BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Corky's Pest Control Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Corky's Pest Control Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 27 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 21
Total Closed Complaints 27

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

34 Customer Reviews on Corky's Pest Control Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 33
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 34

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 1978 Business started: 03/18/1967 in CA Business incorporated: 03/16/1970 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 1382.

Dept. of Agriculture
5555 Overland Ave, San Diego CA 92111
Phone Number: (858) 694-2739
The license number is 31164.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Harry Mizer, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harry Mizer, C.E.O.
Related Businesses
Corky's Pest Control Inc
Number of Employees

106

Business Category

Pest Control Services Fumigation Services Termite Control Bee Removal Lawn Maintenance

Method(s) of Payment
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Cash
Check
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 909 Rancheros Dr

    San Marcos, CA 92069 (760) 432-8801 (800) 901-1102

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (760) 432-8801(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a termite inspection. Sales person and tech said the heat treatment would heat the attic to 150-160 degrees. We had a heat gage in the area. The temp got to 94 and 82 in the two areas. It gets hotter than that in the summer. The tech said there was no way the treatment worked and they would have to come out with two people and three heaters to complete the job. After phone calls from the office we were told they had completed the work per the contract and if we did not pay, they would place a lien on the property. We sent a letter stating all with a timeline of what happened along with a notice that should we not receive a visit from the General Manager by Feb 4 we would be filing a complaint. We have no problem paying for the service, but we want the service complete. It appears they have no intention in doing this. Please help.

Desired Settlement: We have no problem paying for the service, but we want the service complete.

Business Response: Re: BBB Complaint #*******


Ms. ******, 

It seems to me that there has been a misunderstanding regarding your service and because of that I would like to offer my apologies.  Based on your inspection report the price we quoted and the heat treatment performed was for two of your five attic spaces, as far as I can see the remaining three attics were neither quoted or treated.  

In an effort to allow you to start over with another company or us I have removed the $1631.00 charge from your account for the work quoted and completed.   If you would like to continue with our company please call our office to schedule an inspection where we can properly quote treatment for all of your attic space.

Thank you for your time, 

 

***** *****
CEO, Corky's Pest Control

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I have a complaint about Corky’s Pest Control. In December I had them come out to check my porch for termites. Since then I have had numerous calls from them to ask when I will schedule service. I told them I have other things going on and will call them when I was ready. The calls continue. In the last week these are the calls I have received: Jan 3 at 6:08 pm Jan 6 at 3:36 pm Jan 8 at 5:46 pm Jan 9 at 2:18 pm Jan 10 at 3:45 pm

Desired Settlement: I would like the calls to stop immediately and Corky's not to contact me again.

Business Response: In our response to the issue of too many calls.  I would like to apologize for the numerous calls and assure that
there will be none in the future.  We have noted our records as of the last call we made on Jan. 10th, that our
constant attention was not appreciated and we are not to call in the future. 
 
Our sincere apologies,
 
********* ******** *****
 
Personal Assistant to ***** *****
Corky's Pest Control
909 Rancheros Dr.
San Marcos, CA 92069

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called Corky's to inquire about the fumigation service and after verifying with them that if we do a fumigation on August 31st Saturday, we'd be back home on Sep 2nd (Mon), we made the appointment. We chose the dates as so because this was the only dates that were going to work for our schedule. We had two on-site visit appointments and the rep *** ******* confirmed the dates and gave us all the details. We signed the documents and made full payment. 3 days before the appointment, I received a call from *** (last name?) at Corky's saying that our return-home date was Sep 3rd (Tue). I confronted him saying that this is not what we were told and he denied that he made a mistake. The field rep *** ******* admitted that he gave out wrong dates and apologized. I don't understand why within the same company, one person admits the mistake while the other doesn't. This is very strange. Also *** was very rude in the beginning and very disrespectful. He made me feel awful and frustrated. He changed some after I told him that I was reporting to BBB. In the end, *** offered (still without admitting his mistake & offering apology) $175 to be deducted from the quote. I told him that the amount will barely cover the expense of getting an additional hotel night and finding boarding for our two dogs. With that amount, we are not being offered anything for the great inconveniences that we went through (we are still going through). When I told him that, it did not make a difference and he said that is all they could do. The solution I'm looking for is for them to let us back in the house on Monday as we were originally told but they say that cannot be done. This company has a very low reviews and it shows how many unhappy customers they had. It could be the problem with the service itself but I am convinced now that it is probably due to the customer service also. I experienced it, so I know it now.

I would like to make additional comments regarding ***** **** (I believe that is his name. He always referred to himself as ‘***’ and I found his full name on Yelp reviews)
1. He was very unpleasant to begin with, when I called & spoke to him about the scheduling error  they made. As soon as I pointed out the problem, he clearly became very aggravated. It is this behavior of his that disturbed me so much to the point that I felt as though that I needed to make my point across, in another word, to ‘complain’. 
2. The entire time, he kept on blaming *** ******* instead of focusing on what they can do as a company. This ‘pointing finger at someone’ approach that he takes is very unprofessional and only makes upset customers even more upset.
3. He explained that $175 deduction was the most they can offer for the size of house/job we had. This made me feel that they base their decision upon the size of house/job, instead of how much trouble & inconvenience customer goes through. This did not make sense to me. 
4. When our conversation did not come to a resolution, he threatened me saying ‘I’m going to just cancel the fumigation appointment for tomorrow right now’ He said this in a very mean, disturbing way. I was stunned. We spent weeks preparing for the fumigation and scheduled our vacation trip based on the fumigation schedule that we thought we had. because of this error they made, we were now caused a great inconvenience. When I told him ‘No, you can’t just cancel it like that. We’ve already done so much to prepare for tomorrow’, he again, said in a very confident & annoying way, ‘Oh yes I can. I’m going to cancel it right now’ I have never seen any customer service rep or sales rep act this way towards their customers. Later on, I saw the Yelp reviews and to no surprise, his name appeared everywhere, because of many unhappy customers and their experiences with ***. 
5. I asked him to speak with the manager and he agreed. However at the same time, he told me that everyone in the company was made aware about the incident including the manager and everyone’s decision towards this case was to ‘walk away’ if I kept on complaining. My only hope was that I’d be able to speak with the manager and let her see our side of the story as this is something that we felt that the company SHOULD know but as soon as *** said that they were going to ‘walk away’ from our case, my hope disappeared. What *** did is to basically let me know that no matter who I speak with, the company is not going to do anything because they have already made the decision to walk away.
6. There was nothing I could do any more.  The only thing that cancelling appointment can do is to leave us this mess in the house, inconvenience & trouble we went through, aggravated feelings that I had to put up with, so I kept the appointment. 
7. I got a call from the manager next day. She appeared 10 times more understanding than ***, but when I asked her it was true that they were going to simply cancel the reservation and walk away from this, she did not deny it. Just before we ended our phone call, she said ‘Ok, we’ll just deduct $350’. I am hoping that she didn’t say this just to end our conversation (she had allergy that day and it was hard for her to speak to me, I understand) and not follow through. *** told me that $175 was the most they can deduct without bring this to a lawsuit so I don’t know. 
8. One thing I asked the manager before our conversation ended is to speak to ***. I told her that errors happen and what determines customer satisfaction is how the company handles the situation and approach the customers. I told her that if *** didn’t act the way he did when error happened, it probably saved all of us from going through the stress of confrontation and I did not have to go this far. She said that she understood and she promised me that she was going to talk to *** about it. 
9. One thing a little minor that I would like to add at the end is that *** was strange in the way how he always denied that he listed to my voice mail messages. I left him a few voice mail messages regarding the incident. First time when he called me back at home, my husband answered the phone and *** told my husband that he was returning my call. My husband gave him my work number as I was at work and asked *** to call me at home but he never did. When I came home from work, I called him and he answered the phone. When I brought up the subject of the message that I left for him, he said ‘I didn’t listen to the message’. This happened a few other times after that… for some reason, he seemed to always not want to admit that there were phone messages for him and that he already did listen to it. Any other day, I would have just thought ‘he’s strange’ but with all of this things happening, it only added to my frustration as I felt what a liar he was being. 
Overall, my experiences with Corky’s turned out to be a nightmare. 
*** **** acted very emotional and disturbing. His behavior was so emotional that I even let him know that I felt as though I was speaking to a toddler (note I have a young boy at home). He did not like that of course…
I wished that I went with a different company but with things all packed away and plans for vacation already made, we could not just have them cancel it. Basically, we were ‘stuck’ and they took an advantage of our situation. That’s how we feel. 

Desired Settlement: 1. I want them to have us be back in the house on Monday, Sep 2 as originally promised. AND 2. Issue credit of $175 as promised. If this cannot happen, I want them to issue credit for $350. This amount will cover $200 (hotel + dog boarding x 2) and $150 for the inconvenience caused by them.

Consumer Response:

?=On Sun, Sep 15, 2013 at 10:03 AM, ****** **** <***********************> wrote:

Hello *****,
 
I wanted to inform you that it appears that we came to a resolution with this matter.
 
I received a phone call from the owner at Corkey's indicating that they were processing additional credit of $175 to be credited back to my Amex card. I checked this and confirmed that the credit was in fact processed on 9/12/13. The owner apologized for the mistake they made and any unpleasant experiences that I experienced.
 
Thank you so much for all of your help. I am glad that it was handled in such timely manner and the owner at Corkey's responded to the situation so quickly.
 
Sincerely,
 
****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 Years ago (2010) i called Corkys Pests Control to have my house checked with unwanted pests. They advertised free evaluation, etc. and the technician cam to my house and performed a 5 minute check. After few weeks, i got a bill for $99. I complained about the bill and they said because they performed the service, i am responsible for the amount stated in the statement. I've talked to the account rep (forgot the name) and said i will pay the amount due even though i am very unhappy with the service provided. Also, i stated that i dont want their service anymore. I have been getting letters, etc from the Corkys even though i didnt want their service. Today July 22, 2013, 3 years later I got a bill for $99. I called the customer service ###-###-#### and asked about the bill. The customer service said that it was the service provided in April. I asked the customer service what service was provided and why was i charged with the service. She said it was the service i've agreed. I told the customer service that for 3 years i have not been charged and all of a sudden i got a bill for the service that I DIDN'T ORDER. She said it was probably a verbal agreement made. I told her if it was a verbal agreement why was I not charged for he past 3 years and all of a sudden i got the service charge. She cannot answer the quest and their account rep will have to return my phone call. Corkys is charging me for services that I DIDNOT order or agreed.

Desired Settlement: Please stop this unwanted bills, the service that i DIDNOT agreed to do. Please do not provide me any other services, and please stop contacting me.

Business Response: Since we are no longer receiving email notifications when complaints are filed we were just made aware of this complaint.  Now that we are  aware we will begin to research this particular customer so we can better respond to the complaint.

Business Response:

On 9/29/10 we performed 1) An estimate for roaches and 2) a limited termite inspection. Both services were completed between 3:41p.m. and 6:09 p.m. The cost for the roach estimate was $40, which was paid immediately by credit card.

The service that took place on 4/24/13 was initiated by a call into our office. The request was for a one-time service to treat for ants, spiders and crickets and included  a call by the technician when he was on his way. The service was completed between 3:21 p.m. and 3:45 p.m. and the cost is $99. We apologize if it came across that the $99 charge was from three years ago when it was actually from 4/24/13.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Corky's performed an un-authorized service to my property on 4/24/2013. I have not have ANY communication or phone conversation from 9/29/2010 with the company. I have not heard from anyone from the company to explain to me what is going on, everytime i call their accounting the person that was handling my account is alway unavailable.

I DO NOT accept the response of the company!

 

Regards,

****** ** **** 

Business Response: This customer has now made multiple complaints. The first complaint submitted by this customer was that we were erroneously charging from 2010. When it was explained to him that the charges from 2010 were paid and the $99 charge was in fact from 2013 he then claimed it was for an unauthorized service.

We rely on the honesty and integrity of people to pay for the services they receive from us. When they don't there is no reasonable way for us to collect their payment. Small claims court would cost more than the service amount and we do not send late paying clients to collections for the same reason. Because of these collection policies we certainly do not provide service without verbal acceptance or requests from homeowners or tenants. In this case we arranged a day and time, the credit card payment and a special request from the client to call as the technician was on his way to the home. With these verbal arrangements made we provided the service and charged accordingly.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Corky spot treated our attic for termite with a 4 year warranty. It is still within our 4 year warranty and the termites have returned. Corky will not come out and spot treat the attic again, they are giving me the runarounds saying the warranty is only good for 1 year. I have paperwork which states 4 years. They refuse to accept that.

Desired Settlement: There are several ways to resolve this. First, they can come out and honor the warranty. Second, they can lower their fumigation price for the whole house by $750 which was the price for the spot treatment. And lastly, they can refund the $750 and I can take my business else where.

Business Response: Our apologies for the delayed response; due to known issues we do not receive complaint notifications from the BBB's email system. 

Since we are just learning of this complaint one of our customer service representatives immediately tried to reach out to this customer to schedule a new inspection to honor the 4 year warranty which would expire March 2014.  A message was left at the number provided in the complaint.  In addition we called a cell phone listed on the account, confirmed the address with the woman who answered and who claims she is not having trouble with termites and would not allow us to come re-inspect the property.  If this customer wishes to continue forward with treatment they may call us at their convenience.  Their account has been noted that we will honor the warranty for 4 years.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After two phone conversations with Corky's to set up the appointment for service, the technician was 3 hours late for the appointment. My future mother in law is in her 50's with Athsma and emphysema. We were told we could reenter the home after two hours. Then the technician told us three hours after three hours of waiting outside with the cats in a crate, I reentered her home to find the floors still completely wet. ***** ******* is my future mother in laws name. She is the homeowner. It was so wet? That she was unable to sleep in her own home, without any notice, due to the fumes. Before and after the service, everytime we contacted Corky's, they could never find our information in the system. The service was horrible. When we complained we got bounced around to three different people without any solution. We are still awaiting our second service which was included in the price that was to be paid. We had to call multiple times to ensure they had the appointment in the computer. They still never seemed to have the correct information in the computer. I am extremely upset that my future mother in law was given incorrect information and forced to sleep outside of her home because of the horrible service and the lack of regard for appointment time.

Desired Settlement: I do not believe after the horrible service provided that ***** should be expected to pay the remaining balance. I also think we should be refunded what was paid. This service is completely unacceptable and if this is not handled in an appropriate manner, I will definitely make sure everyone I know does not go to Corky's for their services.

Business Response: We have contacted our customer and will work to resolve their concerns directly.  Thank you for the opprotunity to take care of our customers.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to tell you about a lousy experience I have had with Corkys Pest Control.I called and arranged an appointment for a certain time (their time) from 9am till 1 Pm. They never showed. I called and they could not explain why they could not get there. I arranged a time for the following day (their Time). The guy comes two hours late. No excuse or reason. Oh!!! we will drop the second service fee. Four days later the gophers are back. I call and they say we cannot come for 7 days...... They scheduled the 20th of June at 9-1 pM. They are not here on the 20th at 12:35 so I call. Oh! we tried to call you to tell you that we cannot make it.... They funny thing is they sent me a card stating the 20th at 9-1 . We tried to call and tell you that we would be there on the 19th. No one was home. No we have things to do and did not receive a phone call to tell us that..They had written the phone number down wrong. After I had spoken to them the 3rd time and verified my phone number, they still had the number wrong. I called again and told them how pissed off I was and that I needed to have the gophers done away with NOW because we were going on vacation and the gophers werre chewing up my yard.Its the 21 and they are supposed to be here now at 3-5 PM. We have a dinner to be at in Encinitias at 6.If any one asks me to recommend them I would tell them Hell no..*** and **** *******###-###-####*************@***.net

Desired Settlement: a call from the Boss or biggest desk

Business Response: We have contacted our customer and will work to resolve their concerns directly.  Thank you for the opprotunity to take care of our customers.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company keeps trying to bill me for services that they did not perform. I have a secured piece of property which they cannot access without a key or permission. There is no way they could perform the service they are billing for. I have talked to the service man in this area and he says he'll get it straightened out but I still get dunning letters from the company. Naturally if this goes on my credit rating I will want to take legal action.

Desired Settlement: A letter telling me this matter has been straightened out and nothing has been filed against my Credit Rating.

Business Response:


Mr. *******,

 

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.  We will immediatly look into this and contact you with further information.

 

Thank you,

 

********* *****

Corky's Pest Control, Inc.

Business Response: Because of a past due balance we will be working directly with the consumer to resolve.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *******

 

I can't find their response to my complaint?????

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *******

 

5/6/13 I cannot find their written response on my computer.  Therefore I cannot answer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *******

Because of my dealings with this company my trust is limited.  I want to be fully assured this problem is corrected and no derogatory remarks on my credit file. I want it corrected by the BBS assistance or the courts.  Thank you for your assistance

***** * ******* 

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

2/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Corky's sprayed my property for pest control on 1-17-2013 after I expressively stated not to do so in December and again on 1-15-2013. I was assured by two customer service agents that it was a mistake and the amount of $69.00 would be recinded. Today I get an invoice for $69.00. On 1/17, I called and told the company representatives to cancel my account because of ludicrous business practices. I first called when I received a notice telling me my house would be sprayed in January. I called and spoke with ******** who told me to rip up the notice because it shouldn't have been sent and I was only to receive a termite reinspection which did happen on 1/9. After the call I made on 1/17 and after ******** telling me everything was handled, 10 minutes later I get another call asking me what the problem is. This person then tells me me the company would never contact me again and the amount was wiped from the books. I told three different persons at the company that it was so poorly run that no one there knew what the others were saying and that I couldn't deal with a company that was run so unethically. My home was sprayed on 12/10/2012 for pest control. There is no reason for them to spray for the same thing on 1/17 or come to spray on 1-15 and then expect me to pay after I said over and over, do not spray in January. I was called by the company in December of 2012 to talk about services and agreed to a quarterly service for pest control. ******** assured me that there would be no problem spraying in December rather than doing the first spraying in January. I can attest that there is a problem and the company should review its practices.Further, the company insists that I insisted that they spray my home whenever they sprayed my neighbors home. Not so since I said over and over, if you want to sync the sprayings then do not do so before the second quarter or April 2013.

Desired Settlement: I want an apology and a statement saying there is no amount due and the account is closed forever. Further, I want to be assured that my warranty for termite tenting is not voided and will be in effect for the full four years, beginning with the tenting in May of 2012.Further, the newest invoice implies that my last statement date was 10/23/2012. I never had any service contract for pest control with Corky's prior to a spraying in December 2012 and a tenting for termites in May 2012.

Business Response: We have attempted to make contact with our customer via phone to apologize, confirm the account has been closed with a zero balance and ensure the warranty for the termite work performed will remain intact.  We will continue to make contact until successful.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** **********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the complaintant's daughter. I handle all her business, and the complaint being lodged is one that I am writing, since I was the person who dealt with Corky's Pest Control directly, in person and on the phone. The receipt/contract for the initial rat service was for $225 and stated that it covered "Rodent Service, placed 5 bait boxes on property. 4 more services 1 week apart." I am writing to clarify that they only serviced the property three additional weeks, rather than the stated "4 more services 1 week apart" that my paperwork documents was agreed upon. On the third follow-up week the tech left a bill for $45. I called and spoke with ***** in accounting who clarified I didn't owe anything for that visit, and that in fact I had an additional week of services already paid for. So the following week I was surprised not to see a note on the door from the tech saying he had been there. I called Corky's and spoke to ******* in Cust Serv who stated that they do not offer 4 follow-up visits, but that their plan is for an initial service to install the boxes and 3 additional weekly visits. I explained what the receipt/contract stated and she said that they don't offer 4 follow-up visits. Their plan only offers 3 follow-up visits. She didn't apologize for the error on my receipt/contract or offer any kind of solution to the problem. It seemed she felt that my concern lacked merit. I told her what ***** had said the week before, but her demeanor didn't change. No help was offered. I told her I was going to call & discuss it with *****. When I called to talk to ***** he was on the other line, so I held for him. When he came on the line I let him know what had transpired, and his response was to deny ever saying that I had an additional week of services covered. I am very dissatisfied with their customer service. Their attitude left me feeling uncared for and of little value.

Desired Settlement: I would like Corky's to apologize for their lack of concern over my problem. I would like them to acknowledge it is a problem that should be addressed, that it does have merit. And I would like them to make some kind of effort to rectify the situation.

Business Response: We apologize for not properly addressing the concern expressed on behalf of Mrs. *****.  We have made contact with our customer's daughter, offered our apologies for the miscommunication on our rodent service and properly explained the initial process.  In addition we have scheduled an extra weekly bait station check as requested. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a rat infestation in our attic. A person showed up and "assessed" my property. He never even came in my house or looked in the attic or anything. He just walked around the perimeter and spaced 3 bait stations out around it. I was told I would receive 5 (it even says on their website that its 5). I thought it was going to be pest control, not just a drop and run. They came once a week for like a month, charged a lot of money every week in addition to the base charge for 5 minutes of work, and never called to say they were coming or not. They would sporadically show up and I was never sure if they put bait in the stations or not. Once I got a call saying they wanted to re-schedule my appointment (that I didn't make) and that the tech couldn't locate any bait stations. I have never moved the bait stations. Another time I got a torn piece of blank paper stuck to my screen door that said to call Corky's to re-schedule service. I sent them an email asking them to remove the stations and discontinue service. They were never removed. My concerns about whether they were refilling the bait stations were confirmed when the wiring in my 2010 truck was chewed through by rats and cost $600 to replace. I received a bill by mail for $120, with no explanation as to what I was being charged for. I called and was told that it's $35 a month whether I got a service done for me or not. I didn't even know this fee existed and was told there's nothing I can do to not have to pay. I thought I paid when the stations were refilled, and I hadn't paid because they weren't getting refilled.

Desired Settlement: I want the $120 bill that I received to be gone, the traps removed from my property and no further contact with this company. I would appreciate a full refund for the lack of service that I have received and in order to partially cover my losses to my vehicle.

Business Response: We have received this complaint and will contact the customer directly to resolve.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 28, 2012, a representative of Corky's Pest Control treated our home for insect problems. The cost of the service was $149. We were told that the treatment would stop ants from entering our kitchen. Less than four weeks later, the ants were back in our kitchen. The only thing that the $149 treatment did was give us a break in the ants for slightly more than 3 weeks. When I called Corky's less than a month after the treatment to ask about the problem, I encountered a rude and uncaring person who told me that I needed to pay an additional $99 if I wanted them to come back and get rid of the ants. I was shocked to encounter such a response, especially after hearing Corky's Pest Control commercials on the radio that promoted their company as the best in San Diego. I was told that I should have purchased an annual service plan if I wanted to get rid of the ants. If that was the case, why didn't they tell me when I signed up for the $149 service that it was a complete waste of money? Even Corky's service plans recommend treatment intervals of 6 weeks which indicates that they expect treatments to be effective for at least 6 weeks. Not our treatment, it lasted just over half of that time and was a complete waste of money.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of the $149 I paid for the treatment. The treatment did nothing to eradicate the ants from my kitchen and I have the same problem that I had before I hired Corky's to fix the problem.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your concern. We are very sorry we were not able to meet your expectations and that you had an unpleasant encounter. We work hard everyday to make sure that our customers have a great experience when interacting with any of our representatives from the office staff to our technicians in the field. The problem is when you call for an ant service in the middle of the summer the colonies are already well established and extremely difficult to control. We do offer a guarantee for our annual customers when we can perform all the necessary services throughout the year. However we tell everyone up front that there is no guarantee on a one-time treatment because it takes multiple treatments throughout the year to take away the reason for the ants being there. We also offer to give credit on the first service within three months if you decide to go onto the annual service. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Response is unacceptable.  The technician never said anything about the ant colonies being established, that it would take multiple treatments to solve the problem, and that one treatment would have no effect.  If that were the case, we would never have had one treatment performed.  We made our payment and the technician left without mentioning any those factors.  We were entirely misled by the service we expected to receive and what we actually received, which was not worth the money.   

Regards,

*****  ********** 

Business Response:

When we are asked to perform a treatment to a property for the control of ants (or spiders) in the middle of the summer we know we have a job cut out for us.  Usually, we are called in after the homeowner has been battling a problem for

quite some time and has become frustrated with the outcome. We know that a 100%

eradication of problem is way outside of our scope of abilities, with a one time service application.  When we are called, we try our best to offer the solution that will best achieve the results that the homeowner expects, by offering an annual service for the property.  By performing an annual service we know that we will be on the property sufficiently to determine where and how and why insects are there.  We also have the opportunity to perform all the needed treatments to control the existing and the migrating insects.  These treatments include treating the plants, shrubs and small trees in order to diminish the food sources for the ants, spiders, etc. and take away their reason for being on the property in the first place. We offer this option immediately at a decidedly discounted rate ($49 per month) and it is up to the customer to decide if this is what they want to do.  When the customer decides that they only want a one time treatment, we are willing to perform that treatment but we do not and can not guarantee that it will be sufficient to control the insect problem for extended periods of time(the invoice states that guarantees for crawling insects are for annual customers only and begin after the second paid service).  We do guarantee that we will perform the service using a state approved chemical for the treatment of the insect (ants) in question, by state licensed personnel. In the middle of the summer we are unable to treat any plantings because of the high temperatures and the propensity of even water to burn or damage plantings. This is another reason we discourage doing onetime services in the middle of the summer. We simply can’t be efficient in removing the food sources of the insects.  We can take care of what we can see and treat other areas that we believe to be harborage or nesting areas but this does not always stop the insects from migrating from other untreated areas or properties.  We believe that you as a customer have the right to decide what is best for your property and your pocketbook and we do our best to meet your expectations within our own

physical limitations.  We believe you chose the option of a one-time service to satisfy your particular set of needs.  We performed the service within our particular set of service parameters to the best of our ability.  We therefore believe we charged the correct amount for the service ($149.00 which was a discounted rate, normally $197.00) we performed.  If a second service is needed after a one-time service is performed we automatically discount that service to $99, which is just above our cost.   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that they did not make an offer and therefore, did not resolve my complaint.  My original complaint with their service (or lack of) remains unchanged.  They collected my payment (they also would not allow me to use my coupon) which essentially amounted to a cost of $50 per week for three weeks to keep the ants out of the house.  Anyone who is considering Corky's Pest Control should avoid them at all costs and don't be lured-in by the coupons that somehow don't apply to your situation.

Please show my complaint as unresolved. 

Regards,

***** **********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Corkys pest control co were hired to spray for Pantry Moths. They came out on October 18. They requested their money up from before he would start the job. He walked in with a spray bottle in his hand and asked for a step ladder. This made me question the service because it didn't look professional. He didn't do the job, we still have the bugs, and to have them come back out, we were told we would have to pay an additional $49.95. Yes, we would have to pay again for them to do the job we paid them to do in the first place. ******** came up with every excuse she could come up with to put the blame on us. Bottom line is this. I am 69 years of age. I had just come home from 19 days of hospitalization following Lung Cancer surgery. I was very weak, and definitely didn't need to have removed everything from the cabinets and drawers, only to be back to square one. We still have bugs, but we had to put things away to keep me from falling. Corkys did not do the job, yet she said they don't guarentee one time treatments. Yet their invoice nor their flyer states that at all. ******** argued with us and didn't care one bit that we still had bugs. She tried to make it our fault.....Such poor business!!!

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund since we have to start all over and hire someone else to do the job we paid Corky's to do. I don't have that kind of money to throw around. I live on Social security and don't have any other money coming in.

Business Response: We have rectified this complaint directly with our customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/14/2012 I turned over control of my property to Corky's Pest control for the purposes of fumigating my house for termites, via a tenting method.Upon entry into my home on Monday 9/17/2012 we quickly noticed that the freezer door was left open and all the food in the freezer had thawed.I made contact with Corky's on 9/17/2012 and was told that a supervisor would contact me the following day. I have had day email or phone contact with the customer service agent but I have yet received a call from the supervisor.Approximately 70 lbs of food was lost with approximately 55 lbs being wild game (exotic meet).Needless to say I am extremely dissatisfied. I have been a customer with Corky's for a year where they have service my property competently for a year. It is unfortunate to see this problem continue to linger and be handled so poorly.

Desired Settlement: I have no idea how to go about settling this; you can't go out and purchase wild game, harvesting it is very expensive. A recent hunting trip to AZ which yield 20 Dove breast at cost of approximately $900. A calculation of the cost of acquisition for all the meat would quickly exceed the Superior Court Claims limit of $7500 and would extremely surpass the amount paid for the tenting. Most of the items can be purchased with a farm raised equivalent, but it's not the same.

Business Response:

We have resolved this complaint with Mr. *******. We thank him for taking the time to notify us of this situation. Although it is required that before we perform a fumigation all doors including refrigerators and freezers be opened we take full responsibility for our mistake that resulted in his loss.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/14/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. & Mrs. ***** ********* ******** ********* ****** ** *****###-###-####; ###-###-#### (cell)****************** 19 September, 2012Mr. Corky Mizer, C.E.O.Corkys Pest Control909 Rancheros DriveSan Marcos, CA 92069Mr. Mizer:As fellow business owners, we believe that you need to be aware of serious problems that your company has caused us. Corkys Pest Control is directly responsible for the following: 1) Loss of sale of house.2) Fees paid to another termite company to treat infestation while were under contract with Corkys.3)Cost to replace mainstay framing to house. Damage occurred while under contract with Corkys.Here is a thumbnail sketch of the chronology:1/25/2010 - ********* at Corkys was out to inspect house. ********* recommended heat treating the attic. ********* promised our happiness.3/22/10 - We had termite treatment completed in attic per Corkys suggestion of heat treatment as opposed to tenting. $1500.3/10/11 - Called for recheck. Contract allows a 2 yr recheck, but Corkys said theyd come out. No evidence of termites was found.3/23/12 - 2 yr inspection. ***** found droppings in the attic but could not determine if they were new, so he masked the area and said hed be back in 3-4 mos to check for droppings on top of the masking.6/18/12 ***** returned to report that there were NO new droppings on top of masking and gave us an all clear report.8/17/12 ***** returned at our specific request for Corkys to complete inspection for escrow. (This was despite our realtors strong urgency not to use your firm.) ***** tells buyer that there is a SEVERE INFESTATION OF TERMITES and that house must be tented and that the vines WILL DIE. Buyer backs out of escrow and we lose the sale of our house.9/12/12 Xtermite completes treatment w/orange oil. Inspection of wood damage in the attic reveals significant damage to the central wood beam that supports the roof and recommends that the beam be REPLACED! This damage happened under your watch! Our Corkys contract (dated 1/25/10) clearly states that all work completed by Corkys Pest Control shall be guaranteed for 4 years. We have been under contract with your company this entire time. How could you have missed this damage? To add insult to injury, we had to pay ******** $1595 to treat the attic that was cleared by Corkys less than 60 days prior. In addition, because the termites were allowed to continue unchecked, we now have the added expense of replacing major house framing.It is an understatement to say that we are disappointed. What do you think is a fair resolution to this matter? As a minimum, you should fully refund the $1500 non-treatment performed by your company.**** and *** *****Cc: Better Business Bureau

Desired Settlement: At a minimum, we feel Corky's should refund our payment of $1500.

Business Response:

In an effort to resolve this complaint we have made several attempts to contact The *****'s via phone. We would like to offer our apologies and fulfill their desired settlement with a refund as they requested.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AFTER THE SUPERVISOR SURVEYED MY HOUSE TWICE AND TOLD ME THE COST OF REPAIRS TO MY HOUSE DUE TO PROBLEMS OF DRY ROT AND TERMITE DAMAGE, I AGREED TO HAVE THE REPAIRS DONE .WHEN THE SERVICE PEOPLE ARRIVED, THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE SUPERVISOR HAD NOT CAUGHT ALL OF THE NECESSARY REPAIRS AND THAT IT WOULD COST ME SOMEWHERE BETWEEN $1600-1800 ADDITIONAL TO COMPLETE THE JOB CORRECTLY.I CALLED THE OFFICE AND SPOKE TO SEVERAL PEOPLE REGARDING MY PROBLEM. NO ONE WAS WILLING TO SOLVE THIS ISSUE NOR DID THEY SEEM TO CARE. I AM AWARE OF THE OLD "BAIT AND SWITCH" BUT ITHOUGHT A REPUTABLE COMPANY AS CORKY'S WOULD NOT DO THAT.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE CORKY'S TO DO THE COMPLETE JOB AS THEY PRESENTED IT TO ME. I ASSUMED THE SUPERVISOR WAS EXPERIENCED AND WOULD GIVE ME THE COST OF THE TOTAL JOB WHICH IHAVE DEFINED ON MY CONTRACT. ALSO, I AM VERY SURPRISED THAT NO ONE IN THE OFFICE SEEMS TO CARE ENOUGH TO CALL ME OR COME TO THE SITE. I BELIEVED I WAS PAYING FOR A TOTAL JOB AS DESCRIBED BY THE SUPERVISOR.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to address this situation.

We apologize for the misconception and would like to ensure Ms. ***** that a “bait and switch” selling method was not applied, nor is it ever.  We take great pride knowing that our company is operated with the utmost honesty and integrity and always do what we feel to be the very best for our customers.  Below is our account of what happened. 

Upon initial inspection a bid was given to repair dry rot and termite damaged boards.  The level of damage was determined by a visual inspection as well as probing to the boards in the area of concern.  At that time we gave the most accurate bid for repairs based on the evidence found.  It wasn’t until the repair crew started the removal of the damaged boards that they found additional damage.  This additional damage was in an area that was not visible or accessible during the initial inspection and could have only been detected with the removal of the beams.  Based on the nature of our company we immediately notified Ms. ***** of this unexpected finding and informed her of the additional cost, which the crewman discounted since he was already on-site, to remove and replace the extra beams.  Because Ms. ***** expressed her concern and dissatisfaction our supervisor was sent to access the situation and offer assistance.  As a result of his visit three options were discussed with Ms. *****: a) Pay the discounted price to remove and replace all damaged boards including those discovered once work had started, b) Continue with the original repair and leave all others as they were, or c) Continue with the original repair then dig out as much of the newly discovered damaged beam and fill using a wood filler, which would cost less than replacing the entire beam but not offer the best possible repair.  At this time, at the instruction of Ms. ***** the repair was performed and completed based on the original findings.  We sincerely apologize for the unforeseen additional damage but as mentioned before this was only visible once the repair process was started and the beams were exposed. 

Thank you!

 

********* ******** ***** 

Personal Assistant to ***** *****

Corky's Pest Control

909 Rancheros Dr.

San Marcos, CA 92069 

760-291-3130

fax 760-432-9465

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had rodent control service set up with Corky's for the past month. When they came initially, I told them there was a rodent INSIDE the house in addition to whatever was outside. They suggested setting traps outside, finr but I really needed the rodent out of my house. We clearly heard it in the laundry room every night and it took dog food if we left it out. The technician said the rodents were coming in through the hot water heater closet, however there was absolutely NO entrance from there into the house. I told him I was sure they were entering through the dryer vent. He said he had to do the traps first, so the vent remained open. I told Corky's they needed to come for service between 8-9 on Friday AMs because I work and that's when the gardner is available to let them in the back. After that, the techs either did not come during the time frame we set up for them to come (Friday morning between 8-9 when the gardener is here), then said that they should actually have set it up for 7-9 instead (told to me by someone with--really--excellent customer service skills, think his name is *****, however he was the ONLY one at the company who showed excellent customer service and follow through). They sometimes came inconsistently left service reports if they DID come. They said they would block the vent for approx $85 the next time they checked the traps, however they did not do this, therefore--even if there were less rodents OUTSIDE, the rodent was still INSIDE the laundry room at night.I had another company block the vent, and the rodent in the house is finally gone. I have paid Corky's nearly $2000 over the past year for rodent control, insect control and termite tenting. Their rodent control service was inconsistent and did not include removing--or even trying to remove--the rodent from inside the house (I have children and pets living in the house, so this is really gross and unhealthy). I cancelled the rodent service from Corky's and will never use their service again.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for half of the money I have paid for rodent service, and I suggest that Corky's institute a customer service program which includes clear communication skills across all areas (i.e. if their customer service on the phone says one thing, ensure the tech are totally aware of what was promised and will follow through).

Business Response:

***** ******* **** ********* *** ****** ***** *** *****

Re: Unsatisfactory Sevice

Ms. *******,

Your letter of complaint to the Better Business Bureau, has just come across my desk and I
am sincerely sorry for the unnecessary stress and aggravation that was caused by our service
technician and our obvious lack of follow through taking care of your property's rodent
problem.

After reading your description of events it is evident that we altogether missed your greatest
concern, the rodent coming in and out of your home. Of course it is imperative to reduce
the rodent population around the home to limit the number of rodents that may try to access
the interior through vents and other access points. Our exterior rodent control program with
the bait stations placed strategically on the property where rodents may nest or travel
through the property is and has been very successfuL I'm sure if we had followed through
with the exclusion process it would have been successful for you also.

Having said all this, it is my intention to honor your request for the return of half the amount
you spent on the rodent service for your property. The total amount was $270.00, therefore
we will include a check for $135.00 with this letter.

Apologies are certainly in order and are given with great sincerity.

Respectfully,

***** ******** ******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

8/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Corky's sprays our home once every 12 weeks, last service they did was on the 27th of June, service is supposed to eliminate aunts around the home, I called on the 10th of July to complain that the house is full of aunts, gentleman on the phone told me to wait another 24 hours and they should die because of the effect of the chemicals, I did, nothing happened, I called again on the 16th, talked to 3 people to see if they can redo the service and the refused, last call they said we would reduce your charge from 59 to 49 but I still have to pay for them to come out and correct the service , another lady said that I need to pay them for April and June service for them to come out although complained that I do not want to pay for June because the service is crappy, she did not want to listened to me. at this point, I am not going to pay them for June but will for April, I cancelled my service, I do not recommend these people to anyone, our backyard is full of aunts, our family room and kitchen are full of aunts, they are not ethical at all, worst they are not smart business people either, I am a real estate broker and I promise to trash them everywhere I go. My daughter cannot even sleep in her room because of the aunts. Thanks

Desired Settlement: I need them to correct their mistake and do a good service, further, I know they pay BBB to have their logo on their, but BBB should not lend a hand to crooks like these people

Business Response:

August 21, 2012 

Re: BBB Complaint

      Ref # *******

      *** ******

      **** ******** ********

      San Diego, Ca. 92127

 

To Whom It May Concern: 

The situation described by the above named client needs to be taken in perspective.  We are truly concerned about relieving the problems of our customers and strive to maintain insect control on their properties.  The service program that was chosen by this client was our economy 12 week service and it is thoroughly explained in the annual service agreement, that this service (because of the length of time between services), carries no guarantee against insect re-infestation.  This service program is specifically designed for the economy or budget minded and those that do not have recurring heavy insect activity on their properties.  

This property’s history shows that they started on a 6week premium service program and did take advantage of the re-treat guarantee, then changed to the economy 12 week service. 

Our guarantee for this 12 wk economy service program, is that the service will be performed on a 12 week basis, by state licensed personnel, using the appropriate (state approved) products  for the specific insect problem on the property. 

Even if the client had paid for the one extra service, they would still have paid less for their yearly service than those on the Premium 6 week services.  

We are sorry that the situation escalated to the point of anger and dissatisfaction on the part of the client. 

At this point there is no way to rectify the situation other than to agree to delete the last service charge and clear the account. 

Respectfully, 

***** ********

General Manager

************

************************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I accept their response, to clarify, I did not choose the 12 week program, they are the one's that suggested this, also, i never had this issue before, why now, i will continue to trash this company everywhere i go. i t is a promise, I am a real estate broker and have some clout around town. I did call them before i went to BBB but they refused to drop the charge, only after i came to you they dropped, in my boo, they are cowards.

Regards,

*** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Corkys charged me $180.00 to kill bee;s in a light pole. Told me it would take 2-3 days, on the 4th day still had bees, came out on the 5th day and wanted to charge me again. I refuse tp pay twice.

Desired Settlement: Refund or this is to serve them 30 day demand notice or triple damages in small claims court.

Business Response:

I'm sorry for the delay in our response.  As I mentioned to you over the phone we had some communication trouble with receiving our complaint notifications.

 

As for this claim (ID *******) we have resolved this issue with ****** ****, on 8/8/12 we issued a refund check for the full amount of $180.00 for the bee service performed on 5/12/12. 

 

Please let me know if you need anything further.


Thank you,
 

 

********* ******** *****

 

Personal Assistant to Corky Mizer

Corky's Pest Control

909 Rancheros Dr.

San Marcos, CA 92069

 

760-291-3130

fax 760-432-9465

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Corky's Monday, April 2, 2012 and was given an appointment the next day 4/3/12 between the hours of 3-6pm. I gave the representative my work phone number and my cell phone and he assured me that the service tech would contact me when he was 30 minutes away (I live 7 minutes from work). I got home at 4:30pm on 4/3/12 and waited for Corky's. Finally at 6:10pm, I call the ************ and I said to the female representative that someone was suppose to meet me between the hours of 3-6pm, she says "please hold while I contact the technician." I wait about two minutes and she comes back and says that my appointment was for Wednesday, April 5 between 3-6pm. I told her that was impossible because I was in interviews all day and that the guy I spoke with the previous day gave me the appointment for Tuesday. This woman offered no apology, NOTHING. I asked my boyfriend if Friday would be ok for me to reschedule and he said "no," then the Corky's rep asked me if I wanted to reschedule and I said no. I believe that when the female rep put me on hold, she did contact the tech and this person said they couldn't get there today and that's why I was on hold for so long and also the point of when she came up with the lie that my appointment was scheduled for Wednesday. I think this company is shady and I do not plan on doing any business with them in the future.I did not make a mistake on the date. I am disappointed in Corky's for not taking responsibility. I don't see the point of using your services and I wish I had checked the BBB prior to making the appointment because it looks as though this company has a lot of complaints on the service side. Corky's management needs to get this under control, it's no way to do business and I do plan on ******* this as well. When I get bad service (or in this case no service) I let people know.

Desired Settlement: This company needs to get its act together. Some customers make mistakes on their appointments, but I'm not one of them. When you schedule an appointment and you can't make it, let the customer know. Honor your commitments. I don't personally want Corky's to do anything for me.

Business Response:

   In regards to the above complaint I called Miss. ******* complaint, I did call her personally to apologize for the incident and for any inconvience that we had caused her and her boyfriend. I did also let her know that managment will be looking further into this matter and will will make attempts to resolve this particular type of issue in the future. Lastly I left her my phone number so that I may personally apologize to her myself.

 

Sinclery ****** *  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had signs of termites and Corky's come out to assess the problem. ***** inspected the house and we mentioned a leaking window. He said that they could fix. Their was a corner of the house that had termite/dryrot, 'belly board' needed replaced in front and a bottom trim was water damaged along one side of garage. He said that to repair window it would have to be torn down, fix mold and fungus, remove gutter and replace flashing, new siding installed and total waterproofing. I signed a bid for $3,550 damage repair and $750. termite treatment. My credit card was to be charged on completion.***** didn't show up when workers started and all they did around window was take trim off and squirt sealer around window. Carpenter was replacing trim that didn't match other windows. They didn't fix corner termite/dryrot but tore down my patio deck covering. My daughter specifically told ***** that we did not want anything done to the decks as they were recently rebuilt. I was shocked! As I was speaking with contractor at side door, I turned to find ***** standing inside my home eavesdropping on our conversation. I called my daughter immediately to come home. The contractor said that they were going by the work order. They removed chunks of bellyboard and some rot found so we told them that we would get bids on that work. Bellyboard was not replaced. I had the paint and trim for most of the work done. Left message for ***** and he never returned call or have I seen him since. Next day, carpenter came to properly do window. no damage inside wall, only remove window, repaper and seal. The next day they did the corner and bottom board on garage. Supervisor ** ***** came Jan. 10th. and did walk around and explained what was done and wanted to be charged for what actually was done.minus deck fiasco. I would be contacted. All our calls to Corky's have not been returned and my creditcard was charged on day 2 of this. ** said not to worry and they would make this right. Corky's will not return our calls.

Desired Settlement: Fair price for actual work . 1. Removed window, repapered, resealed. replaced original siding. (trim and paint I furnished); 2. North corner one board replaced; 3. One board replaced on garage; 4. Termite treatment. I was charged $4300. for this. I have pictures of work done before, during and after.

Business Response:

In regards to complaint# *******, customer ******* * ****** ** **** ******** **** ********* ** ******, we resolved the issue dorestly with the customer on 2/12/13. As per our agreement with Mrs.******, we cradited her credit card back $1,500 on the date of 2/20/12. So we now consider this matter closed.

If you have any futher questions please feel free to contact me at ********************************** .

Sincerly ****** *

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early September of this year I had my residence treated for termites by Corky's Pest Control. I was told by their representative, ***, that I would need to purchase an ant abatement treatment after the tenting of the house since they would become a problem feeding on the dead termite bodies. The additional cost for this service was $69.99.I was billed for and paid for the ant abatement in mid-September.About a month went by and we began to see ants in the kitchen. The problem was not significant and we elected not to make an issue of it. Several days ago, our kitchen had hundreds of ants. I called Corky's and talked to thier ******* of abatement services, **** *** said that I could pay for additional treatments since the inital treatment was not guaranteed. He said that I should have been told that this was the case; the only way that it would be covered was if I had paid for an additional treatment.It's been less than 60 days sine the treatment for ants. Clearly the initial treatment was not effective if I indeed received it (was not at home when the treatment was provided).I would think that this could be remedied by simpy retreating for ants.

Desired Settlement: treat the house for ants at no additional cost.

Business Response:

RE: Complaint by Customer **** ***** ********* ** *********** ***** ******** ********** *** *****  

*********,

 

I received your correspondence and wanted to respond to *** ******* complaint of 11/10/2011

 

The facts as related by *** ***** are essentially correct.  We did do substantial termite work in early September and as is normally done, we scheduled an “ant abatement” service on September 12th.  This service is designed to kill ants outside the immediate tented area and to create a barrier to minimize ant intrusion into the home after the tenting.  This service was performed and was effective for approximately 60 days.  This is the normal time the products we use to create that barrier are expected to last and be effective.

*** ***** called in to our termite department about the time he sent this complaint to ask for a free respray inside the house as he had a large ant infestation in the kitchen.  Our termite representative told him correctly that this service was not guaranteed, and that we would be happy to come out to respray at a discounted price of $69.  He felt that the original service should have been guaranteed and disputed the additional cost, ultimately leading to his complaint.

I called him this morning and explained the reason for the additional charge, why we have a guaranteed service that includes treatment every 6 weeks to keep and strengthen the barriers we work to create around the house, and that the $69 is a discounted price.

Then I said that as a courtesy and appreciation for his termite business, we would do a one time interior service to address the interior ant problem.  I am working now with **** ***** to find a time on Monday to do that.

Part of this problem may have been one of not setting correct expectations about our guarantee policy when the abatement service was scheduled, and I am currently working with all our representatives to better address that with our customers.

 

Please feel free to contact me if there are any other questions,

 

 

***** ****** ******** ** ********** **** *******

Corky’s Pest Control

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.  The response from the business is simply not truthful which is an ongoing concern.  Nonetheless, they have resprayed at no additional cost to me which is acceptable.

Regards,

**** *****  

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1