BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Tarpy Heating & Air

Additional Locations

Phone: (619) 285-9300 Fax: (619) 285-9319 View Additional Phone Numbers 4667 Mission Gorge Pl, San Diego, CA 92120 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.tarpyheatingandair.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tarpy Heating & Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tarpy Heating & Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tarpy Heating & Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 21, 2007 Business started: 07/01/2007 in CA Business incorporated: 10/18/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The license number is 900580.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Tarpy, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Tarpy, Owner
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Products & Services

Tarpy Heating & Air sells the following brand(s): Amana, Carrier, Goodman, Luxaire, Rheem, Trane, Williams

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Discover, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, In-House Financing
Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 4667 Mission Gorge Pl

    San Diego, CA 92120 (619) 820-4580 (619) 285-9300

  • 9723 Roe Dr

    Santee, CA 92071

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (619) 820-4580(Phone)
  • (619) 749-2127 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had the absolute worst customer service experience of my life with this company. In December of 2012, I bought a house and had Tarpy install central AC for me before I even moved in. When I arrived, everything was installed, but I did not use the AC until July 2013, as it was not hot until then. At that time, I turned the AC on during a week when it was in the upper 90s and it did not work. That's right folks, less than a year after install, there was no cool air coming out. I called the after hours repair number listed right on the furnace and left a message with a secretary who promised to forward my message to the office in the morning. Two days later, I had not heard from them and filled out a form online for them to contact me as well as contacted them by email at the account listed online. As well as leaving a message on their answering machine at the office. I STILL DID NOT RECEIVE A RESPONSE. The only way to get through to these people seems to be to call during business hours and hope that someone competent answers the phone. I was finally able to schedule for technician to come out a few days later. He was scheduled to come between 3-6 and he showed up at about 5:30pm. He declared the issue solved by recharging the coolant. Why, you may ask, was the coolant low less than 8 months after the installation of a brand new unit? Your guess is as good as mine. He declared the unit to be functional and left before I could figure otherwise. The next week, the temperatures were in the upper 90s again and so I turned the AC on. Imagine my pleasure when this did not work. Once again, I called the after hours number, emailed, sent an online form and called the office 3 times before I got a secretary. She said the same tech would return the next day. I told her that I had already missed an afternoon of work, and could not really afford to miss more. She happily obliged and said she would send him out in the morning 8-11, and would make sure that I was his first stop. The next morning, I waited at home until 10:45am before calling to find out where the tech was. He returned my call at 11:30 and asked if he could reschedule. I explained that I had now taken the entire morning off of work, in addition to the afternoon the week before so rescheduling was impossible. He agreed to come to my house ASAP, which translated into about 1:30pm. Upon his arrival, I noted that it was the same tech as the week prior, which I was slightly concerned about. He assured me that it was a fairly complex issue, where it's difficult to tell how much coolant to put in, so he must have added too much. He went to inspect the AC unit outside and made a half dozen calls to his supervisor before hauling out a coolant scavenger machine. The scavenger had a 3 prong, grounded plug and the tech did not bring an extension cord. Instead, he went ahead and used my 2- ***** extension cord. As you can probably imagine, this worked initially but after a minute or two the machine coughed, sparked and smoked before turning off. The tech seemed utterly flabbergasted and said this was the second scavenger that had crapped out on him in as many days. After yet another phone call to his supervisor, he let some gas out into the atmosphere and declared it fixed. He used a temperature probe to measure the air coming out of my vents and said that it was working. And it was, for another week or two, as long as it didn't get about about 90 outside. Last week, when the temperatures were in the upper 90s and 100s, I turned the AC on again. Once again, it is not working. I called the after hours number (I really should have learned). After I was cut off 3 times at 3am, I managed to speak with a secretary who told me someone would call me the next morning. Once again, there was no phone call returned. I called the next afternoon (Friday) and was promised that ******* would come to my house "after 3pm" on Monday (yesterday). Yesterday, I left work and came home at 2:30pm. I waited, and I waited, and I waited. At 5:30pm, I called to find out if ******* was coming. I was told to "just keep waiting, because the techs are always working late." At 6:30pm, I called again, to be told that ******* always calls 15 minutes prior to the appointment. (This would have been nice to know before leaving work early). At 7:00pm, I called and asked if ******* could be contacted to find out his ETA. She told me that it was impossible for them to contact the technicians from the after hours office. (WHAT?!) At 7:30pm, I called again to be told they would contact ******* and he would call me. At 8:00pm, I called to let them know that ******* had still not called. At 8:30pm, I called to let them know that ******* had still not called. At 9:00pm, I called and left a rather direct message that I was EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED with the customer service that I had received from their company and expected a call back by 2pm today or I would be contacting the BBB. I have still not heard from these people. The AC unit is supposed to be under warranty, has barely been used and HAS NEVER WORKED PROPERLY

Desired Settlement: Call me. Set an appointment that they will actually attend. Send a technician with a level on competence required to solve the problem. Get the AC unit working as it is intended to.

Business Response: Dear ********* ********, 

I am writing in response to your complaint on this unresolved issue. I agree that it has taken far too long to figure out the problem with the air conditioning. I truly and sincerely apologize and can understand your frustration. We pride ourselves in excellence and integrity, and it has always been our #1 goal to provide superb service to our clients with 100% satisfaction. We want to make things right and do our very best to resolve this issue. I understand you tried to get in contact with us on several different occasions and was unsuccessful. Unfortunately, there was miscommunication during after hours calls that is supposed to be logged from a call center that is not in house. We are looking into our call center customer service and is something we can improve and grow from. I understand that the office spoke with you moments ago and scheduled an appointment for tomorrow (Friday) arrival between 2 and 5pm. We hope that this appointment can bring you clarity on A/C fix and better build a personal relation. We are always improving and changing to better meet the needs and serve others. I look forward to the appointment scheduled for tomorrow and please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions.

Thank you,

***** ***** 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new AC from Tarpy in Feb 2013. In May 2013 we noticed leak stains in the ceiling. I contracted Tarpy and talked to ******* (the receiptionist) multiple times. The cancelled/rescheduled the appointment twice before finally fixing it. I requested to have the supervisor come out to double check the repair. The supervisor (****?) did confirm that they installed the AC improperly but that it was now fixed. He said that he would have ******* contact me in a couple of weeks (once the ceiling was dry) to set something up with their contractor to paint my ceiling. At the time my husband was deployed on the *** ***** ****** and a couple of weeks later I was notified that I needed to go to Gulfport, MS for training. I didn't hear from ******* prior to my departure. I returned home from Mississippi on Sept 8, 2013 and we contacted Tarpy again to sent up an appointment for them to fix the water damage to the ceiling. ******* took our infromation and informed us that she would have the contractor call us. Today is September 13 and since we still did not hear from anybody, I contacted her back. Once I finally got in touch with her, she informed me that she can pass my information to the contractor but that it wasn't their responsibility to ensure he contacted me. I told her that since I did business with Tarpy and Tarpy personnel caused the damage to my home by failing to install the AC properly, it was Tarpy's responsibility to fix the damage. How they went about that was up to them but it is still their responsibility. She told me that I could contact the contractor myself, however I informed her again that it was her job to contact him and ensure an appointment was set up and the damage was repaired to my satisfaction. She claimed she understood however from her attitude on the phone and my earlier experience with her lack of a work ethic I have doubts to her doing her job.

Desired Settlement: I want the repair to happen before Sept 21st, when I have to go back to work. I would also like an apology from the company for their slow response and lack of customer service.

Business Response:

In response to Ms.******’s complaint. We are very apologetic that she feels she did not get outstanding service. She called and stated she had some water damage to her home from the system we installed. We sent a technician out to the home immediately to take care of the issue. We sent our operations manager out to assess the damage. We let her know we would be responsible for the drywall repair. We do subcontract a professional to do the repair. He is independent from Tarpy Heating and Air. The drywaller was given Ms. ******’s contact information. Ms. ****** followed up shortly after and stated that she did not get a phone call. Our office let her know that the drywaller would be sent the information again and asked to please follow up immediately. Our office did offer to give Ms. ****** the gentleman’s phone number to contact directly as well. She declined his contact information. She expressed that she required him to respond immediately and would like our office to do the follow up. Our office apologized and was more that happy to do so, and contacted him directly. We expressed that this issue needed to be taken care of and that our customer requested an appointment immediately. Our drywall contractor contacted her immediately at that time and scheduled a visit. He was told to address the issue and anything else Ms. ****** requested at our expense due to the inconvenience. When he left her residence the unit was in proper working order and the drywall damage was repaired. She expressed to him that she was extremely satisfied with the work.

Tarpy Heating and Air

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company seemed either dishonest or incompetent. The motor had burned out on my furnace so I called them. I told them that I had an electrician out and that he had traced the problem to a burned out motor in the furnace in the attic. The electrician suggested that I take a picture of the model and serial number of the unit so the AC person can bring the correct motor. So I did this and confirmed that they received the email and that they could bring the correct motor. When the technician showed up, I asked him if he had the motor and he said he didn't get the email. So he looks at the unit and after confirming what I already knew, he gave me a price of $560 to replace the motor. When I questioned the cost, he couldn't tell me how much was for the motor and how much for the labor, just that it was a "set price". When I pressed him about it, he called the supplier and said the motor was $60. So I asked how long it was going to take and he said 2 hours. $250 and hour? I called the office to see if they could explain why it was so much and they told me that labor was $90/hour but that it would take an additional 3 hours because the guy had to drive to pick up the motor. It seemed very unlikely that it would take that long--not to mention that I had provided the information ahead of time so they could come prepared--but I had the feeling that they were going to take as long as necessary to reach the $560 amount. So I told them I would call another company but I still had the pay them the $65 service charge. I don't think it's fair that I had to pay them given their handling of the situation. I called another company and they came out with the correct motor and replaced it in less than 2 hours for $365.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $65 service fee refunded.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

7/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tarpy Heating & Air (Tarpy) has refused and continues to refuse to provide components of a contract wherein items were paid for but not received. Customers invoice identifies clearly that a thermostat, furnace, was paid for, but Tarpy refuses to provide thermostat when customer relieved Tarpy of any further duties due poor craftsmanship and poor customer treatment. Tarpy replied: "***** As you can see you wanted to end the job early, the t-stat part is stated per our original agreement and since our original agreement was not completed and was terminated By You The Owner before the t-stat was installed therefor you Forfeited the Right for us to fully complete the contract that was originally stated." The invoice states: "There is no labor Guarantee due to the job not being completed". In fact, the invoice further states: "New Furnace Installed; Pigtail and Gas flex, Ducting, T-stat." Tarpy refuses to provide the thermostat. The invoice clearly indicates payment. Tarpy was contracted for $2750.00 to provide: "New Furnace Installed; Pigtail and Gas flex, Ducting, T-stat." Tarpy indicated on the receipt that no labor was guaranteed. That 250.00 would be deducted due Tarpy being "excused, or fired" for incompetence. Tarpy has been paid $2500 in full. Tarpy was dismissed due to incompetence and failure to finish in a timely manner, etc.Tarpy's argument fails in that the customer is not requesting that the thermostat be installed any more than the furnace has been completed being installed. The customer is merely asking to be provided with the 200 dollar thermostat that he paid for, like the furnace and other items listed on the invoice. The invoice is clear: "there is no labor guarantee." Tarpy wants to expand that to include anything other than what has not been installed. He said it himself: "the job is incomplete". The furnace installation is not complete either , nor is it considered installed: it has not been inspected. Customer paid for and expects to be provided with all materials.

Desired Settlement: The thermostat has a value of $200 per our agreement. The unit cannot be operated without a thermostat. provide customer with a thermostat or refund $200.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern:

 

We received a BBB complaint (*******) on June 26, 2012 at 11:32am.

From the beginning of our communications with this customer, at the time of contract signing and start of the job, we informed the customer the job would take two (2) to three (3) days max to complete. The job ran into the third (3rd) day, and on day three (3) when our technician arrived at the customers house, he was instructed to leave without finishing. We came to the agreement with the customer that the job would not be finished and we took 250$ off. As for the complaint regarding the thermostat, normally we install the thermostat very last; since we did not finish the job the thermostat was not installed. We mailed out a thermostat on June 26 thru the USPS, overnight certified mail; it was delivered and signed for June 27 at 8:52am. (Tracking number: EI ********* US)  We have reached out to the customer and attempted to fix any issues that he has and to complete the job.  

Thank you,

 

**** *****

President

Tarpy Heating & Air 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Paul Tarpy presents his position "as if" his tech performed well and did a good job, not cutting holes in the walls where they shouldn't have gone and stating he would have finished on that third day. He stated on the third day I sent his worker home... He failed to mention that his worker arrived at 6:00 PM in the evening, and that his "tech" arrived late on the 2nd day and worked until midnight. I missed a complete day of work because of his misrepresentation on that day, and to you regarding what happened. All he could say was: " the tech should not have told you he was going to be there." Tarpy complained that I lived in a remote location - I told him he knew that when he bid for the job!. "  In regards to the thermostat., it was a $19.95 model. Not even usable and  not what he was supposed to put in - absolute garbage. Is this what he means by "he's working with me"? A decent thermostat is 200 dollars. He forced me to fire him because I was not willing to let his worker show up at 6:00 PM and keep me up until midnight, or take another week to finish a two day job - thereby, he could eliminate any warranty on labor through - provocation. I am 180 dollars not satisfied, and it will cost me another 2-300 dollars to repair the wall. Further, the installation did not pass inspection and must be re-done. Much of the work that was done was substandard, and has to be redone. Nothing about this contractor is equitable, fair, or honest. When the furnace burns the house, Tarpy will claim he "didn't finish the job". The reality is: he did everything in his power not to finish the job and force me to fire him. This is how he defines "working with me". Until I am compensated for the costs of the repairs tot he drywall, the balance on the thermostat, there is no "fairness".

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response:

July 9th, 2012

To Whom It May Concern:

Regarding Complain ID *******.

“From: * **** ********************>
Date: Thu, Jun 14, 2012 at 5:50 PM
Subject: Thank you
To: ****@tarpyheatingandair.com

*****

To memorialize our conversation, we have agreed to conclude business and leave the HVAC furnace job at my home incomplete.

Therefore, we have agreed on the following:

· the original total cost was agreed upon at: $2,750.

· $260.00 was paid down leaving a balance of $2,490.

· That $250.00 will be deducted from that balance

· That the entire amount owed to you as agreed by us both is $2,240.

· Paid Check # 2011 for $2,240. On 06/14/2012

Thank you,

And if you have any question, please call me.”

This is the exact email from the customer ending our agreement. Even though “per our agreement” the job was left “undone”, we sent the customer a thermostat to try to accommodate his wishes. Even though we had agreed to leave the job incomplete, we have tried to satisfy the customer. This thermostat is compatible with the system and will have the system run at its best.

Every time we have tried to satisfy the customer, he comes back wanting something more from us.

 

Thank you,

**** *. Tarpy

Tarpy Heating & Air

619-820-4580

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

From: **** Tarpy [mailto:****@tarpyheatingandair.com]
Sent: Saturday, June 23, 2012 3:36 PM
To: * ****
Subject: Re: Invoice

***** As you can see you wanted to end the job early, the t-stat part is stated per our original agreement and since our original agreement was not completed and was terminated By You The Owner before the t-stat was installed therefor you Forfeited the Right for us to fully complete the contract that was originally stated. If you have any further questions please let me know and thank you. 

As you can see by the above email dated June 23, 2012, Tarpy had absolutely no intention of cooperating. It wasn't until after I filed a complaint with the BBB that he sent his 3rd rate thermostat. His opinion regarding there thermostat, like the damages he chooses to ignore, and the promises he made, are conveniently set aside for his latest red herring. Fast and Loose is an understatement with this person. He ignored every cost I incurred and did not respond to it. Need I point out that he failed to pull a permit. Permits are required by the state of California to perform change-outs. Further, I am left with an non permitted furnace installation ( I didn't install it) and the repairs of his technician, and substandard work. Tarpy wants to ignore this, talk about a thermostat he endorses, and claim I'm not working with him. In the same capacity it took to get the cheesy thermostat ( I had to file a complaint) so too will I have to file legal paperwork to reclaim the damages caused by his actions. He refuse to accept responsibility for his workers actions, his legal responsibilities to pull permits and get inspections, and damages. If these business practices are acceptable, then I could say he's done a great job and satisfied his contract.  Thank you,

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.