BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Download Download Download

BBB Accredited Business since

C.A. Luce Termite Control

Phone: (760) 294-2634 View Additional Phone Numbers 581 Montview Dr, Escondido, CA 92025 http://www.caltermitecontrol.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pest control services, specializing in termite control.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that C.A. Luce Termite Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C.A. Luce Termite Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C.A. Luce Termite Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 17, 2008 Business started: 03/01/1998 in CA Business started locally: 03/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 5708.

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 9842.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Chris Luce, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Luce, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Pest Control Services Fumigation Services Termite Control

BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages


Additional Locations

  • 581 Montview Dr

    Escondido, CA 92025 (760) 294-2634 (760) 443-5101 (866) 895-1554

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for C.A. Luce Termite Control

DISCOUNT: Senior & Military Discount: $100 off all fumigations 

This company offers pest control services, specializing in termite control. 

To receive this discount, contact 760-294-2634 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer expires on 12/25/14. 
DISCOUNT: Senior & Military Discount: $100 off all fumigations 

This company offers pest control services, specializing in termite control. 

To receive this discount, contact 760-294-2634 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer expires on 12/25/14. 
DISCOUNT: Senior & Military Discount: $100 off all fumigations 

This company offers pest control services, specializing in termite control. 

To receive this discount, contact 760-294-2634 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you. 

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in combination with any other discount, offer, special, or promotion. 

This BBB Discount Offer expires on 12/25/14. 
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (760) 443-5101(Phone)
  • (866) 895-1554(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was scheduled to use ***** of CA Luce Termite Control to tent my house on Saturday April 27, 2014 but unfortunately the wind kicked up that day and we were forced to delay. My wife was due for major back surgery so we were scrambling to get it done beforehand and the only day that would work in our schedule the following week was Wednesday April 30th and ***** was unable to accommodate this, so we ended up switching companies to one that could. I proactively contacted his office manager, ********, at 8:35 am on Tuesday April 29th to let her know that I still had the lock box and bags that he had provided to us and because our house was in Point Loma and their office was in Escondido (about 45 minutes away), we agreed that it would work well for me to leave the items with the reception desk at my office in Rancho Bernardo (only 10 minutes from their office) and that ***** could swing by and grab them sometime. Our second tenting date ended up getting cancelled once again due to wind, so we rescheduled with the same company for the following Thursday May 8th which overlapped the dates of my wife's surgery and subsequent hospital stay. ******** contacted me at 3:59 pm on Tuesday May 6th indicating that ***** could not find my office to pick up the items and that he would be in the Point Loma area for another job on Thursday and asked if I could leave the items on the front porch for him to pick up, to which I agreed. I had already left my office for the day and the next day (Wed 5/7/14), my wife had reconstructive back surgery so I was out all day with her in the hospital. Early on the morning of Thursday May 8th, my Mom came to the hospital to care for my wife so I could head to the house to be able to call into a conference call for work and get the house ready for the third try at tenting. While on the call, I remembered that this was the same day that ******** had asked if ***** could pick up the items but since I had not been back in my office since our call I did not have them so I made a note to call her once I got off of the conference call to let her know so that he did not waste the trip over. Unfortunately, ***** showed up at the door while I was still on my work conference call and I apologized for the mix-up and started to explain the situation but he abruptly turned and left. That evening, I received an invoice via email asking me to pay $100 for the lockbox and bags. I responded with the following email that same evening: "********- I am happy to coordinate getting these items back to you, but am not planning to pay this invoice as I have no intention of keeping them and proactively contacted you early last week to work out how to get them back to you. As we'd discussed at that time, because your office is in Escondido and our house is in Point Loma we agreed that it would be far more convenient for me to bring them to my office to be picked up because it is in Ranch Bernardo which is substantially closer to Escondido, and they could be held at the front desk which would allow them to be picked up anytime during normal business hours. I have had these items at the front reception desk of D&K Engineering at ***** ********* **** *** ****** ** ***** for over a week waiting to be picked up but no one has come to get them. We did speak on Tuesday afternoon about having ***** pick them up in Point Loma sometime today but I have not been in the office since our call as ******* went into the hospital for surgery this week and things have been rather upside down as a result. I stopped at the house this morning to grab some clothes and make a call for work and suddenly realized that today was Thursday and that ***** was due to come by sometime, but was on still on the work call when he showed up. My apologies for the wasted trip. The bags and lock box are still at the Goldentop location which is diagonally across the intersection from Frozen Ropes (an easy landmark to navigate to using Google Maps). They can be picked up there anytime during normal business hours. If this does not work for some reason, please let me know. Thank you. -*****" I then received the following email back from ***** the next morning: "hi ***** i could have tented you house yesterday why didnt i get that opportunity to tent your house it wasnt my fault it was to windy that saturday but the part a dont understand is why you fell you need to lie to me................ im a big boy i can take it.........so for you to answer the door and you tell me that ***** is in surgery i dont really care so take the bags and put them over your head and secure tightly and put the lock box were the sun dont shine you have wasted all the time and money i allow so no need to respond probaly be just another lie .............youve been spamed so no need to try to contact us again" While I can understand the frustration, *****'s reaction was horrendously unprofessional and unnecessary. I was in the hospital with my wife when I received this so I took a picture of her in the recovery room with the pre- and post-operative x-rays and another close up of the post-operative x-ray clearly showing the date (5/8) and once she was comfortable enough for me to leave her for a few hours I personally returned the lock box and bags to ******** at their home office in Escondido. I explained the situation to her, read her the above email and showed her the pictures. She was pleasant but hardly shocked and indicated that "***** overreacts sometimes".

Business Response: hi ***** thank-you for taking the time to slander my company you are missing quit a few important facts as to what transpired during our attempt to provide service to the house on cornish. i was dealing with a ***** ******** and then you stepped in and decided you would lie to me and my office staff on more than one occasion , i had ***** sign all the paper work on this job and  be-leave this isnt your house as you stated you live in poway and ***** told me her fiance lived in poway so .........your not married to *****  ......it was inappropriate  as to what i said in e-mail and apologize  for what i said due to your inability to tell me the truth it  got to this point .Its usually a pleasure to work with home owners and to provide them with  quantity repairs and treatments, unfortunately there are people in this world like you that make it hard to own a small company i don't know *****............... my customer was ***** the owner of the home who when i meet her  on 2 occasions was very nice,and i would like to apologize to her and hope she recovers quickly from her surgery ,*****s   handling of this matter is were the problem lies. so as for a complaint to the bbb on this matter isnt right, its more of a bad review at best and could have been avoided if ***** could have  picked up the phone and told us the truth,instead of slandering  me/tell inaccurate account of what happened on here and yelp, i was called to provide service to a home in point loma and did not ask boyfriend of owner to come to my place of business  and confront/ harass  my office staff ,but apparently that's ok 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 *****-

I do not understand what element of my statement you believe to be untrue as you repeatedly refer to me as a liar, nor do I understand why you believe my statement is slanderous as it is merely recounting the facts of the situation as they unfolded with exact copy/paste copies of our email exchange.  Not that it is relevant to this or excuses your actions, but ******* and I were both your customers as my old house in Poway sold on April 22nd (this is public record) and we are engaged and both resided in the house prior to our engaging your services.

The facts of the matter are that you were scheduled to tent our home on Saturday April 26th (my initial message incorrectly said the 27th, but Saturday was the 26th).  On this day, the wind in San Diego was 28 mph with gusts to 36 mph as you can confirm here: **************************************************************************************************************************************  Because of these high winds you were unable to tent the house that day.  No your fault.  Not our fault.   Just unfortunate circumstance.  Over the course of the next few days, you spoke to both ******* and I and we both made it very clear to you that she was having major surgery shortly and that were desperately trying to get the tenting taken care of prior to her surgery and the only day that would work for us to tent again the following week was Wednesday April 30th.  You told us on Monday that you were unable to accommodate that date and could only do Thursday or Saturday.  Again, not your fault, and not our fault.  Just the circumstance as it unfolded.  When we’d initially quoted this job we’d received two competitive quotes and so we contacted the other company and they were able to accommodate us to tent the house on Wednesday April 30th so ******* contacted ******** and let her know that we would not be using your services and we scheduled with the other company for Wednesday April 30th.  As it happened, the Santa Ana winds kicked up that day and the wind in San Diego was 29 mph with gusts to 41 mph as you can confirm here: ***********************************************************************************************************************  Once again, because of these high winds we were unable to tent the house that day.  Not the new company’s fault.  Not our fault.  Just the reality of the situation as it unfolded.  With her surgery looming on Wednesday May 6th, we opted to reschedule for Thursday May 7th figuring that she would be in the hospital and I could figure out a place to stay and that we’d just have to deal with it as apparently mother nature had other plans for us.  Thankfully, it was not windy on May 7th and we were able to get the tenting done that day and, yes, it was not with you, but another company, but that was merely because of how the situation unfolded and nothing more.

Amidst all of this, I noted that we still had your lock box and plastic bags and, without you or ******** contacting me, I proactively contacted her to ensure that I could get your materials back to you as it was the right thing to do.  Your subsequent email attack was completely uncalled for and utterly unprofessional.  As I see it, there were two bad things that happened to you prior to your attack: 1) you did not get our business and 2) when you came to pick up the lock box from the house on May 7th I did not have them.  Regarding you losing our business, if you review the above it was merely because you were unable to accommodate us on the date that we needed to reschedule.  Not our fault, not your fault.  Just the circumstance.  Second, regarding your wasted trip to the house, I apologized to you when you came to the house and again explained this in my email and apologized for it there, as well.  I spoke with ******** when she called me on Tuesday afternoon May  6th at 3:59pm and agreed to bring the items home with me for you to pick up on Thursday morning.  What I did not realize at the time was that I would not be back in the office by Thursday morning as I’d already left the office when she called on Tuesday and then I was in the hospital all day Wednesday because of *******'s surgery.  This was my error and I am sorry for the time that it wasted for you to drive to the house (even though you were already in the area) and walk away empty handed.  This was not my intention.  Typically I go to work every day and this would have been no issue for me to bring the items home but my wife-to-be was in the hospital that day and that became my one and only priority so your lock box and bags did not cross my mind until it was too late.  Any reasonable person would understand this unintentional digression.

Aside from these two things, which I acknowledge, I did nothing to deserve your email attack.  Irregardless, it was atrocious and completely unprofessional to respond via a consciously thought out email and express that you didn't care about the fact that someone had just had reconstructive back surgery and then instruct me to suffocate myself with a plastic bag and stuff the lock box “where the sun don’t shine”.  In the end, I went ahead and drove the items to your office/house and dropped them off myself and showed ******** the photos of ******* in the hospital along with the date on her post-operative x-ray so that it would be 100% clear that everything that I'd stated was factual. Had you treated us with a modicum of respect and professionalism I would have had no reason to post your message on Yelp or with the BBB, but, that is exactly why these services exist - to broadcast the actions of a company for the knowledge of prospective future clients.


Regards,

*****



Business Response: This is ******** here, an I never received a call from ******* stating that you would not be using our services and you scheduled with the other company for Wednesday April 30th.   It would have been the polite thing to do.  When I did speak to ***** on Tuesday the 6th, I had mentioned to him that maybe they should just hold onto the lock box and bags till they do decide to do the fumigation, He did say anything about them scheduling with the other company.  He said no ***** could come by on Thursday to pick them up, he would have them outside.  So on Thursday when ***** went by to pick them up, they weren't there, and that is when ***** seen S.D.G.&E. there.  S.D.G.&E. said they were preparing for fumigation that day.  It would have been nice if we would have been told they were going with the other company, cause they could do the 30th and we couldn't.

What ***** said wasn't professional and both of us have apologized for his upset.  He spent time and gas, and now are spending even more time, on having to respond to these complaints.   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have this response to file and subsequently wish to close this matter:

********-

I am not sure how it was so unclear that we had scheduled with another company for April 30th as both ******* and I recall informing you of this on our separate calls with you and I was actively working with you to get your equipment back to you.  In any case, it certainly did not warrant the response that ***** sent.  If it weren’t for that, we would not be having this dialogue.  I think it’s clear where we both stand at this point and we can agree to disagree and move on as I’m sure we both have better things to focus our energy on.  

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/21/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues