BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

West Coast Flooring Center

Phone: (760) 736-4222 Fax: (866) 201-4809 1617 Capalina Ave, San Marcos, CA 92069 http://www.westcoastflooring.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of floor coverings such as; carpet, hardwood, granite and fabrication, and stone and ceramic.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that West Coast Flooring Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for West Coast Flooring Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on West Coast Flooring Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 09, 1995 Business started: 05/19/1994 in CA Business incorporated: 01/27/2003 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The license number is 837912.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Marc Venegoni, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marc Venegoni, Customer Service Manager
Number of Employees

122

Business Category

Floor Coverings & Installation Marble - Natural Tile - Ceramic - Manufacturers & Distributors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Granite Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Alternate Business Names
E & C Flooring Inc
Additional Information

Claire, Edward and Sean Kruger are the officers of E and C Flooring Inc, DBA West Coast Flooring and West Coast Carpet and Tile Outlet. The report is also available on that company. According to information on Contractor's State Licensing Board and information provided by the company, they are no longer doing business as Value Rugs Inc.

Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 1617 Capalina Ave

    San Marcos, CA 92069 (760) 736-4222

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased wood floor material from West Coast Flooring Center late last year. During installation, a few stair nosing pieces were found with defect (paint was peeled off when tapes were removed). After sending the defect pieces back to the store, the store keeps sending us replacement stair nosing with different color. After a few times of back and forth, *****, the sales person told us twice that that's all the store is going to do. They are not going to spend more effort to get us proper replacement.The entire purchase was around $7000 dollars. Now that all the other pieces have been installed (by a separate contractor), we cannot accept a few pieces with different color.Please help pushing the store to get us the appropriate replacement.Thanks,*****

Desired Settlement: We need to have replacement stair nosing with correct color that would match (or blend) with the existing floor and stairs.

Business Response: Mr. ****** complaint has been completed with West Coast Flooring. The installer was out to his home this past weekend and completed the job. He also stated that Mr. **** has paid him in full which by industry standard is considered acceptance of the material and labor. We would like to also note that West Coast did try to get several nosings from the distributor that would best match his flooring. We would like to apologize to Mr. **** for the amount of time it took to get one to his satisfaction and will be happy to help him in the future with any issues or complaints.

Thank you,


**** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. The latest material provided by the business was close in color to blend in the existing floor material and I accepted the resolution.

Regards,

***** ****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1)failed to start as per contract 2) failed to complete on time.3)attempting to charge for extras not on the contract.4)damages to personal property5) failed to complete the work6) failed to supply all the materials 7) unreasonable in resolving the issues 8) unlicensed salesperson

Desired Settlement: would like the charges for extra work not agreed to in writing as by law removed .Would like to reimbursed for damages done to personal property paid for.Would like to be reimbursed for them not completing project,and abandonment delaying the work by more than 6 weeks and causing us to live in a hotel and put all in storage.

Business Response: To Whom It May concern,

Since this complaint was filed by the consumer, we have had multiple communications with him through emails and phone calls.We have had our installers out to take care of all the installation issues and we have to come to an agreed settlement by both parties. Mr. ************* last request is that he receive lien releases from all parties involved. We have completed those and will be meeting with customer this week to give him release paperwork and collect final balance. Mr. *********** has agreed to remove his complaint with the BBB once this final transaction has been completed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased 33 boxes of porcelain tiles (6 tiles per box) from West Coast Flooring and had them installed flooring for my home on 06-18-2012, and paid a total amount of $2826.48. When the tiles were delivered by their contractors, I inspected all 33 boxes to make sure none of the tiles were broken. When I found one box which all 6 tiles were broken, I showed them to the contractors, and contacted ***** *****, who has been assisting me and also happens to be a store manager at West Cost Flooring. Mr. ***** told me that I could bring in the tiles to receive the refund; therefore, I took the tiles back on the following Monday of 06-25-2012. I was hoping that he would issue me the refund on that day, but he said that he had to return the tiles to the manufacturer, and then he was able to give me the refund; he told me it would take approimately 7 to 10 business days. After calling them numerous times and e-mailing Mr. ***** regarding the refund of the 6 broken tiles he has been promising me since June 25th, he told me a week ago (7/23) that he himself worked on issuing me that refund on the Friday of the previous week (7/20); however, I still do not see the refund on my online American Express statement. He even told me yesterday (7/30) over the phone that he would send me the proof which shows the refund was made, but I haven't seen it yet.I realize it is only $42.93, and I am even embarrassed for constantly asking them for the refund, but regardless what the amount is, I believe I have a right to receive that money back. West Coast did not hesitate, not even 1 day, when they charged $2826.48 on my American Express account, so there is no excuse for taking this long for a small refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my refund of $42.93.

Business Response: A refund was processed for ******** *** this morning for $42.50 and returned to her American Express card that was used to make the purchase. She can expect to see it on her account within the next few days. I apologize about the delays in processing the refund for her. It is not our intent to ever delay any type of refund for customers.

Thank you,

**** ********
Customer Service

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/22/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had carpet laid in our home just before Thanksgiving 2011. The first installers di a wonderful job overall and we are satisfied. On day two, the installers arrived lated and didn't speak English so we were unable to communicate about moving the pool table. The installation of the carpet in the living was terrible, with snags all around the edges and glue on several of the surrounding tiles. The carpet they installed in the game room has a big seam showing all the way across the room and our #1 complaint is that the carpet snagged after only 3 weeks of installation. We could never get Shane to send our bring our warranty information so we could see that we had a 30 day money back guarantee- NO questions asked by Shaw right there in black and white. We have been treated horrible, phone calls not returned, told that we don't have a claim, when we have a mony back guarantee, and on and on.

Desired Settlement: We have told them from the very beginning that we just wanted them to come and take out the defective carpet and replace with new in the game room that isn't snagged. We purchased $8,000.00 worth of carpet and now they want us to split the cost of intalling new carpet at a cost of $800 to us. We find this ludicrous!

Business Response: This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ******** ****** - *******,

The carpet that she is making the complaint about was installed on 11/21/11. Shortly after Christmas we went to the house to inspect the complaints that they had with both rooms that had problems. The first carpet had frayed along the edges where it met up to tile.  We also were shown a seam in the game room that they were not happy with along with the snagged loop. The loop was lifted and then apparently vacuumed over accidentally by the homeowner. An installer was sent to the house to trim and re tuck the frayed edges of carpet that met up to tile and also to adjust the seam in the game room. It was explained to Mr.******* that the only thing that could be done to repair the snag was to patch that portion of the carpet. He declined that to be done. A claim was then filed with the manufacturer in case the product was defective. The manufacturer sent out an independent inspector to determine that. He also took a sample swatch of the carpet to be submitted to the mill for testing. Approximately 2-3 weeks later I received a letter from the mill claiming that the sample swatch was not large enough for testing. I contacted Mr. ******* and let him know about the letter I received. He brought in a new sample within a week which was mailed to the mill for testing. On April 2, 2012 I received a letter from the mill denying the claim based on the testing of the sample. It had passed the testing for bundle strength. I called Mr. ******* and let him know that the  claim had been declined but that I knew he was disappointed in the carpet he had in the house. I told him that if they wanted to replace the carpet I would work with him to see what we could do to get him a discount on the replacement material. He said that he would discuss it with his wife and get back to us. The next call from Mrs. ******* was that she wanted us to replace the "faulty" carpet in the house. I told her that I could not agree to that but would see what we could do. We then contacted our sales rep for the product and gave him the history of the *******'s dissatisfaction with carpet. The rep called us back and let us know they would give us a large discount on the carpet. I then called Mr. ******* and let him know that West Coast was going to absorb most of the cost of material as well as the manufacturer. I also let him know that we would not charge him labor for the replacement and they would have to pay only $800.00. Keep in mind that the original charge for the game room carpet  was $2400.00 for material only. We would like to help the *******'s resolve the problem with the carpet and we feel that we have done everything we can to come up with a solution. We apologize that that they don't feel the same. It is not our intention to upset any customer and hope that the *******'s will agree to some solution that is fair to all parties. 



Sincerely,

**** ********
Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We have a contract in our hands from Shaw carpet that should have been told to us by ***** from day one, that says if for any reason within 30 days, the carpet would be replaced.  We called and talked to them about the issue after three weeks of installation.  **** states that the loop came up and that I accidentally vaccummed it up and it snagged.  I don't know of one woman that would believe that your carpet should snag and ruin the patteren with 3 weeks of installation. 

We should not be paying West Coast Flooring a dime let alone $800.00 to fix the room.  **** states that the carpet had frayed in the living room, which is incorrect information.  The carpet in the living room and game room was installed by a couple of guys that didn't speak English so my husband and I had a tough time communicating to them that the job was not satisfactory.  The fraying was on all sides as they didn't tuck it very well and many of our guests over the holiday break commented that they would not be satisfied with the installation either.  West Coast Flooring can replace the carpet in the game room at no charge to us or we will be forced to file a claim in small claims court and point out the carpet to the 250-300 guests that will be in our home for our daughter's Graduation party in mid June.  Needless to say, it is pretty tough to get into UCLA so you can bet that all of our family and friends from Encinitas, Carlsbad, Vista, San ****os and Escondido will be in attendance.  **** and ***** should know that I have already steered 4 families away from buying carpet there and I will continue my quest to make sure that noone else in our community gets ripped off and has to go through this nonsense.

My husband I have to back up our business everday so we are "Floored" no pun intended that WestCoast Flooring would rather try to get us to give them another $800 to fix this situation.  I appreciate the BBB help in resolving this ridiculous situation.

Regards,

******** **************

Business Response: West Coast Flooring has agreed to replace the carpet in the game room for Mr. and Mrs. ******* at no additional charges to them. The only thing they will be responsible for is moving the pool table. Upon completion of this, the *******'s have agreed that they will close this complaint with your agency. It is never our intention to cause distress or dissatisfaction with any of our customers. We hope that the *******'s will be satisfied with the replacement carpet that is installed on Thurs. 5/24/12.

Sincerely,

**** ********
Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** ************** 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We decided to replace the carpet in our staircase with the same wood flooring we have in our first floor. Unfortunately the stair nosings (the strip of wood at the edge of each stair) does not match the color of the rest of the wood. It it too light compared to the darker color of the hardwood, leaving the stairs in multiple colors. We were told the difference in color is perfectly acceptable and standard for all hardwood staircases.

Desired Settlement: We would like the stair nosing to match the color of the rest of the hardwood. We know it is possible, as 2 out of the 16 stairs do match. We would very much like the have the remaining 14 stair nosings replaced to match.

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern,

This letter is in response to a complaint from Mr. ******* *****. His issue with his stairnosings has been resolved. The first order that was shipped to us were completely different than the the floor it needed to butt up to. The second shipment that was shipped was the set that was installed in the home. These nosings did match much better than the first but were still unacceptable to Mr. *****. We explained to him that the nosing material is made by a different company than the flooring and it is also cut from the tree differently than the flooring, therefore causing the wood to take the stain differently. West Coast Flooring and Mr. ***** came to an agreement that we would discount the cost of his job $800.00 and he would keep the installed nosings. Mr. ***** paid his remaining balance of the agreed price after the discount and is keeping the installed flooring. We apologize for any problems that this caused to him and hope that he will consider this complaint resolved.


Thank you,

**** ********,

Customer Service manger

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution was satisfactory to me.  

I would like to clarify the response by the business.  Note, the installed stair nosings were actually the 3rd shipment they received, not the second.  The first shipment was reportedly lost in the warehouse.  The second shipment that was received by them, as told to me, color did not match.  It was the 3rd shipment that was installed.

This current complaint is considered closed and the resolution agreed upon for a discount on the price as the nosings reportedly cannot be made to match better than they currently are.  Even though current complaint is resolved, I would still advise other potential customers to consider other companies for their hardwood flooring needs.  As it it written by the company representative, the stair nosings are made by different companies, therefore will never be the same.  Something to consider if anyone is thinking about having their stairs in hardwood.

Regards,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1