BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Lloyd Pest Control

Phone: (800) 570-2847 Fax: (619) 298-3610 View Additional Phone Numbers 1331 Morena Blvd #300, San Diego, CA 92110 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lloydpest.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pest control services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lloyd Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lloyd Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lloyd Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1952 Business started: 01/01/1931 in CA Business incorporated: 04/23/1956 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 813.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jamie Ogle, President Mr. Scott Crowley, COO Mr. James Spring, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jamie Ogle, President
Customer Contact: Mr. James Spring, Marketing Director
Number of Employees

300

Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Lloyd Termite Control The Lloyd Pest Control Co Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1331 Morena Blvd #300

    San Diego, CA 92110 (619) 298-9865 (800) 570-2847

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for Lloyd Pest Control

Discount: $50.00 off our maximum security maintenance service which protects you from ants, spiders, fleas, roaches and more.

This company offers pest control services.

To receive discount, contact (800) 570-2847 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you.

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in conjunction with any other discount, offer, special or promotion.

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date.
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (619) 298-9865(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good Evening, I am writing with regard to order number ******* with Lloyd Pest Control. When this call was scheduled, it was scheduled with the understanding that we still had additional service calls available under our Residential Restart Contract (*******). Had this not been the case we would not have requested the service call. When the technician left our house on 8/6/12, he left a bill for $99. We called Lloyd Pest Control later in the week to try and resolve the billing issue and also address the fact that the ant problem which was supposed to have been treated (and was the primary purpose for the initial call) was not only persisting but getting worse. All we got was an extremely rude person on the other end of the phone. On 8/12/13, my card on file was charged $99, on an invoice that has a term of 30 days net WITHOUT my authorization. Thank you Adam

Desired Settlement: 1) I would like an immediate refund of the $99 for the following reasons: a) the appointment was made with the understanding it was part of our Residential Restart Contract Service b) the issue which they came out to treat was never remedied c) we tried to resolve the issue and only received a rude response over the phone d) my bank debit card was charged WITHOUT my authorization more than 3 weeks before the bill was actually due (which is most irritating) 2) I want all my credit card information immediately removed from their database

Business Response:

A check for $99 will be sent to the customer’s address this week. We have canceled this customer’s account.  His credit card info has been removed from our system.

That said, despite the fact that Mr. ******* has been a regular quarterly customer since 2010, this $99 was the only payment we would have received for any services since November of 2012 (the Residential Restart Contract to which he alluded).  So, no.  The quarterly service you contracted with us before last Thanksgiving didn’t cover you through August of this year.  Very disappointing that this type of claim is given voice on the BBB website.  We perform 35,000 services in Southern California each month.  I wonder when the BBB’s compliments section will be open so that we can show those off.  As it stands there is no sense of balance.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

I would like to note that we attempted to contact the company to resolve this issue directly.  We spoke with someone named **** who told us that we were entitled to a free service and she was going to call us back.  We were told the same thing upon scheduling the appointment.  If this was not the case then the company should train their staff appropriately.  We never received a return phone call as promised. Instead the company charged my card more than 3 weeks prior to the actual due date of the bill in question without my authorization.  From my understanding of the CC laws in the State of CA (California Civil Code at §§ 1747 - 1748.95.), this is not even legal and really the core of my complaint.  In the response from the company, it is interesting that they never even address the issue as to why they charged my card.  I had other scheduled bills due that week and it is lucky that I had money in my account to cover everything.  So yes, it is disappointing that I had to go to the BBB to resolve this issue, but the complaint was certainly justified.  Upon receipt of the refund check, delivered to my billing address: **** ******* ******* ********* ** ***** I will consider this matter resolved.

Thank you,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March 2012 I contracted with the company for treatment of roaches at my rental located at **** ************ ******* *****. The treatment was to be one time for $128 or $145 followed by monthly service at 14.95/month. As explained to me, the rental would be treated monthly. A year later, I received a past due notice as my credit card number had changed. I called Lloyd Pest Control to provide them with the new credit card number and earned that my property had not been treated since the initial treatment and one follow up. I was told, to my complete surprise, that it was an "on demand" service meaning that they collected the $14.95 each month but did not return to treat the property because I did not call them. After several conversations and a request that they review the tape of my conversation with ******** prior to signing up for the service, Lloyd agreed to waive the past due amount of $44 and later agreed to provide me with one service. I cancelled my account and the technician treated my property - no fully infested, on April 5, 2013. I recently learned from the mew tenant that the property is still infested. I called Lloyd Pest and they refused to re-treat the property maintaining that my account is closed. In was deceived in entering the contract and Lloyd Pest refuses to stand by its service.

Desired Settlement: Lloyd Pest failed to provide me with the service it represented I would receive. As a result, my property is infested and I must pay a reputable company to resolve the situation. Lloyd should refund all of my money since the product did not work and I did not receive the service as represented.

Business Response: Hi.  We are more than happy to refund this money.  We will gladly do this to restore goodwill with the former customer, and with the BBB community.


That said, the $14.95/month service contracted by the customer is a call-on-demand service only - not a monthly service.  Our agreements for that on-demand service are printed on a special form that clearly highlights that core fact.  In order for us to treat the interior of a home for roaches, we must enter the home. More so for a home that has been "over-run" by roaches.

When this customer stopped payment on her service (perhaps due to the expiration of her credit card, as she asserts), we tried for three months to get in touch with her.  She responded to none of our notices.  Perhaps this was due to her assertion that she was no longer residing at the property.  There was no way we could have known this.  We were given no forwarding address.

Regardless, we will gladly mail a check to Ms. ***** this week for the $45 she has requested.

Please contact me with the best mailing address for sending this check.

Sincerely,

- *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me for the purpose of bringing closure to this issue.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.  The check should be mailed to me at ****  ******** ****** *** ***** *****.  

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My roommate and I live in a one bedroom apartment. We are both disabled and on social security. In july of this year my roommate started getting bites that were bed bug bites and got an infection as a result. we contacted lloyd pest control and they did a heat treatment costing 1450.00. we were told that they would re treat if the situation arose again. our bed bug situation is back again,my roommate has another infection from the bed bug bites. we contacted lloyd pest control and they refused to re do the treatment for free. we contacted another pest control agent, got a free estimate and inspection, and it was confirmed that the bed bugs returned. upon their inspection, it was found that the bed bugs were on the box spring. when lloyd did the heat treatment they failed to take off the felt off the box spring, and this is why the beg bug situation was never taken care of right in the first place. there were eggs in the box spring that were hatched, and never killed, because of this. because of this we have a reinfastation. we contacted lloyd pest control again, i informed them of this and they still refuse to re treat my apartment. the bites have infected my roommate and is on medication for this. this has created a health hazzard. have lloyd done their job properly we wouldnt be in this situation. iam asking for them to take responsibility for their wrong doings and re treat my apartment for free, or give me my money back for the orginal treatment

Desired Settlement: i would like for them to re treat my apartment or refund me my money back for what i paid for the treatment

Business Response:

The BBB sent this message in error to a person who is not related to this incident.

I am responding now with a summary of facts and an offer to comply with the consumer’s request.

On July 25th of this year, we provided a heat treatment for bedbugs at the apartment of ******* ******.   Although our treatment carries no residual effect, we offered a 15-day guarantee in the form of a signed and counter-signed warranty.  On August 15th, we received a partial payment for the service.  Over the course of the next three months, this customer’s account fell into collections.

On November 5th, four months after treatment, the customer called us, offering to pay their remaining balance – and to request a quote for another bedbug treatment.  Before either a payment or a re-treatment could be scheduled, however, the customer and one of our competitors decided that the reintroduction of bedbugs to this property - four months later - was due to an error in the heat treatment.

Bedbugs don’t hide for four months.  They keep biting.  If there is a warm body available, they keep hatching and feeding.  Typically in apartments where bedbugs are found, there is an external source and a carrier that introduces them to the property.  If the resident continues to visit the same places that they visited when they picked up bedbugs, they will pick up more bedbugs – and the cycle will continue to repeat itself.

As a gesture of good faith to the BBB community, we will refund the entire amount that the Mr. ****** gave us as partial payment for the treatment.

A check will be sent to the **** **** ** ** address in San Diego today.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Lloyds pest control responded by saying that they would refund me my payments that were made to the company as a good will to the bbb community.  the  response stated that they issued out a check on the date of 11-27-12.   when i called them to verify this they stated via phone a check was issued 11-26-12.  i recieved the check dated 11-30 on 12-1.  check number 111407 in the amount of 1265.00 was attempted to be cashed on 12-1 how ever i was informed by my bank that this check was a fraudequent check with no bank name on the check as well as 00000000000 as an account number.  iam disabled and i had to pay someone to take me to the bank to cash this check as the bank isnt where i live and because of this this has caused more mental anguish.  iam asking that a new check be written out and in addition  an addition of 200 should be added for  mental anguish

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: Ouch.  This one is 100% on us.  I met with Mr. ****** this morning and I apologized profusely.  We just moved into our new offices over the weekend and, due to a transfer glitch, all of our checks from that batch were rejected.  We have paid Mr. ****** the $1465 he requested.  We very much regretted the inconvenience this caused Mr. ****** and we were happy to make it up to him by compensating him for the additional time that this process required of him.  Mr. ******, it turns out, is a delightful man, and I was happy to make his acquaintance.  It is our sincere hope that we have an opportunity to work together again soon.  We send our sincere thanks to Mr. ****** and to the BBB for facilitating this mediation.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ****** 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/10/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1