BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pest control, household fumigation, furniture fumigation, marine service, termite reports, commodity and quarantine fumigation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Harbor Termite and Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Harbor Termite and Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Harbor Termite and Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 08, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1948 in CA Business incorporated: 06/27/1977 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 441.

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 6316.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Augustine, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Augustine, President
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Pest Control Services Fumigation Services

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, All major credit cards including, Visa, Master Card, American Express, and Discover.
Alternate Business Names
Harbor Fumigation Harbor Pest Control Inc Special Touch Pest Control Services

Additional Locations

  • 6160 Fairmount Ave #K

    San Diego, CA 92120 (619) 584-8155 (888) 295-7378 (619) 584-8182 (888) 586-4816

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (619) 584-8182(Phone)
  • (888) 295-7378(Phone)
  • (888) 586-4816(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My experience with Harbor Pest has been a disaster. I have contacted them to rectify the situation. Their response was to blame me for expecting a termite inspection and service to identify all termites and remove them, to make excuses, and further to claim that I told the inspector to make an incomplete inspection--which I did not. A customer has a reasonable expectation that a termite company will perform an inspection and remove all termites. This is not what happened. Unfortunately, this is only the first of my complains with Harbor. Today, December 16, 2013 I learned that Harbor is claiming I did not pay for the service performed. This showed up in an escrow document where they are claiming I owe them a total amount of $1075.00. This includes a down payment of $212.00 on a check that has cleared the bank. I paid the full amount of $863.00 on November 1, 2013. However, Harbor must have lost or misfiled this check because it has not cleared the bank. Because I just learned of this today I stopped payment on the lost check tonight at an additional personal cost. Below I will paste the letter I wrote to Harbor Pest. December 5, 2013 **** ******* Office Manager Harbor Pest Control **** ******** **** ***** * *** ****** ** ***** Dear Ms. ******* On October 4, 2013, your pest inspector **** ***** came to **** ******** ****** and did a termite inspection, I accepted Harbor’s bid for work, and the work was performed on October 23, 2013. My goal in hiring Harbor Pest to complete this task was to treat the house for termites so that any and all the termites would be removed. Unfortunately, while this is what I paid Harbor for, this was not the result. On November 26, 2013, less than five weeks later, **** returned to my property and informed me that I had subterranean termites. Imagine my shock in finding that the job I had hired Harbor to do was not complete. This is hard to swallow and I was told treatment for this would cost an additional $550. In addition, on this visit, **** found many other instances of areas where termite repairs would be required before he would “sign off” on a termite inspection for escrow. I am writing you because it is clear **** did not do a proper inspection for damage the first time and additionally, failed to organize a complete termite treatment—the first time. I am now faced with over $5000 in additional costs and the possible loss of a sale of my home because of Harbor Pest’s errors. I have been a homeowner and landlord for over 25 years so I have had many opportunities to work with talented and competent contractors --and I have never had a problem. The situation has been extremely upsetting for my family and damaging to my escrow...

Desired Settlement: Below I will paste the remainder of the letter I wrote to Harbor Pest. ...For these reasons, I am requesting Harbor Pest consider good customer and public relations and complete the termite treatment and the additional repairs **** found at Harbor’s expense.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******:

We have received your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau.  We understand that you may feel otherwise, however we have continued throughout this process to provide to you the service you indicated at each stage in this process.  We are endeavoring to be forthright in our responses to you and others involved. 

A Limited Inspection and Report dated 10/04/13 was sent to you well before any work was performed.  The inspection report describes what was inspected, what was not inspected and our recommendations for the findings which included fumigation for drywood termites and repairs to drywood termite damage.  If our inspector had been aware of your desire to sell this home, we would have insisted on a full inspection. Ms. ******, we are required to give you this report before we perform the work so there is no misunderstanding.  There was no fine print, in fact; plainly on the front page, it states that a Limited Report was performed.  On the second page, the top paragraph clearly states that a Limited Report was performed.  At that time we offered you a price for fumigation and inquired if you would like a bid for repairing the damage found.  You decline the repair bid but accepted the bid for fumigation.  Based upon this inspection report you chose to have Harbor Pest Control perform your fumigation.  The fumigation was completed on 10/21/2013. 

In mid-November your agent contacted our office to schedule full inspection for the purpose of selling this home.  He was informed at that time and understood that the inspection report from October 2013 was not sufficient for the sale of the home.  We returned to your home and performed a full inspection and report for escrow at no additional cost to you.  During that inspection we found, disclosed to your (or your agent) and bid upon additional termite treatment needed.  The additional damage repairs found are beyond our scope of work.  As is our policy, we offered to refer you to a reputable termite repair company.  You agreed to have Best Rate Repair bid upon the termite/fungus damage repairs.

Regarding payment for the fumigation, we mailed an invoice upon completion of the fumigation in October showing the total due of $863.00 (Fumigation price of $1075.00 less the deposit paid of $212.00).  Although this balance was due within 30 days of the completion date, we understood that you were in the process of a sale of the home and had raised concerns.  We chose not to push the issue of payment while attempting to resolve your concerns.  As a result of not questioning payment, neither you nor we were aware that your final payment for the fumigation had not arrived at our office.  The question of fumigation payment came up during a telephone conversation between the escrow company, you and **** *********** on 12/16/13 at approx. 4:20pm.  We did not send the invoice to the escrow company until after this conversation.  We thank you for visiting our office the next day to resolve the balance on your account.  Upon your approval we also sent the paid invoice to the escrow company.

Apart from your concerns, we have continued to respond to you and your realtor’s requests for service in order to assist in the expedient close of the sale.  To that end, I understand that your Realtor has scheduled to have the subterranean termites treated on 12/24/13.  We have received your signed work authorization for this treatment and the cost of $550.00.  We will mail you an invoice as soon as the work is complete.  At the request of your realtor, we have also scheduled a re-inspection of the repairs being completed by others.  It is our hope that your escrow will close in a timely manner.

Please understand it is not our intent to antagonize you at all.  We understand your position and we now hope you understand ours.

We do wish you best in this Holiday Season.

Sincerely,

******* ************

Vice President

Harbor Pest Control Inc.

6160 Fairmount Ave Ste K

San Diego CA 92120

###-###-#### office

****@harborpest.com

 

Dear Ms. ******:

We have received your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau.  We understand that you may feel otherwise, however we have continued throughout this process to provide to you the service you indicated at each stage in this process.  We are endeavoring to be forthright in our responses to you and others involved. 

A Limited Inspection and Report dated 10/04/13 was sent to you well before any work was performed.  The inspection report describes what was inspected, what was not inspected and our recommendations for the findings which included fumigation for drywood termites and repairs to drywood termite damage.  If our inspector had been aware of your desire to sell this home, we would have insisted on a full inspection. Ms. ******, we are required to give you this report before we perform the work so there is no misunderstanding.  There was no fine print, in fact; plainly on the front page, it states that a Limited Report was performed.  On the second page, the top paragraph clearly states that a Limited Report was performed.  At that time we offered you a price for fumigation and inquired if you would like a bid for repairing the damage found.  You decline the repair bid but accepted the bid for fumigation.  Based upon this inspection report you chose to have Harbor Pest Control perform your fumigation.  The fumigation was completed on 10/21/2013. 

In mid-November your agent contacted our office to schedule full inspection for the purpose of selling this home.  He was informed at that time and understood that the inspection report from October 2013 was not sufficient for the sale of the home.  We returned to your home and performed a full inspection and report for escrow at no additional cost to you.  During that inspection we found, disclosed to your (or your agent) and bid upon additional termite treatment needed.  The additional damage repairs found are beyond our scope of work.  As is our policy, we offered to refer you to a reputable termite repair company.  You agreed to have Best Rate Repair bid upon the termite/fungus damage repairs.

Regarding payment for the fumigation, we mailed an invoice upon completion of the fumigation in October showing the total due of $863.00 (Fumigation price of $1075.00 less the deposit paid of $212.00).  Although this balance was due within 30 days of the completion date, we understood that you were in the process of a sale of the home and had raised concerns.  We chose not to push the issue of payment while attempting to resolve your concerns.  As a result of not questioning payment, neither you nor we were aware that your final payment for the fumigation had not arrived at our office.  The question of fumigation payment came up during a telephone conversation between the escrow company, you and **** *********** on 12/16/13 at approx. 4:20pm.  We did not send the invoice to the escrow company until after this conversation.  We thank you for visiting our office the next day to resolve the balance on your account.  Upon your approval we also sent the paid invoice to the escrow company.

Apart from your concerns, we have continued to respond to you and your realtor’s requests for service in order to assist in the expedient close of the sale.  To that end, I understand that your Realtor has scheduled to have the subterranean termites treated on 12/24/13.  We have received your signed work authorization for this treatment and the cost of $550.00.  We will mail you an invoice as soon as the work is complete.  At the request of your realtor, we have also scheduled a re-inspection of the repairs being completed by others.  It is our hope that your escrow will close in a timely manner.

Please understand it is not our intent to antagonize you at all.  We understand your position and we now hope you understand ours.

We do wish you best in this Holiday Season.

Sincerely,

******* ***********,

Vice President

Harbor Pest Control Inc.

6160 Fairmount Ave Ste K

San Diego CA 92120

###-###-#### office

****@harborpest.com

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I want to resolve this issue without getting **** Chase into more trouble.  My experience with Harbor and its affiliates was a very unprofessional one and I have detailed files and photographs at my perusal.  I would be satisfied if Harbor considered good public relations and agreed to send me a check for $550 to cover the sub-t treatment. 

Regards,

**** ******



Business Response: February 11, 2014

Ms. Sarah Goelz

The Better Business Bureau

Via BBB Website

            RE:       Complaint from Ms. **** ******

                        Complaint ID #:  *******

Dear Ms. ******

Thank you for the extensions you have awarded Harbor Pest Control as we work through the concerns of Ms. ******.

We apologize for the delay in responding to Ms. ******’s rebuttal.  After additional review, Harbor Pest Control continues to feel we have provided the service requested by Ms. ****** at each step in the process.

However, in the interest of good public relations and to maintain our strong standing with the Better Business Bureau; we agree to refund the cost of the subterranean treatment that was performed on December 24, 2013.  The cost of this treatment was $550.00. 

The refund check will be available for Ms. ****** at our office.  Ms. ****** can contact our office the week of February 17, 2014 to arrange to sign the Release of Claims and pick up her refund. 

Thank you for your patience as we have worked to resolve this complaint.  Please contact me immediately if you or Ms. ****** have any further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

**** *******, Office Manager

for **** *********, Owner

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Harbor Pest control and contracted with them to provide Termite tenting and insurance for a personal property around 2010. After the original inspection and tenting, they refused to provide any follow-up treatments when termite activity was detected, even by professionally contracted roofers in June 2013. The service associates refused to test the roof for infestation without having the roofers return at my expense. The service associate refused to check the attic space as he could not fit. A complaint was left with the service technician without a response. A complaint was then left with their customer service desk without a response. I was contacted to re-new with them for another year, and a follow-up complaint was delivered to their customer service representative Aug 20th that got the response... 'We'll get back to you in one or two days'. I followed up again Aug 29th, and received my first phone call from ****, who explained her VP is out of town, and proceeded to lecture me why everything the service technician did was right, and I am wrong as a home owner to expect their employees to check for termite activity. Her last note was to let me know that my policy expired one day prior on Aug 28th, and chastised me that I should not have commented that one of their employees was too large to inspect my attic or roof. The company advertises comprehensive termite coverage, but does not come through. Their field representatives and customer service desk upsell that all incidents are not under warranty unless you pay upcharges for additional treatments. After a few years as a customer, every service call for active infestations were always met with a "that's not covered". I always had to treat infestations myself with Home Depot bought supplies. Home owners be weary.

Desired Settlement: This company advertises termite coverage, but does not come through, so I'm asking for a refund of my last year's dues. They have never treated my home since the original tenting even when called to the property and seeing visible signs of activity. Even if I do not receive a refund, maybe this can forewarn other customers they may be treated as a nuisance rather than a policy holder.

Business Response:

Dear *** ***** *****, BBB Representative:

Although disappointed that my team and I have not come through for the customer, I do feel that the customer's Desired Settlement is reasonable.  As requested by the customer under the Desired Settlement portion of their complaint, I put a check in the mail for a refund of the customer's last year's dues.  Attached to this email is a copy of the check and my letter, which accompanied the check. 

I am disappointed that we did not come through for this customer.  My team and I are committed to learn from this experience so that we are able to improve our service and customer relations in order to meet the Pest and Termite Control needs of our customers.

Please let me know if you have any questions or need anything else from me.  Thank you for your help resolving this complaint.

Sincerely,

**** ********** Owner

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Harbor Pest Control preformed an inside treatment at our house. This is the most irresponsible company I have ever dealt with in any business. We had been using Harbor Pest Control for a couple years. They were doing an average job but not solving the bug problem on the long term scale. We had them come to do an interior service at our house. When we cam home that night, we were in complete shock. They had bombed the inside of our house with a poison chemical powder. It was EVERYWHERE throughout the house! We had to move out of our house for 8 WEEKS before it was safe to move back in with our three kids. To make matters worse, **** ********* (the owner) tried to cover up the issue by cleaning the poison himself. He did not report the matter to California Pest Control Board and he tried to have it cleaning without hiring a hazmat licensed company to do the proper remediation, as required by law. We had to throw away all the fabric furniture in our house along with all the carpets and rugs. Harbor Pest Control still has not made good on the damages for the poisonous accident that they performed. Harbor Pest Control still has not solved the problem of replacing our damaged goods. The poison accident happened on March 23, 2012 and we still have not been made whole for the damages that occured. We are being held hostage by Harbor Pest Control and their insurance company.

Desired Settlement: We just want our house to be back in the same condition it was prior to the mistake that was made by Harbor Pest Control.

Business Response:

October 1, 2012

BBB of San Diego
5050 Murphy Canyon, Suite 110
San Diego, CA 92123

RE:          Complaint ID# *******                                 *** *******                                 **** ******* ******                                 *** ****** ** *****

Dear BBB Representative:

As a family owned and operated business since 1948 that is dedicated to our customer’s satisfaction, we take customer complaints such as Mr. *******’s very seriously. When these rare occurrences happen, we immediately investigate the issues and in conjunction with the customer determine a sound course of action. At all times we cooperate with the proper vendors, authorities, and other partners to bring about a speedy resolution.

In his complaint, Mr. ******* used terms such as “…cover-up” and (…being held hostage…). We have and are taking all reasonable steps and have gone beyond the norm to satisfy Mr. *******. Our efforts have always been aimed to correct anything Harbor Pest Control may have done. Our approach has been prompt, open, and caring.

As our thousands of satisfied customers will attest, Harbor Pest Control stands behind its name and services. We remain confident that by working with our representatives Mr. ******* will be able to achieve a positive resolution to his complaint.

Sincerely,

**** *********
Owner

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The issue has not even come close to getting resolved.  Their representatives have not been willing to discuss a settlement from the damges that were inflicted by Harbor Pest Control.  Further, **** ********* has not returned emails that weresent regarding the unfair treatment we rhave been receiving from his 'representatives (ie insurnace compnay).  He is hiding behind his insurnace and not standing up as he suggested.  He has been anything but caring and prompt in dealing with this accident that resulted from their neglect.  In the beginning, **** said he would make everythign right from the accident.  He has baked off on that promise and has been anything but helpful.

To this day, they have not paid for our living expnses that we incurred as a result from the accident.  We do not have furniture, window covering, or rugs as a result of their accident.  All of these items were removed from our house and destroyed.  We have not been compensated for any of these items.  Our house is still only a shell and feels empty.       

Harbor Pest is NOT standing up for what happened.  They are hiding behind their insurance company.  Harbor Pest ceated the problem and still have not fixed it nealry 7 months later.

 

Regards,

*** *******

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We have submitted information to the insurance company. They will not negotiate.

Harbor Pest Control and their insurance company have NOT even paid for the actual out of pocket living expenses (food, clothing and housing) during the time we were FORCED out of our house. They are holding back on the out of pocket expenses as a means of blackmail to get us to sign a full release for damages. Let me repeat, they have NOT paid us for out-of-pocket living expenses caused when they poisoned our house. We were forced out of our house on a Friday afternoon with only the clothes on our back for over 2 months. We lived in a hotel (2 adults and 3 young children) for over 4 weeks. We had to pay for clothes, food and lodging out of our own pocket. Harbor Pest Control has not even paid for these expenses - say nothing of the damage to our house. This has hurt our family on a financial and emotional level.

Please consider our position in this case. We did nothing wrong. Harbor Pest Control damaged our house and ruined our lives for nearly 9 months now. The tragedy is continuing as we do not see an end to this accident. They caused the problem and have not even come close to making good on this incident when they poisoned out house. They should immediately pay the out of pocket expenses while we haggle over the damages caused by their negligence.

Regards,

*** *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

1