BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Two Men Will Move You

Phone: (619) 296-7995 3571 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101 http://www.twomenwillmoveyou.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers household & office moving services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Two Men Will Move You meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Two Men Will Move You include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Two Men Will Move You
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1965 in CA Business incorporated: 03/01/1995 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The license number is T-132907.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathleen Nutter, President Mr. Donald Nutter, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathleen Nutter, President
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Packing & Crating Service Movers - Office

Alternate Business Names
Two Guys Relocation Systems Inc
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men Move You did not show good faith effort in handling and settlement of the claim for the damages their movers caused. They continued to delay the claim process by not returning calls and taking no actions. When the claim was finally settled, they offered a settlement that showed they did not want to be held responsible and accountable for the loss and inconvenience that they had caused me. . In late June this year, three men from the company moved me. They broke 2 beautiful lamps and damaged a fridge door for me during the move, for which I had filed a claim. They also damaged one other floor lamp, which was not included in the claim as the damage was not noted until after the claim was submitted. I did show this damage later to the inspector and told him that I would not do anything about it. I had to contact the company repeatedly in order to get the claim processed: 1)Took numerous phone calls to just get a claim form. They would say they would email or mail the form but never did. 2)After the claim was submitted, they would take no actions without you keeping calling them. Every time you called, they would give you an excuse and tell you they would get back but never did. So you had to call again. 3)When an appointment was finally scheduled for inspection, the inspector did not show up. So I had to call again and had the appointment rescheduled. 4)Took couple of more phone calls to finally get the claim settled. Upon settlement, they sent me a check in the amount of $80.00 for the two broken lamps and the damaged fridge door, of which:1)$30.00 was for the 2 lamps with $15.00 each. The two lamps were beautiful before they were broken, and they had been with me for many years, which had a lot of sentimental value. One was a living room table lamp bought from **** *** at about $250.00 and the other was a living room floor lamp from **** ***** at about $120.00. 2)$50.00 for the damaged fridge door.

Desired Settlement: A good faith settlement that is fair and equitable to both parties.

Business Response:

On 28 November 2012. an acknowledgement of claim receipt was mailed to the
above address along with a check in the amount of $80.00 in settlements of
your claim.

We regret your move has given you cause to file a claim. Every attempt was made to settle claim professionally, quickly, and fairly.

******** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

February 19, 2013

 

**** *****

Dispute & Information Analyst

BBB of San Diego

5050 Murphy Canyon Road #110

San Diego, CA 92123-4389

 

Re: Complaint ID #*******

 

Dear Mr. *****:

 

I am writing this letter in response to the Two Men Will Move You letter dated January 2, 2013.  

 

Lack of Good Faith Efforts in Claim Processing

 

The damages were sustained during the move on June 28, 2012.

 

September 21, 2012, as provided in its letter, if correct, was not the first time and only time that I called to get a claim form. I recalled that I had called at least 4 times, if not more:

·         The first time I called, they told me they would mail it to me but never did it. I might have called more than once and was told that they would mail it to me but never did. 

·         I called again. They told me that they would email it to me but never did.  

·         I called again. I never received it as they said it was sent to my old address.  

·         I called again and finally got it.  

 

October 11, 2012, as provided in its letter, if correct, was not the first time and only time that I had called to schedule the inspection. I recalled that I called at least once before that and they told me that they would have the inspector call me. But they never did. After a while, I called back and happened to speak to the inspector. He attempted to send me away and said that he’s not sure about his schedule in the next two weeks and would have to call me back. At that point, I told him that they did not return calls and I did not want to have to keep calling back and I had waited patiently long enough for the claim to be processed. At that point, he scheduled an appointment for me.

 

November 5, 2012, as provided in its letter, was not the day that was scheduled for inspection. The inspection was scheduled for Monday, November 4, 2012. I waited at home but the inspector did not show up. So I called and they told me that the inspector put it down on his book for Tuesday. I did not know how this happened as he clearly told me Monday. So the appointment was rescheduled for Tuesday, November 5, 2012, and the inspector came on that day.   

 

Two weeks after the inspection, I called to follow up as I had not heard anything from them. They said they would have the processor call me back. They never did. So I called back (might have been more than once) and eventually spoke to the processor. A while later, finally I received a phone message from the processor informing me a check had been mailed to me. This was the first and only call that I ever received from the company during the entire claim process.  

 

After I received the settlement check, I could not believe how little they had offered to compensate the losses that they had caused. And I did not understand how the settlement was determined. So I called the company to discuss my concerns about the settlement. I was told that they would have the processor call me back. But she never did.   

 

Inadequate Settlements

 

I do not believe the company provided adequate settlements for the losses, damages, and inconvenience that it had caused me.

 

Refrigerator Door

 

I did not request a cash settlement. I simply suggested to the inspector while on site that I would be willing to consider a cash settlement if the cost to replace was too high, although I preferred to replace it.

 

On my last call to the company to obtain an understanding about the settlement, I was told that the manufacturer was no longer making the part, and therefore, they offered a cash settlement of $50.00.

 

I did my research and found that the part is available in the market for $123.21, which appears to be a reasonable cost for replacement. So the cash settlement was inadequate.  

 

Although this was an 11 year-old refrigerator, it is in excellent condition with the exception of the damages on the door caused during the move. I had intended to keep it for many more years but now because of the unsightly damages, I have to replace it earlier than I had wished, which would cost unnecessary spending to me.  

 

Broken Lamps

 

The settlement of $30.00 was inadequate for two broken lamps with a total cost of $370.00. Although it was provided in the contract that the coverage is based on weight ($0.60 per pound), it provides no protection for consumers. What if the broken lamp is an antique that is worth thousands or even millions but weighs only 50 pound? How is $30.00 going to compensate the loss?

 

Desired Settlement

 

The facts above did not support the company’s claim that every attempt was made to settle claim professionally, quickly, and fairly. Rather, I believe that Two Men Will Move You did not show good faith effort in the claim settlement process, and therefore, did not measure up to BBB’s A+ rating.

 

I ask that the company pay the cost to replace the refrigerator door and the two broken lamps. 

 

Thank you for your attention on this matter!

 

Sincerely,

***** ***

Business Response:

CLAIM WAS SETTLED IN ACCORDANCE TO LIABILITY COVERAGE SELECTED BY CUSTOMER ON
FREIGHT BILL CONTRACT IN ACCORDANCE WITH CALIFORNIA PUB LIS UTILITIES COMMISSION.
CUSTOMER IS REQUESTING FULL VALUE COVERAGE, WHICH IS NOT OFFERED BY TWO MEN
WILL MOVE YOU AND CUSTOMER DID NOT PAY ADDITIONAL AMOUNT FOR DEPRECIATED VALUE
COVERAGE. CUSTOMER SIGNED FOR $.60 PER POUND PER ARTICLE AT NO ADDITIONAL
CHARGE. THIS HAS BEEN EXPLAINED TO THE CUSTOMER SEVERAL TIMES DURING THE
SETTLEMENT PROCESS.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Dear Mr. *****,

 

I received the following message from BBB recently but have not had a chance to review and respond until now. I noted that the complaint has been marked as resolved and closed due to none response from me.

 

Unfortunately, the complaint has no where been resolved. Neither the poor customer service issue and lack of good faith effort in settling the claim has been addressed by the company.

 

I understand the BBB request receipts from me in order to mediate. Unfortunately, I do not have the receipts any more. So at this point, I don't wish to further deal with the company. However, this case was never resolved in any way and my complaints remain, and I don't believe that the company measures up to the BBB's A+ rating.

 

Please feel free to contact me should you need additional information from me.

 

Thank you!

 

***** 

 

Regards,

***** ***

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

12/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men Will Move You broke a large ceramic pot during my move on August 7, 2012. Staff photographed damage and agree to pay per value covered by contract. I have contacted the company repeatedly since August. They have not reimbursed me. They do not return phone calls or email.

Desired Settlement: The broken pot is unglazed ceramic and measures 12" diameter and 12" high. Please replace the broken pot.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired company based on previous experience where they packed our apartment and moved to a storage unit while waiting on new home construction to finish. Requested same crew, **** and ***. **** returned with different partner, ******, who assisted him. They were on time and friendly as before. The job required moving contents of storage into a truck rented by me which would be driven to our new home in Texas. We knew we would have to pack tight as we began and determined ahead of time several items which we might have to donate or would offer to the movers if they wanted them. Those items were a damaged coffee table, armoire, and hutch with bookshelves.During the move, **** and I placed our jackets on a ladder style bookshelf as we all got warm as we were becoming more active. My boyfriend also placed his Oakley sunglasses and visor on the same bookshelf located directly outside the storage unit door inside the structure. It would be disassmebled at the end to fit easier. Our Dyson vacuum and our Specialized mountain bikes also sat out to be loaded last.Everything went smooth, although some things were not wrapped as carefully as the first time. When we finished, my boyfriend asked if anybody packed his glasses and visor, to which all answered "no". **** loaded the items mentioned above that we decided to donate into thier company truck. We asked everyone to check to see if the missing items mistakenly placed in the moving truck and were assured they were not. We paid the movers in cash along with a generous $100.00 tip. Upon unloading the truck in Texas, we discovered our Dyson was missing, entertainment center gouged, both Specialized bikes damaged, mine has a broken neck piece, the other severely scratched. I contacted the owner on May 7, she apologized and said she would send a claim form to the address I provided. I have not received said form. We are extremely dissapointed as we continue to find damage to items as we unpack.

Desired Settlement: Cost to replace Dyson, $319.99 which we purchased from Amazon last week, can provide documentation for both purchases. Oakley sunglasses, $125.00 which is half replacement cost as they were not new. Cost to repair mountain bikes, estimated at $230.00. We will cover cost of wood putty and wood color pens for furniture repair as other items are of far more significance. As a matter of respect, a refund of the $100.00 tip should be considered.

Business Response: 11 June 2012 

Better Business Bureau of San Diego
5050 Murphy Canyon. Suite 110
San Diego, CA 92123 

Re:          ID
*******
            *** ********

After receiving your correspondence dated 18 May 2012. I called *** ******** got an address to send a claim form and mailed a new form. On 7 June 2012, I again called *** ******** explaining I had not received the form and wanted to make sure she received the form. She stated she was sorry but had been busy, but would fax a copy that day. I received a copy that day. 7 June 2012. I placed a call to *** ********, this date, to get additional information on the missing vacuum cleaner. I have been informed there is a problem in that storage facility of homeless people taking items while the trucks are being loaded. I left a message, asking *** ******** to return the call. After talking to *** ********. I should be able to settle the complaint. 

Regards,
 
******** ** ******
President
Two Guys Relocaticn Systems. Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am uncertain of what settlement plans Ms. ****** has for my complaint.  Based on the response given by Ms. ****** I have no other option but to reject her response until I can get details on how she plans on settling my claim.  It is June 20th and I haven't heard from Ms. ****** since 6/12/12. 

Yes there are homeless people that sit on the sidewalk outside of this storage facility.  However, it is gated and you have to have a code to enter.  As I stated to Ms. ******, there wasn't a bunch of homeless people roaming around while our truck was being loaded and that Porter (one of the movers) was stationed in the truck while **** brought stuff down to be loaded. 

Also, it seems that the only item in my complaint that Ms. ****** is focusing on is the vacuum cleaner.  There were other issues in the original complaint that need to be addressed in the proposed settlement as well.

Please send me a detailed settlement plan so I can make an informed decision of whether to accept or not.

Regards,

*** ******** 

Business Response: 2 July 2012 

*** ********
**** ****** ****
****** ********** ** *****

WE REGRET YOUR MOVE BAS GIVEN YOU CAUSE TO FILE A CLAIM. EVERY ATTEMPT WAS MADE TO SETTLE YOUR CLAIM QUICKLY
AND FAIRLY. MOST CLAIMS ARE SE'ITLED WITHIN 30--60 DAYS. THE FOLLOWING HAS BEEN DETERMINED REGARDING YOUR CLAIM: THE LIABILITY COVERAGE ON YOUR MOVE IS 60 CENTS PER POUND PER ARTICLE. THIS MINIMUM COVERAGE FOR LOST OR DAMAGED ITEMS IS BASED ON 60 CENTS TIMES THE WEIGHT OF THE ARTICLE. THIS COVERAGE IS PROVIDED AT NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE. THE WEIGHT OF THE ARTICLES LISTED TOTAL 100 POUNDS. AND 60 CENTS TIMES 100 AMOUNT TO $60.00. THE MOVERS DENY ANY KNOWLEDGE OF THE REPORTED MISSING VACUUM AND SUNGLASSES, AND ARE RETURNING THE $100. BOTH MOVERS HAVE WORKED FOR THIS COMPANY TEN TO FIFTEEN YEARS. AND HAVE NEVER BEEN ACCUSED OF STEALING. THE PROBLEM WITH THE LOADING OF THE TRUCK WAS THE TRUCK WAS SMALL AND NOT EQUIPPED WITH ENOUGH PADS AND STRAPS. WE HAVE BEEN INFORMED THE HOMELESS PEOPLE COMBINE MONEY AND RENT A SMALL STORAGE SPACE TO STORE THEIR ITEMS IN THE DAY AND TAKE SOME ITEMS OUT AT NIGHT TO COOK AND SLEEP ON THE SIDEWALK BY THE STORAGE FACILITY THEY HAVE ACCESS TO THE STORAGE UNIT IN THE DAY WHERE THEY CAN STAY AND WATCH THE TRUCKS BEING LOADED AND UNLOADED. THE MOVERS STATE THERE WAS A PERSON AROUND. THE DAY YOUR TRUCK WAS LOADED, WHO THEY CALLED "THE THING" BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT TELL IF IT WAS A MAN OR WOMAN. WE HAVE ENCLOSED A GOOGLE PICTURE OF THE OUTSIDE OF THE FACILITY TAKEN 12 JUNE 2012, SHOWING THE HOMELESS ON THE SIDEWALK. THE EVENING OF FRIDAY 29 JUNE 2012, OVER 100 HOMELESS PEOPLE WERE CAMPED OUT ON THE SIDEWALK. A TWO MEN WILL MOVE YOU CHECK IN THE AMOUNT OF $160.00 IS ENCLOSED. 

******** ******
PRESIDENT
TWO GUYS RELOCATION SYSTEMS, INC.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damaged & broke furniture during move. Some aren't able to be repaired. Have had many calls with **** ***** who keeps telling me he's waiting for parts. Have sent their office a letter asking for full refund on 4/24 with no response. Just got off the phone with *****, he told us to go **** ourselves. Please help!

Desired Settlement: Please pay the amount of loss and repair.

Business Response: 18 JUNE 2012 Better Business Bureau of San Diego                  RE: ID *******
5050 Murphy Canyon Road, Suite             *** ***** *********
San Diego CA 92123                               ****** ***** *******  

31 MARCH 2012, TWO MEN WILL MOVE YOU MOVED THE FIRST PART OF A TWO-PART MOVE FOR ****** ***** *******. THE MOVE WAS TO BE AN ELEVATOR TO ELEVATOR MOVE. AT THE OFFLOAD ADDRESS, THE MOVERS WERE NOT ALLOWED TO USE THE ELEVATOR AND THE FURNITURE HAD TO BE UNLOADED AND MOVED UP A NARROW OUTSIDE STAIRWAY. 31 MARCH 2012, ***** ********* CALLED **** AT TWO MEN WILL MOVE YOU AND REPORTED DAMAGE TO A FILE CABINET. 3 APRIL 2012, **** INSPECTED THE FILE CABINET, DUE TO THE HEAVINESS OF THE TWO DRAWER LATERAL FILE CABINET, WHICH WAS CONSTRUCTED OF PARTICLE BOARD COVERED WITH CONTACT PAPER, THE BOARD ON THE BACK BROKE AWAY FROM THE FRAME. THE BOARD WAS BROUGHT BACK TO THE OFFICE SO A NEW BOARD COULD BE ORDERED. A SMALL SCRATCH WAS NOTICED ON A DESK AND IT WAS AGREED THE SCRATCH WOULD BE REPAIRED AFTER THE SECOND PART OF THE MOVE WAS COMPLETED.  13 APR1L 2012, **** CONTACTED ***** TO OBTAIN INFORMATION ON WHERE THE FILE WAS PURCHASED OR THE MANUFACTURER. ***** WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE ANY INFORMATION. 16 APRIL 2012, **** ORDERED CONTACT PAPER FROM INTERIOR PLACE IN PENNSYLVANIA. THE CONTACT PAPER DID NOT MATCH AND WAS RE-ORDERED FROM SAMPLES PROVIDED. INTERIOR PLACE COULD NOT MATCH THE PAPER. 17 APRIL 2012, ***** CALLED ****, SCREAMING ABOUT THE FILE. **** EXPLAINED THE CONTACT PAPER COULD NOT BE MATCHED AND A CABINET MAKER WAS MAKING A NEW BOARD FOR THE FILE. **** YELLED THAT HE WAS GOING TO START "SLAMMING" TWO MEN WILL MOVE YOU AND HUNG UP. 17 MAY 2012, **** CONTACTED *** AT ****** ***** ******* ABOUT THE BOARD. 21 MAY 2012, **** CALLED ****, CUSSING AND THREATENED TO SLAM THE COMPANY ON THE INTERNET AND HUNG UP. 29 MAY 2012, *. ****** OF TWO MEN WILL MOVE YOU GAVE THE CLAIM TO **** *******, A OUTSIDE PROFESSIONAL REPAIR REPRESENTATIVE, AND INFORMED ***** AT ****** ***** ******* THAT HE WOULD BE CALLING TO SET AN APPOINTMENT. 29 MAY 2012, 4:45 PM. **** CALLED ***** AT ****** ***** ******* TO SET AN APPOINTMENT TIME TO REPAIR THE DESK AND TO PUT THE NEW BOARD ON THE FILE. **** WOULD NOT SET AN APPOINTMENT WITH ****. 30 MAY 2012. 10:15 AM, ** ****** CALLED AND SPOKE TO ***** ABOUT NOT SETTING AN APPOINTMENT TIME WITH **** **** STARTED YELLING AND AGAIN THREATENED TO SLAM HER AND THE COMPANY ON THE INTERNET. HE SAID HE WAS CONTACTING HIS ATTORNEY AND HUNG UP. 1 JUNE 2012, 11:00 AM, ** ****** CONTACTED *** AT ****** ***** *******, ASKING FOR HELP IN SETTING AN APPOINTMENT FOR **** TO REPAIR THE DESK AND THE FILE. HE SAID HE WOULD SEE WHAT HE COULD DO AND HE WOULD RETURN THE CALL. THE CALL HAS NOT BEEN RETURNED. NOTE: **** DENIES CUSSING AT ****.TWO MEN WILL MOVE YOU HAS NOT RECEIVED ANY CORRESPONDENCE FROM ***** ********* ****** ***** *******. 

******** ******
PRESIDENT,
TWO GUYS RELOCATION SYSTEMS, INC

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Destroyed 2 bookshelves, 5 China Dolls (my daughters collection!), China Cabinet damaged (managed not to so much as chip it the 50+ years it has been on the planet), Entertainment Center destroyed (Three legs fell off! Not little screw-in legs, but legs approximately 3 ft long that were secured on the unit in two places!), every piece of my master bedroom furniture has gouges and chips (not cheap furniture!), every third box I open has something else destroyed in it (I must have went through a zillon rolls of packing material too!), it goes on and on and on..we have estimated that approximately one fourth of our stuff has been marred and/or destroyed in some way by this move. So, we went to go through their insurance that came with our move, one of the reasons we chose them. (we opted out of their premium coverage since it only covered items valued over 5K..) well their insurance pays by the pound! How absurd is that.. I dont recall the exact per pound value (20 or 40 cents per pound) but our destroyed entertainment center was only a $24.00 claim!!! Hundreds of dollars worth of furniture for $24.00!!! So I asked them to fix it and they have been blowing me off for three months. Deeply, deeply regretful in my decision in a moving company.. and it cost me $1,020.00. to go less than two miles with one truck load. Not that that was bad enough, they told me twice they accepted tips and didnt forget to mention to my husband too.another 6 times..there went another $150 so my move ended up costing me $1,170.00

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of at least half of my out of pocket expense for this move. I have been lied to too many times and not getting calls back for the last time.

Business Response: 6 June 2012 
Better Business Bureau of San Diego
5050 Murphy Canyon. Suite 110
San Diego» CA 92123 

RE: ID NO. *******

*** ****** Dear ****** *****

Due to *** ****** only being able to schedule appointments on Saturday» it has taken a longer time to complete the settling of the complaint. We have a scheduled appointment for Saturday, 9 June 2012. A copy of our reply to the Better Business Bureau. dated 4 June 2012, will be mailed to the customer.Information will be furnished the BBB after the 9 June 2012 appointment. 

******** ** ******
President
Two Guys Relocation Systems, Inc.


5 JUNE 2012 
Better Business Bureau
5050 Murphy Canyon Road, Suite 110
San
Diego CA 92123 

RE:
** *******
*** ******
FACTS; CUSTOMER BOOKED THE MOVE WITH TWO MEN WILL MOVE YOU AT APPROXIMATELY 9:00 A.M. 25 FEBRUARY 2012, FOR 25 FEBRUARY 2012; STATING SHE SENT THE MOVERS AWAY FROM THE COMPANY SHE HAD BOOKED BECAUSE THEY WERE NOT STRONG ENOUGH. A TRUCK AND THREE (3) LARGE, STRONG MOVERS WERE IMMEDIATELY DISPATCHED. UPON ARRIVING AT THE LOAD ADDRESS, THE MOVERS LEARNED THE APARTMENT WAS ON THE 3RD FLOOR WITH 40 STAIRS TO WHERE THE TRUCK HAD TO PARK. WHICH MADE 80 STAIRS FOR EACH TRIP TO THE TRUCK AND BACK TO THE APARTMENT. THE TRUCK HAD TO PARK ON A HILL NOT ON A LEVEL SPOT WHICH MADE THE LOADING OF THE TRUCK VERY DIFFICULT AND TIME CONSUMING. THE MOVERS ALSO LEARNED THE PREVIOUS MOVERS REFUSED TO DO THE JOB AND HAD LEFT. THE FURNITURE AND BOXES WERE LARGE AND HEAVY. A LARGE AMOUNT OF THE BOXES HAD TO BE MOVED WITH ONLY 1 BOX AT A TIME ON THE DOLLY DUE TO SIZE AND THE LARGE NUMBER OF STA!RS. HALF WAY THROUGH THE LOAD HE HUSBAND CAME BACK WITH PIZZA AND GATORADE FOR THE MOVERS. AT THE SAME TIME HE TIPPED EACH MOVER AND TOLD THEM HE APPRECIATED THEM WORKING SO HARD AND FAST. THE HUSBAND ALSO MADE SOME TRIPS. DOWN TO THE TRUCK. *** TOLD THE MOVERS SHE WAS GLAD THE FIRST MOVERS LEFT THE JOB AND COMMENTED ON HOW 'PROFESSIONALTHESE MOVERS WERE. AT THE OFFLOAD ADDRESS THE BOXES WENT IN A BEDROOM. THE MASTER BEDROOM FURNITURE WENT IN THE DINING ROOM AREA NOTHING WAS PUT IN THE MASTER BEDROOM. CUSTOMER LOOKED AT EACH ITEM OF THE MASTER BEDROOM FURNITURE AND TOLD THE MOVERS WHERE TO PLACE THE ITEM IN THE DINING ROOM AREA. THE MOVERS WERE INSTRUCTED TO PUT THE MATTRESS AND BOX SPRINGS ON THE FLOOR IN THE DINING ROOM AREA WHERE THEY WERE GOING TO SLEEP. TWO MEN WILL MOVE YOU DID NOT MOVE THE MASTER BEDROOM FURNITURE FROM THE DINING ROOM AREA TO THE MASTER BEDROOM MOVERS STATE THEY DID NOT DAMAGE THE BEDROOM FURNITURE ON 3 MARCH 2012, ****, ASISTANT MANAGER, TWO MEN WILL MOVE YOU, PICKED UP A LEG AND TOP BOARD FROM A SMALL TV STAND THAT THE CUSTOMER CALLED IN TO THE OFFICE STATING IT HAD BEEN DAMAGED DURING THE MOVE. THIS WAS THE ONLY DAMAGE REPORTED. OUR REPAIR PERSON STATED IT WAS A PRIOR DAMAGE THAT THE GLUE HAD HARDENED CAUSING THE LEG TO BE LOOSE. WE INSTRUCTED HIM TO REPAIR THE PIECE ON 19 APRIL 2012, **** CONTACTED THE CUSTOMER TO SET DATE TO RETURN REPAIRED ITEM. A DATE WAS SET FOR 2 JUNE 2012. ON 2 JUNE 2012, WHEN **** RETURNED THE REPAIRED ITEM, HE WAS NOT ABLE TO CHECK THE BEDROOM FURNITURE BECAUSE THE CUSTOMER WAS IN THE BEDROOM. AN APPOINTMENT HAS BEEN SCHEDULED WITH THE CUSTOMER FOR 11:00 A.M., SATURDAY 9 JUNE 2012 TO INSPECT THE MASTER BEDROOM SET, VALUATION DECLARATION: THERE ARE 2 OPTIONS AVAILABLE TO COVER ANY LOSS OR DAMAGE: 1. 60 CENTS PER POUND PER ARTICLE. THIS COVERAGE IS PROVIDED AT NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE. 2. ACTUAL CASH VALUE. THIS OPTION PROVIDES FOR LOST OR DAMAGE BASED ON ACTUAL CASH VALUE. INCLUDING DEPRECIATION, AT THE TIME OF LOSS OR DAMAGE, UP TO THE TOTAL DOLLAR AMOUNT OF VALUE DECLARED BY YOU. THERE lS A CHARGE FOR THIS COVERAGE. $140.00 FOR $20,000 COVERAGE.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1