BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Bay Park Moving

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 994-4668 Fax: (858) 535-9192 View Additional Phone Numbers 6495 Lipmann St, San Diego, CA 92122 http://www.bayparkmoving.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial moving services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bay Park Moving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bay Park Moving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bay Park Moving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 26, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1996 in CA Business incorporated: 03/16/2001 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The license number is 190145.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Douglas K Hackley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas K Hackley, President
Number of Employees

16

Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
A-Instant Movers Inc
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 5406 Renaissance Ave

    San Diego, CA 92122

  • 6495 Lipmann St

    San Diego, CA 92122 (858) 472-4123 (858) 535-1911 (800) 994-4668

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (858) 472-4123(Phone)
  • (858) 535-1911(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used this company to move my items and they damaged an antique dining room set. The movers initially denied damaging the items - they dropped and scraped a table and did not properly wrap a china cabinet and hutch).The movers eventually admitted damaging the items and the owner was not willing to reimburse me for the cost to repair or replace the items. Also, I was never asked prior to the move, if there were any high value items.The owner told me that if I wanted this resolved I should contact his lawyer.

Desired Settlement: I want my items either repaired or replaced for their current value which I estimate to be in excess of $10K.

Business Response:

This letter is in regards to your claim we received by email on January 11, 
2013 for damage to your dining room table that you stated occurred during
your move with Bay Park Moving on December 29, 2012 and your subsequent
complaint with the Better Business Bureau dated January 28, 2013.
First for the benefit of the Better Business Bureau we would like to reiterate
the history between yourself and Bay Park Moving. On December 4, 2012 you
contacted our office to request a written estimate for your upcoming move, on
December 5, 2012 at 9:27 a.m. we sent an email confirming our scheduled
estimate date and time, which was December 6, 2012 at 10:00 a.m.. 1
personally came to your home at the appointed date; however I was late to our
scheduled time, to perform your estimate. I then had your estimate emailed to
you on December 6, 2012 at 10:33 a.m.; you called our office asking for
changes and subsequently a revised estimate was sent to you on December 8,
2012 at 1:30 p.m.. You signed the revised estimate, which you dated
December 10, 2012 and returned it to our office, then scheduled your move for
December 29, 2012 with an approximate arrival time between 11:00 a.m. and
1:00 p.m on that day. On December 28, a call was made confirming your move
for December 29, 2012. The movers arrived at 11:00 a.m. on December 29,
2012 to perform your move and completed your move by 3:45p.m., which was
well under the written estimate of time.
Then on Friday January 11, 2013 I received a call from ***** *********
president of the California Moving and Storage Association stating he received
a call from Mr. ****** demanding that he (Mr. *********) make us pay a
claim for damage to his dining room table. Mr. ********* called our office and
spoke with me and I stated we did not know anything about said claim as we
had never been contacted by Mr. ******. Mr. ****** then contacted our
office and I spoke with him personally at 10:48 a.m. and 10:57 a.m. regarding
his claim. I told him he needed to put his claim in writing and submit it to our
office for investigation. We received an email that same day with pictures
attached at 11 :34 a.m.
Per the Public Utilities Commission, which is the governing body for movers in
the state of California, once the claim is received we have thirty (30) days to
acknowledge the receipt of said claim and then must pay, decline to pay or
make a firm compromise settlement within sixty (60) days of the receipt of the
claim. All of this is stated in the "Important Information for Persons Moving
Household Goods" (copy enclosed) which was given to Mr. ****** on two
separate occasions, once on the day of the estimate and then it was sent in
the mail along with a copy of the Bill of Lading prior to his move date. Mr.
****** did acknowledge in writing on the Bill of Lading that he did receive
this booklet (copy enclosed)
A letter was sent by email at 1:43 p.m. and also by certified mail on January
14, 2013 to Mr. ****** asking for additional information (copy enclosed) that
would be necessary to process his claim (copy enclosed to Better Business
Bureau). Mr. ****** promptly called our office at 1:47 p.m. demanding to
speak with myself. I was not in the office as I had my assistant email the
letter to Mr. ****** after I had signed it. He then accused my assistant of
signing my name, then when she replied that she had just forwarded the letter
on my behalf he got demanding saying that she need to go to her computer
now to see if his response was there and demanded to know what the next
step was. When she tried to explain that he would be getting a written
response with thirty (30) days, he stated he did not deal through the mail and
that she could tell him right now what the steps were, then threatened a "big"
lawsuit, when asked if he was threatening her, he replied yes. My assistant
said she could take his number and have me call him upon my return to the
office but Mr. ****** became very belligerent making offensive comments
about "English as not being her first language" and then proceeded onto
making the following comment "Oh, you have special needs", at which point
my assistant hung up the phone. He proceeded to call back at 1 :50 p.m.
stating he"··· was sorry and didn't know you were that way", my assistant told
him he was offensive and vile and hung up. He proceeded to call back again
and harass my assistant at 1 :52 p.m. stating he donated a lot of money to the
March of Dimes for "people like you" and stated he "didn't know you swung
that way". He continued to harass my assistant verbally refusing to leave his
number at which point she hung up again.
I contacted Mr. ****** on January 22, 2013 to see if he could tell me the type
of wood that his table was make out of at which point he told me to come look
for myself. I arranged to meet Mr. ****** at his home on January 23, 2013.
Mr. ****** subsequently contacted me on my cell phone to reschedule the
time to between 3:00 and 3:30 p.m.. I arrived at him home and took pictures
not only of the dining room table, but now Mr. ****** alleged damage to a
china cabinet/hutch and server. I sent a text message to Mr. ****** on
January 24, 2013 at 8:04 p.m. stating that check would be forwarded to him
early the following week, I did not say what the check amount would be for
and what it would cover.
Then on January 29, 2013 Mr. ****** called me on my cell phone demanding
to know how much money he was getting and that his furniture was worth
"ten's of thousands of dollars". He threatened to sue Bay Park Moving at which
time I told him I would have my attorney contact his attorney if that is how he
wanted it to go. I told him to have a nice day and hung up. He then filed a
complaint with the Better Business Bureau stating that we lied about the
damage and told him if he wanted it resolved to contact our attorney all which
is false.
The claim was received on January 11, 2013, which started the clock on the
thirty (30) days for us to acknowledge receipt of his claim. We did
acknowledge his claim on January 14, 2014. Since his claim was received on
January 11, 2013 and he did get an acknowledgement of receipt of his claim
within thirty (30) days, Bay Park Moving has until March 11, 2013 to pay the
claim based on the insurance provided in his move (which he signed and
acknowledged in writing, copy enclosed); deny his claim or make a
compromised. So for Mr. ****** to make the statement we are refusing to do
anything (pay or repair) is false as never once have I stated that verbally or in
writing.
Now to respond to the claim for damage to the dining room table and the
alleged damage to the china cabinet/hutch and server. We are denying his
claim for the damage to the china cabinet/hutch and server as it is apparent
that there was no damage that occurred during the move at the hands of Bay
Park Moving and that the "alleged" damage is pinhead marks consistent with
patina on the china cabinet/hutch and server. As to the table the insurance
that was agreed to and was signed for is standard carriers insurance which is
sixty cents ($0.60) per pound per article (copy of signature enclosed). Since
Mr. ****** was not able to provide any information other than the
manufacturer (Thomasville) and the dimensions, we located a similar table on
the Thomasville website (copy enclosed) and then on January 30, 2013
contacted the customer service department at Thomasville and spoke with
***** ******* at 11:33 (central time) to determine the weight of the similar
table shown in the picture enclosed, which is two hundred sixty three (263)
pounds. Thus making the maximum reimbursement for the table $157.80 based
on the agreed upon insurance coverage.
Enclosed is a check for $157.80 as full and final settlement in this matter.

**** *******
President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First, Mr ******* is perhaps the most disingenous person I have ever met.   To begin with, his ne'er-do-well crew of movers scared the bejesus out of me and my neighbors with their low rise jeans, tattooed necks, gruff manner and the faintest hint of herbal effluvium on their person suggesting more than a few run ins with ****** law and perhaps a extended stay or two in the pokey.   Meanwhile, the esteemed Mr. ******* takes pride in regaling his clients with fantasy tales about his close, personal relationship with ******** ***, **** ****** and other Hollywood luminaries.   Of course, if Mr. ******* were indeed the heir apparent mover to the stars, why would he set up shop in the low rent district of San Diego?


Anyway, the facts are these:

Bay Park Moving did significant damage to my dining room table set

Bay Park movers originally lied and then admitted to damaging my items

Bay Park insisted on a receipt for an item that is nearly 100 years old 

Bay Park never asked if I had any items of "significant" value and Mr. ******* bragged how he recently moved a $25M painting.   Hmmm, why wouldn't the actual owner move it himself?   I smell a rat, Mr. *******!

Bay Park magically determined the make, model and weight of my dining room table by "finding something similar online."   Really, how did they do that and I have no idea what they are referring to.

Bay Park sent me a check for $157 which covers, at best, about 1% of the value of my dining room set


I refuse to accept this resolution


Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

This is in response to H***** ******** complaint ID ******* regarding damage to
his dining table and his additional Information.
Mr. ****** was given Information regarding tho insurance coverage that was
provided for his move on a number of occasions and even acknowledged said
Insurance in writing. As stated In our prior correspondence, the Insurance
covorage was provided at tho time of the walk through for his estimate in the
booklet entitled "Important Information for Persons Moving Household Goods"; It
was listed on his written estimate, which he signed and returned to our office; It
was on the Bill of Lading and again In the booklet was sent prior to his move and
then on move day he signed and acknowledged said Insurance on the Bill of Lading.
Now Mr. ****** wanted to dispute the coverage when In fact he was fully aware of it.
What Mr. ****** states as facts" in his response are just rants and are unjustified.
If all Mr. Berman's "facts" are subjective remarks as to the character and
appearance of people at Bay Park Moving and our location we are not going to sink
to his level.
We have clearly stated tho facts which are he agreed to and acknowledged the
insurance coverage for hi& move and hiS claim was acknowledged and paid in tho
manner which he agreed to In writing. We stand by our previous response and
payment of the claim.

**** *******
President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing this complaint because Bay Park has ignored my requests to file a claim for damage suffered as a result of work they did for me.In May of 2011, Bay Park loaded a moving truck and a PODS container for me. When I unloaded the container in September 2011, I discovered a bookcase had been damaged. I am asking them to repair the damage because the piece was not properly protected when it was loaded into the container.I called in October and asked about filing a claim. **** told me to compile the inforamtion and email it to him. I did this, including my receipt for the original purchase as well as detailed pictures describing the damage. I never got a call back.Last week, I got an estimate on repairing the damage. Again, I emailed **** the information. Again, I didn't hear back, so I called the office. I was told he had been out sick for a couple months, but he would call me back the next day. I still have not heard from him.

Desired Settlement: Payment of claim in the amount of $205 to repair the damage.

Business Response:

Re: BBB Complaint
 
Dear Ms. ******,
 
This letter is in response to your Better Business Bureau complaint dated February 2,2012 regarding the services rendered by Bay Park Moving on May 26,2011.
 
As stated in your complaint Bay Park Moving loaded your truck and your POD container at your San Diego residence, we did not transport your household goods and once they were loading in either the truck or container they were out of our control. As to your claim for alleged damage caused to a book case that was loaded into the container by our company we are denying your claim based on the following reasons;
 
1. Under the revised estimate dated April 27, 2011 (copy enclosed) which you signed, It is clearly stated that the customer (that is you) was to
provide all necessary furniture pads to protect your furniture. In your e-mail dated November 13, 2011 regarding this claim you stated that
shrink wrap didn't cover the entire piece, shrink wrap is a saran wrap is not used to protect fumlture it is used to hold drawers and doors in
place. It was your responsibility to provide the furniture pads which you did not, so we are not reaponsible for you not providing the required
equipment necessary to properly protect your fumiture. Our original estimate to you had the necessary furniture pads in the estimate and you chose not to purchase them and stated in your April 28, 2011 email that you wanted them removed from the estimate and would take all
responsibility for providing the  necessary furniture pads.
 
2. We had no control over your household goods during the time period in which your items were stored in your container and the way the
container was handled. Also, we did not unload your container at your destination and this alleged damage could have been caused during the unloading of your container.
 
 
Sincerely,
 
 
**** *******
President
 
Enclosure
 
cc: Better Business Bureau of San Diego

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

His statement that I did not provide furniture pads is inaccurate. Not only did I provide them, I returned a number of unused furniture pads. For one of the damaged section, the movers did not use furniture pads to protect the bookcase, they only used shrink wrap. And they did not take care to cover the item completely with the shrink wrap; the exposed area at the bottom of the piece is the area that was damaged.  For the other piece, they loosely draped a furniture pad over it but did not secure the pad in any way, such as wrapping it with shrink wrap. For these reasons, these two sections of the bookcase were damaged. Items that were completely covered in shrink wrap were not damaged at all - if they taken the time to do the same with these two pieces, we would not have this problem.

The fact that the container was not under your control is not an excuse. When you are hired to load a container, it's a given that it will be moved and stored. If you can't be trusted to load a container in such a way that goods are protected,  you should not accept the work.

Regards,

***** ******

 

Business Response:

February 25, 2012
 
 
SENT BY CERTIFIED MAIL
********************
 
***** ******
*** ****** ***** ** ************ ** *****
 
Re: BBB Complaint
 
Dear Ms. ******,
 
This letter is in reponse to your further comments regarding the complaint you filed with the  Better Business Bureau regarding the services provided by Bay Park Moving.
 
As to your comment that the entire piece was not wrapped in shrink wrap, note shrink wrap is not used to protect your furniture it is used to protect fabric on furniture and to hold drawers and doors shut, so of course the furniture would not have been entirely covered, only furniture pads can properly cover furniture to protect it in transit. The crew used all the furniture pads you provided and we can not be responsible for you not providing the necessary number of furniture pads to properly cover your furniture. You elected to provide your own furniture pads and did not want us to provide any; the crew could only work with what you supplied.
 
As to your comment regarding that the pod not being in our control is an excuse, is not an excuse it is a fact. We can not be resposible for the pod once we leave, for all we know you could have placed other items into the pod after we left your house, the pod would have been mishandled in transit and the damage could have occurred when being unloaded, we would not know as we were not there.
 
Therefore again we are denying your claim.
 
Sincerely,
 
**** *******
President
 
 
cc: Better Business Bureau of San Diego
By fax and by certified mail

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Attached are my receipts proving I purchased 20 furniture pads for the move, and returned 4 of them because they were not used. If you are denying my claim based on my not providing enough furniture pads, my receipts prove that is not true.

If my claim is not paid as requested, my next step is to pursue legal action.

Regards,

***** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1