BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Download
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service pest, termite, ant and bird control as well as fumigation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bite-A-Way Termite and Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bite-A-Way Termite and Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bite-A-Way Termite and Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 05, 2007 Business started: 05/31/2005 in CA Business incorporated: 06/29/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 4826.

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 5215.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles M Brown, Vice President Mr. Rodney Houston, President Ms. Daa'Iyah N Peterman, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles M Brown, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Rodney Houston, President
Number of Employees

16

Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Checks, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
Alternate Business Names
Bite-A-Way Termite and Pest Control Inc

Additional Locations

  • 7370 Mission Gorge Rd

    San Diego, CA 92120 (619) 582-7378

  • 926 S Andreasen Dr #110

    Escondido, CA 92029 (760) 233-2120

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for Bite-A-Way Termite and Pest Control

Discount: 15% off any termite or pest control service for first time customers.

This company offers full service pest, termite, ant and bird control as well as fumigation.
 
To receive discount, contact (619) 582-7378 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you.

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in conjunction with any other discount, offer, special or promotion.
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October of 2012, I sat down with ** (representative for Bite-Away ) to resolve my termite problems and also to repair or replace my patio roof because it had a small amount of leaks due to dry rot. I only agreed to give Bite Away my business if they could fix the problems that originally caused the leaks, before replacing the roof. Two of Bite Away's employees explained to ** that there was not only termite damage, but also other problems that could have caused the leaks on the roof. So I told ** that if you agree to repair or replace whatever was needed to fix the leaks on the roof, I would have your company do the complete job.After the job had been completed, I looked on the roof a noticed several cracked/broken tile aroundand near the patio roof. I did buy the $200 tile insurance. The employees spent a lot of time walking on the roof and I do believe that they could have caused some of the new leaks.There was really no way to check to see if the leaks were gone until it rained. Since we had heavy rain in January 2013, I checked the patio on a rainy day and discovered that not only was the roof still leaking, it had more leaks than before Bite Away did the work. 75% of my patio is now leaking. I called ** on 1/15/13 at 2pm, and he told me to contact the owner, ****** ******* and see if I could work out a deal to fix the leak. So I asked ** why should I have to make a deal with his boss if repairing the leaks was included in the original agreement. After talking to the owner, he refused to correct the problem. He said they don't fix roofs, they only do termite repairs. I told him that ** made an agreement with me to fix or replace the leaks in my patio roof. So I told the owner that if he did not send anyone out to fix the problem, then I was going to pursue legal action. The owner ******, told me "do what you have to do".It would not have made since for me to entered into an agreement and pay $900 to just repair dry rot without correcting all the problems.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get back the full amount(approximately 1,000) of money I paid to repair or replace the patio.

Business Response: Hello,


I have forwarded this information to the owner of the company.  Either myself or the owner take care of this matter within 24 hours.

Thank you,

******** ********

Business Response: In response to your letter dated 02/25/2013, the following statement is provided:
On October 23, 2012, Bite Away Termite issued a Wood Destroying Pests and Organisms Inspection
Report, rpt #*****, which recommended fumigation of the property and replacement of fungus &
termite damaged wood at the patio roof sheathing and exterior eaves of the property. The wood
replacement recommended on the report was completed on November 12, 2012, and fumigation
completed on November 13, 2012. During the course of the fumigation process, some roof tiles were
broken by the fumigator, since the owner of property had purchased Roof Tile Insurance, the broken
tiles were replaced as per the contact agreement. Subsequent to the completion of all work, the owner
called our company on January 15, 2013 and complained that the patio roof was leaking more than it
had been prior to the repair work which was completed. The owner was informed at that time that we
had meet our contractual agreement by replacing the damaged wood (which was obviously caused by a
significant roof leak), and that he should contact a licensed Roofer to inspect and sea l the surface of the
roof to prevent further leaking.
In summary, we feel that the owner who was aware that he needed a Licensed Roofer to seal the roof is
attempting to hold Bite Away liable for a pre-existing problem/condition of a leaking roof that was never
part of our contractual agreement.

****** ** *******
Owner
Bite Away Termite & Pest Control, INC

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/16/2011 Billing/Collection Issues