BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Manpower Movers

Phone: (619) 961-8800 Fax: (858) 536-8883 7960 Silverton Ave #125, San Diego, CA 92126 http://www.manpowermovers.com ! There is an alert on Manpower Movers !

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

This company's advertising claims that they are a member of the BBB, however this business is not a member. Misuse of the BBB name or logo constitutes misrepresentation and trademark infringement.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Manpower Movers include:

  • Failure to have a required competency license.
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business
  • Advertising issue(s) found by BBB


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Manpower Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 15, 2005 Business started: 10/07/2004 in CA Business started locally: 04/01/2005 Business incorporated: 10/07/2004 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The license number is 190016. On 5/30/2014 BBB confirmed that CA Public Utilities Commission revoked the license of Manpower Movers.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Giuntini, Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Joe Giuntini, Officer
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
JJ Betr Group
Additional Tradenames, Addresses & Phone Numbers

This company acts as an agent for National Van Lines.

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7960 Silverton Ave #125

    San Diego, CA 92126

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

This company is not an accredited Business of
the Better Business Bureau. This company has failed to discontinue the use of
our Federally Registered Trademark when demands have been made to do so.
Misrepresentation of BBB accreditation constitutes false and deceptive
advertising and trademark infringement.


Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Manpower Mover to move our furniture and household items on August 20th 2013. After the move was completed , my wife and I noticed that one of our sofas was torn on the back side and our solid wood desk was cracked. I called Brian Casey, the company's representative immediately and informed him of the damages. He said that he would need a written customer claim form filled out and returned and he did send the form. I filled out the form and returned it along with a written description of the damages,it also included the manufacturer .This was sent on August 30th, 2013, since this time there has been a few excuses such as" I can't make out the make of the desk. This communication was dated November 12th, and "the person who use to do this for me is know longer here and I'm trying to catch up."Now there is know response to my phone calls or e-mails.

Desired Settlement: Immediate reupholstry of the sofa back and repair or replacement of the desk.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Manager, *****, if very unprofessional and does not conduct business according to his own company's protocol. He has no customer service skills. He made commitments and then failed to follow-thru. He did not show up for three meetings he schedule with us to resolve the issues nor did he communicate in any fashion to say he was not going to show, instead we had to reach out to him on all the occassions.Not all items inventoried and tagged. We were not given proper documentation to account for all household items. Paperwork is incomplete and includes discrepencies. Charges not as they were billed. Descrepencies in the hours tallied.These are not just Contract issues but those of Billing, Delivery, and Customer Service.Two, 8" Danze, ORB, faucets were packed or taken after they were instructed not to pack.

Desired Settlement: We would like Manpower to inventory and tag our items accurately--as it is done per industry protocol.If they are unable they must submit a liablity document for any losses that may occur in addition to the Limited Liability.We want our documents fully and accurately completed (all Household Goods Discriptive Inventory Sheets, the Non-Negotiable Warehouse Receipt & Contract and any other industry documents missing. We want charges correctly invoiced.We want our 2-Danze,8"-widespread,ORB,fauces

Business Response: This customer's inventory sheets were mailed to her a couple of days after we did the job.  She is in possession of those, as far as I know.  Her items were all tagged and inventoried.  There's no merit to her claim that that was not done, or that it was done incorrectly.  There is also no merit to her claim that charges were not calculated or billed correctly.  Lastly, her faucets were put into storage in our warehouse, which is our fault.  My movers apparently didn't understand that they weren't supposed to go into storage.   For us to try to find those items would take all day, and would cost more than the items are worth.  I offered to pay her for those items in exchange for the original receipt for those items, so we could be reimbursed for them, once the items came out of storage.  She never responded to that offer.

***** *****
General Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Correction, the resubmittal of the "INCOMPLETE" Household Goods Descriptive Inventory Sheets were received via usmail the week of the September 17-21, 2012, not a couple of days after the move. As you can verify from the previous documentation submitted to your office these inventory sheets are simply partial copies of what was already given to us and still remain incomplete.  Proof that there are still many household items are still accounted for can also be verified.  Thus, *****'s email has no merit.   The charges accounted for again includes two, fifteen minute breaks and another half-hour lunch of which his moving manager said he would adjust and credit once he returned to the office.  ***** failed to mention an additional $1057.50, charge without cause or invoice to my credit card. The directions to his staff were clear, not to pack the new faucets because they were needed for our newly constucted bathrooms.  The staff again said they would return them that evening or the next morning, after the truck was unloaded to the vault.  ***** is correct he did send an email the day I filed with the BBB.  However, after many empty promises and failed attempts to complete any prior commitments, his offer to pay for the faucets came as another insincere jesture that may not come to fruition.  Thus, after the claim was filed we also wanted all correspondence to go through the BBB and forwarded such notes.  On October 4, 2010, *******, is billing person called for a new credit card to authorize payment for storage, we have tried to reply to fulfill our payment obligation, however,  the number she left is only receiving voicemail of which we have left.  My husband, ****** called the office on Friday, October 12, 2012, ***** answered and we asked for the owner's name and phone number to try and resolve the issue at hand and he refused to give the information.

Regards

***** ******

 

Business Response:

We contracted with this customer to move her items from her house, into storage.  We did that.  She keeps saying that her inventory sheets are inaccurate or incomplete, however, she's yet to provide a list of items that she thinks are missing.  If items ARE missing or damaged, there is a process and procedure for compensating her for those items, and it is clearly outlined in her agreement, and other regulatory information provided to her, prior to the move.

Regarding the half-hour break that the crew took, she should not have been billed for that.  I would be glad to compensate her for that.  Regarding the 2 x 10 minute breaks that the crew took, this is considered part of the scope of work, and is billable to the customer.  I would just like to say that I've over-seen over 720 moves in my career as a manager of a moving company, and never before has a customer ever complained about providing laborers who are doing back-breaking, very physically demanding work, a couple of minutes to catch their breath.  It amazes me that out of all of our customers, that span the whole spectrum of income levels, it would be a woman with a 5 bedroom mansion in Del Mar who would forsake laborers a break.

Regarding the charges billed, I've included both invoices.  Everything is itemized.  The charge for for $1057 is for labor that had to be done the following day.  Because of the extraordinary scope and size of this job, and because the load and drive took most of the day, some items had to be stored in transit, and delivered into the warehouse the following day.  There was nothing we could do about that, and certainly is nothing unusual.

Regarding the items that were accidentally put into storage, first let me say that , had the customer not ignored my recommendation on how to properly execute this job, these items probably would not have been put into storage.  The proper way to execute this job, as explained to the customer before the job, was to have a packing crew come out the day prior to the actual move, instead of doing both on the same day.  As a result, there were way too many men on the job site at one time, making it much harder to manage, than had it been done my way.  This is something that she has acknowledged, herself.  This customer has 13 storage vaults.  For us to search all of these vaults would have taken us all day, and the labor cost would have been much greater than the items themselves.  Although my offer to compensate the customer for these items was late, it was still made in good faith.  Also note that the customer has not once, by e-mail, nor mail, nor phone, ever replied to my last correspondence with her.  Rather than communicating with me, she has gone to every other individual unrelated to this job, to seek satisfaction.  It's just one more example of her dysfunctional, non-productive means of resolving problems.  When she first had concerns about her invoice, instead of picking up the phone, and calling me and merely asking why she was charged what she was charged, like any normal, logical customer who has good intentions, she instead went straight to her credit card company, and threatened to reverse the charges.  As a result, we're all wasting valuable time quibbling over things that any other customer would have already gotten satisfaction for. 

In regard to her complaint about me being late in responding to her complaints, she is correct.  This is definately a customer service issue, but HARDLY something you would complain about to the better business bureau.  Again, one more example of how she tends to blow everything out of proportion, and over-react.  Since day one, she has always assumed the worst, and been extremely negative and paranoid.  Most customers, thankfully, are much more flexible, understanding, accomodating.  Ms. ******, because of her paranoia, and borderline obsessive-compulsive disorder (in my unprofessional opinion,) is overly litigious, and always has her finger on the "trigger." We get it, *****......you're NOT to be taken advantage of." In defense of my late response to her concerns, this occurred on the last week of the month (our busiest time of the month,) during our busy season (the summer.) In fact, we did more moves in this particular week, than we had in the entired history of the company.   I was horribly under-staffed, and logging 14 hour days for about 2 weeks straight.  I responded to them when I physically was able, and not before.  Again, this isn't her fault, or her problem, and I don't make exuse for it, however it is something that I have apologized for, and tried to make right, by her.  Finding that she is the type of person who can't be satisfied, I simply stopped trying. 

Regarding the calls to *******, she had taken a new job with another company several weeks ago, and the phone she was using is not manned by anyone else. Regarding payment for her storage, we accept all methods of payment.  They can simply pop a check in the mail, and be done with it.   I received a letter from her husband a couple of days ago. I immediately e-mailed them a credit card authorization for to complete and return, authorizing us to process charges for her storage.  Of course, she chose not to respond.   

Regarding their "covert" attempt to find out who the ownership of the company is, I have a couple of responses:

  1. They have no right to contact with the ownership of this company. When she has a problem with her toothpaste, does she call the board of directors at ******* * ******? In fact, the owners pay me specifically so they DON'T HAVE to talk with customers, and have given me very clear instructions, to that effect.
  2. When they called, they didn't identify themselves (something they neglected to mention in their complaint.) This sneaky way of doing business certainly isn't going to help anyone in trying to get their concerns addressed. We get calls from 50 telemarketers per day wanting to speak with the "ownership" of the company. For obvious reasons, this isn't information that we readily provide.
  3. I AM THEIR PRIMARY CONTACT.  IF THEY HAVE COMPLAINTS OR QUESTIONS, THEY MUST COMMUNICATE WITH ME. 

Lastly, I would just like to say that when you execute a project of this size, scope, and complexity, rarely does everything go perfectly.  This one had it's share of snags.  The normal process is for the 2 parties to come together, calmly, and negotiate a settlement, and work it out.    The fact is that we did a good job. This was an enormous project. We did it in a timely manner, and with relatively few problems.  As our A+ BBB rating indicates, 99% of our customers would have been satisfied.  

We're all proud of you, *****, for showing us that you know how to file a BBB complaint, and escalate a problem that didn't need to be escalated.  Good girl!  Thanks for wasting everyone's valuable time! 

 

Consumer Response:

After reading through *****’s letter, beyond his barrage of insults, ***** readily acknowledges the sub-par service we received, the failure to do our job per protocol, and the lack of professionalism with which we were treated.  All of these issues are all clearly inherent in this job and continue to be as evidence by *****’s letter. 

A credit card authorization was never mailed nor received by us.  However, we are mailing a check for a total of Two-hundred, forty dollars and zero cents ($240.00) which breaks down to the contracted monthly storage amount of forty dollars ($40.00) per month.

Some of the noticeable Items missing from your list are as follows: 

TV (for a total of 3 not 2 per your inventory), all of the items in our office (U shape desk consisting of at least 6 pieces, 1 HP printer, 1 computer monitor, 1 Shredder, 4-6 pieces of wall hangings, 1 rolling tuft office chair, 2 tuft office chairs, 1 marble side table, 1 lamp, leather desk accessories, 3-4 pieces of protective glass which  lay on the desk surface,  another queen bed set , the two-8” spread plumbing faucets, small kitchen appliance, kitchen serving ware, dinner ware, laser printer, 6 forges not 4, 4 folding chair not 2,  items from the laundry room-new serving ware, bath and house accessory items, candles, candle holders, Living room entertainment was listed as 1 items and this unit is 8-10 pieces,  general boxes are listed without an inventory as well as the furniture the only specific furniture listed was master bedroom all rooms were labeled. 

Lastly, we were never invoiced nor did we sign a credit card authorization for the amount of the discrepancy.  The half-hour break should be credited.Account Options>

 

Sincerely,

***** * ****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

1