BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

QBE First Insurance Agency Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 962-9654 PO Box 57048, Irvine, CA 92619 View Additional Email Addresses https://www.qbefirst.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers accidental, health and life insurance services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for QBE First Insurance Agency Inc include:

  • 13 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on QBE First Insurance Agency Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 12/20/1984 in CA Business incorporated: 12/20/1984 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Department of Insurance
Consumer Services Division, 300 South Spring Street, Los Angeles CA 90013
http://www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: 800-927-4357
Fax Number: 213-897-5961
The license number is 0679245.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Long Term Care Insurance Rating Bureaus Insurance Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9800 Muirlands Blvd

    Irvine, CA 92618 (866) 570-5277 (800) 962-9654

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 19702

    Irvine, CA 92623 (800) 822-2997

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 57048

    Irvine, CA 92619

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.qbefirst.com/
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Qbe Property Loss Department is handling a roof repair claim for Seterus. I've had to call numerous times (lost count) to check the status of my claim and each time I've called there was a delay in processing my claim so the funds could be disbursed so the repairs could begin. * paperwork completed incorrectly (I own this one), however when asked the correct way was provided incorrect information by the rep so when I called to check the status again I was told it was still wrong.* calling and leaving messages on my cell phone (************) to call them to discuss my claim then when I call no one knows why I am caling then inform me that they have been trying to reach me at *************)when they jest left me a voice mail to call them on the correct phone number.* advising me they are calling me on the home number (************) after I've told them numerous times the correct number to reach me is the (************) I finally had them to remove the alternate number

Desired Settlement: Prompt Service by professionals who know the process. I have to wait for 3 disbursements in order to get the roof repaired and I am still waiting on the first one. I want the next two disbursements to be a smooth process with "No Delays" waiting on one department to request the disbursement (which didn't happen until I called to check the status again)then the next department to approve the request to release the funds. I want tmy roof repaired. I submitted the claim 3/14.

Business Response:

Seterus, Inc. is the servicer of the above-referenced loan.  Seterus, Inc. utilizes QBE to assist homeowners in the event of a property loss or damage. 

All requested documentation has now been received and a disbursement for 1/3 of the total claim funds was issued to Ms. **** in the amount of $4,077.89.
The funds were mailed to Ms. **** to her property address of 11413 E 77
th St Raytown, MO 64138 on September 15, 2014.  We are currently in the process
of completing an inspection to the property to verify the status of the completion of the repairs. Once the inspection results are received and confirmed a second
portion of the funds will be sent to Ms. **** in the amount of $4,077.88. Please note that our records have been updated to reflect the telephone number that Ms.****
would like us to contact her on going forward. 
Should you have any questions, please contact us at 866.454.8426 between the hours of 5:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time,
Monday through Friday

Sincerely,

Seterus, Inc.

Property Loss Department


September 23, 2014

*** **** ************ ******** ******** ***** * **** ** ******** ** *****

 

 

Phone:  866.454.8426 Fax:  866.255.2821

Website:  www.propertyclaimcenter.com

 









































Phone:  866.454.8426 Fax:  866.255.2821

Website:  www.propertyclaimcenter.com

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

***** ****

 

This dispute in not resolved until I receive "all" the funds.  The roof is now completed. The inspection is scheduled for Tuesday September 30,2014. My complaint is their "long giving the homeowner the run around process" I filed my claim March 27th 2014.  There is no followup from the company.  I had to constantly call to  check the status and everytime there was another delay.  Their internal process needs to be addressed so no other homeowner has to go thru the same process.  Their delays have caused additional damage to  the interior of my home due to the leaky roof.  Had it been repaired in a more reasonable amount of time, the additional damage would not have occured.  I'm contacting ****** *** as well to linform them how Seterus/QBE First is "servicing" their loans.

Regards

***** ****



Business Response: Seterus, Inc. is the service r of the above-referenced loan. Seterus, Inc. utilizes QBE to assist homeowners in the
event of a property loss or damage. 

All requested documentation has now been received and a disbursement for 1/3 of the total claim fluids was. issued to
Ms. **** in the amount of $4,077.89. The funds were mailed to Ms. **** to her property address of ***** * **** ** ******** ** ***** on September 15, 2014. We are currently in the process of completing an inspection'to the
property to verify the status of the completion "of the repairs. Once the inspection results are received and confirmed a
second portion of the funds will be sent to Ms. **** in the amount of$4,077.88. Please note that our records have ·
been updated to reflect the telephone number that Ms. **** would like us to contact her on going forward.

Should you have any questions, please contact us at 866.454.8426 between the hours of 5:00a.m. to ~5:00p.m.
Pacific Time, Monday through Friday.

Sincerely,
Seterus, Inc.
Property Loss Department

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rarely get a call back when requested. (one in eight). The phone agents say they can't help with this situation, and sorry there are no supervisors available. This happened four times. We send all docs and invoices that QBE requests, but when we call a week later for an update, they say it's still being reviewed, and something doesn't match!? What? We were told this check would be mailed Tuesday June 22. This is the final check for the repairs on our kitchen. The kitchen is finished, and certified by the QBE inspector. My Insurance co.(Safeco) issued this final check to us to complete the claim, unfortunately it has to go though QBE First and then back to me.

Desired Settlement: Send final check, that my insurance co.(Safeco) issued to us for the claim.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a renter's insurance policy online from Resident Shield (via QBE) 7 June, 2014. The policy included a $25 policy fee. On the website I could find no information stating that the fee was nonrefundable. I tried c ling that day with other questions (7 June) but they had no representatives to answer the phone. I proceeded with the purchase. On 10 June 2014 +/- 1 day I cancelled my policy. I called QBE and asked if I would be charged a cancellation fee. The representative stated that I would not. I asked if I would receive a full refund. She made it seem as though I would. Later she back tracked and said the policy fee might not be refundable, but never gave me an exact answer. When I received the policy terms (which happened to be after cancellation due to my cancelling the policy so quickly) I read the documents, and nowhere does it state or imply the fee is non-refundable. I received a refund of approximately $7 (I do not have the exact figure). However, even excluding the policy fee this is a bad calculation. At an annual rate of $125 plus $25 policty fee for the total of $150, that means my premium was $0.3424 per day. As such, my refund should be calculated at that rate.

Desired Settlement: I wish to receive the refund of $25 plus $0.3424 for each day of the month paid that was not used for a total of $33.07

Business Response: Re: Your File#: ********
Complainant: ********* ** *******

This letter will serve to acknowledge that we received your above referenced complaint in our 
office on August 6, 2014.

QBE is committed to providing its customers with high quality products and services. Your comments 
are important to us in this process.

Your inquiry has been forwarded to an authorized person for a response to your request.

Sincerely,  
                 
****** **********
********* ***********
Corporate legal
QBE

Direct:************
Fax:608.825.5899
E-mail****************************

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is not being dealt with in a timely manner. My original request still stands. I only ask that it be dealt with quickly. 

Regards,

********* *******

Business Response: This letter is in response to the recent inquiry received from the Better Business Bureau of San Diego and Imperial Counties
on behalf of ********* ******* *nd her concerns regarding a $25.00 fee for her Renter’s Insurance Policy. We offer the
following.

A review of the call recording from the agent representative, with Yardi Services does indicate that that the fee in question
was discussed in great detail. During this call, it was discussed that the fee may be partially refunded or not refunded at all.
The call recording does note *** ********* acceptance of the cancellation effective June 12, 2014. Please note in the state of
California, the policy is considered fully earned, and is not refunded.

To ensure accuracy, the finance department was asked to recalculate the refund on *** ********* account. A breakdown of
that calculation is as follows:

Effective date: June 7, 2014
Cancelled June 12, 2014
Down payment of $34.10 ( Only one payment made)

A refund for $7.10 was processed.
The system is withholding the $25 Policy fee.

$150/365=$.41
.41 x 5 days=$2.05
$34.10-$2.05(premium for 5-days) -$7.10(refund) =$24.95 (retained as earned)

We trust that we have addressed all of the Bureau’s concerns. If any additional questions should arise, please feel free to
contact us

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: File a complaint regarding poor service and delayed for homeowners property restoration who they represent Seterus Mortgage Corp. They manage insurance property damage for Seterus. They have not allow any work to start, always asking for additional documentation of information from our property insurance company. Water damage occurred back in 3/1/204, with no remediation as of today 4/15/14. I with with 4 grandchildren, 2 children and my wife, with exposed walls that have electrical junction boxes making living conditions very hazardous to them. no kitchen facilities, delaying the need to reconstruct my kitchen having to eat out on a daily basis, making it a very financial hardship on myself.

Desired Settlement: Have the contractor start restoration work immediately, with out further delay.pay supplemental for eating out expenses.Be responsible for any issues that may arise regarding living in hazardous conditions, because of their delay in the process always changing requirements to submit further forms.Emotional distress, pain and suffering.

Business Response: Due to the amount of funds Seterus is monitoring repairs and issuing draws to borrower and contractor in installments.  The funds were received and sent for deposit on 4/09/14 along with a portion of the requested documentation.  The needed documents were received and the first installment of funds was requested to Mr. ******** and the contractor for 50% of the funds received per the contractor’s request.  We received additional funds on 4/21/14 and will issue an additional draw from those funds once the funds are available within 5 days of receiving the funds.  We will continue to monitor the remaining funds and complete inspections to verify repairs.
 
Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.
 
Thank you,
 
***** *****
Operations Manager
Loss Drafts
QBE Financial Partner Services
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have not received nor my contractor doing the repairs has received additional funds, due to what QBE and their inspector from Safeguard states, the report (Initial report) does not support the amount  nor satisfies QBE and/or Safeguard to write a report based on the initial report which was for $11,200. and some change. The inspector wanted an additional (supplemental) report from Allstate to support the amount of the $22,000.00 My homeowners insurance adjuster, Larry Winter was contacted last week to try and rectify the situation, but the adjuster said that he approved the additional cost based on Cross Cut Construction scope of work proposal and wrote an additional check for $9,800.00 and some change to suffice the cost of repairs, NO SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT WAS WRITTEN! HIS APPROVAL WAS AGAIN BASED ON CROSS CUT CONSTRUCTION PROPOSAL, which QBE has both checks, PAERWORK, NOTORIZED DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED and the funds to support the cost of the repairs. 

Once again the job is being held up because QBE just wants to make my life miserable and delay getting back to my home, exceeding monthly family cost above and beyond my normal expenses and putting me in a bind financially cause me to have a severe hardship on me and my family.  Living out of my home and traveling farther distances from a hotel in another city. QBE should be responsible for all the added costs, delays, hardship and personal grief they have put me through and my family.  Please help me or a least direct me to a law firm that can help, but hoping you can help me first would be the  better solution for all parties involved. The way QBE has scheduled for distribution was 1/3 at the beginning and 1/3 payment at 50%, and the final at 1/3 at the end of the job and final inspection with my approval.  This has not happen according to their own policy and how to make payouts to my contractors based on their own policies. UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!

  
Regards,

****** ******** 

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the last couple of years we have had severe storms and or micro burst which over time have damaged my roof. On record, hail storm have been reported to damage homes and cars. In October last year, I had a filter burst on the refrigerator causing water damage in my home. I had to fight QBE on this claim that took over three months and I had mold growing in my house due the QBE incompetents. I paid $700 and change for water damage service which was a couple of dryers and one leaked. No water boards were pulled and the stove wasnt even moved, so what did I pay for? During this we noticed are patio was leaking from a major storm. The posts holding up the roof had disintegrated causing a serious and dangerous situation. So I paid for the repairs since it would take me 3-4 months to see any insurance help. During this time in October 2013, My contractor found multiple leaks in the roof, one around the entire fireplace and the reset were around all the boots on the house.Today, we found yet another leak from the last storm we had in one of the rooms, thus, the entire roof including the patio I want to claim as needing to replace the roof and drywall/paint work. Since I now have brand new flooring and my roof is falling in and mold is growing, QBE states that I have smoke damage, not water damage. Therefore, I am first filing a claim with the bbb, then the attorney general, and eventually an attorney for various health issues related to the mold growing and constant tactics used by QBE in efforts not to do the right thing and process a claim.It gets old when inspectors try to say a lifetime roof leaks due to old age and not storms. And once again the inspector did not verify damage in attic as instructed.Claim # *******

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for water damage paid $767, I want reimbursement for the patio roof that I replaced $5700 and I want my roof fixed, drywall replaced and ceiling re-painted and any medical bills paid due to mold and allergy issues due to roof leaking and or water damage estimated at $45k.

Business Response: This letter is in response to the recent correspondence in regard to a complaint received in your office on 
March 7, 2014 regarding claim numbers *********** *********** *** **********. QBE FIRST 
Insurance Agency, Inc. is the program manager for this insurance program, and is responding on behalf of 
QBE Insurance Corporation and its designated third party administrator, QBE Americas, Inc. 
 
Claim ********** was reported to our office on October 10, 2013 with an original date of loss of October 9, 
2013. The file was assigned to Kaiko ****** for handling on October 10, 2013, and an acknowledgement 
letter was sent to ****** and ******* ***** on October 11, 2013. This claim was reported for water damage 
to the home as a result of a failed water line leading to the refrigerator. While the initial estimate did not 
include the engineered flooring, our re-inspection confirmed the flooring could not be salvaged and we issued 
a payment in the amount of $20,447.85 on November 13, 2013. We also received the insured’s claim for 
damage to their dining room table and a payment was issued in the amount of $2,232.01. Mr. ***** is 
disputing the invoice that has been submitted to our office by Damage Control, LLC., and Ms. ****** has 
asked Mr. ***** to submit the revised estimate for our review. Once this is received, Ms. ****** will 
evaluate the invoice and issue payment for appropriate amount. This claim/damage is unrelated to the 
damage from a roof leak and needs to be considered a separate event. 
 
Claim ********** was reported to our office on February 14, 2014 with an original date of loss of December 
25, 2013. The file was assigned to ****** ***** on February 14, 2014, and an acknowledgement letter was 
sent to ****** and ******* ***** on February 15, 2014. The claim was reported for water damage to the 
dwelling and to the patio as a result of a roof leak. An inspection of the property was completed on February 
17, 2014 by **** ***** with ***** ********g Service and he found no storm related damage to the roof. The 
leak appeared to be from the lack of/deterioration of the flashing around the chimney; however, no ensuing 
water damage was observed to the home or patio. 

During a telephone conversation with ******* ******** from our office on February 28, 2014, ****** *****, 
disputed these findings and stated the independent adjuster from ***** refused to inspect the attic space. 
Mr. ***** also stated the patio had been repaired prior to this inspection but he has photographs of the 
damage and a copy the repair estimate from his contractor. Mr. ******** agreed to have the home 
re-inspected by a different independent adjuster to address these concerns. 
 
*** ***** from ***** ********g Service inspected the property on or about March 7, 2014. Mr. ***** 
reported finding no storm related damage to the roof or any ensuing damage to the property related to this 
date of loss. Mr. ***** advised Mr. ***** that he had been advised by two separate roofers that the boots 
around the pipe vents needed to be replaced due to wear and tear. The roof for the patio had been replaced 
after an event back in November and Mr. ***** stated the fascia and support beams to the patio had rot 
damage. Mr. ***** was unable to inspect the attic space due to crossed truss members and a lack of 
space within the attic (3 feet at the highest and down to 2 feet around the chimney), but he reported finding no 
signs of water damage to the home. There was new/unrelated damage to a bedroom as a result of a recent 
storm and this would not be related to this loss. Ms. ***** advised Mr. and Mrs. ***** of our findings on 
March 11, 2014 and the denial letter was approved and mailed on March 14, 2014. 
 
Claim ********** was reported to our office on March 14, 2014 with an original date of loss of November 
2013. The file was assigned to Monique Tran on March 17, 2014, and an acknowledgement letter was sent 
to ****** and ******* ***** on March 18, 2014. The claim was reported for damage to the patio, and Ms. 
Tran is in the process of investigating the loss. 
 
Our review of the claims filed by ****** and ******* ***** has found that they have been properly 
investigated and properly evaluated based on the information we have on file. As always, we will be happy 
to review any additional documentation that they feel was missed during our investigation. If you should 
require any additional assistance please feel free to contact me directly to discuss any remaining issues on 
the claim. You can contact me at toll free 1-800-362-5448, extension ****** between the hours of 8:00am 
– 5:00pm CST. 
 
 
Sincerely,

**** ****** 
Director of Property Claims 
QBE North America 
Direct: ************ 
Email: ************************* 

 

Consumer Response:


QBE has the most incompetent misinformed people I gave ever had to deal with. First, they go to great measures to get out of claim by sending out an engineer which had no problem getting into the attic.


Second, we had some of the worst storms in history and I never had issues until the storms, 70 mgh winds, my tress were damaged along with my roof, kind of of hard not to dispute the evidence since I have two new trees front and back in my yard. But don’t take my word for it, see for yourself with the two public videos below,


******


***************************


 

***************************

 

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: Dear Ms *******:

This will acknowledge your recent correspondence requesting clarification of the proposed resolution previously
submitted to your office regarding the above referenced claims. As you will recall, QBE FIRST Insurance Agency,
Inc. is the program manager for this insurance program and is responding on behalf of QBE Insurance Corporation and
its designated third party administrator, QBE Americas, Inc.

Since ourlast correspondence with the Bureau, March 21,2014, we requested the engineering firm, ProNet Group, Inc.,
to inspect the home of our insured. The inspection was requested to determine if there was water damage to the home,
including the rear porch, and to identify the cause of any such water leak.

ProNet Group, Inc. final report reached the following conclusions:

• The current conditions of the roof tiles resulted from the quality of materials and workmanship during
installation, past repairs, foot traffic, expansion/contraction and exposure to the elements over the years and not
related to a single hail or wind event.

• The damage to the flashing surrounding the chimney and roof edge above bedroom #3 is the result of quality of
materials and workmanship used in original construction and exposure to the elements over the years and not
related to a single hail or wind event.

• The interior water damage to the ceiling materials of bedroom #3 resulted from water intruding past a roof edge
location above that was originally constructed without proper flashing components.

• The ceiling nail protrusions are the result of the quality of materials and workmanship and
expansion/contraction from exposure to changes in temperature over time and are unrelated to the roof leaks.
PO *** ****** ******* ** **********
• The stains on the ceiling of the living room, kitchen, and master bedroom and along the top of the fireplace are
not the result of roof leaks; they are consistent with drywall shadowing and smoke stains.

• The softening of the stucco along the north elevation below the chimney is the result of water intruding past
deteriorated flashing components surrounding the chimney.

• The damage to the structural members of the rear porch is the result of previous long-term exposure to moisture
and not the result of a single weather event.

Based on the engineers report, the damage to the insured's home did not result from a wind or hail event as originally
reported. The policy does not provide coverage for damage caused by wear, tear, deterioration, improper
construction/workmanship and/or the constant or repeated seepage or leakage of water or the presence or condensation
of humidity, moisture or vapor, over a period of weeks, months or years. However, the policy is an all peril policy in
regard to the dwelling, so the drywall shadowing or smoke stains could be covered, but they are not related to any other
damage due to a roof leak. We will contact our named insured to see what they would like to claim under the loss
reported on February 14, 2014, claim *********** and we will look to provide any coverage afforded by the policy.

As always, we will be happy to review any additional documentation that our insured feels was missed during our
investigation into these reported losses.

If you should require any additional assistance, please feel free to contact us directly to discuss any remaining issues on
the claims.

Sincerely,


***** ** **********
Claims Assistant Manager
***** ********
QBE FIRST Insurance Agency, Inc.
Program Manager for QBE Insurance Corporation

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint against QBE Insurance for claim #********** with their products issues and consumer service regarding the claim I put in when on the 31st of January my wife noticed that the ceiling light in the living room was full of water. When called to put in my claim the person on the phone had no knowledge or points of contact to assist me. There was not guidance from my claims representative for temporary or reasonable repairs to protect for further damage she keep saying you must mitigate for further damage when I asked her then I need to cut some of the drywall down to see where the water was coming she told me no. Remember this is the 31st a Friday evening. So when the claims adjuster came on the 3rd of February because QBE Insurance Company has no one to do that on the weekend. As we know mold can start within 24 hours. The claims rep never explained my policy as according to their website. I get a letter on the 5th all this time claims rep states 7 to 10 days after we get the adjuster paperwork the letter dated the 4th and ****** ****** my claims rep that I will be notified when the claim is complete. The only time ****** ****** called me is when I called first. I called on the 6th of left voice mail nothing. Talked to a customer service, that had more knowledge about my claim the ******. The customer service rep told me the adjuster paperwork was in and that my claim needed to the next step by ******. ****** call me back that same day and told me she had not received any paperwork and were still standing by. According to the ****** letter dated 4th it stated to take pictures as soon as possible but the letter does not give instructions on where to send any pictures or documents. When I talked to her again she gave me a fax number. So I am assuming two things one QBE has colored fax machines and two they must be able to high quality prints. If not QBE got black and white pictures of the damage you cannot see the real damage that occurred. The claims adjuster to pictures I am thinking they are not in black and white. Once I got permission to mitigate the damage going back to the letter on the 4th. Flood Masters came out to remove some of the ceiling, all of the insulation, the wood floors, dry out the room and treat for mold. I took pictures and also provide bill from Flood Masters and faxed them on the 12th. I called on the 15th to get an update and to see if she received the fax and according to our 1st conversation things should be done it has been 10 business days but still nothing. QBE must think emergencies dont happen on the weekend

Desired Settlement: QBE needs to provide a clear cut process and let their customers know if you have any type of emergency on the weekend or after 4 or 5 you are alone from the person who takes your claim who could not get ahold of anyone to ask simple questions. To a claims rep that has terrible customer service skills who did not have the skills to sign her own letter. I WANT NOTHING FROM THEM NOT EVENING A APOLOGY just want my claim done in a reasonable time. Even the BBB has the ability to upload to their site

Business Response: March 10, 2014
****** ***** ** ******** *** ***** ****** ** *****

RE: Department File No. ***********
Complainant: ****** *****

Carrier: QBE Insurance Corporation
NAIC No.: *****
Claim Number: **********
Date of Loss: 01/31/2014
Type of Loss: Wind
Policy Number: **********
Property Address: ** ******** *** ***** ****** ** *****


Dear Mr. *****: 

This letter is in response to the recent inquiry dated February 20, 2014 received in our office from the 
California Department of Insurance (“Department”) on your behalf regarding concerns pertaining to the 
handling of claim (number **********). QBE FIRST Insurance Agency, Inc. is the program manager for this 
insurance program, and is responding on behalf of QBE Insurance Corporation and its designated third party 
administrator, QBE Americas, Inc.

This claim was reported to our office on Saturday February 1, 2014 as a result of rain leaking from your roof. 
The call was taken by an after hours service so the details of that conversation is unknown. We were unable 
to provide you with immediate assistance because our office was closed during this time. We have attempted 
to contact you to gather details about your experience in reporting the claim but our messages have gone 
unanswered.

The claim was assigned to Audrey ****** on Monday February 3, 2014. Telephone contact was made with 
that same day and an acknowledgement of claim letter was sent on February 4, 2014.
The loss was inspected by Independent Adjuster ***** ******** on February 4, 2014. Mr. ******** noted that 
the ceiling drywall and a light fixture had been damaged due to a leak on the roof. Mr. ******** also noted 
that no water mitigation or dry-down had been initiated. Additionally, Mr. ******** observed that the risk was 
approximately 43 years old and the roof was showing advanced signs of aging. No wind/storm damage was 
noted to the roof.

On February 17, 2014 we received a copy of the damage report from Mr. ********. The damage report 
indicated interior damage to the home and no damage noted to the roof. After reviewing the photos it was our 
opinion that there was covered wind/storm damage to the roof. 

On February 19, 2014 Audrey ****** discussed the Independent Adjuster’s findings with you. During that 
conversation she informed you that we believed there was supplemental damage to your roof. You indicated 
that you had obtained an estimate from ********* ******* for the damage to his roof and agreed to send it in. 

On February 19, 2014 a check was issued in the amount of $2199.77 for the interior damages to your home.
On February 24, 2014 we reviewed the estimate from ********* ******* and issued an additional payment of 
$2840.00.

**** ****** is the supervisor for the adjuster assigned to your claim. **** left a message for you on March 
5, 2014 requesting a call to discuss any additional questions or concerns you may have. We apologize for 
the poor experience you had when reporting this claim. We would appreciate your call back so that we can 
gather additional information regarding the lack of direction for emergency repairs following the loss. 
If any additional questions should arise, please feel free to contact me directly

Sincerely,

**** ******
Director of Property Claims
QBE North America
Direct: ************
Email: *************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues