BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

View BBB Rating for Alterra Pest Control of Anaheim's headquarters.

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pest control services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alterra Pest Control of Anaheim meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Alterra Pest Control of Anaheim. BBB of Utah has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Alterra Pest Control of Anaheim.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 03/02/2012 in CA Business started locally: 03/02/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The license number is 5293.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Leivas
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Leivas
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Alterra Inc Alterra Pest Control

Additional Locations

  • 1515 S Sunkist St #G

    Anaheim, CA 92806 (714) 635-7378

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An Alterra salesman came to my house today and despite the No Soliciting sign on my door he continued to ring the doorbell. Upon opening the door and hearing him pitch a pest control service...i pointed to my sign and asked why he had rang the bell. At that point his demeanor changed and he became verbally abusive and tried to intimidate me into hearing his sales pitch and ultimately buy the service. Im not easily bullied and asked him to leave before i called the police. He became agitated and again tried to intimdate me, before finally leaving while looking back as if he would be back...for god only knows what. This company's salesforce is completely out of control.

Desired Settlement: I have serious concerns that Alterra pest control has built a salemodel that exploits people that aren't strong or brave enough to get them to leave. The Alterra rep that came to my house was very abusive and I'm six foot and 200 pounds. Can only imagine how they treat others and suspect this may become a criminal matter if investigated. My request is to have BBB report this issue to the proper legal or regulatory agency and urge that they investigate.

Business Response: Alterra apologizes for any negative experience with our company. All of our employees go through an extensive background check, and training during their first few weeks of employment. We do not accept bad behavior, or encourage unethical sales practices. We apologize for any negative experience with Alterra and may/will terminate any such representative that is found responsible for such behavior. Please contact us to discuss this with a manager. Our office phone is ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

****** ******
Branch Manager

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a call from Alterra (the girl refused to provide her name stating it wasn't necessary) stating thAt I needed to pay for services. I explained to her that before services were rendered they needed to schedule an appointment (part of the contract). I asked if I could return her call after I further investigated my bank acct. I called the company twice and left messages. I never received a call back. A month later I am receiving a collections notice for cancelling my contract with termination fees. I NEVER wanted to cancel my contract, I tried to callback to pay my bill. I called again today to find out why I am in collections and the girl was VERY rude, hung up on me, wouldn't give me her name (again) refused to allow me to speak with anyone else, called me a liar and made false accusations to me and my character. Now I am in collection for triple the amount of the monthly service and I cannot afford to pay, nor do I want negative reports to my credit. Please help me.

Desired Settlement: I originally wanted my services restored and to pay my original monthly amount

Business Response:

Hello,

 

As of May 5th 2014  our records indicate that we have contacted the consumer and resolved all concerns. Our customer has agreed to re-call all negative comments made on Alterra and continue service with our company. If there are any further questions please call 714-635-7378.

 

Sincerely,

****** ******

Branch Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please avoid using this company.My husband tried this company since our neighbor was using them. We tried to schedule the second appointment but the schedule didn't work for us. They left a voice message to my husband's cell phone one day and said they will come on 12/26. No one is at home and they said they did the service and leave a $99 bill underneath our doorway. We did not agree with the "appointment" they "scheduled" and we cannot tell if they have done any service We call the customer service about this the next day to dispute about the $99 charge since we never agree on the appointment and service. The customer service lady gave us a bad attitude said that we will need to pay no matter what since we "signed" the contract on the first schedule. We never recall signing any contract on the first visit. And she also said they will file this to the collection company. My husband and I are extremely upset with their action.This company does not have good business practice and we will not use this service and will NOT recoommend to anyone we know.

Desired Settlement: We request them not to charge us for the $99 "second service" unless there is a mutual agreement on the service.

Business Response: Hello *****,

 
As of yesterday I have responded to the consumer complaint and have settled everything with the customer. Please verify with the customer that an agreement has been made.
 
 
Sincerely,
  ****** ******
 
-- 

****** ******

Branch Manager

 

http://www.alterrapest.com/assets/images/alterra-logo.jpg

 

1515 S. Sunkist St. Ste. G

Anaheim, Ca 92806

o.  (714) 635-pest

m. ***** ********

f.   (714) 635-7374

 

www.alterrapest.com


Hello *****,
 
As of yesterday I have responded to the consumer complaint and have settled everything with the customer. Please verify with the customer that an agreement has been made.
 
 
Sincerely,
 
****** Leivas
 
-- 

****** Leivas

Branch Manager

 

http://www.alterrapest.com/assets/images/alterra-logo.jpg

 

1515 S. Sunkist St. Ste. G

Anaheim, Ca 92806

o.  (714) 635-pest

m. (714) 353-1847

f.   (714) 635-7374

 

www.alterrapest.com

Hello *****,
 
As of yesterday I have responded to the consumer complaint and have settled everything with the customer. Please verify with the customer that an agreement has been made.
 
 
Sincerely,
 
****** Leivas
 
-- 

****** Leivas

Branch Manager

 

http://www.alterrapest.com/assets/images/alterra-logo.jpg

 

1515 S. Sunkist St. Ste. G

Anaheim, Ca 92806

o.  (714) 635-pest

m. (714) 353-1847

f.   (714) 635-7374

 

www.alterrapest.com

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Alterra Pest Control Orange county still send us a bill for a service they did NOT performed.  Therefore, I do NOT think this has been settled per ****** ******' response to BBB.  I suggest the Alterra Pest Control mail us an official letter stating that we do NOT owe anything to Alterra; Otherwise, this does not considered as "settled".

Regards,

****** ****



Consumer Response: My wife filed a complaint last of last year (around December) about this company. They attempted to resolve the issue with us. However, it was never came to a conclusion. They didn't provide an official letter or phone call to dismiss our dispute; and so we thought they will not bother us again.Last Thursday afternoon (3/20/14), a guy name ****** called again and asked how I liked their service. Obviously they don't talk to each other about how upset we felt about them. I was busy working and so I told him to call back after 6 pm. He went on and spoke about their service. So I told him about our complain last time. And for some reason, he hang up on me while I was complaining. Well, that wasn't the reason why I am writing a complain about...That same Saturday morning (3/23/14) around 8 am, a guy pound hard on my front door and starting to do some "spraying service". Guess what? It is the guy from Alterra Pest Control!!! I can't believe they kept on sending people to our house without our consent. And so I told him we didn't need any service from them. And later the same day, I found there is an invoice in the amount of $99 in my mailbox!!! I can't believe they can ask us for money for a service we didn't agree about. This company is truly unprofessional and they do NOT deserve any good rating.

I request Alterra Pest Control Orange County to cancel our service COMPLETELY and do NOT disturb us again.

Business Response: To whom this may concern:

Based on our records we spoke with Mr. **** on February 18th and came to an agreement. Mr. ****
confirmed that he would notify all parties involved of this agreement. Since that time we have also
mailed confirmation to Mr. **** stating that any complaints were resolved. If there are any further
questions please contact us at (714)-635-7378.

Sincerely,

****** ******
Branch Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues