BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

J W Floor Covering Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (858) 536-8565 Fax: (858) 530-1670 View Additional Phone Numbers 9881 Carroll Centre Rd, San Diego, CA 92126 http://www.jwfloors.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers floor coverings and carpet cleaning.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J W Floor Covering Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J W Floor Covering Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on J W Floor Covering Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 07, 1995 Business started: 09/17/1986 in CA Business incorporated: 09/17/1986 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The license number is 657251.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Tiffany, Chief Administrative Officer Mr. John Wallace, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Tiffany, Chief Administrative Officer
Principal: Mr. John Wallace, President
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

Floor Coverings & Installation Window Shades - Equipment & Supplies Carpet & Rug Cleaners

Alternate Business Names
JW Floor Covering Inc
Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 2342 Meyers Ave

    Escondido, CA 92029

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4480 Riviera Ridge Ave

    Las Vegas, NV 89115 (702) 643-0776

  • 9881 Carroll Centre Rd

    San Diego, CA 92126 (858) 530-2901 (858) 536-8565

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3401 Enterprise Ave

    Hayward, CA 94545 (510) 670-0490

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2230 Stagecoach Rd

    Stockton, CA 95215 (209) 464-1381

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    146 N Highway 91

    Hurricane, UT 84737 (435) 627-6922

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5921 Stratler St

    Murray, UT 84107

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    42024 Avenida Alvarado

    Temecula, CA 92590

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    530 Rossi Ct

    Gilroy, CA 95020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    42024 Avenida Alvarado

    Temecula, CA 92590

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (858) 530-2901(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before installing titles on the hallway, installers had to remove fold-up doors. After installation was completed, they tried to put the fold-up doors back in place. However, they tried several times and could not do so. The installer was angry and jamped the door down onto the floor hing and dammaged the right hand side bottom door. They tried to patch the damaged part. When they tried to put it back, it was damaged again. They took it back and fixed it again for few times. Again, the patch on the door came off while putting it back. They said that it is the bad hing that damaged the door. They left the paint and told us to repair it ourself. They damaged the door they should repair it not us. Also, they took two srews out, now the fold-up doors are touching on the top and leave a wide gap at the bottom. It is difficult to close and open.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We want the door to be repaired and put it back in the right place.

Business Response:

 

Thank you for sending this complaint to me.  Our response is as follows:

 

After several attempts to repair Mr. ***’s door, it was decided that because the hinges on the door showed signs of age, and allowed the patched part of the door to rub the wall each time the doors were closed, that we would go ahead and replace the doors for the customer.  On May 16, 2014, we followed up with the customer, and proposed a suitable replacement.  The customer had found another model door that they wanted, and on May 23, 2014, we issued them a check for the material and labor to replace the closet door, and dispose of the old, damaged door.

 

Please let me know if you need any further information on this complaint.

 

Thank you,

 

 

*********** *******

Chief Administrative Officer, Controller

JW Floor Covering Inc.

Resource Floors Inc.

Ph: ###-###-####   Fax: ###-###-####

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wood floor coming apart in several areas and all over cupping.I had the floor installed in Sept 2012 .

Desired Settlement: I paid close to 4000 for the floor and I want a full refund and the floor taken up,furniture moved and replaced without a charge.

Business Response:

A thorough investigation of the customer's concerns was conducted and the findings were discussed with the customer.

The concerns included the product and the floor installation.  And how the floor was being cleaned and maintained.

It was agreed by all parties involved that in the spirit of excellent customer service that the floor would be replaced at no

additional charge to the customer.  Once the new product arrives at the customer's home the installation will be scheduled

and completed.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *******

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would like to reopen the case on jw floors. They said they would replace the floors in early Feb and later changed their story to the floor has too much moisture and wait a few months and it will go away.The inspector from **** ******* came to my house after home depot said they would replace the floors and told me the floors could not be saved and the moisture reading was low 15rh. The wood was not acclimated properly and a moisture reading was not taken .I want a full refund.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response:

In the spirit of customer service the Home Depot and JW Floor Covering have agreed with Ms. ******* ******* to replace her floor.

The product is a special order product with an ETA of approximately 3 weeks.  Once the product arrives JW Floor Covering will contact

Ms ******* to set up the installation.  Ms. ******* has agreed to this resolution.  We at JW Floor Covering would like to extend our

apologies for this unfortunate experience to Ms. ******* and look forward to her complete satisfaction with the new floor.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint type includes contract issues, customer service issues, delivery issues and sales issues, too bad I had to choose only one. I contracted with Home Depot and JW Floor Covering in November 2012 to have engineered click lock wood installed in my kitchen. Measure company said my concrete subfloor was fine for install. I prepaid for materials and install in full. JW flooring sent an installer on December 31, their "first available" time. Installer opened the boxes of wood, which had fully acclimated to my kitchen, and refused to do the install as he said the wood was warped and bowed. I returned the wood to Home Depot and re ordered it. I had it inspected by the manufacturer, Millstead, before shipment and by Home Depot when I picked it up and was told it was fully installable and within "tolerances". I called JW flooring again to install it and asked for a different installer, my request was refused. Again, I had to wait over 3 weeks. Same installer came again on January 28 and again refused to install the wood he said was bowed. He also complained, using profanity, about a gang member who had shot out the windows of his truck. Before he left, I asked to have someone else look at the wood. JW flooring sent inspector *** to inspect the wood. *** said the wood was installable and the concrete floor was sound. JW floor covering sent a different installer to install the floor today, Friday Feb. 8. Installer worked for an hour and then said there was a "hump" in my concrete subfloor that he couldnt grind because his grinder wouldn't fit under the 4" cabinet overhang to reach the base and he refused to install the floor. I suggested a different grinder and he said I needed to dismantle the cabinet so his grinder would fit. I have had to initiate all phone calls to JW and Home Depot to try to resolve this. It has been three months that Home Depot has had my $2,500 for materials and labor and yet my floor is still not installed, and no solution has been offered to m

Desired Settlement: I want to cancel the install order, with the cost of the install and the measure refunded immediately. I also want a full explanation and apology in writing, from JW Flooring's manager/owner, apologizing for the inconvenience and unprofessional treatment I have received, and I want the Better Business Bureau to investigate this company for fraudulent business practices as they are not acting in good faith on their install contracts.

Business Response:

Per the customer's request the installation and measure was refunded.  We made numerous attempts to contact the customer and left messages on their phone.

The customer contacted us back and left a message that the refund had occurred and that no further contact was necessary.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Their response is basically untrue.   I was contacted TWICE, not "numerous times", by ******* ********.  She did not offer a title, and she isn't the owner or manager of the company, which is the person I requested and who ought to be responding if he/she values a good business reputation.  ******* ********'s first voice mail message didn't even offer me a private line, I was given the general toll free number and put on hold with "five calls ahead of you", so I hung up.  Her second message left her cell phone, which I called, and it went straight to her voice mail.  I did leave a message, but my reply was definitely NOT that they didn't need to contact me.  I specifically stated that HOME DEPOT, NOT JW Flooring, had refunded my install charge, and that I expected JW Flooring to have a manager or the owner contact me by phone, email or post and provide me an explanation AND apology for the inconvenience they put me through.  Since leaving that message, I have also been docked $466 for the unpaid personal business day I took on January 28.  This would have been a reasonable burden if the floor had actually been installed by JW Flooring as promised, on that install date, but as it was not, I am now asking not only for JW flooring to reply to me personally, but also for them to pay me $466 for my lost wages.  If they are unable or unwilling to do so, I am letting my dispute with them stand as unresolved and may consider taking them to small claims court. 



Regards,

***** *****

 

Business Response:

Ms. ******* ******** (VP, JW Floor Covering, Inc.) and Ms. ***** ***** had a very good conversation about the procedures of this event.

Ms. ******** apologized to Ms. ***** for the unfortunate experience and will use the subject matter for future training classes.  Ms. *****

appreciated the call from Ms. ********.  No further action is required.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find  this resolution satisfactory to me.  I appreciated the long conversation I had with the VP of the company, and her willingness to listen to several suggestions I made that I think can prevent other customers from going through what I did.  I consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased carpet through Home Deopt and J W Floor Covering Inc were the installers. While one of the workers was carrying a roll of underlayment up stairs he hit and broke the chandelier over the stairs. The forman contacted headquarters and we agreed on a $50 gift card to cover part of the replacement. That was back in September. It is now December 13th and I have yet to receive the gift card. I have contacted the company 6 times and have the names and dates of all of them. It is a that a buisness of this size will put me through all this for $50.Now since I am constantly being put off I want to resolve this issue and told them about 2 weeks ago if it was not fixed I was going to write to the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $50 gift card that I was promised and they should provide me with something more for all the time and effort that I have had to put into this for something that I was promised.

Business Response:

BBB of San Diego,

We have made numerous attempts at reaching Mr. ****** to resolve this issue but have been unsuccessful.  We are

reissuing the $50 gift card and adding an additional gift card for Mr. ******** inconvenience.  I left a voicemail on his

phone (12/19/12) with our resolution and  with my contact information and phone number.

JW Floor Covering, Inc. apologizes for this unfortunate experience.

** ******

COO

JW Floor Covering, Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: J W FLOORING CAME OUT TO LAY OUR NEW FLOOR AS PART OF THE REMODELING WE HAD DONE THROUGH HOME DEPOT...IT WAS A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE..THE REMODELLING PROJECT WAS FINISH ABOUT THE FIRST WEEK OF JUNE...AFTER A FEW DAYS OF WALKING ON THE FLOOR WE STARTED HEARING A "CLICKING/STICKY" SOUND...WE CONTACTED J W FLOORING..THEY SENT THE MAN WHO INSTALLED THE FLOOR...HE WALKED BACK AND FORTH. HE SAID THE GLUE WAS BAD...ALSO, THAT IN ALL OF HIS 20YEARS HE HAS NEVER SEEN THIS BEFORE...HE CALLED SOMEONE ELSE..A FEW DAYS LATER SOMEONE CAME OUT AND WALKED BACK AND FORTH ON OUR FLOOR AND SAID THE GLUE IS BAD...HE CALLED SOMEONE ELSE...THIS WENT ON FOR DAYS AND DAYS...ONE OF THE MEN WAS EVEN A SUPERVISOR...THEY DECIDED TO RE ORDER THE VINYL...RIP IT UP AND APPLY THE NEW...THEY DID NOT PUT THE ORDER IN AS A "RUSH" ORDER EVEN AFTER MY HUSBAND TOLD THEM WE HAD FAMILY COMING FOR A VIST...WE HAD A TIME CRUNCH..MADE NOT DIFFERENCE..WE HAD TO WAIT THE USUALY AMOUNT OF TIME...FINALLY THE VINYL ARRIVED AND WE MADE AN APPOINTMENT...THE NEW INSTALLER THAT CAME OUT...WALKED BACK AND FORTH ACROSS THE FLOOR...AND SAID.."IT'S NOT THE GLUE...THE GLUE UNDER THE OLD SUB FLOOR HAD CRYSTALIZED...THE ORIGINAL INSTALLER SHOULD HAVE PUT DOWN A THIN LAYER OF CEMENT BEFORE APPLYING THE NEW VINYL..PREVIOUS TO THIS I SENT J W FLOORING AN EMAIL STATING HOW UNHAPPY AND DISSATISFIED WE WERE WITH THEIR WORK...NO REPONSE..WE REQUESTED A REFUND...NO REPLY..NO PHONE CALL OR LETTER

Desired Settlement: WE WOULD LIKE A FULL OR PARTIAL REFUND...THE WORK WAS JUST COMPLETED YESTERDAY..BOTTOM LINE...THE FLOOR WAS INSTALLED IMPROPERLY AND THEY GAVE US THE RUN AROUND FOR SEVERAL DAYS..THEY WERE VERY INCOMPETENT...THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS TERRIBLE..AND THEIR ATTITUDE WAS OF TOTAL INDIFFERENCE...THEY DIDN'T CARE ABOUT OUR FEELINGS..

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

6/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted a wood floor install with JW Flooring that was to be a "glue down" install. The floor was installed as a "floating install". I was told not to worry that the install was the same either way. This is in fact not true. The space having wood floors installed has been before and since reviewed by other wood floor installers whom have all confirmed that this job should have been a "glue down" install. The planks on the floor in question began seperating within days of the install. The repair solution was to put putty between the planks and color it in. In various places the planks do not touch the sub floor (bubble) and I was told this would settle over time. This also I have been told is not true.The worst part about this situation is that JW Flooring refuses to send an official from thier company to inspect the project while the laborers are on site. A district Manager from JW did come to review with me the project and he admitted the floor was wrong but he did not convey this to the actual people who needed to repair the floor. The solution has been to continue to send back the same installers (laborers) who admitted they did not know the material well. Conversations the laborers would have with the supervisor whom does not come to the site was over the phone and to perform tasks I specifically requested not to be done. They were told by thier supervisor he did not care what I wanted as the consumer but to just finish and leave. This does not even address the wood floor to firplace transition where they attempted to use the wrong materials to get in and out of the project. None of these finishes were ever discussed with me.To date this job is still not complete.

Desired Settlement: JW Flooring should send a supervisor with a design technician to review what has been done and how we can resolve it. There should be very specific tasks created associated with how to rectify and finalize the jobsite along with some kind of time line.

Business Response:

BBB OF SAN DIEGO COMPLAINT
ID #*******
JW FLOOR COVERINGS, INC.’s RESPONSE
June 19, 2012
The Customer first considered purchasing new flooring in August of 2010. The product
the Customer was considering at that time was a glue down product. That product was
not purchased. In early 2012 the Customer was again interested in purchasing new
flooring. A floating floor product was presented in 2012 and the Customer selected and
purchased the floating floor product with glued joints. The flooring purchased was the
floating floor product with glued joints not the glue down product.
All wood products expand and contract and the planks can have narrowing within
manufacturing tolerance. These natural characteristics of wood can cause separation of
planks (very small gaps between the planks) whether it is a glue down or a floating floor.
JW Floor Covering followed the manufacturer’s installation instructions to fill gaps
caused from the separation of the planks. Matching color putty is the proper installation
procedure to fill the gaps caused from the separation of planks.
The manufacturer recommended the transitions that were sold with the floating floor
material. These transitions are manufactured to match the color of the wood planks
installed. The Customer does not like the look of the transitions at the fireplace. Prior to
the complaint, JW Floor Covering offered to locate transitions more to the Customer’s
liking and custom stain and install the replacement transitions at no cost to the Customer.
A small six-inch diameter bubble by the front door was identified after installation of the
floor. This is an imperfection in the sub floor that allows unacceptable movement of the
floor, be it floating or glue down. This can happen on any given installation and is
remedied by injecting a quick setting two-part epoxy to fill the void in the sub floor. This
remedy is scheduled.
The installer installing this floor is a well-seasoned veteran with 15+ years experience.
He is one phone call away from seeking the advice of others who are more experienced
than him. Three levels of supervisors (with 70+ years of combined installation
experience) were consulted by phone and /or site visits to job site. The advice of the
supervisors was discussed with the installer in person at our shop.
The replacement transitions need to be approved by the Customer. Once the replacement
transitions arrive the transitions will be installed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service