BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Payne Pest Management Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (858) 277-2228 Fax: (858) 277-2212 View Additional Phone Numbers 10625 Scripps Ranch Blvd #F, San Diego, CA 92131 http://www.paynepestmgmt.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Payne Pest Management Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Payne Pest Management Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Payne Pest Management Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 25, 2006 Business started: 01/19/2006 in CA Business started locally: 05/01/2006 Business incorporated: 01/19/2006 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 5049.

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 5136.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Willie L Payne, President Mr. Jason Payne, COO Ms. Pam Sexton, Billing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Willie L Payne, President
Number of Employees

42

Business Category

Pest Control Services


Additional Locations

  • 10625 Scripps Ranch Blvd #F

    San Diego, CA 92131 (858) 277-2228 (877) 277-3970

  • 18 Technology Dr #146

    Irvine, CA 92618

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7141 Valjean #201

    Lake Balboa, CA 91406

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 277-3970(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 22, 2013 Payne Pest management fumigated my home and attempted to do repairs to fix any damaged pieces of wood. This is a formal letter of complaint to Payne Pest Management for fraudulent home repair charges and fumigation. We had received 3 termite inspections, two from Payne and one from another vendor. The other vendor, had outlined that there was some termite damage, they came by and spot treated the affected areas. We then removed any loose wood pieces and patched the remaining portion. Our total cost for this was $150 and we were issued a clearance by the other company. Payne, on the other hand gave us an estimate for $2400, and another one to our buyer for $3500, but both the reports were conflicting, both from Payne. Neither reports showed us any evidence of termites. The usual scare tactics was used to influence the buyer into getting the home tented. The repairs were overpriced at $1350. With the price of both the tenting and the repairs, my total bill was inflated to a hefty $3000. Initially, we had asked our salesperson Eric, if we could do the repairs ourself, as our handman charges $150 day. He showed me 12 different places where wood would need to be replaced ( facias, garage door, 2nd story, pieces of wood). However, when the house was fumigated and the work “done” by the exterminators at Payne, none of the 2nd story wood was checked or worked on as under the contract. All the places that Eric had pointed out as needed wood work were left undone. Payne sent a contractor to the home who was apparently not trained well. He spent 3 hours at the home and did minimal work, not covering everything that was promised initially. The contractor didn’t even paint the wood that was installed. What little he did paint was with the paint I had sitting in my garage. He did not care to paint match as promised by Eric. I find Payne termite repairs to be out of line with what I was charged, and what was actually repaired, a couple pieces of wood, and 3 hours of a handyman's time. We feel we were ripped off on the fumigation, which was mostly unnecessary since we already had a clearance. However, we still agreed as per buyers request to tent the home. However, as far as the repairs go, they were not done and we were unfairly charged. After the "work" was done, Eric did not come by to inspect the home or review the work before the clearance. I received an email stating that the clearance was issued without any personal inspection by the company.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a credit of $1350 for the work that was not completed and which was promised to us by **** along with an apology for how we were treated.

Business Response:

This is my response to the complaint rendered by Mr. ***** and nothing he states has any basis of facts. First of all he is no longer he owner of the property he is complaining about.  The new owner was the one who requested a further inspection after Mr ***** had told him that he had a Termite Certification from D & S Termite that cost him $150 and was abunduntly inadequate when the home still showed extreme damages and infestation from Drywood Termites. Mr ***** states that the work was done in a 3 hour period by an inadequate technician and we have proof from a work completed sheet that show a 8 hour priod with 2 people working on the job.  We have a statement from the new owner, the realtor who checked the work and who saw what Mr ***** tried to pass off as a certified job to settle his termite committment, and his own realtor who all passed the job as satisfactory.  He stands alone in this accusation of fraud and incomplete work. I know he has not gone out to see the work after it was completed and we will provide a letter from the owner and the realtors that we walked the completed job with them after it was done which completely contradicts his accusation.  He signed a contract with us and paid for the job to be done because the new owner would not accept the certification that was given by D & S Termite which was the real fraud and Mr ***** knew it.  We owe him nothing.

Attached are the documents signed by or deliverd to Mr. *****. It shows he knew everything we were doing and authorized it in writing.

1.   Work agreement signed by Mr. *****.

2.   Copy of the original and supplemental reports that he received. These show all infestation and fungus    damage.

3.   The fumigation log which is filed upon completion of the fumigation for drywood termites. It shows the date and time of fumigation, date and time of aeration and date of completion. Proof that it was done.

4. Termite and fungus damage crew sheet showing what recommendaitons that had been completed. The 2B, 2C, etc were taken from the reports and noted as completed on 9/23/13. There were two technicians and they worked from 8:30am to 4pm.

5.   Estimate worksheet stating the cost of all the work we recommended with the cost of the lumber and the door that was replaced. It clearly shows it was not a 3 hour job that a single person could do. Hanging the door alone took longer than that.

6.   Notice of work completed showing all of the recommendations completed by our company. This document is filed with the Structural Pest Control Board in Sacramento. It aslo includes the verbage that certifies the home is clear of any active infestation or infections in any visible areas.

7.   Occupants Fumigation Notice, which is a right to know form stating that a fumigant "Vikane" was being used in the home to eradicate drywood termites. He signed off on this as well.

8.   A copy of the "Paid" invoice that he paid with his American Express card after the job was completed. He did not pay under  protest as he has stated. We did all of the work we were contracted for and he paid for it.

 ****** ** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Almost all of what Payne responded with are lies.  For $1400 payne was supposed to replace all the so called wood that had been damaged by termites.  They did none of that work.  Nor did they inspect the work before issueing the clearance.  I was at the property and no one came by. This is a scam buisness.  Even the 2 reports they did, conflicted.  This proves they have no idea what they are doing.

 
In additon to all the extra fees they charged us, they shattered so many roof tiles.  They will say that we signed a waiver, howeverr, we were told we did not need the insurance, as they never break tiles.  Additionally, they destoryed over $800 in plants.
 
They were supposed to remove the facia boards all around the house and they did not do any of this.  They had 1 guy on site for a couple hours..they even used my paint....so cheap they couldnt even buy paint for $1400.
 
Im am attaching photos of their shotty fixes and all the damages and grief they have done.  This companies license should be removed.  If our damages are not taken care, I will try my best to get their license taken away from the state of California.

Regards,

**** *****



Business Response: Mr *****, is a very ignorant man who is obcessed with telling lies.  As I stated before in my first response we did everything to fulfill our contract and we will stand behind that.  I ask that he call the Structural Pest Control Board so that we can settle this once and for all.  He signed a waiver that said we would break some roof iles because we had to walk on the roof to complete the fumigation and that he could purhase a tile warranty that would cover the cost of any broken tiles, he chose not to because he is CHEAP, we had him sign a right to know form that said if he didn't cut back his plants that there was a chance of some plant damage, he was LAZY and didn't cut back anything so he had a minimal amount of plant damage.  He said we did no work around his home rerlated to wood repair and his own images show new wood with new nails in it.  That will give you some idea what a ignorant person he is.  I hope that he calls the State so they can get this settled because we did nothing wrong and the new owner who you haven't heard from is perfectly satisfied with everything we did.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from Payne clearly shows how unprofessional of a company they are.  Resorting to name calling is a true sign of ignorance and guilt.

Pictures dont lie, this is clear proof of the damage and lack of work these thugs did as they extorted $3,000 from me.  They are professional crooks with no regulation.
 
Most of them have not even finished high school, as is evident from their response.
 
Since this matter shas not been resolved.  I will post my pictures on various public review websites such as yelp and google reviews, angieslist.  I may take them to small claims court, I have already filled a dsipute with my credit card company.
 
They may have stolen money from me, but I will make sure they lose future business.
Regards,

**** *****



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Payne Pest Management technician drilled lag bolts to reinforce my balcony along with spraying for pest during our initial purchase of our home. We did not discover this until the Summer due to heat, we turned on the A/C, but no cooling occurred. So, we contacted our warranty company who sent out a A/C Technician, and he traced the leak over two days to the A/C piping. Now at this time a portion of the dry wall in the living room had to be opened up in order for him to see that the problem was a leak, and when he could not pull the pipe from the internal wall he noticed the two lag bolts in the Freon piping. My initial call to Payne Pest Management after letting him know what I discovered, he asked what do want me to do about it. I said that I would like for them to pay half the bill. His response among other things was that we can’t see through walls, and abruptly hung up on me. I called Payne Pest Management a second time and reached another Payne Pest Management representative, and they agreed that I would forward the invoice to them. But once the invoice was received Payne Pest Management representative, said that I should have gotten an estimate, or they could’ve sent out a HVAC Technician to provide the repair at a lower cost. I then offered to pay for the repair or the initial work that it took to find the leak that was caused by the initial Payne Pest Management Technician. I was told that we are not paying for anything in this situation, and I don’t know if we caused the leak. I then let him know that I would be contacting the BBB, but the Payne Pest Management Representative was undaunted, but was courteous in departing.

Desired Settlement: Full cost of repair toalling $2245.00 A/C Repair and Work over 2 days to the repair company + Service fee of $60.00 directly to me, because if Payne Pest Management Technicians does not drill though my Freon line I do not call my warranty company, and have to pay the $60.00 for the visit.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the complaint from the customer with the employees who talked to him and this is our position on what we did and why.

We recieved to call after the fact and never got a chance to look at the authenticity of the claim.  We to this day have not had a chance to look to see if we did actually drill thriogh the freon line.  We are not saying that we didn't do it but likeany reasonable businessman would do is check out the problem.  The customer said that we hung the phone up on him but I have not talked to anyone who said that is what happened.  My VP of operations also talked to the customer and was told that he had someone out there right now to give him a proposal, my VP said OK get the estimate and get back to me.  Instead of him ding that he authorized work that included closing the wall that had been previously opened for inspection and fixing the problem that he is talking about.  We are a very progressive company and try to do the right things with our customers in all cases.  This however does not make any sense to expect a company to just take the word of whomever and then pay a bill that was not authorized by us because we never looked at it.  I will make resitution if we are at fault but I would like to have the professional courtesy of seeing what the mistake was.  Therefore I will ask again to open the wall at our expense and check out what was done by usas part of the responsibility that they claim we have.  We have no idea what was done inside that wall.  This is a reasonable thing to ask since the customer chose to do this on his own without us being given a chance to observe and fix the problem.  We have a team of 9 construction workers that can build a house and we have our own plumbing and HVAC contractor that couls have done the same thing his HVAC guy did.  Thank you for the consideration.

 

****** *****

President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and recommend that before the business demos/repairs my walls to investigate, that they would first look at the attached HVAC brief, that I have included with my response, and if they still feel so inclined to move forward with the demo/repair at cost to them, I am willing to facilitate.

Available days, if business is moving forward with demo/repair option Thursday/Friday 8:00am to 3:00pm. They can call me direct to set up a day and time.

 

 

Regards,

****** ****

*******@*****.com

###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Termites inspection fails to report (#******) the area well exposed for visual inspection. Fumigation was done but the live termites were found at that area in 6 weeks later. The representative (**** *******)is very rude. I don't know why PaynePest has him as representative.

Desired Settlement: If I discover the termites with my own eyes I would expect "a professional inspector" would have seen it and noted in the report.When I found the kick-holes, I started to poke around with a screw driver to see how badly the wood got damaged. Since it looks pretty bad I decided to replace it. This is when I found the termites still alive after the fumigation was done. I want PaynePest to acknowledge the problem of their product and service and refund the cost of the fumigation.

Business Response: I am aware of this person who is making the complaint. My rersponse is to have my management team take a look at it and see if this is true.  We use a subcontractor and our agreement is that he guaranty all fumigations for 2 years.  We will rew fumigate the building.  Keep in mind that after 5 years we have not had one failure of a fumigation.  That is after doing over 7 million dollars worth.  I will attempt to get to touch with the owner and inspect the area as soon as possible.  **** told me that he found dead termites in the wood members when he inspected and **** is a 20 year veteran of the industry.  I have no idea what the owners experise is but that doesn't matter I want to check it out.  Please send me his info for contact.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1