BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers internet shopping services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MerchSource LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MerchSource LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on MerchSource LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 04/23/2007 in CA Business incorporated: 10/27/2011 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Carrie Blodgett, Customer Service Mr. Mike Roberts, Partner Mr. Derek Coy, Attorney
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carrie Blodgett, Customer Service
Principal: Mr. Mike Roberts, Partner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Blue Hat Toy Company MP3 Customer Care
Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • 15 Cushing

    Irvine, CA 92618 (800) 374-2744 (949) 900-0905 (949) 587-9207 (949) 900-0900 (949) 916-5698

  • 19517 Pauling

    Foothill Ranch, CA 92610

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (949) 587-9207(Phone)
  • (949) 900-0900(Phone)
  • (949) 900-0905(Phone)
  • (949) 916-5698(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a desktop fan manufactured by The Black series which is owned by MerchSource LLC. The fan did not work, so I called them and Shawn told me if I shipped the fan to **** ******* ************ ** ***** they would send a replacement. When I received the replacement this one still isnt working, so I called again requesting a Refund of shipping fees and purchase price and Shawn told me they cant give refunds. I requested to speak with someone who can provide refunds and he told me someone would call within 24-48 hours. ****** called me and told me that if I had my receipts and amounts I paid she could issue a refund. Unfortunately I was unable to answer the phone at the time. So I called her back three times explain I have my receipts and amounts and still has not called back as to what to do. Product_Or_Service: The Black Series Rotating Desktop Fan

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want to return this product and I want them to refund my purchase price, my original shipping fees to ship the original defective product to them, and my shipping fees to ship this defective product to them. All in all I expect this to cost me about $40.73. My purchase was $17.12, I shipped to them originally for $11.61, and I expect this second set of shipping fees to cost me about $12.00.

Business Response: refund was sent on 4/18/14

Thanks,
*****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.  They have done this, I received a check for the amount requested as well as a Pre-Paid FedEx Label with which to ship the product back.  Thank You BBB for your help in this matter.

Regards,

*** ****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sons received a RC car called a "tumbler" for Christmas from their Grandma. One red, one blue. They were broken when we pulled them out of the box. We tried to return them to the kiosk in the mall but it was gone after Christmas. So I contacted the manufacturer. I was told to ship them back and then within two weeks I would receive a replacement and a reimbursement for my shipping cost. I sent them back. I got a confirmation from the USPS. From the date they received them I waited 2 weeks. Nothing. I called back and was told that because of Christmas it was going to take 6 to 8 weeks. I called again on the 19th of March because I still had not received anything. I was told the 8 weeks wasn't up until the 22nd and I should have them by then but they didn't have a tracking number or any other information to give me. The 22nd came and went with nothing. I called on the 25th of March and was told it was escalated and I should have my check for shipping within 2 to 3 more weeks and then they don't know when the cars are coming. I told them that was unacceptable and told them they needed to find out. The manager said she would call me back within 24 hours. I still haven't heard from her. I called back today and they said they have no idea when the replacement cars are coming and I should get reimbursed for my shipping within the next 6 to 12 weeks. They have stolen my sons' Christmas presents, they have continually lied to me, not followed through with reimbursement, they have not provided a quality product, they have not followed through with the service that was promised and paid for because they have not returned the items promised and reimbursed me. I've had to spend hours on the phone with them and I am getting no where. Product_Or_Service: Thunder Tumbler (2 of them)

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

Business Response: sent replacement  4/10/13

Thanks,
*****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Thunder Tumbler did not work. Was given information on exchange process. Was told that the complany does not give refunds for defective product. I called the customer service. Spoke with agent *********, on January 13, 2014. I told her of the situation that I purchased the Thunder Tumbler as a present. The item was defective. She gave me the procedures of exchanging the item and told me that it would take 6 -10 weeks before I received an new toy. I asked her about a refund. She told me that I would have to take it back to the store to receive a refund. I told her that I no longer had the receipt and was not interested in a store credit. I then asked her about their refund policy. I was told that the company does not give refunds only exchanges. I can only get a refund from the store that I purchased the item from. I purchased the item over 30 days ago, as a birthday present for my Godson. His birthday is in January, not 6 -10 weeks from today.

Desired Settlement: Since Blue Hat Toy Company has their name on the box of the toy, they should be held responsible defects, exchanges, and refunds. If an exchange policy does not fit the need of the consumer, then a refund should be given by the company...not the store that product was purchased from. I would like to receive my $13.78 (12.99 + 6% tax) back for this DEFECTIVE toy. I would be happy to return the DEFECTIVE toy to them at their expense.

Business Response:  refund was sent on 4/18/14

Thanks,
*****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service