing inspection. The product must be in the original condition including any product packaging, tags and manuals to warrant a refund.Easy Returns Tool - https://www.petmountain.com/returnsIf you need any further assistance, please call us at 888-373-8686.Thank you,Customer Servicewww.PetMountain.com 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The Business does not even address the content of my complaint, which is that I want them to pay for shipping due to the fact that the harness is completely useless in non-frigid weather (ie it is too hot for a dog in southern california).  Regards,

********* ********-*******

Business Response: *********,Since the item purchased is as described on the product page and is not damaged or defective then the customer is responsible for shipping items back due to buyers remorse as stated on our returns page.Returns Information - https://www.petmountain.com/returns Thank you,Customer Servicewww.PetMountain.com

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.