BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Action Air Conditioning Heating & Solar

Phone: (888) 635-0928 Fax: (760) 727-0213 View Additional Phone Numbers 2750 S Santa Fe Ave, San Marcos, CA 92069 http://www.actionac.net

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers air conditioning, heating, and solar products and services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Action Air Conditioning Heating & Solar meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Action Air Conditioning Heating & Solar include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Action Air Conditioning Heating & Solar
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1985 Business started: 05/01/1978 in CA Business incorporated: 04/19/1985 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The license number is 509805.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gregory Warren Gill, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregory Warren Gill, President
Number of Employees

40

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Duct Cleaning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Contractors - Solar Energy Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Products & Services

Action Air Conditioning Heating & Solar sells the following brand(s): Lennox Premier Dealer, Sell and service all major brands

Action Air Conditioning Heating & Solar offers the following product(s): Air Conditioning, Dryer Vent Cleaning, Duct Cleaning & Decontamination, Duct Fabrication & Design, Duct Testing & Duct Sealing, Ductless Systems, Filters, Heat Pumps, Heating, Humidification/Dehumidification, Indoor Air Monitors, Indoor Air Quality Solutions, Solar, System Home Diagnostics & Analysis, UV Lights, Zoning

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover Card, American Express
Alternate Business Names
Accurate Comfort Systems Inc
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 2750 S Santa Fe Ave

    San Marcos, CA 92069 (760) 727-4152 (800) 400-4152 (619) 234-6011 (888) 530-0267 (888) 635-0928

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for Action Air Conditioning Heating & Solar

Discount: Receive a 15% discount on any service repair or a free 10-year parts and labor performance plan on new equiptment installation or replacement.

This company offers indoor air quality services including professional duct cleaning, high efficiency filtration systems, and air quality testing and management.

To receive discount, contact (760) 727-4152 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you.

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in conjunction with any other discount, offer, special or promotion.

This BBB Discount Offer has no expiration date.
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (619) 234-6011(Phone)
  • (760) 727-4152(Phone)
  • (800) 400-4152(Phone)
  • (888) 530-0267(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband called and scheduled an appointment for Action Air to come out on Friday 9/20/13 and assess our A/C unit that was not working. The gentleman that arrived (his name is ***** *****) was a little odd and gave off very odd vibes. I decided to let him go asses with the assessment of the A/C unit because the temps had been over 100 in our area. Mr. ***** advised me that he was going to look at the unit and assess what the problem was and that he would be back with an estimate shortly. Shortly after this he returned asking me for our fuses that my husband had replaced. I told him I didn't know where they were and called my husbnad to find out. My husband told me to tell Mr. ***** to go ahead and replace them. Mr. ***** said "well, they're expensive." My husband said they can't be more than $20 for the fuses and the install, Mr. ***** said "Ok" and went back to work. Approximately 15 minutes later Mr. ***** walked right in my back door to let me know that the A/C was fixed without knocking or any kind of courtesy. I asked him if it was just the fuses since that was the only thing I had authorized him to install. He said no. Mr. ***** said he found the problem was another part of the A/C unit. He said he had already installed the part and that we were "good to go" and that he just needed to collect payment for the parts. I asked him at this time what the parts cost. He informed me that the fuses would be $50, the broken part would be $170 and the trip charge of $67 for a total of $287 plus tax. I said "Wait a minute, you are going to charge me $50 for fuses that should not have been more than $20 plus a part that I never authorized you to install?" Mr ***** replied, "Well it's already in, and your A/C is working now so you should just go ahead and pay me." I told him he needed to speak to my husband about this. I called my husband and he spoke to Mr. ***** after I explained the situation. My husband told Mr. ***** to remove the parts that he installed and to show me the parts that were broken / defective. My Husband also explained to Mr. ***** that we never authorized any repairs to be done and that this appointment was only to diagnose this issue. Mr. ***** became aggravated with my husband and said that he would remove the parts that he installed for and additional $20 to the trip charge. My husband said fine to have Mr. ***** to leave our house because he was making me very uncomfortable and he was concerned for me being alone with this very odd man. Mr. ***** removed the parts and showed me what was broken, took my credit card info and left.When you take your car to a mechanic for something that is broken, they don't completely repair it without talking to the owner first, no do they repair it and then demand payment. Also it is unethical to demand payment for removal of parts that were never authorized to be installed, no matter how you had to figure out how the item was broken!

Desired Settlement: My Husband and I would like the Owner of the comapny to formally apologize to us for the way his employee acted & treated us. Their actions of installing parts without approval or authorization is wrong! We also request the refund for the removal charge which is $20. This company has SEVERAL complaints on other websites (i.e. yelp) for poor customer service and other issues. I suggest BBB look into continueing to have them as a member since there are so many dissatisfied customers.

Business Response:

Dear M****** ******,

Please accept our apologies  that you felt uncomfortable  with our Service Technician in your home. 
 As a rule it is mandatory  for all of our technicians to have a back ground check and drug testing 
prior to employment  with our company.  As a matter of fact, we just ran full back ground and drug 
tests as recently as this month, October 2013, on all of our Service Technicians  to provide our 
customers with additional peace of mind while we are servicing their equipment in their homes.

Mr. ***** has been a trustworthy, loyal  employee of Action Air since 2005, with a very successful 
work history.  We apology again that you were uncomfortable and for the miscommunication regarding 
the relay of information with your husband and Mr. *****.

We are enclosing a check, as you requested, for a refund of the $20.00 for removing the fuses that 
we installed.


Sincerely,

****** ****
Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After paying in full and signing an invoice to that effect on 01/11/2013 , this company sent an addtional bill with out explaining what the additional charges were for on 01/28/2013. Called numerous times and got the run around. My son called on 05/13/2013 and they didn't return his call. He called again and they couldn't find an itemized bill or reason for additional charges. They said "the owner might have it in his file" and that he, **** *** was out for a week. The last bill was threatening to go to Collections. I'm an 83 year old senior and feel stressed out over this ordeal and treatment and am fearing for my credit status. How can this company be billing me and threatening me and no one there has any idea what the additional charges are for, after 4 months of calling them and worrying ? I feel that this is one of those businesses that preys on senior citizens. They also refused to sign my SDGE rebate application.

Desired Settlement: The charges should be dropped. No other services were rendered. I did not sign another invoice for other services and no one at the company can tell me why I'm being billed for 4 months even though they have my information on their computer.

Business Response:

Re: Complaint ID *******

Our records show that Mr. ***** *******, son of **** *****, telephoned our office on Monday, May 13, 2013 asking to speak to **** **** who is out of the office on vacation until Monday, May 20, 2013.   As the temperatures over the weekend were blazing hot our office was inundated with telephone calls nonstop; consequently I was unable to return Mr. *******'s call until Tuesday, May 14, 2013 on **** ****'s behalf.  At approximately 9:45 a.m., I returned the call to Mr. ***** ******* and was able to leave a voice message.  Mr. ******* returned my call later that afternoon.

During that conversation, Mr. ******* believed that after speaking to his mother, **** *****, that she had not received the invoice in question and that she had in fact received her rebate that she believed was missing.  I notifed Mr. ******* that I would need to investigate furthe and would call him ASAP.

Upon further review of the file and conversing with **** **** on the telephone while he was on vacation, I discovered that the invoice in question was intended for the other contractor whom our original proposal was addressed to.  **** **** promptly called Mr ******* as the representative for his mother, **** *****, and we have followed up with a letter (see attached). 

Please let me know if there is any additional action that needs to be taken on  Action Air's part. 

Please note, I have replaced *** ******* and believed that I have made the appropriate changes for the BBB contact information however, please advise if I need to do anything further.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** ** *** *****

Office Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1