BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

GPS Moving & Storage Inc

Phone: (888) 896-2086 Fax: (619) 821-2851 View Additional Phone Numbers 9260 Isaac St #J, Santee, CA 92071 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.gpsmoving.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers long distance moving and storage.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GPS Moving & Storage Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for GPS Moving & Storage Inc include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on GPS Moving & Storage Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 03, 2010 Business started: 03/21/2008 in CA Business started locally: 03/21/2008 Business incorporated: 03/06/2009 in WY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation
Secretary of Transportation, 400 7th Street, S.W., Washington DC 20590
The license number is 1754831.

U.S. Department of Transportation
Secretary of Transportation, 400 7th Street, S.W., Washington DC 20590
The license number is 642006.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tammy Cruz, Manager Mr. Chaim Lugasi, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tammy Cruz, Manager
Principal: Mr. Chaim Lugasi, Owner
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers

Alternate Business Names
Viva Moving and Storage Inc
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 9260 Isaac St #J

    Santee, CA 92071 (888) 896-2086 (858) 779-1316

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (858) 779-1316(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved from Riverside California to Jacksonville Florida and contracted with GPS to handle the move. The initial bid was less than other movers so we selected GPS. After our belongings had been loaded, the revised bid was almost twice as much as the initial bid, from $11,000 to over $7,000. There was no extra belongings added that the agent did not see. In my opinion, the agent low-balled the initial bid and adjusted it after we could not make a change. We also noted that GPS added $1,000 for packing even though we had packed 90% of the belonging. GPS did remove that charge after we complained. We had also notified GPS that we did not have an address in Florida yet and was told that they could hold the delivery for up to 30 days at no charge. We also notified them that we had to make arrangements for payment when we go there. I had asked the guy that gave us our original estimate how GPS was to be paid and he told me by personal check. we were rushed through signing the paperwork and later discovered that GPS would only accept payment in cash or a Postal Money order, not by personal check as I was told. We notified GPS of the address in Florida. We were notified by GPS that the belongings had been shipped and would be in Florida on or about the 9th of January even though we did not approve it. We then received a call from the driver who informed us that he would deliver our belongings on January 8th and would not unload unless we had the balance of $8,250 in cash or by Postal Money Order and that it would cost us $700 per day for each day of delay.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the original estimate the agent gave us to be used as the full payment for shipping our belongings. Our belongings held without charge until we can get the balance due if no refund or accept our personal check as payment as originally stated by agent.

Business Response:

GPS Moving would like to take this opportunity to submit a response in regards to complaint # *******.   

 

At time of reservation our client had reviewed and even updated the inventory list of all the items she wanted for us to relocate from CA to FL.  The inventory had a total of 360 items of which 191 were boxes (total move price of 11,442.58). On the day of the move we had actually picked up a total of 537 items of which 334 were boxes (total price of 16,500). That would give us a difference of 143 boxes additional and 34 additional misc/ furniture items.  The packing agreement was $1 per cft @ 50% off. Since the cft increased due to the additional items the packing service fee increased as well. 

 

After reviewing the packing services we had agreed that the customer had done about 70% of the packing themselves and GPS Moving had deducted the packing fee from the contract. (The customer mentioned this to the movers during the move - the movers passed on the message to the office the following morning. GPS Moving had called the client and credited the additional packing fee on our own).

 

In regards to the delivery: our client contacted us by phone on 12/27/14 informing us that they would be ready for delivery as of 1/1/14. At that time we had requested the customer email us with the delivery address. GPS Moving didn't ship our client’s belongings until we had a written notice from our client to ship. This written notice also included a delivery address. (Customers email attached (EMAIL received on 12/28/13).

 

Our driver contacted our client and notified them that he will be arriving on the 6th of January to deliver. The client informed him that they would not be ready with the payment to receive delivery. Our driver said that he could wait till the 7th for no fee but if had to wait longer there would be a waiting fee.

 

Before making a reservation, during the move process, and after dispatching of our clients belongings we had reviewed and confirmed all the payment options (both verbally and in written form). (The email received from the client also confirms that they are aware of the payment options) 

 

Thank you,

***** *.

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Response

The appraiser was shown every box and item that would be shipped. He also knew that we were getting estimates from two other carriers. It is still our feeling that he low-balled the bid knowing that it would be adjusted later when we had no other choice. We had to leave many items; a refrigerator, dining room set, and numerous chairs, outside tables and tables.  We are now opening boxes. We have found medium boxes with empty boxes inside, a medium box with nothing but GPS wrapping paper, a small box with 5 ball point pens and wrapping paper filler, boxes with trash that we put into the trash dumpster, medium boxes with one or two plant pots made of plastic. We have not opened all boxes yet but seriously expect to find more,  The driver did call us. He stated that he was going to Atlanta first and then would deliver our furniture. My wife told him that we were having trouble getting the balance because of issues with the bank. He informed us that it would cost us $750 per day for every day after the delivery date. There was no offer of waiting.

We are very dis-satisfied with GPS,s service. We will not recommend their service to anyone.


Regards,

****** ****** 

Business Response:

GPS Moving had provided a moving quote based on what was shown to us. The box count was taken and matched from an evaluation preformed by a major van line. And the box count was way under. If what the client is claiming is true and there were a few boxes with trash in them please provide pictures to support this and we will refund for the relocation of those boxes.

 

Regarding delivery time. The drivers was planning to deliver in FL first and then travel to GA. When he was notified that they were not ready he said he would go to GA first and then return the next day.

 

Respectfully,

GPS Moving Staff

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted GPS Moving to move me from San Diego, CA to Edison, NJ. I also paid them extra to pack my household stuff. They delivered my good in poor condition with many of items broken and some items missing. After months of followup they have agreed to settle at around 60 cents per pound of damage citing the contract. I do not believe this is applicable since: 1. Damage is not due to unforeseen issues, it largely due to unprofessional packing (ex. microwave was wrapped in blanket, not in hard covering as is common practice. Lamps were not dismantled etc.) 2. I had paid extra for packing services so expect a reasonable level of service. (ex. artwork was carelessly shoved in boxes without wrapping the artwork in a protective packing. Due to this several paintings got bend and / or had their corners broken)

Desired Settlement: In good faith I had submitted a claim including only those items which I had to dispose off, though damage was much more pervasive. That claim was for $ 550. Request help from BBB to get that claim paid in full.

Business Response:

GPS Moving has reviewed the claim submitted by Mr. *******.  He was given the option to purchase additional moving insurance. Since he chose the basic insurance @ .60 pppa that is how the refund was calculated. We charged our client less then $1 per cft for packing that was also taken into account when offering the total refund amount.

 

I am sorry that our client is not satisfied with the offered amount. As explained to Mr. *******, we are willing to collaborate further and offered the option of arbitration that we have set up with American Moving and Storage Association. I hope our client considers this route in settling the matter.

 

Respectfully,

GPS Moving Staff

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

60 cents per pound of protection is not applicable in my case since the damage is extensive, items are missing and damage is clearly due to incompetent packaging and handling by the GPS Moving. 

 
Even the items that were delivered in 'unbroken' condition, the way in which they were delivered was extremely disheartening. Many boxes were broken, lamp shafts bent / dented, furniture parts missing etc. I tried to work with the mover in good faith and did not include these items in my claim. I believe mover should reciprocate by accepting claim, which only includes items lost or broken beyond repair, in full.

Regards,
***** *******



Business Response:

As suggested, our client has reached out to AMSA for arbitration. We will work directly with AMSA to resolve any issues.

 

Than you,

GPS Moving Staff

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Clarification - Its a complaint to AMSA which maintains a pattern of unethical behavior by moving companies for benefit of general public. Its not a formal arbitration process which i understand is separate service provided by AMSA. 

Regards,

***** *******



Business Response:

Per our records the consumer did not - signed a waiver/agreement to use the American Moving & Storage Association for arbitration.  The consumer did file a complaint with AMSA and we provided all the requested information to AMS. We were not yet notified in regards to how the consumer would like to proceed in regards to arbitration.

 

Please let me know if you need additional information.

Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am very unhappy with with this company. We were promised a binding price and guaranteed that the price would not change. Then the guys get there and start loading I think all is good to go then he tells me that I owe another $518.75 because the guy that came out the first time did not do the inspection correctly. What a rip off the truck was already being loaded what could I do I had to be out of that place???? The guys who were there were rough with my stuff and left scratches on the walls I had to go back and repaint....then they had the nerve to ask for a tip sadly I did tip them cause I didn't notice that till they left. Then when they deliver to the new place same thing shoving the couch through the door... scratched! the hallway... scratched! I was told everything they broke down they would put back together???? Lie....they only put the beds and tables together.....We had to do the rest... To top it off stuff is missing (dolly and 6 shelve brackets) and they broke my antique coat rack!

Desired Settlement: Refuind me for the missing items and for the hassel I had to incur during an already stressful time.

Business Response:

Our client has contacted our office and informed us that the dolly was missing from the delivery.  We had checked our lost and found corner and determined that the dolly is not in our possession.  She was then contacted, and informed that a claim maybe field for it.  In regards to the estimate vrs the final moving price.  The paperwork we have in hand, lists all the items that we picked up in addition to the original list and what we charged for them. Our client approved it prior to loading of the truck and her contract states that the price is given prior to start of move. 

At this time, we request our client to submit a claim form and we will be happy to process the claim for the missing dolly or any damages that occurred during the move. 

Respectfully,

GPS Moving Staff

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For my relocation from ****** *********, CA to ************, NC, I decided to use GPS moves. By telephone, I was speaking with *******, who appeared to be a new employee, as someone was guiding her through the phone call. I gave her a complete inventory of the items I would be bringing with me. At that time, she quoted me at $1562.93. I had to add additional items and sent her an email (which I would be happy to provide) and she stated there was no additional charges. On 5/2/2013 the movers showed up (late), but did a very satisfactory job on protecting my belongings during the load up. I was informed I had a price increase, bringing my new total to $2272.73 - what could I do? I was leaving state the next day, I had no choice but to agree, and e-mail ******* my large dissatisfaction. I was starting a new job, and did not pack any clothes, but my personal for moving (mind you, I have two small children as well).See e-mail below that states I will have my belongings in 5-7 business days:RE: confirming may 2From:Sales, Sales@gpsmoving.comTo:********, **********@***.comDate:Mon, Apr 29, 2013 5:16 pm********,What is the earliest possible delivery date you would like your items to bedelivered. It should not take longer than 5-7 business days from the dayyour items leave our location on the truck to your new destination.END EMAILI came to ************, NC on May 8th. During my commute, I spoke with Avi several times to find out the delivery date, and at that time, they state they made a mistake. My stuff was in storage and they don't of an ETA. I was stunned. I had to continuously follow up with him. I ended up buying myself and my children new clothes, kid bath/stroller, etc. With my new job, I had to fly to CA, Alaska, and Washington (I can provide proof) on May 17th. My belongings finally arrived on May 18th. I had incorrect pricing, ETA (which was extremely important), no follow up, lack of professionalism on the shipping manager and employees part.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund in full of $2272.73.

Business Response:









First we at GPS Moving would like to apologize to our customer for any
inconvenience.
Our customer provide GPS Moving with an inventory list of items to move.
When we showed up to do the move the customer added more items and some of
the items were bigger in size.
Our crew did not start the job before they told our customer of the new
price for her relocation and the customer wrote and signed that "PRICE GIVEN
BEFORE MOVE STARTED".
ON THE ORIGINAL LIST OF ITEMS GIVEN TO US BY CUSTOMER THERE WERE 26 ITEMS IN TOTAL. ON FINAL ACTUAL INVENTORY WE TOOK, THERE WERE 45 ITEMS.
Customer requested the earliest possible delivery date to be 05/03/2013 . Our long distance information form states in capital bulk letters "delivery can
take up to 21 bussiness days from the earliest date above."( wich customer
signed)
Yes it should not take more than 5-7 business days from the day the truck is
leaving our facility to arrive at the final destination. (MISTAKENLY BY OUR NEW
SALES PERSON, AN EMAIL WAS SENT AS 5-7 BUSS DAYS FROM PICK UP TIME)
OUR DRIVER LEFT CA ON MAY 10 2013 AND COMPLETE DELIVERY ON MAY 18 2013 LESS THAN 7 BUSS DAYS.
EVERY TIME OUR CUSTOMER CALLED SHE EITHER SPOKE TO OUR DISPATCH MANAGER OR HE CALLED HER BACK RIGHT AWAY NO MATTER WHAT TIME OR DAY IT WAS .
When our client contacted us with these concerns, she was instructed to file a claim with our claim department. We have not yet received the claim. We respectfully encourage the client to submit a claim so we can can review it and respond.  
REST A SURE THAT WITH GPS MOVING WE WORK HARD TO TAKE CARE OF OUR CUSTOMERS NEEDS, AND AGAIN WE ARE SORRY FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE .
THANK YOU FOR YOUR UNDERSTANDING.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would steer clear of *** and GPS moving and storage. I thought they were going to be a great company because when *** came to do the initial estimate, he was very up front and frank with me saying how it's absolutely necessary for the moving company to come out and do a walk through of your belongings to ensure that you get an accurate estimate and are not surprised by extra charges. March 24th - Moving day - Movers showed up and did walk through of all belongings and confirmed what was going and what was not. The movers were good guys and were very helpful. Once everything was marked and ready to go I was informed that the original estimate was incorrect and that we had extra items that were not accounted for during the original walk through. I was not happy with extra charges so movers did what they could do in order to combine the contents of some boxes in order to eliminate extra space and get price down. Ended up having to pay an extra 600$ due to inaccurate estimate. After contacting *** and expressing our dissatisfaction about the extra charges, he would continue talking over me while I was trying to talk to him and he would interrupt me. All of this is signs of HORRIBLE customer service. It came down to a screaming match on the phone. March 27th - We were on the road to ****** and we contacted *** in order to find out delivery date. *** informed us that the truck was not there yet and that he expected it there within the next day or so. I asked him to call me as soon as the truck showed up and again as soon as it hit the road so we could get an ETA on delivery. We didn't hear back from ***.March 28th - We haven't heard from *** so we called again and again found out that the truck had no showed up due to the wife of the driver passing away. I was sad to hear about the news but it's irrelevant to me since we have a contract with his company to transport out belongings. Allegedly they were flying a different driver in from ******* to drive the truckApril 1st - Received call from *** stating that the truck was coming down from LA in order to pack up our stuff and then hit the road. April 4th - Spoke with *** and he said that the driver was there loading up the truck and he would be leaving that night in order to head to chicago. He gave me the drivers contact info and to keep in contact with him to find out ETA.April 6th - Contact ****** (the driver) who informed me that they were unloading a load in *** ******* and that they would be hitting the road that night and it would be 3-4 days before delivery.April 9th - Been trying to reach ****** in order to find out ETA but voicemail has not been setup and cannot reach him. Sent him a text message and asked for him to call me ASAP. Received call from ****** at 5:30pm informing me that he was in ******** and that the truck had broke down. Asked hm what the ETA would be and he said that he was looking at the 15th or 16th of April. Informed him that the ETA was unacceptable and I contacted *** at the office. Spoke with *** and informed him about the delay and he was shocked to hear it because he hadn't heard anything from his driver about the breakdown. He was going to contact ****** and find out why he wasn't notified and then return a call to me. At this point myself along with my girlfriend have been without our belongings since March 24th and we only packed enough clothes to last us about two weeks since we were told that the truck would be delivering our belongings between the 5th and 7th of April, also in my original consultation with ***, I asked him what the worst case scenario would be and he told me 21 days from pick up. - To Be Continued -

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded a portion of the money that I paid to GPS moving and storage due to the misrepresentation of their services and the time frame in which our belongings would be delivered. It's completely unacceptable for a customer to continue to have to contact a company in order to find the status of their shipment. GPS moving has shown me the worst possible customer service I have ever experienced.

Business Response:

First we at GPS Moving and Storage Inc would like to a ologize o our customer for any
inconvenience.
Our dispatch manager * ** did a visual at the customer's ouse provided him with a
binding price according to the list of items shown to * ** by the c stomer.
The list of items was sent back to the customer via emai to confl as the final list,
which he did.
All Documents that were emailed stated "(in this exact fi nt, foi t and capitalization)"
PLEASE NOTETHATIHlS BINDING ESTIMATE IS BASED ON ffiMS LlSTED BOVE. E MATE
WILl. NOT BE ACCURATE IF UST ABOVE IS NOT.
Our customer decided to take more items than he origin y told
Customer decided to use wardrobe boxes instead ofmed um box . Which was explained
to him that it would cost him more to ship (we at GPS ving ai· ays ask our customers
about the boxes they want to use and explain the cost di tween hanging and
tblding).
As the customer noted in his review "The movers were od guys and were very
helpfur•. Our guys even helped him to minimize the am t of it s by combining items
from boxes to make his cost go down. (How many movi g comp ies do that?)
Our customer wrote and signed that the price was given
(as stated in Company Policy's)
* ** also offered the customer to open the wardrobe box
medium size boxes and save the customer another $263.
saying to leave it the way it is.
ore the move started
sfer the contents to a
er sent an email
GPS Moving did a full packing free of charge and made box de very to the customer
house fTee of charge.
On the day * ** visit the customer for the in home evalua ion, cus mer requested
delivery to take place on March 211, 2011 which * ** as d patc.h ager was prepared
for. Then on the day of the move customer change his de ·very da to not before April 4,
2013. Which * ** made all the arrangement to meet our c stomer eeds.
Our customer was verbally told and our customer read ( PITA LETTERS and
bolded) and signed that "Delivery can take up to 21 busi ess day 1 from the earliest date
above'' (company policy for worst case scenario) which wante to be as April4; 2013.
Customer received his belongings on April 14, 2013.
Not even once the customer was ignored uor have a rctu 1 call fr
Actually GPS Moving give all of our customers * ** cell- hone n
* ** Ht any time (customer was calling * ** on Passover/E ster, w
which is fine).
* ** than told the customer that he have the right to file a
We are still waiting fbr the customer reply to the claim.
u * ** at tht: :;wm: u~;~.y.
ber so they can reach
kend and after hours,
GPS Moving is honest and a hard working company to customers happy with
their relocation.
W11en GPS Moving receives the claim form we will rev wit an respectfully respond.
Thank you for understanding.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I do not accept the information that was provided by GPS Moving. I do not have any paperwork that states the delivery can take up to 21 days from the earliest date. I requested *** to fax the information to me that he states I had signed but I never received anything from him. I called *** on a Sunday which happened to be Passover and *** was quite rude with me saying he didn't work due to it being a holiday. Also in all of the phone calls between *** and myself, *** showed very poor customer service as he continued to cut me off while I was speaking and also yell back at me when the conversation had escalated due to lack of assistance from him. It wasn't until I told *** that I would be hiring a lawyer to speak with him about this situation that he began to speak to me like a paying customer and not some scum. I will be submitting the claim which will not include the damage to our items but will contain the inconvenience expenses that I had to incur due to the delay in shipment. ]

Regards,

**** ********

Business Response: GPS Moving is waiting for the driver to complete his route and bring back the paper work so we can fax it to the customer.

The original papers signed by customer came with the driver to customer house at DESTINATION.
Our dispatch manager took the call from the customer even though it was a weekend and a holiday (Passover) and he was off work (showing how important it was for him to address the situation and how much we value our customers time).
Then the customers wife said that she doesn't give a "F*** about any explanation" our dispatch manager had to give.  She also didn't give our dispatch manager any room to talk. All previous contact was made between the Dispatch Manager and the husband (client) ONLY. The clients wife was never involved in any of the previous conversations.
GPS Moving understands that sometimes customers have a bad day, but we will not tolerate any profanity from clients.

GPS Moving is an honest and a hard working company that makes our customers happy with their relocation.

When GPS Moving receives the claim form we will review it and respectfully respond.

Thank you for your understanding.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: GPS quoted, (created by *** on 8/2/2012) based on an in-home visit and having been told everything in the house was going except a couch and what clothes I could take with me, a Binding Estimate that noted "This Binding price is Firm and Guaranteed and Regardless of the Shipping Size and Weight." Cost set at $4067 for shipping 894 cubic feet at $4.55 per foot. Later estimated up to $4514 when we sent an email adding 1 bike and 1 lounge chair as well as confirming that there were 2 surf boards, this estimate was over calculated as they made incorrect adjustments totaling out 4 boards and 3 bikes, an over estimate of cubic foot quote. Packing was set at $.50 per foot.On Sept. 27 GPS arrived at the home at 9:45 AM; 2.5 hours later than the ETA. Upon arrival foreman **** began loading and packing with his crew. At this time they informed ******** that they wouldn't pack liquids which wasn't mentioned in the walk through or prior to the move date. ******** packed these items for the crew, they totaled 5 boxes and 2 totes. The packing crew asked if she wanted them to use "wardrobe" boxes she told them to decide(they didn't ever say it would cost more). 8 wardrobe boxes were used total(two were used downstairs to go faster as they were running out of time and tired). At around noon, realizing that the shipment was larger than estimated, **** said "This might cost a little more than estimated without actual amount.At 7:45 after loading nearly all of the household items **** presented me a revised Binding Estimate for a total of $6,513. This is a violation of the policies in "Your Rights and Responsibilities When your Move" which states "Your mover may not amend the estimate after loading the shipment." I have a witness to attest this happened. The Next day I arrived to clean the house and the movers had left a tote full of my items as well as a drawer in the kitchen completely full. They held my things until I agreed to pay the additional fees and when my items arrived I found a damaged items

Desired Settlement: I would like GPS to pay for all damaged items as well as the shipment that I had to pay for of items left. GPS should reimburse my company for the up charge they made of $1253.03 after the truck was loaded with my items. They refused to ship my items until we paid, essentially blackmailing us. GPS Moving is in clear violation of DOT Guidelines and should be penalized so that they do not continue to do this to customers. This was the worse move of my life and it is still not over.

Business Response:

The client had an in home consultation from our company. At the time of the visit she stated to us that 75% of her clothing and personal belongings would travel in her car and one of the rooms we didn’t even see because she said nothing from that room was going.

Our evaluator also asked if we should plan for wardrobe boxes or regular standard boxes and explained that wardrobe boxes are more expensive to transport…she said I have a budget from my employer and want the cheaper option. However, on the pickup day it was obvious that more the ½ of her clothing and personal belongings were still there for us to pack and she instructed my men to use wardrobe boxes and said “ I don’t care I am not paying for this move." 

 

All documents that were emailed stated, (in this exact font, format and capitalized) “PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS BINDING ESTIMATE IS BASED ON ITEMS LISTED ABOVE. ESTIMATE WILL NOT BE ACCURATE IF LIST ABOVE IS NOT.”  Due to this note the client had emailed us with additional items to add – at that time the extra items were added (even though the surfboards were already on the list but SHE had emailed us to add them and didn’t correct us to remove them until the move date. We removed the extra items from the list and updated the price) 

 

The paper work stated that the move would start at 9:00 am.  Yes my crew arrived at 9:45 due to traffic but this was not several hours late as client has stated. The few items that were left behind on the date of the move were picked up by us and added to the load the following day. (these items were given directly by the client to a crew member from GPS Moving)

 

The client was provided with 30 days free storage.  When the client requested that she was done with our storage and would like delivery; we mentioned that there was still a balance on the move and if she would pay that or we need to collect from employer like the initial payment. She said that they were not willing to pay this because they had a binding quote from us. We then explained that the binding quote is based on the inventory list and that she had more items (probably from the room that she said nothing was going from) and extra boxes then estimated).  Still the client was not willing to understand the terms of the binding quote.  We then gave the client the option of voiding out the contact and just taking it to the public scales where she and her fiancé are required to be present (in the delivery state) and pay whatever the weight is…they refused this option.  We also gave the option of refunding a portion of the payment and having them send different movers to our facility.  This option was rejected also. 

 

We had a truck that was schedulable to leave with the client’s belongings and needed for her to make a decision. We issued a $300 discount that the employer had agreed on and shipped the belongings out. 

 

After the delivery took place the client has not contacted us in regards to any damage and didn’t request a claim form at anytime. She had purchased insurance through a third party agency and can file her claim to them and also fill out a claim to us if she likes.  

 

We at GPS Moving strive to provide honest service and feel that the client misrepresented her needs.  Therefore, we will not be making any special accommodations and request she follows standard procedures for filling a claim.

 

Thank you for your understanding.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The evaluator miscalculated, misstated and is blatantly lying about my statements.

With regards to the statement about taking 75% of my belongings (I would never say I could take 75% of my belongings! that's why I was hiring a moving company to MOVE my belongings across the country!):

The first thing that I said to EVERY evaluator that came to give me a quote when they walked in the house was:  "I live alone so EVERYTHING will be coming with me unless otherwise specified". As I stated in my original complaint. I commented when we stood in my closet (NOT A ROOM) that I would take as much clothes as I could in my car (that was also being shipped) and in my bag that I would travel with. I did take roughly 75% of my clothes and shoes as stated and when the truck unloaded the boxes I noted that there were only 2 wardrobe boxes that said master closet (the other 6 were from other parts of the house including the office and downstairs.

With regards to the statement about my not caring:

I actually said the exact opposite.... the guy packing was the one that said that since I wasn't paying it didn't matter and I smirked at him like hummm.... the fact is I do care about my company's expenses CLEARLY or else I wouldn't be fighting this at all... I have not spent any of my own money and am doing this for two reasons... to return some of the money due back to my company and to protect future customers.

With regard to the binding estimate:

1. There were items from every room in the house indicated on the estimate, so the claim that there were items from "one room having no items" is false.

2. The major inaccuracy in the estimate was the number of  BOXES the evaluator estimated.  This was way under what was needed..  I do not move people for a living and had NO IDEA how many boxes it would take. NOTHING in my house changed between the time of his visit aside from selling my couch and giving some items away.

With regards to the "paperwork" I would like to see this "paperwork" (three is a lot of so called paper work I never saw).

I was told over the phone that they would arrive at 7am.  Then received a call that they were 30 min out at 8:30 and the arrived at 9:45 This would not have been a problem if they had just said so ... also this made it so that they worked for longer because it was dark by the time they were finishing since they were over 2 hours later than originally stated.  

With regards to the statement of saying I wasn't taking a room of stuff:

As stated above.... this could not possibly be true if on the estimate there are items from EVERY room in the house.

I would NEVER say nothing in an entire room was going when EVERYTHING in the house was mine! Why would I leave a whole room of stuff behind? These are COMPLETE LIES! As I said above; I said most of my clothes in my closet would go with me... which they did!  I filled a complete closet and half a dresser with items from my car on arrival in Mt. ********.  Whether this was 60% or 85% of the clothes from that closet shouldn't matter when compared to the entire job. 

I intend to file claims for damaged items and will do so through the correct procedures. If GPS does not refund us the money that was over charged to my company paid so that I could get my things back. They kept my things as ransom  unless we paid (even though we had pre-paid 5K) we will fight it through the credit card company.

I also researched the name of the company that charged our credit card on BBB and VAVI (the parent company) has another company who has had VERY similar complaints.

I was very disappointed with this entire experience as I feel the company manipulated me and took advantage of me at a point at which I was completely vulnerable and dependent on them to fulfill their written "binding contract" for service. 

They were also rude and disrespectful to the point of infuriating both myself and my fiance who also patiently tried for two weeks to resolve this dispute.  Their Evaluator, *** was fond of saying in these conversations "I Don't Make Mistakes."  Though he later admitted making a very similar mistake with another client and then shipping the items without charge.  While I think this company may have handled some moves properly mine was not, there was a major miscalculation by their evaluator, they left items behind and an antique desk had it's legs knocked off in the move.  Taken alone these items are frustrating, together they are unacceptable for a company claiming A rating with the Better Business Bureau.

Most Sincerely,

******** ******

Business Response:

GPS Moving and our client are working directly to resolve this matter. We are not admitting any guild but would like to settle this claim and are ready to make a full refund.

Thank you

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** ****** 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/30/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I decided to use GPS Moving and Storage because we like to support small local businesses. Working with this moving company turned into a complete nightmare.My wife and I packed 30 boxes using brand new uhaul certified moving boxes. We also had two televisions, a bedroom set, lazyboy recliner and a treadmill. Everything was ready for the movers to carry out. When the movers arrived I had no idea who they were. Not one of them was wearing a uniform or shirt identifying that they were with GPS Moving. It took these three men four hours to carry my things into their truck. They spent the entire time arguing about who was going to carry what out and talking on their cell phones.It was at this time that I payed a 50% deposit and was told my things would leave immediately and should arrive within ten business days.Three weeks later we were informed that our things were finally on their way but our dresser would not be with the shipment. They explained that it somehow got separated from the rest of our things. When we asked when to expect our dresser, their manager *** said it would go out in the next couple of days.When received our first shipment four weeks later, our things arrived in an unmarked truck and was told that they were a completely separate moving company!? This was never discussed or mentioned in any of the contracts we signed. Furthermore our treadmill was damaged, boxes beat up and a giant hole in our box spring. At this time I paid all but $200 dollars left on my bill due to the missing dresser.It took another whole month to receive our dresser! While waiting we called multiple times and received no response. Our sales representative Tammy was always out of the office and never returned our phone calls. To top things of the manager, *** couldn't tell us what was happening with our missing dresser.This company completely breached their contract and provided terrible service.

Desired Settlement: I think we should be reimbursed for our damaged items and get some money back for our time. We waited in total two months for all of our things to arrive and most of our boxes look very beat up.

Business Response:

I am sorry to hear that Mr. ******* was not fully satisfied with the moving services provided by GPS Moving. 

 

The dresser was set aside at time of loading the trailer for stocking purposes and failed to make it into the truck. As soon as we came to be aware of this the client was contacted immediately and was informed that it was going out on the next truck. (That was taking the route towards his destination).

 

It was harder then usual to reach us in the office due to the fact that we were closed a lot of the time in the month of September for observing Jewish holidays. (Rosh Hashana, Yom Kippur and Sukkot)

 

The Dresser was returned and as per Mr. ******* request a claim form was sent to him.  We would like to make right by our client and request that a claim form be completed and returned to us for review by a third party claims agency.

 

Respectfully,

GPS Moving and Storage Staff

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The form was sent to me in a timely manner and I am currently in the process of completing it. Unfortunately that was the only thing sent to me in that manner, I was notified by *** that my dresser was forgotten NOT that is was for space issues. Furthermore I paid for my items to be shipped per cubic ft. and the excuse that there was not room, if anything is due to poor managing on their half not mine. I should not have had to wait another month to get my dresser. *** had also told me it would be to me in 10 to 15 business days. That also did not happen. The fact is the company not only damaged my things during shipping but they also had no clue when my items would arrive or even ship out.

Regards,

****** ******* 

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the Claim form and giving GPS Moving the opportunity to make this right by you.


Respectfully,
GPS Moving Staff

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would like if not a full reinbursment for my shipping cost at minimun partial for the time and aggrivation this company has cost me. Simply haveing me fill out the claims form is not enough. This company took advantage of my kind nature and should not be allowed to take advantage of anyone else.

Regards,

****** ******* 

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

8/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into a contract with GPS moving to move my belongings from California to Chicago on 5/10/12. The total contract price was $3,697.79 and a deposit of $1,800.00 was paid on 5/10/12. I received one month free storage from 5/10/12 to 6/10/12. I also extended my storage for one additional month which would cover costs from 6/10/12 to 7/10/12.I notified GPS days prior to 7/10/12 to ship my thing back to Chicago and informed them that I would be on vacation from 7/24/12 through 7/31/12. They informed me that was not a problem. I was not contacted by GPS until 7/17/12 to inform me that they wanted to ship my thing and my estimated delivery date was 7/21/12 thru 7/23/12. After multiple phone call back and forth with their shipping department I agreed to have my belongings shipped during this timeframe. The following day I received a call from GPS stating my belonging would not fit on the truck so I would not be receiving my things. GPS also confirm on the phone that they would not deliver my belonging while I was on vacation. While I was on vacation GPS called me again to try to deliver my things and I reminded them that I was on vacation.GPS called me last week to inform me that my belongings were being shipped out and I should expect a delivery date of 8/13 - 15/12. At this time they added $415 for storage which is what is currently in dispute. I was instructed to inform them prior to the end of my paid month storage to deliver my belongings and I would not incur additional storage fees but they could not give me a specific delivery date. I did notify them prior to the expiration of my paid storage to deliver my things. I followed their procedure of notification and should not be charged $415. I have tried to resolve this conflict via multiple phone calls but now they are not returning my calls. They also gave me with the wrong phone number to contact the driver about the exact date delivery date.The truck will be here in days and I would like to get this resolved ASAP

Desired Settlement: Removal of the incorrect added charges of $415.00 from my balance due for my move.

Business Response:

Dear BBB complaint department,

This is a response to # complaint #*******. Mrs. **** was contacted on 7/17/12 to let her know that delivery would be between 7-21-7/23 (dates that she should have been still in town to receive her delivery) She had told us that she would not be able to receive her belongings at that time. The following day she contacted us and said that yes she would be around and the we can ship her belongings. At that time the truck we had for her has been dispatched and we planned to put it on the next truck. However, that truck didn't have sufficient space for Mrs. ****'s belongings. at that time we had communicated this and explained that it would be delivered after she gets back from her trip.

All calls placed from Mrs. **** to our office have been returned. As you can see this complaint was submitted on a Sunday. Maybe she was hopping to reach someone in our office during the weekend and felt that she was being ignored. First thing Monday morning 8/13/12 I communicated with Mrs. **** and had reduced the storage fee to $100 instead of $415. ( and that had nothing to do with the BBB complaint because we have not been notified at that time yet that once has been placed)

Respectfully,

***** ****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/4/2012 Delivery Issues
1